The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old January 17th, 2010, 05:19 PM
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive

Advertise here
Ok, this is awesome and very useful it helped me greatly. :D
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old January 17th, 2010, 08:06 PM
Full Metal's Avatar
Full Metal
C(++) Developer.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my mind.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Full Metal
Quote:
Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
UPDATE!
Now can export the sprites as 16 color bitmaps!
Wiell...this is either a bug, or just something you didn't add yet but for me i get an error when trying to import a bmp bigger than 16x32 even if i have resized the sprite in game. A 32x32 (and all the other default sizes i'll assume) import works, but 17x32 does not, and 18x32 etc does not (all produce the same error)
And also, i think there is a bug when resizing the sprites, the sprite is loaded just fine in any ow editor, *but* in game its a different story; (for me) there were a bunch of transparent (vertical) lines corrupting the ow. I think i found the problem by looking at the unknown bytes in OWRE in both the resized sprite and a not-resized sprite, and there was the problem; one of the "unknown bytes" had become FFFF. Tomorrow, when i have time i'll tell you how to fix with a hex editor, but nao, i can't off the top of my head. But yea...i would ask that you remove the part of your code that messes with the unknown bytes because it *does* mess up your game (that's the problem with "Overworld Changer" as well)
__________________

★ full metal.

I like to push it,
and push it,
until my luck is over.
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old January 17th, 2010, 08:45 PM
TAKUORO's Avatar
TAKUORO
Pyro from WAH ;D
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Costa Rica
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Great tool!
no bugs so far... good luck with it, it's pretty good.

btw: It will have support for the JPAN engine?
It would be very usefull

EDIT: oh and how much bytes does it need to resize sprites?
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old January 17th, 2010, 10:01 PM
Mr. Frog's Avatar
Mr. Frog
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The pony swamp (somewhere near johto)
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Good job on this tool, its awesome!!
I'm sure this will help me out alot with my new hack.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old January 18th, 2010, 09:37 AM
helloNL
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
i exported a library but with what can we edit it
cuz i tryed to open with photoshop and that cant
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old January 18th, 2010, 12:23 PM
Pogeygothaxed's Avatar
Pogeygothaxed
Pokémon exDeltaSpecies Creator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Too far away from my girlfriend.
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Pogeygothaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Full Metal View Post
Wiell...this is either a bug, or just something you didn't add yet but for me i get an error when trying to import a bmp bigger than 16x32 even if i have resized the sprite in game. A 32x32 (and all the other default sizes i'll assume) import works, but 17x32 does not, and 18x32 etc does not (all produce the same error)
And also, i think there is a bug when resizing the sprites, the sprite is loaded just fine in any ow editor, *but* in game its a different story; (for me) there were a bunch of transparent (vertical) lines corrupting the ow. I think i found the problem by looking at the unknown bytes in OWRE in both the resized sprite and a not-resized sprite, and there was the problem; one of the "unknown bytes" had become FFFF. Tomorrow, when i have time i'll tell you how to fix with a hex editor, but nao, i can't off the top of my head. But yea...i would ask that you remove the part of your code that messes with the unknown bytes because it *does* mess up your game (that's the problem with "Overworld Changer" as well)
Oh, I see this "bug" now...yeah, I have the same problem. I think it's just lack of support, though. He'll probably add it in the next release. It -is- still a Beta. We'll have to be patient. So far, though, it's still better than most other OW editors, simply because of the extended options. (imo)

I'll be waiting for the next release. Keep up the good work, Link.
__________________

If you'd like support this hack, then please add this to your sig!
http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/i...taspeciess.png
Pixel Placement - My Pixel Art Showcasing thread;
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=195942
You can see the latest concept art for exDelta here, along with some other things related and not to the hack!
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old January 19th, 2010, 05:04 PM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Small Update:

Some changes to bitmap exports and the size changes (sizes need to be multiples of eight)
Palette format is different: all sprite palettes (that exist for OW's) are available, but in hex format now...
Displays more info in advanced mode
-and-
Now accepts an optional settings.ini file (which has to be located in the same directory as NSE)

