The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #151    
Old July 4th, 2010 (11:25 AM).
BrettBurkeen333's Avatar
BrettBurkeen333
Noob Rom Hacker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Wow this is looks f-in' awesome!!!!
Cant wait use it!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
Reply With Quote
  #152    
Old July 8th, 2010 (11:39 AM). Edited July 8th, 2010 by Teh Newbeh.
Teh Newbeh's Avatar
Teh Newbeh
Yellow Gold™
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I cant wait for the lz function. :D

Also, Im trying to find the water animation in Tile Molester to bookmark the offset in NSE but Im having troubles finding it. Would you happen to have the offset lying around anywhere? In Fire Red, btw.

EDIT: Well, I found where the water tiles start. At this offset. 3A7674
And here is the pallet. EA1BE8
Only problem is the tiles are spread apart. Is there any way to get them together in one picture?
__________________
I have a feeling we are destined to cross paths again.
Reply With Quote
  #153    
Old July 12th, 2010 (04:47 AM).
Masterge77's Avatar
Masterge77
Jacen The Robot Floatzel
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sinnoh Region
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Searching for offsets doesn't seem to work on Emerald, I typed the offsets for Brendans battle sprite and pallete, and all I got was a static looking image with the wrong colors
__________________
My DA account
Avatar made by MelNathea on DeviantART

The Owner of Sea Weasels, the club for Buizel and Floatzel fans!
Reply With Quote
  #154    
Old July 12th, 2010 (11:53 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Update NSE 1.7-
Yay, it's finally here XD

  • Fixed some bugs
  • An overall speedup
  • Better, faster free space finding
  • More dynamics added to bookmarks, (Image lengths, more dynamic pointers, support for LZ bookmarks)
  • LZ Decompression and Re-compression on both images and palettes
  • Re-point compressed images and palettes, NSE will search for and change any referencing pointers
  • Automatically finds free-space or do it yourself in Advanced Mode

----------






Get this dialog (above) by switching to Advanced mode,
or let NSE do it automatically! (Applies to both images and palettes)


Note(S): What this means-

This does not mean that you can change the size of compressed images,
-But rather means that you can edit the image and palette inside of NSE, export and import bitmaps, and a ton of other things.

I highly recommend you bookmark anything you re-point , so you don't forget the offset.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #155    
Old July 12th, 2010 (02:49 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
Update NSE 1.7-
Yay, it's finally here XD

  • Fixed some bugs
  • An overall speedup
  • Better, faster free space finding
  • More dynamics added to bookmarks, (Image lengths, more dynamic pointers, support for LZ bookmarks)
  • LZ Decompression and Re-compression on both images and palettes
  • Re-point compressed images and palettes, NSE will search for and change any referencing pointers
  • Automatically finds free-space or do it yourself in Advanced Mode

----------






Get this dialog (above) by switching to Advanced mode,
or let NSE do it automatically! (Applies to both images and palettes)


Note(S): What this means-

This does not mean that you can change the size of compressed images,
-But rather means that you can edit the image and palette inside of NSE, export and import bitmaps, and a ton of other things.

I highly recommend you bookmark anything you re-point , so you don't forget the offset.
Yes, it's finally here!
Two things though:
What about images that are decompressed, but have a compressed palette? Or vice-versa? Maybe you could combine both offset browsing boxes and put checkmarks to determine whether one or the other is compressed (or not).

Second, you have a spelling mistake (Auto-abort if data is to big, should be too big).
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Reply With Quote
  #156    
Old July 12th, 2010 (03:13 PM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
Yes, it's finally here!
Two things though:
What about images that are decompressed, but have a compressed palette? Or vice-versa? Maybe you could combine both offset browsing boxes and put checkmarks to determine whether one or the other is compressed (or not).

Second, you have a spelling mistake (Auto-abort if data is to big, should be too big).
- NSE automatically checks what exactly it is your looking at/for.
It knows if a palette is compressed. It knows if an image is compressed.
It just knows... spooky

And yes, you can mix and match compressed and uncompressed images and palettes.




