Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #11451    
Old September 1st, 2009 (09:10 AM).
徐死 徐死 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 9
Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
There is no "Remove Pokemon" Command in XSE, or any other script language for that matter, because it is not part of the game.
There IS an ASM routine that lets you remove pokemon, or if you don't plan on giving the pokemon back to the player, you can just use the removing part of a daycare script... (If you don't have a daycare in your hack...)
hey 0m3GA ARS3NAL, I looked up the tuturial you made for the day care script and it was really good. It really helped a lot. I ended up just basically taking the end part and after the menu do a compare to see if you picked the right Pokemon. So yeah, thanks for your help.
  #11452    
Old September 1st, 2009 (11:59 AM).
The Gambling Gallade's Avatar
The Gambling Gallade The Gambling Gallade is offline
Bored.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 74
Is it possible to turn HMs into Key Items? I've been thinking about that. It seems that I don't want people to use HM slaves, because a lot of bosses in my hack will be hard, and I would like to add the HMs as a sort of Key Item. Like, the actual feature of it, not the HM.

For example: A raft for Surf.
__________________
I wish that I had something cool to put into my signature.
  #11453    
Old September 1st, 2009 (03:53 PM).
Cello's Avatar
Cello Cello is offline
Tonight!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: get the mascot involved
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,498
Quote originally posted by The Gambling Gallade:
Is it possible to turn HMs into Key Items? I've been thinking about that. It seems that I don't want people to use HM slaves, because a lot of bosses in my hack will be hard, and I would like to add the HMs as a sort of Key Item. Like, the actual feature of it, not the HM.

For example: A raft for Surf.
Get ready, 'cause this is a tl;dr situation:

It's far from possible doing it the way you're asking (it would take something much bigger than just some scripting and sprite editing), yet at the same time you could get really creative with it, and I'm throwing this out off of the top of my head. This would require item hacking, surfing sprite replacement, AND extensive scripting/script placement which could possibly take up some space. Writing the script shouldn't be too hard, though.

For example: Say you edit a key item in the game with the raft that you're talking about. Playing through the game if you go up and examine the water with the action button it tells you that the raft could let your surf over the water, but without it you cannot pass or go over the water, just run smack into it like a wall. However, when you get the raft, when you go and examine the water again it will check to see if you have the raft in your key items bag. Since you have the raft it will left you cross over the oceans freely. You would also have to include in the code the change between character overworld sprite to your replaced surfing sprite, and anything else such as the surfing music.

Things you would need to do:
-Hack a key item into a raft.
-Replace the surfing sprite
-Script to where that you cannot pass the water unless you have the raft into your key items bag, switch sprites, and etc.
-Place the script over any waters edge that can lead to big bodies of water that can be surfed on.

I would think that past the waters edge where the script is, all other water can be set to where it's just completely passable. The waters edge needs to be solid in some way.

This is the only way I could think of doing it. Sure, you could go in the map editor and set it so that the water is only passable by surfing, but that would still require a pokemon with surf, yeah?
__________________
Yeah Football Fan!
  #11454    
Old September 1st, 2009 (06:36 PM).
CrashmanX's Avatar
CrashmanX CrashmanX is offline
Mechamon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 112
I know Im being a bother with this but this is on purpose, Does anyone know where I can get a version or File for PokePic that will allow me to import/export pokemon sprites? Because so far RomHacker XP isnt working and AVG sees it as a virus and my current PokePic doesnt do anything with fire red, no really it does nothing. Please could someone respond because I tried making a thread once before and It said it needed to be approved and I got no where with that.
__________________

