The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old October 20th, 2009 (06:55 PM).
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam
Pierce the heavens
Community Supporter Tier 4
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by 06s23 View Post
thanks alot, this is a simple and easy tutorial to follow, thanks
i CAN get my tiles to appear in the certain palette viewer(image 17 in your tutorial,it is where your tile is), but they do not appear in the actual place where you map them, or in the place where you view what tiles you have (in the block editor).
please help, thanks.
PM me about it if you like
What do you mean by they do not appear in the block editor? Oh. That is because you have to make the blocks by using the image in the palette viewer. I mean, your tiles are inserted, but you haven't made the blocks. The blocks are made by the image in the palette. just click on parts of the images to make a block It's not that hard once you insert your tile. if the tile is off centered, open the tileset in paint and move it over a pixel or two. sorry for not responding sooner, I thought this tut was forever lost in the documents & tutorials section XD
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old November 18th, 2009 (05:59 AM).
Nintendork15
I'm gone. Bye.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Undertaker. Co.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naoi View Post
Wow, this is probably the easiest tile inserting tutorial I've ever seen.~
It is the easiest thing although i already new how to do all that it sure easy though
__________________
gone.
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old January 10th, 2010 (11:50 PM).
Dabutcha's Avatar
Dabutcha
Creator of the Alphanigma Saga
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Twilight sucks
Gender: Male
Thanks! I havent got around to editing the most common tiles yet, except the rocks. I made an awesome gym sign though.
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old February 16th, 2010 (02:58 PM).
Count's Avatar
Count
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On a Torterra.
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
gahh, this would've been really helpful if they hadnt removed this function in windows 7.. Dx
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old March 16th, 2010 (07:27 AM).
firestormx19's Avatar
firestormx19
i'm never loging in again.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: hell
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
i need help. i insent the pokemon center tile from d/p and i recolored it and saved it but want i go to loaded it on to advance it doesn't so were i put it it on my desktop it only shows the tiles that i save to edit but not the new one i saved. not sure what i did wrong. see attachments
Attached Images
File Type: png tile problem 1.PNG‎ (5.0 KB, 39 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: jpg tile problem 2.jpg‎ (111.2 KB, 27 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: png tile problem 3.PNG‎ (573.3 KB, 36 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________


my trading thread
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=209664

my pokemon hack



my website

http://everythinginonesite.unlimitedforum.com/index.htm
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old March 20th, 2010 (03:40 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by firestormx19 View Post
i need help. i insent the pokemon center tile from d/p and i recolored it and saved it but want i go to loaded it on to advance it doesn't so were i put it it on my desktop it only shows the tiles that i save to edit but not the new one i saved. not sure what i did wrong. see attachments
So, you saved your Tileset in Paint, and only the old one shows up? Did you save over the old Tileset? Check what it looks like in Paint. Also, if it doesn't work, try it again, save the Tileset somewhere else, copy the Pal file that was saved with the Tileset to the same location as where you just saved it, and look in it then.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old March 20th, 2010 (12:28 PM).
Alignment's Avatar
Alignment
Revered with the stars
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
I think its not showing up cause when you export a tileset doesn't it ussually come up with a pallette file and all that other stuff, so for it to woork the absence of one of those other files is not tolerable. I donno I'm just playing around with the idea, and great tutorial, the eraser trick is something new, to me atleast
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old March 20th, 2010 (02:06 PM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alignment View Post
I think its not showing up cause when you export a tileset doesn't it ussually come up with a pallette file and all that other stuff, so for it to woork the absence of one of those other files is not tolerable. I donno I'm just playing around with the idea, and great tutorial, the eraser trick is something new, to me atleast :)
It should still be able to be seen and opened in Paint, and Block Editor (however, an error message about missing pal file comes up), so it isn't that.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old March 20th, 2010 (02:19 PM).
firestormx19's Avatar
firestormx19
i'm never loging in again.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: hell
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post