Whoops...
Sorry for the spelling issue. My bad,
and after all the work I put into this update... cries.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #157    
Old July 12th, 2010 (03:17 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
- NSE automatically checks what exactly it is your looking at/for.
It knows if a palette is compressed. It knows if an image is compressed.
It just knows... spooky

And yes, you can mix and match compressed and uncompressed images and palettes.




Whoops...
Sorry for the spelling issue. My bad,
and after all the work I put into this update... cries.
That feature is cool!
And no worries, it's just one letter. The same exact mistake was made in un-LZ (Compressed size is: 0xYYY. Which is to big. Aborting.)
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Reply With Quote
  #158    
Old July 12th, 2010 (07:22 PM).
Full Metal's Avatar
Full Metal
C(++) Developer.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my mind.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Full Metal
lol, it pains me how common that mistake is D:
anyways, might i suggest something to you?
if/when an image is repointed, you should also over-write the old image with the "FF" byte, as to preserve free-space.
__________________

★ full metal.

I like to push it,
and push it,
until my luck is over.
Reply With Quote
  #159    
Old July 14th, 2010 (04:56 PM). Edited July 15th, 2010 by link12552.
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
That feature is cool!
And no worries, it's just one letter. The same exact mistake was made in un-LZ (Compressed size is: 0xYYY. Which is to big. Aborting.)
No! I'm worrying about it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full Metal View Post
lol, it pains me how common that mistake is D:
anyways, might i suggest something to you?
if/when an image is repointed, you should also over-write the old image with the "FF" byte, as to preserve free-space.
Good idea!
Never really, crossed my mind (Except for briefly, before being shoved aside by another idea) XD

In-fact...

UPDATE 1.7.0.5
  • Replaces old images ( after a re-point) with free-space
  • Fixed an unforgivable spelling mistake :p
  • Tweaked the LZ compression algorithm
  • Added a nifty button hyper-linking to this thread!


See, I fixed it!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #160    
Old July 15th, 2010 (07:36 AM).
Full Metal's Avatar
Full Metal
C(++) Developer.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my mind.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Full Metal
awesome, glad to see you used my idea :D
and lol, a quote i saw comes to mind
Quote:
tucking
fypos
hurn ni bell!
__________________

★ full metal.

I like to push it,
and push it,
until my luck is over.
Reply With Quote
  #161    
Old July 22nd, 2010 (01:11 PM).
Robotico00's Avatar
Robotico00
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
er... I'm having problems with the OverWorld that I'm trying to put in the ROM, because the image have only four colors(it's a robot, hero of my comic), and NSE can't accept low-collor sprites like this
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
No spoilers allowed in signatures.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #162    
Old July 22nd, 2010 (01:19 PM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag
the man in black
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Uh, you've also misspelled Automatically. D:
__________________
#
Reply With Quote
  #163    
Old July 23rd, 2010 (07:41 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robotico00 View Post
er... I'm having problems with the OverWorld that I'm trying to put in the ROM, because the image have only four colors(it's a robot, hero of my comic), and NSE can't accept low-collor sprites like this
Just save the image your importing as a 16 color bitmap and then import it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manipulation View Post
Uh, you've also misspelled Automatically. D:
All these spelling errors, ugh...
I think we should all take a moment to blame my 6th grade English teacher...
Now there's a person who really knows how to mess up a person's understanding of the the English language!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #164    
Old July 25th, 2010 (03:13 AM).
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Yay, new version! :D (Makes a note to try to find the list of offsets for animated tiles in FR... )
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #165    
Old July 25th, 2010 (07:10 AM).
Gamer2020's Avatar
Gamer2020
This love is a sickness...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Distant Land
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via Skype™ to Gamer2020
Hey I have a suggestion/request. An option to "delete" an image from a ROM may be useful. Like replace the image with FF bytes. This will help create more space in the ROM. It would majorly benefit when Hacking Emerald as there are several useless images in the ROM.
__________________
Pokemon Game Editor Download!
Pokemon TCG Assistant!
Fun Fact: Even though PGE isn't posted on PC anymore it still has the same number of downloads per day.
Reply With Quote
  #166    
Old July 25th, 2010 (08:03 AM).
Full Metal's Avatar
Full Metal
C(++) Developer.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my mind.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Full Metal
How about just inserting+repointing and image that has all it's pixels set to the 'ff' byte?
;edit;
ignore that, you would still have to take care of the unlz header thing.
__________________

★ full metal.