Credit to DragonSoul for the signature
  #11455    
Old September 1st, 2009 (06:44 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by CrashmanX:
I know Im being a bother with this but this is on purpose, Does anyone know where I can get a version or File for PokePic that will allow me to import/export pokemon sprites? Because so far RomHacker XP isnt working and AVG sees it as a virus and my current PokePic doesnt do anything with fire red, no really it does nothing. Please could someone respond because I tried making a thread once before and It said it needed to be approved and I got no where with that.
You could just use unLZgba like so many people already do...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #11456    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (03:40 AM).
chaitan94's Avatar
chaitan94 chaitan94 is offline
BKC
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hyderabad, India
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
Can new types be created ?
(in pokemon ruby)
  #11457    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (03:51 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by chaitan94:
Can new types be created ?
(in pokemon ruby)
Not without ASM... (For making totally new types)
The only thing you can do without ASM is replace the ??? Type...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #11458    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (04:23 AM).
~Red's Avatar
~Red ~Red is offline
Meh. Hate me if you will.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pallet Town
Age: 20
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 553
Does anyone know how to successfully import a bitmap into Tile Layer Pro without it messing up?
  #11459    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (04:54 AM).
CrashmanX's Avatar
CrashmanX CrashmanX is offline
Mechamon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 112
Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
You could just use unLZgba like so many people already do...
Well the thing is, I want to change A TON of sprites and I dont want to have to go through every single one with UNLZ. Does anyone have any expericence with RSBall? It seems to work it just wont IMPORT any of my sprites.
__________________

Credit to DragonSoul for the signature
  #11460    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (04:55 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by CrashmanX:
Well the thing is, I want to change A TON of sprites and I dont want to have to go through every single one with UNLZ. Does anyone have any expericence with RSBall? It seems to work it just wont IMPORT any of my sprites.
Are the sprites indexed?
There is a tutorial here for RSball... it is fairly new... go look in docs/tuts
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #11461    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (06:41 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17 Pokepal17 is offline
More cowbell~
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,517
Quote originally posted by ~Red:
Does anyone know how to successfully import a bitmap into Tile Layer Pro without it messing up?
Well, if it doesn't work, use Tile Molester Alternate.. That can import bitmaps I think and I find it easier to use than Tile Layer Pro.The only thing you need to get it to work properly is Java Runtime Environment to be installed omn your computer and and the offset of the images in Tile Molester Alternate.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
  #11462    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (07:20 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
how do you find the platelet offsets for the overworlds in overworldeditor it dosent tel you :l
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #11463    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (08:33 AM).
Bayonetta's Avatar
Bayonetta Bayonetta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 34
Is it possible to create new types? and add them instead of replacing existing ones.
  #11464    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (08:36 AM).
Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
Musician and Pixel Artist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 243
Quote originally posted by Drakuaza:
Is it possible to create new types? and add them instead of replacing existing ones.
In 3rd Generation Games, no, not in my knowledge. There is a way to do it on 2nd Generation Games though.
__________________
Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
  #11465    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (08:36 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by Drakuaza:
Is it possible to create new types? and add them instead of replacing existing ones.
Read above you, it says here (if you were bothered to read this page!):

Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
Not without ASM... (For making totally new types)
The only thing you can do without ASM is replace the ??? Type...
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #11466    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (08:46 AM).
Bayonetta's Avatar
Bayonetta Bayonetta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 34
Then anyone got an idea of how to make a D/P attack system into Fr? like some dark attacks are either physical or special based. Theres a game that has that system, so i wonder if its a Hex function or a skill function. thats why i was thinking on making new types. example, making a copy of the "normal" type but label it dark with same strenghts and weakness as the original dark and change the physical dark type attacks to this.

@about the post, i didnt saw because its full of sprite/pallete and tile replacing questions so i scrolled down fast.
  #11467    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (09:02 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by Drakuaza:
Then anyone got an idea of how to make a D/P attack system into Fr? like some dark attacks are either physical or special based. Theres a game that has that system, so i wonder if its a Hex function or a skill function. thats why i was thinking on making new types. example, making a copy of the "normal" type but label it dark with same strenghts and weakness as the original dark and change the physical dark type attacks to this.

@about the post, i didnt saw because its full of sprite/pallete and tile replacing questions so i scrolled down fast.
Again, ASM is needed, probably very complex. This is why it says "Search before Asking", so your question last time would have been answered before posting.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #11468    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (09:02 AM). Edited September 2nd, 2009 by ville!.
ville!'s Avatar
ville! ville! is offline
Abbysus, abbysus invocat!
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Perú
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Posts: 51
is possible to create new TMs? cuz' i wanna add 10 NEW tms
  #11469    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (09:45 AM).
Q-Bone Q-Bone is offline
Musician and Pixel Artist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 243
Quote originally posted by ville!:
is possible to create new TMs? cuz' i wanna add 10 NEW tms
No you can't. You can edit TMs, HMs and Attacks which are already In-game though. You can rename them, and edit there statistics, and also edit there animation, but to an extent, editing the animations takes time and care, and endless hours of staring at UnLZ xD.
__________________
Diamond FC: 2020 9546 5045
  #11470    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (09:57 AM). Edited September 2nd, 2009 by yusufs1.
yusufs1's Avatar
yusufs1 yusufs1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
how do you insert an entirley new building into tileset 0
i can insert into the specific tilesets fine but editing the first tileset is not working, and the buildings tiles are all jumbled up nd i can't find any
i need to know cuz i want to inert a hg/ss pokemon center
if u dont get what im saying ill try to explain it a little clearer
i want to insert this