So, you saved your Tileset in Paint, and only the old one shows up? Did you save over the old Tileset? Check what it looks like in Paint. Also, if it doesn't work, try it again, save the Tileset somewhere else, copy the Pal file that was saved with the Tileset to the same location as where you just saved it, and look in it then.
well i try that and then find out it was saving it as a bmp and not dib. so i fix that but now i'm stuck again. it not showing up in advance map. i hit load new blocks and new tiles or whatever it is and it still doesn't want to show it and i added more blocks so it would show up but that don't work. should i try cuting the sprite into pieces and see if that will work?
__________________


my trading thread
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=209664

my pokemon hack



my website

http://everythinginonesite.unlimitedforum.com/index.htm
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old March 21st, 2010 (02:18 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by firestormx19 View Post
well i try that and then find out it was saving it as a bmp and not dib. so i fix that but now i'm stuck again. it not showing up in advance map. i hit load new blocks and new tiles or whatever it is and it still doesn't want to show it and i added more blocks so it would show up but that don't work. should i try cuting the sprite into pieces and see if that will work?
Well, if you replaced free space, it won't appear as usable in Advance Map yet, as you didn't replace anything. This next bit is hard to explain, but easy in theory.

Does your tile appear in the middle Tileset thing?
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old March 22nd, 2010 (03:45 AM).
firestormx19's Avatar
firestormx19
i'm never loging in again.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: hell
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
well i did everything in this tutorial and i hit load current palette and write palette to rom witch i don't do those two things before heres what it looks like in my rom thanks for the help. all i'm chancing is the pokemon center and poke mart it shouldn't be that hard.
Attached Images
File Type: png tile problem.PNG‎ (573.9 KB, 19 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: png tile problem 2.PNG‎ (644.6 KB, 23 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________


my trading thread
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=209664

my pokemon hack



my website

http://everythinginonesite.unlimitedforum.com/index.htm
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old March 22nd, 2010 (03:55 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by firestormx19 View Post
well i did everything in this tutorial and i hit load current palette and write palette to rom witch i don't do those two things before heres what it looks like in my rom thanks for the help. all i'm chancing is the pokemon center and poke mart it shouldn't be that hard.
In the block editor goto tiles -> load new blocks.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old March 22nd, 2010 (05:16 AM).
firestormx19's Avatar
firestormx19
i'm never loging in again.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: hell
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
In the block editor goto tiles -> load new blocks.
opps forgot to say that too. yeah i did that too and chance the blocks numbers from 89 to 100 and still noting and i exit out of advance map and go back in and still noting.
__________________


my trading thread
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=209664

my pokemon hack



my website

http://everythinginonesite.unlimitedforum.com/index.htm
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old March 22nd, 2010 (11:44 AM).
Pokepal17's Avatar
Pokepal17
More cowbell~
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Steeltown
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by firestormx19 View Post
opps forgot to say that too. yeah i did that too and chance the blocks numbers from 89 to 100 and still noting and i exit out of advance map and go back in and still noting.
You added more blocks to the tileset then. :3
That's what happens when you change that value.
__________________
Pokémon Stardrop
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old March 22nd, 2010 (12:50 PM).
firestormx19's Avatar
firestormx19
i'm never loging in again.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: hell
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokepal17 View Post
You added more blocks to the tileset then. :3
That's what happens when you change that value.
yeah i know. ummm i think i will just wait for a d/p/pt map editor. want i start my second hack well after my first hack get finish that is.
__________________


my trading thread
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=209664

my pokemon hack



my website

http://everythinginonesite.unlimitedforum.com/index.htm
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old March 31st, 2010 (01:08 PM).
Darkest Shade of Light's Avatar
Darkest Shade of Light
Pokémon Midnight Sun
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the empty void they call my soul
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Uhm, is it possible to edit the animations caused by grass tile and such if I was following this tutorial, 'cause I wanna make a complete edit of all the tiles in FireRed, and I don't know how to edit the animations caused by grass, or the footprints...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old April 1st, 2010 (08:38 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest Shade of Light View Post
Uhm, is it possible to edit the animations caused by grass tile and such if I was following this tutorial, 'cause I wanna make a complete edit of all the tiles in FireRed, and I don't know how to edit the animations caused by grass, or the footprints...
Not a part of Tile Inserting. There is a tutorial somewhere about changing Animations, so try searching "Grass Animations". The theory is simple, the only hard bit is searching for the grass in Tile Molester.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old April 4th, 2010 (01:37 PM).
Darkest Shade of Light's Avatar
Darkest Shade of Light
Pokémon Midnight Sun
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In the empty void they call my soul
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post


