Community

The PokéCommunity

We are still working on a better slogan!

Visit Index



Advertise here

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Post Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #176    
Old July 12th, 2010, 01:38 PM
SpeedXaaa's Avatar
SpeedXaaa
Uses XD too much...
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 21
Gender:
Nature: Quirky
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via AIM to SpeedXaaa

Advertise here
This is...erm, semi-important--for me, at least.

Anyways, is there anywhere where I can find a VBA Pokemon Gold / Silver (doesn't matter which one...) GameSave that I can download; a game save that is pretty much a "god-mod" file? (Mostly referring to being a 100% clear game file.)

I'm really wanting to rip tiles, since you can't necessarily find them "all" on the internet by standard means. At least, I haven't yet...(with all the accurate colors and whatnot)

And since I really don't feel like figuring out a program such as TileMolester at the time, y'know--I'd just rather do it all myself.

Thanks a bunch to anyone that can help me out, here. ; Bing isn't necessarily my friend today, let's just say. ;
((and just to double-check, I'll look around the web and the forums again...))


The Noob Hacker: Well, to be honest, I myself are unsure as to what exactly it is you're referring to--you mean in the games/ROMs themselves, for a hack game, etc?
This may not help, but I do know that there's several cheats out there for just about every Pokemon game that allow you to catch Pokemon from other Trainers.
http://s1.zetaboards.com/Mega_Pokemon_Collab/index/
Apparently, only 55% of the population can read the following:
Spoiler:

Cna yuo raed tihs? Olny 55% of plepoe can.
I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg. The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Azanmig huh? yaeh and I awlyas tghuhot slpeling was ipmorantt!
fi yuo cna raed tihs, palce it in yuor siantugre.
  #177    
Old July 12th, 2010, 01:46 PM
Tomackze's Avatar
Tomackze
Drowzee
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
If I download an .sps that does not support the same version of the game I have... Is there a way I can convert it to a .sgm or something and make it work? Or am I screwed unless I have the correct game for the .sps version?
  #178    
Old July 14th, 2010, 07:59 AM
ERROR
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
@SX
why exactly do u use bing?
oh and have you tried gamefaqs for save files?
Gen IV FC: 4772 1434 3503
Gen V FC: 2753 3643 9488

Last edited by ERROR; July 14th, 2010 at 08:20 AM.
  #179    
Old July 14th, 2010, 05:24 PM
KyleSir's Avatar
KyleSir
Life is just a dream
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Okay so you guys know of shiny gold? if not google it . Well after i beat the game it turns off and you're supposed to be able to just press start and load up your save game. But i dont have a save game because for some reason whenever i save it says exchange the backup memory and i don't know how to do that. Ive been saving on the vba and i don't know what to do after i beat the elite four. Is there anyway to convert my vba save into an in game save? any suggestions would help, thanks!
Favorite game: Shiny Gold

C:\Users\Brenden\Pictures\Kyle new\Signature.jpg

Last edited by KyleSir; July 14th, 2010 at 11:50 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #180    
Old July 16th, 2010, 08:11 AM
deedooo
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
i have searched around for an answer but cannot find one, so here i am asking, how do change the save file type on visual boy 1.7.4 on mac OS X? i can't find the option anywhere, and i want to play pure gold and light platinum. it's probably something obvious that i will feel silly about afterwards but a little silliness should be worth it XD
  #181    
Old July 20th, 2010, 07:59 PM
MiniM00se's Avatar
MiniM00se
Toad in a stroller
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pekopon
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
First of all, sorry if this is the wrong topic/forum.

Whenever I try to download a beta of a hack, and extract the stuff and everything, when I try to open it (on NO$GBA), it says:
Quote:
Bad Header Checksum (real gameboy would shut down)
Bad ROM Entrypoint at Header [000h]
Bad Fixed Value 96h at Header [0B2h]
I have no idea what this means or why it's happening. Can someone help?

NOTE: All the times that this has happened, the ROM was an IPS file.
I noticed it only works with a GBA file. But I still want help.

