The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #76    
Old September 13th, 2010, 08:28 PM
Potatoman1287
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
I'm still confused on the last step with replacing transparent tiles.

htt p://i1 96. photo bucket. com/albums/ aa58/darkpidgeot/t estback-1 .png
(I can't post links yet apparently =/ )
Here is the title I want. (Ignore the gray since I screenshot it in photoshop.)

I don't really know where to load the raw that you provided. (When I loaded them into the number in the name/one after the number, it seemed to change but there are still messed up tiles.)

I then tried to make my own raw files but I don't get the NTME part. Any help?
Reply With Quote
  #77    
Old September 15th, 2010, 07:32 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by ดูดดื่ม View Post
ok, I will test it in emerald if it will effective I come to tell once more.

Edit: I have tested it but look as if its color upwards 16bit only. I uses tilemap of Rayquaza in emerald in replacing "pokemon".

Edit 2: this my picture does it with tilemap of "pokemon" but I try to fine both of enhance and decrease its size then still no come out equal to while before add raw new down go to but a color doesn't be attractive for to get into trouble.
Spoiler:

first my picture no add tilemap second my picture adds tilemap into a picture finally is a picture that me uses.

Edit 3: Look as if the size of tilemap different bilateral. Can is you have the way corrects it ?
<< pokemonlogo_raw rayquaza_raw >>

****

Friend,
I want to help you gives can do it succeeds but I explain it comes out not good make you confused but I will repeat once more that a problem that me is are the size of tilemap(raw) step other my part follows the step that at Black Charizarad explain all want you are careful it every the step don't forget before and after insert tilemap it will must is equal.
What? I understand a bit though. Lol it must be a translator What translator are you using?
also what must be equal before inserting the tilemap?
If I still dont get it can you post screenshots or something ?
Thanks friend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potatoman1287 View Post
I'm still confused on the last step with replacing transparent tiles.

htt p://i1 96. photo bucket. com/albums/ aa58/darkpidgeot/t estback-1 .png
(I can't post links yet apparently =/ )
Here is the title I want. (Ignore the gray since I screenshot it in photoshop.)

I don't really know where to load the raw that you provided. (When I loaded them into the number in the name/one after the number, it seemed to change but there are still messed up tiles.)

I then tried to make my own raw files but I don't get the NTME part. Any help?
yeah it WILL change but just replace them in 16 colour bit.
The NTME has to be set to 32 x 32 and in the Tile Selection bit press the + for width and height until the red rectangle covers the whole picture (there should be no red rectangle after you covered it fully) and put it on the lower screen and you should see it there. Make sure the titlescreen is 240x160

Just asking what is the red thing machine on your titlescreen? Just wondering :O
__________________


Last edited by stinger123; September 15th, 2010 at 07:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #78    
Old September 15th, 2010, 12:12 PM
Potatoman1287
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Maybe I should be a bit more specific on my question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Charizard. View Post

To remove the blinking you have to go to unzl.gba and open your rom.
Then go to offset 140 in 16 colors look around there for the flames if you find them hit 1 time the previous button so that you will see this image:

Save that image and then open it in paint. Turn the whole image to the transparent color so in this case the blue.
I found the image, no problem. Turned it to transparent color. Indexed, no problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Charizard. View Post

Next go to the charizard image around 2010, save the image and then make
it 1px in both height and width with only the transparent color.
Did this too, no problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Charizard. View Post
Next go to the image after charizard and click raw dump.
Did that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Charizard. View Post
Open it in NTME
with the titlescreen tileset, make the whole image the transparent
tile.
This is where I start getting confused. I open my picture as the tileset in NTME then loaded the RAW file I just dumped. What is the making the entire image the transparent tile? Or am I supposed to load the transparent tile as the tileset and then load the RAW I dumped?

And to answer your question, the red thing is a space marine sprite I found.

