Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page Help Patching & Emulation Help Thread

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #201    
Old June 26th, 2010 (11:23 PM).
Destiny.'s Avatar
Destiny. Destiny. is offline
The Absol Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 164
Quote originally posted by The Original Darkwiz787:
Can Pokemon ROMS Trade to eachother? E.G. Red trade to Blue? Or Firered to Emerald?
http://www.vbalink.info/
Yes they can. I can even battle with people on the internet on GBA roms (bad for your security though), trade through LAN between computers (highly complicated, read and MEMORISE the guides on the site)

Quote originally posted by PokeWe:
Is there any way to edit items like pokeballs on your rom? I'm sure there is I just haven't found out how.
PokeWe, if your using DS its possible to edit your SAVE file using Pokesav (download http://projectpokemon.org/) make sure you have the right version.
With GBA games (including FireRed, Emerald and the like) use Ciro's Pokemon Maker: http://www.mediafire.com/?8zblytyxdcn. Apart from being an excellent Pokemon creator, it lets you Gameshark Pokeballs and the like into your game
__________________




http://www.mediafire.com/?zzn4ynwzned
Reply With Quote
  #202    
Old June 29th, 2010 (08:24 AM).
Cilerba Cilerba is offline
the hearts of lonely people
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,166
Is it possible to increase the speed for VBA.
I am aware of the Spacebar function, but it drops the FPS.
I tried shutting off the volume, it works at certain times, but then it doesn't work.
Any help?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #203    
Old June 30th, 2010 (07:49 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,722
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
If I can dump a .nds file with the flash card program and my modem, and it sends data to the computer, can I reverse the process, like sending data to the DS?
Still looking for mah answer!
__________________


voler avec moi
Reply With Quote
  #204    
Old July 12th, 2010 (01:38 PM).
SpeedXaaa's Avatar
SpeedXaaa SpeedXaaa is offline
Uses XD too much...
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to SpeedXaaa
This is...erm, semi-important--for me, at least.

Anyways, is there anywhere where I can find a VBA Pokemon Gold / Silver (doesn't matter which one...) GameSave that I can download; a game save that is pretty much a "god-mod" file? (Mostly referring to being a 100% clear game file.)

I'm really wanting to rip tiles, since you can't necessarily find them "all" on the internet by standard means. At least, I haven't yet...(with all the accurate colors and whatnot)

And since I really don't feel like figuring out a program such as TileMolester at the time, y'know--I'd just rather do it all myself.

Thanks a bunch to anyone that can help me out, here. ; Bing isn't necessarily my friend today, let's just say. ;
((and just to double-check, I'll look around the web and the forums again...))


The Noob Hacker: Well, to be honest, I myself are unsure as to what exactly it is you're referring to--you mean in the games/ROMs themselves, for a hack game, etc?
This may not help, but I do know that there's several cheats out there for just about every Pokemon game that allow you to catch Pokemon from other Trainers.
__________________
http://s1.zetaboards.com/Mega_Pokemon_Collab/index/
Apparently, only 55% of the population can read the following:
Spoiler:

Cna yuo raed tihs? Olny 55% of plepoe can.
I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg. The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Azanmig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot slpeling was ipmorantt!
fi yuo cna raed tihs, palce it in yuor siantugre.
Reply With Quote
  #205    
Old July 12th, 2010 (01:46 PM).
Tomackze's Avatar
Tomackze Tomackze is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 406
If I download an .sps that does not support the same version of the game I have... Is there a way I can convert it to a .sgm or something and make it work? Or am I screwed unless I have the correct game for the .sps version?
Reply With Quote
  #206    
Old July 14th, 2010 (07:59 AM). Edited July 14th, 2010 by ERROR.
ERROR ERROR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 84
@SX
why exactly do u use bing?
oh and have you tried gamefaqs for save files?
__________________
Gen IV FC: 4772 1434 3503
Gen V FC: 2753 3643 9488
Reply With Quote
  #207    
Old July 14th, 2010 (05:24 PM). Edited July 14th, 2010 by KyleSir.
KyleSir's Avatar
KyleSir KyleSir is offline
Life is just a dream
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 16
Okay so you guys know of shiny gold? if not google it . Well after i beat the game it turns off and you're supposed to be able to just press start and load up your save game. But i dont have a save game because for some reason whenever i save it says exchange the backup memory and i don't know how to do that. Ive been saving on the vba and i don't know what to do after i beat the elite four. Is there anyway to convert my vba save into an in game save? any suggestions would help, thanks!
__________________
Favorite game: Shiny Gold

