Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page Patching & Emulation Help Thread

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old February 7th, 2010 (11:54 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,286
Quote originally posted by Konekodemon:
I am having trouble with the NO$GBA Emulator. Everytime I click to open it, it tries to open up like a Rom file and wants me to open it up with something else. How do I fix this?
There's nothing wrong with it... just select your ROM and enjoy playing
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #102    
Old February 7th, 2010 (06:50 PM).
ElBurrito's Avatar
ElBurrito ElBurrito is offline
I'm not just any burrito. I am THE burrito.
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Middle of Nowhere, Missouri. 'Murica!.
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 331
Im hacking emerald.
How do you change the badge pictures? also is there a tool for editing trainers? and how do you edit the titlescreen?
Reply With Quote
  #103    
Old February 7th, 2010 (11:58 PM).
NiKaNoRoU's Avatar
NiKaNoRoU NiKaNoRoU is offline
Dedicated to Thrace
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 660
Quote originally posted by ElBurrito:
Im hacking emerald.
How do you change the badge pictures? also is there a tool for editing trainers? and how do you edit the titlescreen?
The badges are changed with UnLZ-GBA, a tool that edits the sprites in the rom.
As for trainers, there is another tool called Advance Trainer, by HackMew.

Henceforth, this isn't the place to ask for these. This thread is directed twards Emulation.
For future reference towards rom hacking and editing, please ask your questions in this thread.
__________________

Your knight from the plane of light
Reply With Quote
  #104    
Old February 9th, 2010 (06:07 PM).
Gator99 Gator99 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
is it possible to pal park on an emulator? if so how?
Reply With Quote
  #105    
Old February 10th, 2010 (12:05 AM).
NiKaNoRoU's Avatar
NiKaNoRoU NiKaNoRoU is offline
Dedicated to Thrace
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 660
Quote originally posted by Gator99:
is it possible to pal park on an emulator? if so how?
You might be able to. But I don't know how. Afaik, there is no emulator for a wifi network.
Quote originally posted by dante414:
Hello! when I insert a script or change an existing one some thing always happens another script is messed or when I change a trainer using a trainer editor another trainers stuff gets messed up can anyone explain why and how to stop it thanks.
It's because you augment a compiled script. Scripts that have been compiled can only be edited to become less (or same) in content.
Making the script bigger will mess up other offsets. Even one more character that produces extra byte(s).
__________________

Your knight from the plane of light
Reply With Quote
  #106    
Old February 13th, 2010 (06:11 AM).
altariaking's Avatar
altariaking altariaking is offline
Needs NO VMs...
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 1,098
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to altariaking
how do i get emerald to work on vba?
__________________
http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
Reply With Quote
  #107    
Old February 13th, 2010 (06:23 PM).
~Hot n' Cold~'s Avatar
~Hot n' Cold~ ~Hot n' Cold~ is offline
is too good for a title.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Michigan
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 329
I searched but did not find. This is definately a simple question, though. I am trying my first run at DS Emulation. I downloaded No&GBA and ran a Pokemon Diamond ROM from either coolroms.com or romulation.com (or net, I don't remember). I tried both and got the same message:

The data could not be read.

Please turn off the power, then remove and reinsert the DS Game Card.

So my question is...

What should I do?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #108    
Old February 14th, 2010 (12:25 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,286
Quote originally posted by ~Hot n' Cold~:
The data could not be read.

Please turn off the power, then remove and reinsert the DS Game Card.

So my question is...

What should I do?
Set the right setting
Emulation Options - Cartridge Backup - FLASH 512K - Save Options - Reset ROM - Play
Easy isn't it?
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #109    
Old February 16th, 2010 (03:18 AM).
Garland Garland is offline
Rouge troll.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 38
Question:

What emulator would you advise to use to play ROM hacks? No$gba, DeSmuME etc.

Also, can you provide a download link the emulator of your choice, thanks.
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
Quote originally posted by syphonfilter109:
I USE HARDEN THEN STRING SHOT ON MAY
Reply With Quote
  #110    
Old February 16th, 2010 (05:51 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,286
Quote originally posted by Garland:
No$gba, DeSmuME
NOOO! You must never use DS emulators for hacks.
Use VBA It's the best solution.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #111    
Old February 16th, 2010 (09:46 AM).
Garland Garland is offline
Rouge troll.
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 38
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
NOOO! You must never use DS emulators for hacks.
Use VBA It's the best solution.
Thanks man. I'll download it right away.
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world - those who understand binary and those who don't.
Quote originally posted by syphonfilter109:
I USE HARDEN THEN STRING SHOT ON MAY
Reply With Quote
  #112    
Old February 16th, 2010 (10:29 AM).
Sora's Nobody's Avatar
Sora's Nobody Sora's Nobody is offline
The Official Roxas
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Destiny Island
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 1,111
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Sora's Nobody
Do any Wi-Fi enabled DS emulators excist?
__________________

Sora's Nobody ★ Nothing Yet!
♠The Official Roxas♠ My Stuff:


