The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old March 8th, 2010, 06:09 AM
Maco's Avatar
Maco
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by meepitz View Post
Does anybody know how to get rid of that animation where everything slides in on the firered titlescreen?
I'd like to know this too... It's the last glitchy bit left. The background is there, then random colours from the palette slide across, followed by the background again. Makes the whole thing look unprofessional.
__________________
Need help replacing Pokemon sprites? Tutorial here.
Reply With Quote
  #102    
Old March 8th, 2010, 06:52 AM
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire
Being a Wizard
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
I took a looksy at the origanal tilemap and the pallet is filled with 'F's. Maybe that's how press start flashes. If not that, then maybe "Press Start" has a designated area for it to flash.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #103    
Old March 8th, 2010, 06:57 AM
Midori's Avatar
Midori
Deep Sea Tentacruel
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midori View Post
I need help editing the title in the titlescreen. I made an attempt to duplicate process used for 16 color stuff, and it didn't work. It wound up like this:
Surely somebody can help me with this?
Reply With Quote
  #104    
Old March 8th, 2010, 11:29 AM
Maco's Avatar
Maco
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midori View Post
Surely somebody can help me with this?
Since the positioning is messed up, it suggests either the .raw file is messed up or you inserted a different tilset than the one used in NTME
__________________
Need help replacing Pokemon sprites? Tutorial here.
Reply With Quote
  #105    
Old March 8th, 2010, 11:54 AM
Midori's Avatar
Midori
Deep Sea Tentacruel
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
That may well be part of the problem, but the other part is that FIRERED is NOT what I inputted into the slot where the title used to be. If somebody could do part three of this tutorial, I'm sure my problem would go away.
Reply With Quote
  #106    
Old March 10th, 2010, 03:40 PM
Ty2's Avatar
Ty2
New Hacker and Working Hard
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: I'm not really sure
Age: 17
Nature: Brave
I don't know how to get the 2011 and the other 2000s? I don't know where to get them.
Reply With Quote
  #107    
Old March 15th, 2010, 04:17 PM
BLAZEQUAZA's Avatar
BLAZEQUAZA
ONE FIERY BEAST
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Thanx! This is Awesome!

-BQ
Reply With Quote
  #108    
Old March 30th, 2010, 10:19 AM
esipode
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
So I edited the words "Fire Red Version" and everything worked fine. I got it inserted into the rom without a problem. But now whenever I play the rom, I get to the title screen and everything goes black. What did I do wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #109    
Old April 4th, 2010, 08:46 PM
MadDonkey Games
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haku. View Post
Okay but i get an ugly darkrai..
i didnt used the sprite from Dp as it's not ncie..
so i load my own one and set it to 80x80
i did all the steps but when i play the game i can only see the pokemon title distorted in where i put it...
so i used my backup and made another backup(for safety)
i did the same steps and this time i load the raw on 2011(Mine is BRPE so charizard is 2010)
and the pokemon pic is there but background gone and the background colour of the pokemmon pic is greenish..
any help?
I have the same problem,
could you please tell me how you solved this?
thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #110    
Old April 17th, 2010, 06:27 AM
zZJoennZz's Avatar
zZJoennZz
What da!?
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: alpha world line
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Skype™ to zZJoennZz
This tutorial help me alot its awsome!!!!!
__________________

...mehehehe
Reply With Quote
  #111    
Old April 23rd, 2010, 06:12 AM
bache
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
This is probably a very stupid question, but how do I make that tile transparent?
I tried to use my own background, but couldn't work that step out, so I skipped it,
but when you load the game in VBA, my background only has outlines, and you can see the
original background though it.
Reply With Quote
  #112    
Old April 24th, 2010, 06:53 AM
javinor
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender:
Change the fiest color in the pallette to the one you want to be transparent, in his example, the black
Reply With Quote
  #113    
Old April 24th, 2010, 06:41 PM
bache
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
I tried that, but it made all the other colours screw up.
Reply With Quote
  #114    
Old April 25th, 2010, 08:33 PM
bache
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Ok, so I managed to get past that.
My next problem is that the original flames show up where that transparent spot is.
How do I get rid of them?
Reply With Quote
  #115    
Old April 26th, 2010, 06:15 AM
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire
Being a Wizard
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by humanguy2000 View Post
It works fine for me. Heres my title screen:


And yes, I have not changed the background. Why? Did the charizard and then made a backup of the ROM. Did the background and when I get to the title screen the music carries on and I get a black screen. All I want to do is palette edit the 2 red bars. Who has the offset for APE for those? Is it the background palette?
The offset is 00EAE094. I have a .ini file with a lot of offsets. Just paste it into your APE folder, and look through the bookmarks.
Attached Files
File Type: ini Bookmarks.ini‎ (2.3 KB, 37 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #116    
Old April 29th, 2010, 04:38 AM
Scaterboy's Avatar
Scaterboy
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Wow, thank you very much :D
Reply With Quote
  #117    
Old April 30th, 2010, 10:14 AM
humanguy2000's Avatar
humanguy2000
NSMBW hacker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: No one actually knows...
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
I accidently pressed enter. Now it says I deleted my post because "The hack was" I need to change it to: "The hack is no longer being made" Anyway, nice tut. Here is my result:

Spoiler:

My epic skills made the screwy things appear. I can't fix this. Any ideas?
__________________
Hey, where's my easter egg gone?!
Reply With Quote
  #118    
Old April 30th, 2010, 10:28 AM
AlexAhnon's Avatar
AlexAhnon
Lurking around.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norway
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
This tutorial is awesome and very easy to follow.
Also, you can remove or replace the flames from the background if you want to.
In FireRed (U) go to 141 (or somewhere close that looks like flames) and replace the image with desired type of flames or simply overwrite it with a blank image.

Once again, awesome tutorial! Will help a lot of people!

Quote:
Originally Posted by humanguy2000 View Post
I accidently pressed enter. Now it says I deleted my post because "The hack was" I need to change it to: "The hack is no longer being made" Anyway, nice tut. Here is my result:

Spoiler:

My epic skills made the screwy things appear. I can't fix this. Any ideas?
It might be your ROM.
Try again and if it still appears, then I don't really know what is causing this.
Reply With Quote
  #119    
Old May 1st, 2010, 08:28 AM
Mr. Magius's Avatar
Mr. Magius
  
Community Supporter Tier 5
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ... ;)
Gender: Male
I'm getting a strange error. The first attempt worked to some extent, until it looked disgusting in the game. Now on my second attempt, after I indexed my sprite and checked that the bit depth was correct, I opened the TileSet on NTME and got this message: a 4BPP TileSet can't have more than 1024 tiles. Your TileSet has 10223616 tiles. But for some reason I am able to open my non-indexed sprite O__O

Oh, and I'm loading my RAW it says the file size is too big. Help, please?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #120    
Old May 1st, 2010, 09:11 AM
TheChroniclesofLance's Avatar
TheChroniclesofLance
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
this doesn't work

the NTME file doesn't load at all into unLZ
Reply With Quote
  #121    
Old May 1st, 2010, 10:54 AM
Mr. Magius's Avatar
Mr. Magius
  
Community Supporter Tier 5
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ... ;)
Gender: Male
...and here is my end result. This is supposed to be a Venusaur, mind you.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #122    
Old May 1st, 2010, 08:33 PM
MikeMatt15
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nice tutorial. It worked 100%
Reply With Quote
  #123    
Old May 9th, 2010, 11:32 AM
wollweepop's Avatar
wollweepop
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Gender: Female
it didnt work for meee
it goes all weirdd
__________________
A dog goes WOOF! A cow goes Arrrrrrrrr
Reply With Quote
  #124    
Old May 25th, 2010, 08:41 AM
humanguy2000's Avatar
humanguy2000
NSMBW hacker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: No one actually knows...
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Magius View Post
...and here is my end result. This is supposed to be a Venusaur, mind you.

You probably forgot to make the tilemap and insert it. Try that.
__________________
Hey, where's my easter egg gone?!
Reply With Quote
  #125    
Old May 25th, 2010, 11:08 AM
PeregrineFig's Avatar
PeregrineFig
Starting Pokémon Obsidian
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan, USA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
I found that (for me, anyway) the numbers on the tutorial for the Charizard were wrong, the tileset is at 2010 and the tilemap is at 2011. For those having issues with weird graphical glitches, try changing those two numbers instead and see if it works correctly.
__________________
Current Projects:
POKéMON AQUA SAPPHIRE
POKéMON OBSIDIAN

Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.