Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Research & Development
Reload this Page Research/Survey: Palette 12 in Pokemon Ruby

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!
Research & Development programs in this forum are subject to moderator approval before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old August 26th, 2010 (11:28 AM).
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,282
When I briefly hacked Ruby, I noticed that you can't use a 12th palette for tilesets, etc. This isn't the case with FireRed or Emerald.

Someday, I want to implement some kind of a Battle Frontier in Ruby, and if that was possible, then I would move my hack over to Ruby. But this would be impossible, because the tilesets I've made requires the use of all 12 palettes, and Ruby only supports 11 palettes.

So does anyone know how to activate Palette 12 in Ruby? Since it works in Emerald.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old August 30th, 2010 (06:21 PM).
ZodiacDaGreat's Avatar
ZodiacDaGreat ZodiacDaGreat is offline
Working on a Mobile System
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Pacific
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 429
Send a message via ICQ to ZodiacDaGreat
It is possible but would require work. Anyway, I think I'll need Palette 12 for my hack too sooner or later so, I'll look into this as soon as I can.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old October 13th, 2010 (05:03 PM).
U.Flame's Avatar
U.Flame U.Flame is offline
Brony Hacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sapphire City in future Hoenn
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,204
So palette 12 is programed in Ruby and Sapphire but just doesn't work? I always thought it was blank space.
__________________
Hacks I'm currently working on:
Pokemon Sapphire Hoenn's Ruin - My own hack, actively making progress.
3rd Gen Multiplayer Project - Research and development, occasionally testing, sometimes with support.
Pokemon Ruby Destiny Broken Timeline - Mapping assigned maps, slow pace at the moment.
Pokemon Cursed/Creepy White - Group project, on hiatus for now with plans to return eventually.

Times I've been ninja'd: 18
Times I've ninja'd people: 3
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old October 13th, 2010 (10:52 PM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by U_Flame:
So palette 12 is programed in Ruby and Sapphire but just doesn't work? I always thought it was blank space.
Kind. I remember messing around with Pallette 12 for a project and it has set colours from what I saw, and editing the colours in Block Editor did nothing to change it. It was purpley colours that it seemed to be.

But if a way is discovered, tat would be great. I wonder if you could change it with a Hex Editor anyway, as I remember that the colours were different from what I set for there... Probably not.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old October 14th, 2010 (03:32 PM).
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
Yours truly
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 1,592
I figured it out. When the game triggers the SWI that copies over the palette from the ROM to the RAM, it only copies six palettes (6-11). The palette that occupies the 12th palette slot is actually the palette used for the "Ruby Version" text on the titlescreen. Oddly enough, it never gets overwritten. So all you have to do is change the parameter for the SWI call so that it copies over '0x70' halfwords instead of '0x60'. In order to do that, you should change the byte at '0x056d62' from '0xc0' to '0xe0'. Isn't it funny how a single bit can affect the game so drastically?
__________________

Brother of Vrai
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old October 14th, 2010 (05:26 PM).
Hopeless Masquerade's Avatar
Hopeless Masquerade Hopeless Masquerade is offline
カミツレ
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nimbasa City
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,126
Wow! This is some amazing infromation. I hadn't even realized that the 12th palette wasn't used! Also, it is very useful to know the the 12th palette is for the titlesceen. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:40 PM.