Here's the message I get:


Last edited by MiniM00se; July 20th, 2010 at 08:04 PM.
  #182    
Old July 22nd, 2010, 11:52 PM
Destiny.'s Avatar
Destiny.
The Absol Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cilerba View Post
Is it possible to increase the speed for VBA.
I am aware of the Spacebar function, but it drops the FPS.
I tried shutting off the volume, it works at certain times, but then it doesn't work.
Any help?
I've gotten 400% upon turning off the volume o.O
Go to Emulator/Speed up toggle. (Though on my computer, once this is enabled the game is unplayable because of its speed)




http://www.mediafire.com/?zzn4ynwzned
  #183    
Old July 23rd, 2010, 12:09 AM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiniM00se View Post
First of all, sorry if this is the wrong topic/forum.

Whenever I try to download a beta of a hack, and extract the stuff and everything, when I try to open it (on NO$GBA), it says:


I have no idea what this means or why it's happening. Can someone help?

NOTE: All the times that this has happened, the ROM was an IPS file.
I noticed it only works with a GBA file. But I still want help.
1) IPS' are patches they are not for playing! They are for patching =)
2) Don't use No$GBA for playing hacks.
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #184    
Old July 27th, 2010, 11:47 AM
Tomackze's Avatar
Tomackze
Drowzee
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Is there a DS emulator that can go up to 500+% speed yet?
  #185    
Old July 27th, 2010, 11:10 PM
UltimaSilva's Avatar
UltimaSilva
Varsity Quarterback
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On the field of glory
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
I have a basic question. Are emulators safe to download? Will it give me viruses or mess up my laptop? Which emulator for gba is best to download and which site has safe pokemon games to download?
Friend Codes:
Platinum: Brendon-3695 8336 6042
Diamond: Brendon-4383 6124 1030
Heart Gold: Brendon-3223 9640 2573
  #186    
Old July 27th, 2010, 11:33 PM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimaSilva View Post
I have a basic question. Are emulators safe to download? Will it give me viruses or mess up my laptop? Which emulator for gba is best to download and which site has safe pokemon games to download?
They're very safe as long as you download them from a reliable source. My personal recommendation for an emulator would be VisualBoyAdvance. You can find it here at the developer's website (and if that's not safe enough for you, I don't know what is). There are some derivatives of it (e.g., one that allows linking, a debugger version, one that adds logging functionality, etc.) but if you just want to play games, then downloading the version at the site linked to above will be sufficient. Another popular emulator is no$gba which you can download here. I don't know as much about that one because I use VBA but I've heard it's just as good.

As for downloading games, you're out of luck asking on this site. The rules forbid linking to ROMs so you'll have to obtain them on your own. Hope that helps!

Brother of Vrai
  #187    
Old July 28th, 2010, 12:04 AM
UltimaSilva's Avatar
UltimaSilva
Varsity Quarterback
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On the field of glory
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Thanks very much for your help. I got the VBA and a fire red ROM. The only problem is that it won't save because it says that I need to backup the save file or something. How can I fix this?
Friend Codes:
Platinum: Brendon-3695 8336 6042
Diamond: Brendon-4383 6124 1030
Heart Gold: Brendon-3223 9640 2573
  #188    
Old July 28th, 2010, 01:27 AM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimaSilva View Post
Thanks very much for your help. I got the VBA and a fire red ROM. The only problem is that it won't save because it says that I need to backup the save file or something. How can I fix this?
Answers to most of the more common emulation questions (such as this one) can be found in the FAQ thread in the main ROM Hacking forum (link here).

Brother of Vrai
  #189    
Old July 28th, 2010, 07:18 AM
Weavile05's Avatar
Weavile05
Currently Hacking BW
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomackze View Post
If I download an .sps that does not support the same version of the game I have... Is there a way I can convert it to a .sgm or something and make it work? Or am I screwed unless I have the correct game for the .sps version?
Google a save converter (or yahoo or whatever) I found one that works great for DS gamesaves. Except that for some reason it doesn't work converting into the file type that says No$Gba.
It should be on a site called Shunyweb
In progress

Hoenn, 1 Badge
My Youtube Channel: Check out my Pokemon Red Walkthrough
Pokemon White FC: 2322 5491 2643
  #190    
Old July 29th, 2010, 03:24 PM
Tomackze's Avatar
Tomackze
Drowzee
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
^Thanks. Will check it out.