Not a part of Tile Inserting. There is a tutorial somewhere about changing Animations, so try searching "Grass Animations". The theory is simple, the only hard bit is searching for the grass in Tile Molester.
Ok. Thank you. But I have a new problem. Sorry. My problem this time is that when I go to edit a tileset, I save the original one as a .dib, or .png, or .bmp, but Paint won't open any of them. It says the file is not a valid bitmap file or something... Any help:?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old September 5th, 2010 (01:38 PM).
Suzuke of Mystica's Avatar
Suzuke of Mystica
Currently updating stuff...
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: In the clouds right now
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to Suzuke of Mystica
One question, when I load the tile into the rom, it's on there but when I load the rom, the tiles go out of whack, and stuff. How to fix this?
__________________
I make da rules,therefore I'm better than you >;D, and I say the world will have cookies. So there, you all get cookies. Happy now?


Twilight version is taken by me...Still in heavy dev, but don't worry. It WILL BE FINISHED!
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old September 7th, 2010 (02:26 AM).
chriskid198's Avatar
chriskid198
Happy New Year!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
I'm having trouble with inserting the Image in the attachment.
I just ends up looking odd when I try and change the colours.

Some tips please :D
Attached Images
File Type: png untitled.PNG‎ (1.3 KB, 154 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old September 26th, 2010 (09:09 AM).
francisbb's Avatar
francisbb
Join the Legacy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SLEEPY ISLAND z...z...Z
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Thanks :D one question though how do you change the house's outline to the grass
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old October 2nd, 2010 (08:55 PM).
Fellest Revolution's Avatar
Fellest Revolution
I am everywhere and nowhere!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: At the moment... Soviet Union, 1917
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Hey: if I -accidently- screw up the tile set, is there an ips or dib/bmp file or something to get the original back?
__________________
Yes, I can go through time, now, as well...








Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old October 2nd, 2010 (10:47 PM). Edited October 2nd, 2010 by Aljam.
Aljam's Avatar
Aljam
Pierce the heavens
Community Supporter Tier 4
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by francisbb View Post
Thanks :D one question though how do you change the house's outline to the grass
That would be block editing, you would have to click on puzzle piece and got to your block. have grass in the first box as that will be the background of the tile then input your tile for your hose and save. Don't forget to reload blocks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskid198 View Post
I'm having trouble with inserting the Image in the attachment.
I just ends up looking odd when I try and change the colours.

Some tips please :D
You must've gotten your palette wrong. Did you replace the tiles colour? Did you do step 8-14 for each of your colours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzuke of Mystica View Post
One question, when I load the tile into the rom, it's on there but when I load the rom, the tiles go out of whack, and stuff. How to fix this?
Are the tiles animating without your doing? If so then you have put your tile over an animation tile. Mostly these tiles look like they are blank, but they contain important animation data. Replacing these tiles wont screw up your game and make you start over, but it does mean you need to move your tiles to a different location in the tileset. (if you just plopped the tile at the very bottom of the page, then move it up 8 pixels (size of each tile)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fellest Revolution View Post
Hey: if I -accidently- screw up the tile set, is there an ips or dib/bmp file or something to get the original back?
Get a clean ROM of the one you are working on and go to the tileset you were editing. Export that tileset in a palette of your choice. Then import back into your working ROM and you should be fine. (as long as the palettes are the same)
__________________
Paired with Druyii.
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old October 9th, 2010 (08:10 PM).
Fellest Revolution's Avatar
Fellest Revolution
I am everywhere and nowhere!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: At the moment... Soviet Union, 1917
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Thanks, got it working again ^-^
__________________
Yes, I can go through time, now, as well...








Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old November 4th, 2010 (08:27 AM).
izilex
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitŻ View Post
what happens? do they turn a green color? If so, thats because it is not in the right pallette
I got the same problem, i want to import some grass tile's but they turn grey/green.
if i recolor them they arent grasspatches anymore?
what to do?
Has annybody got a complete tileset that i can import?
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.