C:\Users\Brenden\Pictures\Kyle new\Signature.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #208    
Old July 16th, 2010 (08:11 AM).
deedooo deedooo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
i have searched around for an answer but cannot find one, so here i am asking, how do change the save file type on visual boy 1.7.4 on mac OS X? i can't find the option anywhere, and i want to play pure gold and light platinum. it's probably something obvious that i will feel silly about afterwards but a little silliness should be worth it XD
Reply With Quote
  #209    
Old July 20th, 2010 (07:59 PM). Edited July 20th, 2010 by MiniM00se.
MiniM00se's Avatar
MiniM00se MiniM00se is offline
Toad in a stroller
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pekopon
Gender: Male
Posts: 105
First of all, sorry if this is the wrong topic/forum.

Whenever I try to download a beta of a hack, and extract the stuff and everything, when I try to open it (on NO$GBA), it says:
Quote:
Bad Header Checksum (real gameboy would shut down)
Bad ROM Entrypoint at Header [000h]
Bad Fixed Value 96h at Header [0B2h]
I have no idea what this means or why it's happening. Can someone help?

NOTE: All the times that this has happened, the ROM was an IPS file.
I noticed it only works with a GBA file. But I still want help.

Here's the message I get:
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #210    
Old July 22nd, 2010 (11:52 PM).
Destiny.'s Avatar
Destiny. Destiny. is offline
The Absol Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 164
Quote originally posted by Cilerba:
Is it possible to increase the speed for VBA.
I am aware of the Spacebar function, but it drops the FPS.
I tried shutting off the volume, it works at certain times, but then it doesn't work.
Any help?
I've gotten 400% upon turning off the volume o.O
Go to Emulator/Speed up toggle. (Though on my computer, once this is enabled the game is unplayable because of its speed)
__________________




http://www.mediafire.com/?zzn4ynwzned
Reply With Quote
  #211    
Old July 23rd, 2010 (12:09 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,382
Quote originally posted by MiniM00se:
First of all, sorry if this is the wrong topic/forum.

Whenever I try to download a beta of a hack, and extract the stuff and everything, when I try to open it (on NO$GBA), it says:


I have no idea what this means or why it's happening. Can someone help?

NOTE: All the times that this has happened, the ROM was an IPS file.
I noticed it only works with a GBA file. But I still want help.
1) IPS' are patches they are not for playing! They are for patching =)
2) Don't use No$GBA for playing hacks.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #212    
Old July 27th, 2010 (11:47 AM).
Tomackze's Avatar
Tomackze Tomackze is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 406
Is there a DS emulator that can go up to 500+% speed yet?
Reply With Quote
  #213    
Old July 27th, 2010 (11:10 PM).
UltimaSilva's Avatar
UltimaSilva UltimaSilva is offline
Varsity Quarterback
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On the field of glory
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 178
I have a basic question. Are emulators safe to download? Will it give me viruses or mess up my laptop? Which emulator for gba is best to download and which site has safe pokemon games to download?
__________________
Friend Codes:
Platinum: Brendon-3695 8336 6042
Diamond: Brendon-4383 6124 1030
Heart Gold: Brendon-3223 9640 2573
Reply With Quote
  #214    
Old July 27th, 2010 (11:33 PM).
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,592
Quote originally posted by UltimaSilva:
I have a basic question. Are emulators safe to download? Will it give me viruses or mess up my laptop? Which emulator for gba is best to download and which site has safe pokemon games to download?
They're very safe as long as you download them from a reliable source. My personal recommendation for an emulator would be VisualBoyAdvance. You can find it here at the developer's website (and if that's not safe enough for you, I don't know what is). There are some derivatives of it (e.g., one that allows linking, a debugger version, one that adds logging functionality, etc.) but if you just want to play games, then downloading the version at the site linked to above will be sufficient. Another popular emulator is no$gba which you can download here. I don't know as much about that one because I use VBA but I've heard it's just as good.

