Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Research & Development
Reload this Page Pokémon Fire Red Hacked Engine

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!
Research & Development programs in this forum are subject to moderator approval before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old September 20th, 2009 (12:01 PM).
sonic1's Avatar
sonic1 sonic1 is offline
ASM is my life now...
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 79
Your welcome!

I should thank you,your engine is really fantastic!:D
Hope your next release will be more fantastic than this(its going to be hard,the actual release it's already fantastic!)

One more question:
it's possible to have more than 1 pokemon swarming/roaming at the same time?(srry to ask this but i'm in school and i don't have time to test it out)

~sonic1~

PS:Every time i find a bug/problem,i'll post it here so you can improve your engine
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
over 350px high
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #52    
Old September 20th, 2009 (12:17 PM).
JPAN JPAN is offline
pokemon rom researcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 100
Quote originally posted by sonic1:
One more question:
it's possible to have more than 1 pokemon swarming/roaming at the same time?(srry to ask this but i'm in school and i don't have time to test it out)
You cannot. I have made it so that you can only have one pokemon either swarming or roaming in that map, but not both.
The only solution for this is to use a Level Script to select which roaming pokemon appears or if a swarm happens.
__________________
Here are the links for my work


Currently working on:
Battle Script Documentation
Another large project
Reply With Quote
  #53    
Old September 20th, 2009 (01:31 PM).
Sonikku17's Avatar
Sonikku17 Sonikku17 is offline
Wanderer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Age: 23
Nature: Impish
Posts: 18
This is really amazing! I've tried out a couple of the features you added, and it's simply incredible. Thanks for putting so much time into this, it really helps out amateur hackers like myself! Also, a quick question: Would there be any way for you to add some way to control what music plays during trainer battles?
Reply With Quote
  #54    
Old September 20th, 2009 (01:49 PM).
VvInstinctvV VvInstinctvV is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Posts: 2
One feature that would be awesome is if you made it to where it was compatible with larger sprites than 64X64, so that we could include all the d/p sprites (80X80) without shrinking them.
Reply With Quote
  #55    
Old September 20th, 2009 (01:56 PM). Edited September 20th, 2009 by diegoisawesome.
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 971
Could you make a special that forces a move to be taught to that location, even though there may be empty slots?

Also, is there a way to set what map bank and number the Swarming Pokémon or Roaming Pokémon is at? Also, how would you make it so that after you encounter a Roaming Pokémon, it moves to another map?

Another cool idea would be something like the Behavior bytes changing, where you could force an item to be usable and run a script.

And maybe, as an addon to the sethealingplace hack, you could do something that would let you change the text pointers that are called during the run home thing, aka "[PLAYER] scurried home, protecting..", "MOM: Oh, hello, sweetie! Did your POKéMON faint?...", and "MOM: There you go! All healthy and happy!..." or however they go. This would be useful for people who want to have many different places where different things are said upon fainting.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #56    
Old September 20th, 2009 (04:59 PM).
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam Aljam is offline
Pierce the heavens
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 578
Uhhhh... why are there alot of events on map 3.0?(pallet town map)
Are they there for a reason?
I patched over my hack btw (didnt even start scripting)
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
Reply With Quote
  #57    
Old September 21st, 2009 (06:46 PM).
justinufer justinufer is offline
Learner
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 14
Would it be possible for you to make it so that you can change the amount of items you can have in your pc item box?
Reply With Quote
  #58    
Old September 22nd, 2009 (05:26 AM).
Neo-Wolf's Avatar
Neo-Wolf Neo-Wolf is offline
I am back!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Faridabad, India
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 724
Can you hack the engine so that no scripts are deleted?
Good work!
__________________


Hey guys, I am back!
But NO more ROM Hacking for me.
Nor any CSS.
I am now primarily a writer.

Stuck in your hack? Developed a writer's block? Get cool story ideas from me!
Reply With Quote
  #59    
Old September 22nd, 2009 (07:59 AM).
-DarK- -DarK- is offline
Hold Your Colour
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 185
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to -DarK-
Is there a posibility to make a sort of "follow" script? I mean, more meant for the yellow hacks, so that pikachu (or for non-yellow hacks, even better, all possible pokemon, much like in HG/SS) can follow you around?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #60    
Old September 22nd, 2009 (09:20 AM).
giova90's Avatar
giova90 giova90 is offline
Moebius
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Age: 25
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 30
Quote originally posted by -DarK-:
Is there a posibility to make a sort of "follow" script? I mean, more meant for the yellow hacks, so that pikachu (or for non-yellow hacks, even better, all possible pokemon, much like in HG/SS) can follow you around?
the same my question on a previuos page(but without replies) XD
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
75 pixels too wide.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #61    
Old September 22nd, 2009 (10:05 AM).
The Prince of Sweet Sorrow's Avatar
The Prince of Sweet Sorrow The Prince of Sweet Sorrow is offline
The Devil's Henchman :D
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Witty
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,309
Send a message via Skype™ to The Prince of Sweet Sorrow
Very cool. Briliant. May i suggest one more features? I noticed lately, there are hackers that want to fit more regions, why don't you expand the size of the rom (if you can do it of course).