Edit: Oh yeah, and NTME doesn't let me pick 32x32. I'm only given the option for 32x20 at best, the FR/LG TS size. And my image is 240x160
Reply With Quote
  #79    
Old September 15th, 2010, 09:18 PM
ดูดดื่ม's Avatar
ดูดดื่ม
Hello! Im from Thailand.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by stinger123 View Post
What? I understand a bit though. Lol it must be a translator What translator are you using?
also what must be equal before inserting the tilemap?
If I still dont get it can you post screenshots or something ?
Thanks friend
I test it in emerald. First problem is if I use tilemap of Rayquaza its color will see 16 just a color but at its picture has no a problem second problem is if I come back to use tilemap of "pokemon" its color has no a problem but can not fine its size just enoughly third me bring raw of rayquaza with "pokemon" come to compare with it sees different.
It's ok?(sentence)

Last edited by ดูดดื่ม; September 15th, 2010 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #80    
Old September 16th, 2010, 07:17 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
i'm having trouble... on the step when you are supposed to click on "import a bitmap" in NLZ-GBA Advance, i dont get the screen that is supposed to pop up. what am i doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #81    
Old September 19th, 2010, 04:46 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
i'm having trouble... on the step when you are supposed to click on "import a bitmap" in NLZ-GBA Advance, i dont get the screen that is supposed to pop up. what am i doing wrong?
When you click import bitmap a open box should pop up and you have to open up your INDEXED titlescreen to import.
Then you CLICK write to rom and that 'pop up' you were looking for should come up and then continue following the instructions.
Ask me if you have any more problem

By the way I am post - poneing rom hacking since I found out if you dont have the original rom you cant download it since it is illegal and I cant trade my ruby rom for firered so I will wait till I get it
See Ya people
By friend ดูดดื่ม
Nice to know you lot
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #82    
Old September 19th, 2010, 02:49 PM
Sora's Nobody's Avatar
Sora's Nobody
The Official Roxas
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Destiny Island
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Sora's Nobody
Quote:
Originally Posted by stinger123 View Post
When you click import bitmap a open box should pop up and you have to open up your INDEXED titlescreen to import.
Then you CLICK write to rom and that 'pop up' you were looking for should come up and then continue following the instructions.
Ask me if you have any more problem

By the way I am post - poneing rom hacking since I found out if you dont have the original rom you cant download it since it is illegal and I cant trade my ruby rom for firered so I will wait till I get it
See Ya people
By friend ดูดดื่ม
Nice to know you lot
Well, thats ironic! You used 3 pages on the thread and atleast 20 posts because you were desperaty strugling, and know your offering to HELP?
__________________

Sora's Nobody ★ Nothing Yet!
♠The Official Roxas♠ My Stuff:


Reply With Quote
  #83    
Old September 20th, 2010, 08:49 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora's Nobody View Post
Well, thats ironic! You used 3 pages on the thread and atleast 20 posts because you were desperaty strugling, and know your offering to HELP?
...
20 posts?
Um, listen here, the part he was struggling on is clearly showed in the pictures for the tutorial and I've gone through the process he was struggling on and so did my friend. So I know I've done that bit right.
I only give help to the bits It shows clearly and the bits I know I've done right.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #84    
Old September 20th, 2010, 11:24 AM
Jm20's Avatar
Jm20
A.k.a. Zig :-)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Hey, thanks for this tut. It's clear and nice. However, I can not find the Pokemon logo on nr.'s 2009/2010 or around those numbers. At 2009 there is this pink block. Before and after this number there are credit lines, and other intro things. But no pokemon logo... So where is it, do you know? It does appear when I play the Rom.
Reply With Quote
  #85    
Old September 21st, 2010, 07:24 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jm20 View Post
Hey, thanks for this tut. It's clear and nice. However, I can not find the Pokemon logo on nr.'s 2009/2010 or around those numbers. At 2009 there is this pink block. Before and after this number there are credit lines, and other intro things. But no pokemon logo... So where is it, do you know? It does appear when I play the Rom.
Hey, it might not be around 2009/2010 because mine was 1991 !!
So check around those numbers because it might be different to you also when looking for the Pokemon Logo it should be in 256 colours
Good luck!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #86    
Old September 21st, 2010, 04:54 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
When you click import bitmap a open box should pop up and you have to open up your INDEXED titlescreen to import.
Then you CLICK write to rom and that 'pop up' you were looking for should come up and then continue following the instructions.
Ask me if you have any more problem
thanks for answering my question Stinger123! after three days of checking for a response i didnt think that anyone was going to help me...

