The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old October 4th, 2010, 08:43 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
I still haven't been able to get this tut to work. I'm starting to think that I did something wrong on the indexing step. Can someone clarify for me exactly what I am supposed to do in the "decrease color depth box"? Also, does it matter what bright color I edit the first color in the palette to? And what if that first color is NOT black like in the tut?

Thanks in advance.
Keep to the tutorial mate
Ok on Ifranview goto image - decrease color depth- choose custom and put 239 in it and ok.
Goto image and palette(i think) then edit palette change the first color to a bright color, (he didn't say the first color was black! He said change the first color) like he said in the tutorial.
Then save under different name.
Copy and paste your UN INDEXED title screen and paste it on your indexed image and save it. (by the way Windows 7 paint doesn't support indexed files)
There you go, you have indexed your title screen :D
Hope it works :D
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #102    
Old October 4th, 2010, 03:32 PM
aSeRo141414's Avatar
aSeRo141414
zZJoennZz inside
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In your head
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Yahoo to aSeRo141414 Send a message via Skype™ to aSeRo141414
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Black Charizard.
Step 2 - Indexing the titlescreen image

Now we have to index the image you can do this by opening the image in irfanview.
Then go to the menu in irfanview.
Go to image -> decrease color depth
Then uncheck floyd dithering and set colors to 239.




Next while your still in irfanview go to image -> palette -> the edit palette.
edit the first color to a bright color by double clicking it.



Then go to image -> palette -> the export palette.
And save the palette.
Then save your image with a different name then your unindexed image. Next open the unindexed image and the indexed image in paint. Copy and paste the unindexed image on to the indexed image and hit save.
Follow that, it's in the tutorial.. :/
__________________
Regards,
aSeRo141414
Reply With Quote
  #103    
Old October 4th, 2010, 07:16 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Keep to the tutorial mate
Ok on Ifranview goto image - decrease color depth- choose custom and put 239 in it and ok.
Goto image and palette(i think) then edit palette change the first color to a bright color, (he didn't say the first color was black! He said change the first color) like he said in the tutorial.
Then save under different name.
Copy and paste your UN INDEXED title screen and paste it on your indexed image and save it. (by the way Windows 7 paint doesn't support indexed files)
There you go, you have indexed your title screen
Hope it works
Thanks for the clarification. Turns out I was doing the indexing wrong. I didn't switch the setting to "custom" when I put in 239. I will try this tut again soon, hopefully with success this time!
Reply With Quote
  #104    
Old October 7th, 2010, 08:53 AM
stinger123's Avatar
stinger123
I wish to learn .!PKM HACKING!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
Thanks for the clarification. Turns out I was doing the indexing wrong. I didn't switch the setting to "custom" when I put in 239. I will try this tut again soon, hopefully with success this time!
Your welcome
Hopefully it will work for you now
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #105    
Old October 18th, 2010, 03:31 AM
aSeRo141414's Avatar
aSeRo141414
zZJoennZz inside
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In your head
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Yahoo to aSeRo141414 Send a message via Skype™ to aSeRo141414
Hello, I followed step 7 but there's a weird blocks always..
__________________
Regards,
aSeRo141414
Reply With Quote
  #106    
Old October 23rd, 2010, 03:53 AM
pkmntrainerpaul's Avatar
pkmntrainerpaul
New account: P-Sign
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 18
Gender: Male
I'm having this problem:
This:

became this:


I followed all steps correctly (I think xD)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #107    
Old October 27th, 2010, 11:09 AM
Jm20's Avatar
Jm20
A.k.a. Zig :-)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Okay, I tried it again, and I'm almost sure I've done everything correctly. However, I get this 'flashing screen' just before the intro screen:

I think it is the raw2011.raw, because in unLZ.gba it looks like this:

Does anyone else have this problem too, or is everything crisp clear with you guys (and girls )?
Reply With Quote
  #108    
Old October 30th, 2010, 12:52 PM
Eario's Avatar
Eario
Skip it..
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
OKAY!
I'm having problems with "Step 4". When I have my rom in Unlz Advance thing, i put in thhe offset "00EAB8C4", i click import bitmap, select the titlescreen, but it sais "Bitmaps width needs to be mutliple of tiles width"...

Can you help me please, you might have already answered this, but I'm to lazy to search through 5 pages..

Can you possibly do this for me? And send me a Patcher or APS or UPS of whatever?
__________________
Are you sure that you want to read this?

Spoiler:
note
The following may not be suitable to all ages.
The following is suitable for AGELIMIT!.
Reply With Quote
  #109    
Old October 31st, 2010, 12:38 PM
Black Charizard.'s Avatar
Black Charizard.
Alter Ego
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eario View Post
OKAY!
I'm having problems with "Step 4". When I have my rom in Unlz Advance thing, i put in thhe offset "00EAB8C4", i click import bitmap, select the titlescreen, but it sais "Bitmaps width needs to be mutliple of tiles width"...