You officially have my thanks. XD
__________________
Character Interview | Crimson Dawn OOC / IC | Pair
Reply With Quote
  #62    
Old September 22nd, 2009 (10:33 AM).
giova90's Avatar
giova90 giova90 is offline
Moebius
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Age: 25
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 30
ok ...someone have already added some OW and palette?....i've followed the manual but once modified the hack on my HEX the rom does error in every programs(advance map and overworld editor)...
so as already somebody ask it, release a patch that adds a great number of OW and palette(i could be awesome have every OW pokemon like HG SS) because i guess it's important for many hackers to have this..........................................................................................................
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
75 pixels too wide.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #63    
Old September 22nd, 2009 (08:59 PM).
justinufer justinufer is offline
Learner
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 14
Also would you be able to make it so that there is a script that we use to save the game?
Reply With Quote
  #64    
Old September 22nd, 2009 (09:28 PM). Edited September 22nd, 2009 by 0m3GA ARS3NAL.
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by Ray Marverick:
Very cool. Briliant. May i suggest one more features? I noticed lately, there are hackers that want to fit more regions, why don't you expand the size of the rom (if you can do it of course).

You officially have my thanks. XD
XSE has a ROM expander... Up to 32 MB

Quote originally posted by justinufer:
Also would you be able to make it so that there is a script that we use to save the game?
There is already a script like that.
Check the Battle Tower / Trainer Tower / Battle Colosseum / Union Room / Anything else that makes you save.

The script will tell all...
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #65    
Old September 23rd, 2009 (12:31 AM).
~Poke~'s Avatar
~Poke~ ~Poke~ is offline
Hasn't played 5th gen yet.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: On the moon
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 331
Quote originally posted by Neo-Wolf:
Can you hack the engine so that no scripts are deleted?
Good work!
Step 1: Get both this patch and the patch linked to on this page that only deletes the scripts.

Step 2: Patch both to clean roms.

Step 3: Use LIPS to create a patch from the hacked engine. Then when it asks for a clean rom direct it to the other patched rom.

Step 4. The patch it produces will leave all scripts but still have a hacked engine.
__________________
I refuse to enter a battle of the wits with you,
it's against my morals to attack an unarmed person.

Reply With Quote
  #66    
Old September 23rd, 2009 (02:06 PM).
JPAN JPAN is offline
pokemon rom researcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 100
Quote originally posted by ~Poke~:
Step 1: Get both this patch and the patch linked to on this page that only deletes the scripts.

Step 2: Patch both to clean roms.

Step 3: Use LIPS to create a patch from the hacked engine. Then when it asks for a clean rom direct it to the other patched rom.

Step 4. The patch it produces will leave all scripts but still have a hacked engine.
Actually, this will render this hack useless. That is because I used the Script Area of the ROM to implement all code. If you want to use the old scripts, simply copy them from the original code and repoint them into your ROM.
__________________
Here are the links for my work


Currently working on:
Battle Script Documentation
Another large project
Reply With Quote
  #67    
Old September 23rd, 2009 (02:20 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 971
Quote originally posted by JPAN:
Actually, this will render this hack useless. That is because I used the Script Area of the ROM to implement all code. If you want to use the old scripts, simply copy them from the original code and repoint them into your ROM.
Er, I did that, and it's working just fine...
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #68    
Old September 23rd, 2009 (03:52 PM).
Surf's Avatar
Surf Surf is offline
...
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rust
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,198
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Surf
I've been having difficulty with the timer.
How can I get it to show what time it has recorded, in a msgbox?
Do I have to call a var?
__________________
I'm looking for some good (When I say good,
I mean you can hold your own by yourself)
N**i Zombies players, to form a team or even a
clan, to play with casually.
Send me a PM with your Highest Level and your PSN,
and I'll get back to you.
Reply With Quote
  #69    
Old September 24th, 2009 (01:31 AM).
JPAN JPAN is offline
pokemon rom researcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 100
Quote originally posted by Surf:
I've been having difficulty with the timer.
How can I get it to show what time it has recorded, in a msgbox?
Do I have to call a var?
Using Special2 0x(variable) 0x4a, it will read out the timer to the variable.
buffernumber 0x0 0x(variable) will buffer the time in seconds for the buffer 0
To print that, just use a normal msgbox that contains in its text a \v\h02.