anyway, i do have another question about this tut.

on the third step, there are a bunch of palette offsets listed with index numbers...what exactly am i supposed to be replacing at this part? my palette over the listed ones or whatever comes up in ape when i enter offset and change the index?
Reply With Quote
  #87    
Old September 22nd, 2010, 08:58 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
thanks for answering my question Stinger123! after three days of checking for a response i didnt think that anyone was going to help me...

anyway, i do have another question about this tut.

on the third step, there are a bunch of palette offsets listed with index numbers...what exactly am i supposed to be replacing at this part? my palette over the listed ones or whatever comes up in ape when i enter offset and change the index?
Ok on the tut he has a quote an it comes out with all the pallets and offsets Right?
open APE

(Black Charizard's image)

Open your rom and copy the first offset and place it in the box with two arrows either side, next to 'offeset (HEX)' and near replace.
Go to edit - Changed pallet or adjusted pallet then import. Open your pallet which you imported in ifran view from your titlescreen.

On the screenshot can you see right at the bottom where it has '2' and two arrows either side of it? (Note: IT SHOULD be 1 on your screen) It is the number of pallets you have to replace.
Ok so hit replace, it wont show any message or anything but it will replace.
Then copy the next offset and put it in the top box and go to it.
Then goto the bottom box like last time and goto number two and hit replace.
Then copy the next offset and put it in the top box and go to it.
Then goto the bottom box like last time and goto number three and hit replace.
Then keep doing that.

Tell me if you have any problems and good luck!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #88    
Old September 23rd, 2010, 07:08 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Open your rom and copy the first offset and place it in the box with two arrows either side, next to 'offeset (HEX)' and near replace.
Go to edit - Changed pallet or adjusted pallet then import. Open your pallet which you imported in ifran view from your titlescreen.

On the screenshot can you see right at the bottom where it has '2' and two arrows either side of it? (Note: IT SHOULD be 1 on your screen) It is the number of pallets you have to replace.
Ok so hit replace, it wont show any message or anything but it will replace.
Then copy the next offset and put it in the top box and go to it.
Then goto the bottom box like last time and goto number two and hit replace.
Then copy the next offset and put it in the top box and go to it.
Then goto the bottom box like last time and goto number three and hit replace.
Then keep doing that.

Tell me if you have any problems and good luck!
thank you for your help once again, Stinger123!

you fixed both of my other problems. but now i have another:

when i write the titlescreen raw into the rom from Unlz, it appears all messed up in-game! And, when i reloaded the raw back into ntme to check it, it looked the same as the messed up in-game screen. what did i mess up on here? or is there something wrong with irfanview? the raw is an irfanview raw file and when i try to open it there i get an error message that says:

"decode error: Can't load plugin: FORMAT.DLL"
Reply With Quote
  #89    
Old September 24th, 2010, 04:57 AM
Jm20's Avatar
Jm20
A.k.a. Zig :-)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by stinger123 View Post
Hey, it might not be around 2009/2010 because mine was 1991 !!
So check around those numbers because it might be different to you also when looking for the Pokemon Logo it should be in 256 colours
Good luck!
Yeah the problem was that 256 mode was off.

Now, I have tried to do everything right. However, when I play the ROM, following to the Gengar/Nidorino animation the screen goes black and the game freezes. Also, when I press "start" or "A" instead of watching the animation, music continues to play but the screen goes black. The game doesn't react on buttons being pressed. This seems to be a whole different kind of problem than the other ones in this thread.

I will try again from the beginning, but I'm quite clueless to what I did wrong.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Well, I tried again with a backup. The same thing happened. I think it has something to do with the right offsets and stuff. I might have overwritten some scripts that keep the intro running..? I will try once again on a completely clean ROM. I assume it will work then, but that's not what I want. We will see. If someone can help me: please!

Last edited by Jm20; September 24th, 2010 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #90    
Old September 24th, 2010, 07:04 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jm20 View Post
Yeah the problem was that 256 mode was off.

Now, I have tried to do everything right. However, when I play the ROM, following to the Gengar/Nidorino animation the screen goes black and the game freezes. Also, when I press "start" or "A" instead of watching the animation, music continues to play but the screen goes black. The game doesn't react on buttons being pressed. This seems to be a whole different kind of problem than the other ones in this thread.