As for downloading games, you're out of luck asking on this site. The rules forbid linking to ROMs so you'll have to obtain them on your own. Hope that helps!
__________________

Brother of Vrai
Reply With Quote
  #215    
Old July 28th, 2010 (12:04 AM).
UltimaSilva's Avatar
UltimaSilva UltimaSilva is offline
Varsity Quarterback
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On the field of glory
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 178
Thanks very much for your help. I got the VBA and a fire red ROM. The only problem is that it won't save because it says that I need to backup the save file or something. How can I fix this?
__________________
Friend Codes:
Platinum: Brendon-3695 8336 6042
Diamond: Brendon-4383 6124 1030
Heart Gold: Brendon-3223 9640 2573
Reply With Quote
  #216    
Old July 28th, 2010 (01:27 AM).
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,592
Quote originally posted by UltimaSilva:
Thanks very much for your help. I got the VBA and a fire red ROM. The only problem is that it won't save because it says that I need to backup the save file or something. How can I fix this?
Answers to most of the more common emulation questions (such as this one) can be found in the FAQ thread in the main ROM Hacking forum (link here).
__________________

Brother of Vrai
Reply With Quote
  #217    
Old July 28th, 2010 (07:18 AM).
Weavile05's Avatar
Weavile05 Weavile05 is offline
Currently Hacking BW
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,431
Quote originally posted by Tomackze:
If I download an .sps that does not support the same version of the game I have... Is there a way I can convert it to a .sgm or something and make it work? Or am I screwed unless I have the correct game for the .sps version?
Google a save converter (or yahoo or whatever) I found one that works great for DS gamesaves. Except that for some reason it doesn't work converting into the file type that says No$Gba.
It should be on a site called Shunyweb
__________________
In progress

Hoenn, 1 Badge
My Youtube Channel: Check out my Pokemon Red Walkthrough
Pokemon White FC: 2322 5491 2643
Reply With Quote
  #218    
Old July 29th, 2010 (03:24 PM).
Tomackze's Avatar
Tomackze Tomackze is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 406
^Thanks. Will check it out.

BTW anyone know the answer to a DS emulator that can go up to 300% speed or higher?
Reply With Quote
  #219    
Old July 30th, 2010 (11:59 AM).
Petemon Petemon is offline
GO Abra
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 47
how can i trade on pokemon diamond (no$gba)
i want to local trade
Reply With Quote
  #220    
Old July 31st, 2010 (12:15 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,382
Quote originally posted by Tomackze:
BTW anyone know the answer to a DS emulator that can go up to 300% speed or higher?
Now 300%? =D You decreased the number =D
Anyways I think that No$GBA can go over 300 in battles 200-300 in buildings and 100-200 in outside. The speeding button is +
And also you can use No$Zoomer that should also make game faster.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #221    
Old July 31st, 2010 (10:48 AM).
Konekodemon's Avatar
Konekodemon Konekodemon is offline
The Master of Pokemon Breeding
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NC
Age: 30
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,895
Send a message via ICQ to Konekodemon Send a message via AIM to Konekodemon Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Konekodemon Send a message via Yahoo to Konekodemon Send a message via Skype™ to Konekodemon
How do I change a .GB file to a .GBC file so I can play the ROM in color? I know this can be done, as I did it before. I just forgot how I did it.
__________________

Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile.php?id=231549&ref=61528
Get a Free PS3, this is no joke: http://www.YourPS34free.com/index.php?ref=5580831
Reply With Quote
  #222    
Old July 31st, 2010 (10:51 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,722
Quote originally posted by Petemon:
how can i trade on pokemon diamond (no$gba)
i want to local trade
Simple. You can't. If you have GTS, there is a way to send Pokemon from the DS rom to the game using the GTS Exploit.
__________________


voler avec moi
Reply With Quote
  #223    
Old July 31st, 2010 (12:40 PM). Edited August 1st, 2010 by Petemon.
Petemon Petemon is offline
GO Abra
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 47
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
Simple. You can't. If you have GTS, there is a way to send Pokemon from the DS rom to the game using the GTS Exploit.
i ve been in the union room with friend atempting to trade but it freezes when "talking to dawn"
Reply With Quote
  #224    
Old July 31st, 2010 (06:52 PM).
Tomackze's Avatar
Tomackze Tomackze is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 406
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
Now 300%? =D You decreased the number =D
Anyways I think that No$GBA can go over 300 in battles 200-300 in buildings and 100-200 in outside. The speeding button is +
And also you can use No$Zoomer that should also make game faster.
Thanks :D. 500 seemed unreasonable so I changed it to 300... as I can play with just 300 if need be.

And that's interesting although the 100-200 will be brutal for outside as that is most of the games...
Reply With Quote
  #225    
Old August 1st, 2010 (05:13 AM).
*RC* *RC* is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
How can I change the place where I start my adventure?
Because with SMCA e go to the map that I want but not the exacte place that I want ;x
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:07 AM.