into tileset 0
i can't manage to do it properly
but the pallete is already edited for the pokemon center, os no trouble there

credits for the image goes to C.N.C
  #11471    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (10:14 AM).
Konekodemon's Avatar
Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
The Master of Pokemon Breeding
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NC
Age: 30
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,883
Send a message via ICQ to Konekodemon Send a message via AIM to Konekodemon Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Konekodemon Send a message via Yahoo to Konekodemon Send a message via Skype™ to Konekodemon
I don't know if this has already been asked or not but how do I change the trainer image on the Advanced games? Not the sprite. The image of the trainer that appears in the intro and on the trainer card.
__________________

Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
  #11472    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (01:16 PM).
KostK2Boss's Avatar
KostK2Boss KostK2Boss is offline
Europe Confirmed!!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The distant Greece Region
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 349
Quote originally posted by Konekodemon:
I don't know if this has already been asked or not but how do I change the trainer image on the Advanced games? Not the sprite. The image of the trainer that appears in the intro and on the trainer card.
The sprites that appear on the trainer card can be found in Unlz, the intro sprites are also in Unlz, but they have a 256-colour pallette, so you will have to change the pallette in programs like photoshop. I believe there is a detailed tutorial for that in the Documents & Tutorials section. The backsprites can be found in Tile Molester.

Now, my own question, for anyone who can help me is below:
Quote:
Does anybody know how to edit the japanese letters (font) in FireRed?
FontEd doesn't seem to support FR ROMs and the japanese letters in Tile Molester look glitchy, no matter how much I try to fix them.
I don't know if this has been asked before, but it's buging me. I could make use of some help here. Thanks in advance!
It was asked several pages ago, so here it is again. Anyone got a clue?:\
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 3024 - 6078 - 0809

Pokemon OmegaRuby IGN: Athens , Secret Base: Route 119
(link)

  #11473    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (02:58 PM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
Quote originally posted by Q-Bone:
No you can't. You can edit TMs, HMs and Attacks which are already In-game though. You can rename them, and edit there statistics, and also edit there animation, but to an extent, editing the animations takes time and care, and endless hours of staring at UnLZ xD.
atcualy you can you can had hedbut and wirldpool quite easly
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
  #11474    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (03:02 PM).
sandstone's Avatar
sandstone sandstone is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 63
i've searched all over but i haven't seen the answer i seek anywhere.


my problem:

my rom image keeps crashing. its become such a big issue that i've had start over twice from scratch.


the first time i edited the script with offset $0000001 (didn't count the zeroes when i typed it, but the first one) its only had 'nada' or nothing commands so i thought it would be ok. i don't think it was. i think thats why it crashed. so i wont do that again



the second time I'm not sure why it crashed, heres my theory:
maybe its because i replaced the tileset of an indoor area with that of an outdoor area, because when i went through a warp point from the indoor area to that previously-outdoor area is when the rom image failed.

any info you could give would be helpful

fyi: if it matters ive been using unLZ-GBA, advance map, overworld editor, XSE, and YAPE

also anyone who would like to help me out from time to time, please let me know if you'd be ok with me PMing you with the occasional Q
  #11475    
Old September 2nd, 2009 (03:24 PM).
Konekodemon's Avatar
Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
The Master of Pokemon Breeding
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NC
Age: 30
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,883
Send a message via ICQ to Konekodemon Send a message via AIM to Konekodemon Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Konekodemon Send a message via Yahoo to Konekodemon Send a message via Skype™ to Konekodemon
UNlz doesn't work. I don't even see any trainer images on it. Just fuzzy stuff. That other thing doesn't work either.
__________________

Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:15 PM.