Reply With Quote
  #113    
Old February 18th, 2010 (10:29 PM).
Destiny.'s Avatar
Destiny. Destiny. is offline
The Absol Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 164
Sora's Nobody- None do. Only iDeas has a 'dud' WIFI to fool the Rom into thinking that WIFI is enabled. This way, you can access the Underground.
Reply With Quote
  #114    
Old February 19th, 2010 (10:48 AM).
speedybeast speedybeast is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
ok so this is a pretty basic question.
i have mac and i've been playing gen i and ii games with kigb, but it seems like the mac version makes weirdly formatted save states that can't be opened with other emulators. since linking/trading isn't supported on kigb for mac this is a problem. can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #115    
Old February 20th, 2010 (07:10 AM).
mondays suck's Avatar
mondays suck mondays suck is offline
:)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: D
Posts: 2,545
I already asked something similar to this in December, but I didn't get any answer.
So: Is there a way to play DS games (to be more specific: Pokemon Platinum) on an emulator without sound? I'm playing on No$gba and
when I set "Sound Output Mode" on "None" the game always freezes when a Pokemon's cry would be played. Is there a patch, or another stable DS emulator with which I could play without sound?
Reply With Quote
  #116    
Old February 20th, 2010 (07:14 AM).
Fire Wolf's Avatar
Fire Wolf Fire Wolf is offline
it's as humid as a sauna, boy!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Antarctica
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 1,089
mondays suck, can't you just mute the speakers of your computer?
Reply With Quote
  #117    
Old February 20th, 2010 (07:16 AM).
mondays suck's Avatar
mondays suck mondays suck is offline
:)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: D
Posts: 2,545
Not really, because then i can't listen to other music than that of the games as well.
Reply With Quote
  #118    
Old February 20th, 2010 (07:23 AM).
Sora's Nobody's Avatar
Sora's Nobody Sora's Nobody is offline
The Official Roxas
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Destiny Island
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 1,111
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Sora's Nobody
Quote originally posted by mondays suck:
Not really, because then i can't listen to other music than that of the games as well.
If you have windows 7 or maybe vista you can just turn the sound down for that particular application
__________________

Sora's Nobody ★ Nothing Yet!
♠The Official Roxas♠ My Stuff:


Reply With Quote
  #119    
Old February 20th, 2010 (07:41 AM).
mondays suck's Avatar
mondays suck mondays suck is offline
:)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: D
Posts: 2,545
I never heard of that function before, but somehow with the help of google and some experimentation I did actually manage to find it, and it works. At least one thing that's better in Vista than it was in XP

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #120    
Old February 21st, 2010 (03:09 PM). Edited February 21st, 2010 by NTA.
NTA's Avatar
NTA NTA is offline
Where?
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 265
the thing im most confused on is this
the first is the default value
tis is what it looks lie in the disassembler
0400000a 1e05 sub r5, r0, #0x0

and the value i want to change it to is
0400000a 1e85 sub r5, r0, #0x2

how would i be able to do that?

the asm tutorials help a little its just certain things i dont get about it though =\
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #121    
Old February 21st, 2010 (04:52 PM).
isolated isolated is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Me and a friend edited our own Fire Red to make it more challenging, etc. We did a lot of work, and now we feel we need to add extra features to the patch.

Here it is: We used Advance Map to make our own building in Viridian City. We then edited Movement Permissions to suit. Now, with regards to events, I am stuck. I want it to be a certain headquarters for a side story in the game. My friend and I have little knowledge regarding this sort of thing, and I've eventually joined PC to seek help. Basically, we need help completing this building, etc.

PM for contact details (MSN, etc.)

Thank you so much.
Reply With Quote
  #122    
Old February 22nd, 2010 (06:14 PM).
cheatfreak23's Avatar
cheatfreak23 cheatfreak23 is offline
Commander&Chief of cheatcodes
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Anywhere, for Ive mastered Walk Through Walls!
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 180
OK, Ive stepped away from VBA for awhile. Now Im using that Desmume stuff. Is there a thread that tells you how to deal with .rar files since I cant seem to find a ROM download that isnt an .rar file?
Reply With Quote
  #123    
Old February 22nd, 2010 (06:18 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,512
Quote originally posted by cheatfreak23:
OK, Ive stepped away from VBA for awhile. Now Im using that Desmume stuff. Is there a thread that tells you how to deal with .rar files since I cant seem to find a ROM download that isnt an .rar file?
An .rar is a type of compressed file. To extract it, you'll need a file extractor, like 7Zip.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #124    
Old February 22nd, 2010 (06:36 PM). Edited February 22nd, 2010 by cheatfreak23.
cheatfreak23's Avatar
cheatfreak23 cheatfreak23 is offline
Commander&Chief of cheatcodes
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Anywhere, for Ive mastered Walk Through Walls!
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 180
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
An .rar is a type of compressed file. To extract it, you'll need a file extractor, like 7Zip.
Ah. Where would I find such a file extractor?

EDIT: Found the program. Not sure how to use it though...

EDIT 2: Got it. Thanks for telling me the name of the program.

EDIT 3: Now my emulator wont show what's going on in the game. I have files for Pokemon Platinum, Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin, and PkeMon Explorers of Time/Explorers of Darkness. What emulator should I use for them?
Reply With Quote
  #125    
Old February 23rd, 2010 (06:02 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,286
Platinum and both Explorers are ds games so No$GBA is what you need
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:20 PM.