If you want to print in the hours, minutes and Seconds format, you may use the VarMaths specials to make it into sizable chunks.
Code:
(assuming the variable you used in the special call was 0x8007)
writebytetooffset 0x07 0x0203f4d8
writebytetooffset 0x80 0x0203f4d9
setvar 0x8000 0x3c
writebytetooffset 0x00 0x0203f4da
writebytetooffset 0x80 0x0203f4db
special2 0x(seconds) 0x41
special2 0x(minutes) 0x41
buffernumber 0x2 0x(seconds)
buffernumber 0x1 0x(minutes)
buffernumber 0x0 0x8007
msgbox 0x @text (text = \v\h01:\v\h02:\v\h03)
__________________
Here are the links for my work


Currently working on:
Battle Script Documentation
Another large project
Reply With Quote
  #70    
Old September 24th, 2009 (01:51 AM).
Josephine's Avatar
Josephine Josephine is offline
—
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,168
If there were a way to store the players X and Y coordinates along with what map they were currently on, then there'd be no stopping me switching to FR now that this is here.
However, as it is Emerald has a workaround for this using one of the original specials. :/

Is there any way you might be able to include this in the next update?
Your work is fantastic, and I desperately want to be able to make use of it. xD
Reply With Quote
  #71    
Old September 24th, 2009 (06:27 AM). Edited September 24th, 2009 by sonic1.
sonic1's Avatar
sonic1 sonic1 is offline
ASM is my life now...
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 79
Hi there!
Hmmm...I've come now with a sugestion and a problem(again)!

So the sugestion is: You can make something that forces the player to battle (in wildbattles) until death, capture or kill the poke!If it helps,check the legendarie battle scripts,it could be something there that will help you, since it checks if the player killed the poke or captured it or run from battle(but outside of battle,and my idea is inside battle).Its for the people that want a Pal Park.And if you can make a wildbattle check if the player run instead of capturing or killing the pokemon then instead of making the pokemon appear the times you put,appear until you kill or capture the pokemon like for Pal Park.(of curse you have to put another variable to check if the rom hacker wants it!)

The problem is:I know that you tell to not use the predefined pokemon part of special 56 (roaming/swarming),but before i tell you that bug,i had noticed another bug: with the normal pokemon numbers, the times that they appear is correct(i mean,if you put 5 times,he appears 5 times) but if you use a predefined pokemon he appears infinitely time,even if you put it to appear 1 time.

Thats it,

~Sonic1~
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
over 350px high
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #72    
Old September 26th, 2009 (04:38 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
I have 3 questions.

1. Is it possible to add a way to change the graphic of the old man special (of him throwing the pokeball), perhaps using load pointer?

2. Is it possible to add a way to have a script load every time any map is loaded?

3. Is it possible to add a way to have a script load every time the player takes a step?

Keep up the good work.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
Reply With Quote
  #73    
Old September 26th, 2009 (04:56 PM).
●•ΛΣЯӨЩ•●'s Avatar
●•ΛΣЯӨЩ•● ●•ΛΣЯӨЩ•● is offline
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kanto
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 440
Well you could try to make some update such that we can insert all the 493 Pokemon and their info.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #74    
Old September 26th, 2009 (05:03 PM). Edited September 26th, 2009 by ΡλЯλđΘЖ.
ΡλЯλđΘЖ's Avatar
ΡλЯλđΘЖ ΡλЯλđΘЖ is offline
Insane
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 74
Hey, I was wondering if you could include something that lets you change the players OW, Back, and Front sprites during gameplay (like a script or something).
If something like this already exists, sorry.
__________________

I carry a big gun...

Reply With Quote
  #75    
Old September 27th, 2009 (02:45 PM).
cooley's Avatar
cooley cooley is offline
///Keepin' it simple
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 1,150
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Quote originally posted by Lunatic-X:
Hey, I was wondering if you could include something that lets you change the players OW, Back, and Front sprites during gameplay (like a script or something).
If something like this already exists, sorry.
You can already do something like that. HackMew will be writing an ASM tutorial on how to do so.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:44 AM.