Format:
Code:
        [Header]
        Inherits: "Original Game header, without quotes"
        Start offset = "The start of the sprite table, without quotes"
        Start palette = "The start of the sprite palette table, without quotes"
        [/Header]
Example:
Code:
[LINK]
Inherits: BPRE
Start offset = &H367C38
Start palette = &H3A5158
[/LINK]
Inherits: << is mandatory, the rest is voluntary.
There's no limit to how many "pointer tables" you have in the file, as long as they follow the format(Capitalization does not matter)

Also the re-size bug has been acknowledged and I'm working as fast as I can to fix it...
The bug seems to be with the "unknown" information needing to be changed, but to different values in different tables, which change with the different roms!!!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old January 20th, 2010, 05:30 AM
Full Metal's Avatar
Full Metal
C(++) Developer.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my mind.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Full Metal
yay. Also, I really think that your problem is with the unknown bytes being overwritten.
__________________

★ full metal.

I like to push it,
and push it,
until my luck is over.
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old January 21st, 2010, 06:25 AM
helloNL
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
i did that re size on prof oak,(this in NSE) then i putted in a pic of 32 by 32 and i did that in overworld editor it does work
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old January 21st, 2010, 10:20 PM
Eunbi's Avatar
Eunbi
Croagunk Tamer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Singapore
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Eunbi
16 Colors feels so limited...

This tools' awesome though,really.

Last edited by Eunbi; January 21st, 2010 at 10:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old January 22nd, 2010, 08:59 AM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Update!

- Added a basic palette editor
- Now can toggle view from index to sprite table
- Fixed the re size function for Firered and Leafgreen...

Palette editor Screen-shot:



Clicking the colors will open the windows color picker dialog, typing in the colors will update them,

and the color picker works for the entire screen.

Now in the settings file you can add a pointer to the ROM's stored sprite table:

Example:
Code:
[TEST]
Inherits: BPRE
Sprite table = &H39fdb0
[/TEST]
Sprite table ( like Start offset and Start palette) is not a mandatory pointer though,





Research is being done on the correct unknown bytes for AXV, AXP, and BPE
__________________

Last edited by link12552; January 22nd, 2010 at 02:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old January 22nd, 2010, 04:37 PM
558122_DG's Avatar
558122_DG
Learning how to make mistakes
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
wow a pallette editor with a coolour picker!!! but i assume you would still need to index your OW before using it?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Spoilers are forbidden in signatures
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old January 22nd, 2010, 05:59 PM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
UPDATE!!


Added offset browsing...

- Supports any multiple of 8 size up to 128, 128
- Uses the current palette ( good or bad? )

Example:
  1. open Firered
  2. Make sure you're on the first index (you'll see why)
  3. In view go to offset
  4. Change the size to 64, 64
  5. Make the offset E69EFC
  6. Feint and fall over!!!!!
Image: ( Don't look at until you try it )
Spoiler:






Can be used for editing tiles in game, grass and water animations, and much more
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old January 23rd, 2010, 03:49 AM
Mr. Frog's Avatar
Mr. Frog
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The pony swamp (somewhere near johto)
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
.......wow.
This program is amazing!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old January 23rd, 2010, 05:01 AM
chukar
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
The sprites look fine viewing them in the program but they don't keep their palettes when I put them into the game. They still use the palette of the original sprite despite me changing which palette they use.

Last edited by chukar; January 25th, 2010 at 02:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old January 23rd, 2010, 05:03 AM
helloNL
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
can you make it also possible to add pallette's and OW's cuz that would be cool
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old January 23rd, 2010, 03:41 PM
TAKUORO's Avatar
TAKUORO
Pyro from WAH ;D
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Costa Rica
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Hehe, incredible man thanks.
Amzaing tool here, I really loke these new additions.
Good luck, kept up the good work

Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old January 23rd, 2010, 06:52 PM
558122_DG's Avatar
558122_DG
Learning how to make mistakes
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
wow, u keep mmaking this better and better...
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Spoilers are forbidden in signatures
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old January 24th, 2010, 11:09 AM
>Dante<'s Avatar
>Dante<
Call me Steven
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torino (ITA)
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to >Dante<
hey man!
this is a very good tool!!
I have a suggestion that, in my opinion, could be util for you..
it's about the possibility to import the library of OW..
I think that you should add the function of import of the whole set with a only command..
otherwise if the user wanted to insert an alone OW at time, it will use the command "import frame"..
no?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old January 24th, 2010, 11:26 AM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by >Dante< View Post
hey man!
this is a very good tool!!
I have a suggestion that, in my opinion, could be util for you..
it's about the possibility to import the library of OW..
I think that you should add the function of import of the whole set with a only command..
otherwise if the user wanted to insert an alone OW at time, it will use the command "import frame"..
no?
Sure, I'll try adding an import all function, but right now I'm kinda busy researching the "unknown" bytes and their references to size and animation,
but I'll make the function a priority for the next update.


Edit:
-------------------------------------- --------------------------------------
UPDATE!!!!

Release version: 1.0 is done!

- I've fixed the re-size function, as well as several other small errors...
- I've also embedded the correct unknown bytes into NSE
- The unknown bytes are completely dynamic, they change with the ROM header/inherit value.
- Import library now has a save all function.

Get it now: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=205687

feel free to post comments

__________________

Last edited by link12552; January 24th, 2010 at 03:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old January 24th, 2010, 05:31 PM
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Yay, a non beta. :D Ok, dumb question, is there a way to make more palletes?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old January 24th, 2010, 07:22 PM
liuyanghejerry's Avatar
liuyanghejerry
Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: China,Xi'an
Nature: Calm
Send a message via ICQ to liuyanghejerry Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to liuyanghejerry Send a message via Yahoo to liuyanghejerry
This is very handy when hack based on JPAN's engine
Thank you
__________________
Zel,thethethethe,LU-HO,Darthatron,HackMew,ZodiacDaGreat,Juan,score_under,JPAN,Tamah-chan,I really appreciate your kindness and your help!:D


I did something that really bad.But made all Chinese can hack Pokemon, too.If you guys hate me, I totally understand,but cannot do anything but force to keep everything.
If there must be someone to undertake all spit and curse, it must be me.
Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old January 25th, 2010, 02:50 AM
chukar
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Rewording my original problem...
How do you change what palette a particular sprite uses? For example, I'm writing over a picture that uses palette 3 and change it to palette 5 in the program and it looks great. Then I go to actually insert the sprite in the game and it is still using palette 3 so the colors on the sprite are all wrong. I open NSE again to make sure I had changed it to palette 5 and saved and it says that it is indeed palette 5. What's going on?
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old January 25th, 2010, 04:40 AM
TAKUORO's Avatar
TAKUORO
Pyro from WAH ;D
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Costa Rica
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Great, nice updates as well.
This tools has been updated pretty fast, thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by sky_queen3 View Post
Yay, a non beta. :D Ok, dumb question, is there a way to make more palletes?
Same question here.....
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old January 25th, 2010, 07:52 AM
liuyanghejerry's Avatar
liuyanghejerry
Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: China,Xi'an
Nature: Calm
Send a message via ICQ to liuyanghejerry Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to liuyanghejerry Send a message via Yahoo to liuyanghejerry
Quote:
Originally Posted by sky_queen3 View Post
Yay, a non beta. :D Ok, dumb question, is there a way to make more palletes?
Quote:
Originally Posted by TAKUORO View Post
Great, nice updates as well.
This tools has been updated pretty fast, thank you



Same question here.....
Try this http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=194241
__________________
Zel,thethethethe,LU-HO,Darthatron,HackMew,ZodiacDaGreat,Juan,score_under,JPAN,Tamah-chan,I really appreciate your kindness and your help!:D


I did something that really bad.But made all Chinese can hack Pokemon, too.If you guys hate me, I totally understand,but cannot do anything but force to keep everything.
If there must be someone to undertake all spit and curse, it must be me.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.