I like to push it,
and push it,
until my luck is over.
Reply With Quote
  #167    
Old July 25th, 2010 (03:45 PM).
Super Ultra Mega Charizard
not a beginner trainer :P
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: over there
Gender: Male
I found a glitch...I think. I wanted to insert a 5th gen style overworld but it was too big so I edited the size limit too 32x32 but now the overworld I edited is all glitchy so how do I fix it??

and sky_queen3 you can find them with tileset animation editor on wah :3
Reply With Quote
  #168    
Old July 25th, 2010 (06:21 PM).
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Ah, thank you. (Goes to get TAE and hope it works...)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #169    
Old July 26th, 2010 (05:51 AM). Edited July 26th, 2010 by link12552.
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Ultra Mega Charizard View Post
I found a glitch...I think. I wanted to insert a 5th gen style overworld but it was too big so I edited the size limit too 32x32 but now the overworld I edited is all glitchy so how do I fix it??

and sky_queen3 you can find them with tileset animation editor on wah :3
When you want to change the size of a sprite you have to switch the preferences from "Index" to "All". If you don't NSE thinks that you just want to change the stored size variable in the index, instead of re-pointing and resizing all of the frames and changing the stored size var.
Just switch to "All mode"

Seems like I'm going to have to write a guide to NSE...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #170    
Old July 26th, 2010 (06:44 AM).
Full Metal's Avatar
Full Metal
C(++) Developer.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my mind.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Full Metal
Nahh, I was able to figure it out easy enough.
People just need to learn how to use their heads -__-"
__________________

★ full metal.

I like to push it,
and push it,
until my luck is over.
Reply With Quote
  #171    
Old July 26th, 2010 (07:04 AM).
Super Ultra Mega Charizard
not a beginner trainer :P
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: over there
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by link12552 View Post
When you want to change the size of a sprite you have to switch the preferences from "Index" to "All". If you don't NSE thinks that you just want to change the stored size variable in the index, instead of re-pointing and resizing all of the frames and changing the stored size var.
Just switch to "All mode"

Seems like I'm going to have to write a guide to NSE...
ok thank you for the help
Reply With Quote
  #172    
Old July 26th, 2010 (01:41 PM). Edited July 27th, 2010 by Kevin.
Kevin's Avatar
Kevin
kevin del rey
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Whoa I <3 this tool. I love the fact that we can now change back sprites! Oh, and how do we change Pokemon sprites? I dunno where to find offsets.
Reply With Quote
  #173    
Old July 26th, 2010 (08:13 PM).
Jemzx's Avatar
Jemzx
Guardian Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Woah thanks a lot, it's a lot better than the old OW editor
__________________
Just learned how to hack other type of games, Now I'm going to work in another pokemon hack again...



Have a original idea? I'll help on a project...
Reply With Quote
  #174    
Old August 1st, 2010 (09:38 AM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome
Please understand
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Hey, for some reason NSE is repointing things to places that have NO free space at all... O.o
I tested it out on a ROM that I had. I made a backup, and, without doing anything else, got NSE to repoint the frames of a sprite. And, actual, used bytes were overwritten
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Reply With Quote
  #175    
Old August 1st, 2010 (12:12 PM).
King Koopa's Avatar
King Koopa
The Dark Spriter >>>>
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by diegoisawesome View Post
Hey, for some reason NSE is repointing things to places that have NO free space at all... O.o
I tested it out on a ROM that I had. I made a backup, and, without doing anything else, got NSE to repoint the frames of a sprite. And, actual, used bytes were overwritten
yes i second you!! it keeps re poiting to other sprites and messing things up!
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.