I will try again from the beginning, but I'm quite clueless to what I did wrong.

Thanks in advance!
Glad I could solve your other two problems
But...
Im stuck on that because I didn't encounter that problem.
You''l have to ask Black Charizard.
Redo it again and carefully follow each step slowly and correctly.
Good luck and I hope you solve your problem
__________________


Last edited by stinger123; September 24th, 2010 at 07:07 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
Reply With Quote
  #91    
Old September 24th, 2010, 10:04 AM
Jm20's Avatar
Jm20
A.k.a. Zig :-)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Okay, I have tried it on a clean ROM, and it worked. There are only these cosmetic things. After the flashing (white bar moving up) for a second this screen comes up:

[Note: this is not exactly the same as was asked before. I already fixed the RAW file for Charizard.]
Which image should I change in UnlzGba to erase these pixel dots?
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #92    
Old September 25th, 2010, 04:12 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jm20 View Post
Okay, I have tried it on a clean ROM, and it worked. There are only these cosmetic things. After the flashing (white bar moving up) for a second this screen comes up:

[Note: this is not exactly the same as was asked before. I already fixed the RAW file for Charizard.]
Which image should I change in UnlzGba to erase these pixel dots?
Thanks in advance.
Errm there is no thing to erase the pixel dots, its only for the flame's and chaziard and gamefreak thing.
I think in your case its a bug or error which you'll have to ask Black Charizard.
Sorry mate that I cant help you
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #93    
Old September 25th, 2010, 08:49 PM
aSeRo141414's Avatar
aSeRo141414
zZJoennZz inside
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In your head
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Yahoo to aSeRo141414 Send a message via Skype™ to aSeRo141414
I got a problem like this.. :


And I follow it... but I try this 5 times,, It's always looks like that... what should I do? did I do wrong in tilesets?
__________________
Regards,
aSeRo141414
Reply With Quote
  #94    
Old September 26th, 2010, 12:43 PM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by aSeRo141414 View Post
I got a problem like this.. :


And I follow it... but I try this 5 times,, It's always looks like that... what should I do? did I do wrong in tilesets?
I got the exact same problem and I fixed it, refer to all of my old posts
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #95    
Old September 28th, 2010, 04:52 PM
aSeRo141414's Avatar
aSeRo141414
zZJoennZz inside
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In your head
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Yahoo to aSeRo141414 Send a message via Skype™ to aSeRo141414
Quote:
Originally Posted by stinger123 View Post
I got the exact same problem and I fixed it, refer to all of my old posts
It's fix now for me..
__________________
Regards,
aSeRo141414
Reply With Quote
  #96    
Old September 30th, 2010, 07:39 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by aSeRo141414 View Post
It's fix now for me..
So my old posts helped you
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #97    
Old September 30th, 2010, 02:45 PM
aSeRo141414's Avatar
aSeRo141414
zZJoennZz inside
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In your head
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Yahoo to aSeRo141414 Send a message via Skype™ to aSeRo141414
Quote:
Originally Posted by stinger123 View Post
So my old posts helped you
I think so, I just click automatically fix pointers when in the raw...
__________________
Regards,
aSeRo141414
Reply With Quote
  #98    
Old September 30th, 2010, 03:46 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I still haven't been able to get this tut to work. I'm starting to think that I did something wrong on the indexing step. Can someone clarify for me exactly what I am supposed to do in the "decrease color depth box"? Also, does it matter what bright color I edit the first color in the palette to? And what if that first color is NOT black like in the tut?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #99    
Old October 1st, 2010, 02:27 AM
aSeRo141414's Avatar
aSeRo141414
zZJoennZz inside
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In your head
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Yahoo to aSeRo141414 Send a message via Skype™ to aSeRo141414
In irfanview click Image>Decrease Color Depth>then that's it..
__________________
Regards,
aSeRo141414
Reply With Quote
  #100    
Old October 1st, 2010, 06:21 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
In irfanview click Image>Decrease Color Depth>then that's it..
I assume that this post was ment to answer my question...but...

..it didnt help me at all. your answer is less helpful than the actual tut.

Can someone please answer my question more clearly?
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.