BTW anyone know the answer to a DS emulator that can go up to 300% speed or higher?
  #191    
Old July 30th, 2010, 11:59 AM
Petemon
GO Abra
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
how can i trade on pokemon diamond (no$gba)
i want to local trade
  #192    
Old July 31st, 2010, 12:15 AM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomackze View Post
BTW anyone know the answer to a DS emulator that can go up to 300% speed or higher?
Now 300%? =D You decreased the number =D
Anyways I think that No$GBA can go over 300 in battles 200-300 in buildings and 100-200 in outside. The speeding button is +
And also you can use No$Zoomer that should also make game faster.
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #193    
Old July 31st, 2010, 10:48 AM
Konekodemon's Avatar
Konekodemon
The Master of Pokemon Breeding
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NC
Age: 30
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via ICQ to Konekodemon Send a message via AIM to Konekodemon Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Konekodemon Send a message via Yahoo to Konekodemon Send a message via Skype™ to Konekodemon
How do I change a .GB file to a .GBC file so I can play the ROM in color? I know this can be done, as I did it before. I just forgot how I did it.

Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile...1549&ref=61528
[/sig-reason]
  #194    
Old July 31st, 2010, 10:51 AM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
The fine line between in|sanity
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petemon View Post
how can i trade on pokemon diamond (no$gba)
i want to local trade
Simple. You can't. If you have GTS, there is a way to send Pokemon from the DS rom to the game using the GTS Exploit.

Pairs:
Kevin, Echidna
Follow me on Twitter! @TeamFail
Alt 1, リザードン
Miiverse
Pokémon Hackers Online
Alt 2: Jack Cayman



[04:20.39] <@GoGo> I WILL INSERT WITH PLEASURE
[04:20.45] <@GoGo> shut it Bela

[05:41.55] <Team_Fail> Blue Spider is interesting, but #MEHMasterRace
[05:42.20] <diegoisawesome> Team_Fail: Sounds like a bunch of unmotivated people that still want to try to take over the world
  #195    
Old July 31st, 2010, 12:40 PM
Petemon
GO Abra
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
Simple. You can't. If you have GTS, there is a way to send Pokemon from the DS rom to the game using the GTS Exploit.
i ve been in the union room with friend atempting to trade but it freezes when "talking to dawn"

Last edited by Petemon; August 1st, 2010 at 01:33 AM.
  #196    
Old July 31st, 2010, 06:52 PM
Tomackze's Avatar
Tomackze
Drowzee
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
Now 300%? =D You decreased the number =D
Anyways I think that No$GBA can go over 300 in battles 200-300 in buildings and 100-200 in outside. The speeding button is +
And also you can use No$Zoomer that should also make game faster.
Thanks :D. 500 seemed unreasonable so I changed it to 300... as I can play with just 300 if need be.

And that's interesting although the 100-200 will be brutal for outside as that is most of the games...
  #197    
Old August 1st, 2010, 05:13 AM
*RC*
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
How can I change the place where I start my adventure?
Because with SMCA e go to the map that I want but not the exacte place that I want ;x
  #198    
Old August 1st, 2010, 07:35 AM
Weavile05's Avatar
Weavile05
Currently Hacking BW
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
When I play pokemon Yellow on my emulator, the music is all staticy and jumpy. Is there any way to fix this?

btw I'm using VBA. Please Help!
In progress

Hoenn, 1 Badge
My Youtube Channel: Check out my Pokemon Red Walkthrough
Pokemon White FC: 2322 5491 2643

Last edited by Weavile05; August 1st, 2010 at 07:36 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #199    
Old August 1st, 2010, 09:49 AM
ticktank
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
hello, so i'm kinda new to the whole custom pokemon game scene and a problem just arose for me.
Whenever i compile a script into my game (fire red) the game will no longer start. I usually get a message saying "the rom image has crashed"
i've tried multiple emulators and all give me the same problem.
I'm using PKSV to script.
This problem seems to only be happening on Fire Red because when i started making a game on emerald the scripts would run just fine and not crash the game.
Any one have any ideas as to why this is happening?
thanks.
  #200    
Old August 3rd, 2010, 04:20 AM
Petemon
GO Abra
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
thank everyone who tried to help me but i am now using Evolution editor so thanks
Post Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:50 PM.

About Us
© 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com. Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.

Copyright
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com. PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator. Header artwork by Jordanice of deviantART.

Social Media
If you would like to stay up-to-date with us on the go, when we're down, or other such things, follow us on social media sites--most notibly Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus--by clicking on the links provided.

Design presented by Peitharchia. Special thanks to Hiroshi Sotomura and Ausaudriel.