Can you help me please, you might have already answered this, but I'm to lazy to search through 5 pages..

Can you possibly do this for me? And send me a Patcher or APS or UPS of whatever?
It needs to be dividable by 8.

meaning the width and height need to be dividable by 8.
Everyone else with their issue read all steps over till you do it good.
As the steps described are perfectly the required steps.
__________________
If you traded with me and want to leave a review for me I would really appreciate it! :D
My Review Thread

Current giveaways:
Reply With Quote
  #110    
Old October 31st, 2010, 04:50 PM
aSeRo141414's Avatar
aSeRo141414
zZJoennZz inside
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In your head
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Yahoo to aSeRo141414 Send a message via Skype™ to aSeRo141414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jm20 View Post
Okay, I tried it again, and I'm almost sure I've done everything correctly. However, I get this 'flashing screen' just before the intro screen:

I think it is the raw2011.raw, because in unLZ.gba it looks like this:

Does anyone else have this problem too, or is everything crisp clear with you guys (and girls )?
Try not load the raw in that, use the 1x1 in that thing, import the transparent in the tutorial files
__________________
Regards,
aSeRo141414
Reply With Quote
  #111    
Old November 1st, 2010, 05:39 AM
Ooka's Avatar
Ooka
<3
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Challenging The E4
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Skype™ to Ooka
Well, in trying to get this to work in Emerald, I found a couple things out.

The one before frontier pass f's it up (Around 2613)

Also a relevant one at 2615 or around it (I believe it's relevant, does the same thing as the last to the title screen)

Don't know if that'll help any, just trying to get this figured out so I can implement it.
Reply With Quote
  #112    
Old November 1st, 2010, 06:14 AM
Jm20's Avatar
Jm20
A.k.a. Zig :-)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by aSeRo141414 View Post
Try not load the raw in that, use the 1x1 in that thing, import the transparent in the tutorial files
Well, that partly fixed it. The grey stripes are gone, but some other pixels appeared. They are less disturbing, but I would still like to get rid of them. Any other suggestions? Thanks in advance!



EDIT: so I found a way to get rid of the pixels, that is by replacing one of the images (don't ask me which, either Charizard, or one of the two 'blurry' images) with a copie, but then blanked out with the transparent color (lila). And I also replaced the image after the blinking image (140), which are the flames, with a complete blue image of the same size. So the dots and pixels were gone for a great part, but some other blurry tiles appeared right there where the flames should be. I can post an image if someone wants to....

Last edited by Jm20; November 6th, 2010 at 07:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #113    
Old November 2nd, 2010, 05:22 AM
c3drick11
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
well..im stuck in step two... i edited my title screen in infraview... i export it in .pal format.. then i edited in the paint like what step two tells me... then i opened ape.. i loaded the offset but i dont have the adjusted pallete.. only edit>>change pallete>>import.. and i tried to import the pallet wich i save in .pal format.. it gets an error... where did i go wrong??? (singing) . .

and by the way.. i done all the things correctly... the costum 239... 16 colors... edit pallete and swap the color... what do i do now? by the way.. when i export the file from infarview... it saves.. then wen i try to open it.. it cannot be opend again by infarview.. i recieve a error msg i think.. maybe this is related why i cant open the palette with .pal format in ape

Last edited by c3drick11; November 2nd, 2010 at 05:28 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
Reply With Quote
  #114    
Old November 5th, 2010, 03:04 PM
inuside21
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
sorry but im noob and i want to ask something sir,
in unlz advance, what should i must import after loading the 00EAB8C4? thanks :D
Reply With Quote
  #115    
Old November 5th, 2010, 05:13 PM
aSeRo141414's Avatar
aSeRo141414
zZJoennZz inside
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In your head
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Yahoo to aSeRo141414 Send a message via Skype™ to aSeRo141414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jm20 View Post
Well, that partly fixed it. The grey stripes are gone, but some other pixel appeared. They are less disturbing, but I would still like to get rid of them. Any other suggestions? Thanks in advance!



EDIT: so I found a way to get rid of the pixel, that is by replacing one of the images (don't ask me which, either Charizard, or one of the two 'blurry' images) with a copie, but then blanked out with the transparent color (lila). And I also replaced the image after the blinking image (140), which are the flames, with a complete blue image of the same size. So the dots and pixels were gone for a great part, but some other blurry tiles appeared right there where the flames should be. I can post an image if someone wants to....
Insert 1x1 in the other raw

I made already
Part 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pO6J571nttU
Part 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQ6ZYHUsyZg
__________________
Regards,
aSeRo141414

Last edited by aSeRo141414; November 6th, 2010 at 02:09 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
Reply With Quote
  #116    
Old November 20th, 2010, 08:38 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
The last time I posted here was a couple of months ago...and today I finally got this tutorial to work. I gave up for a while but came back to it today and got it right. aSeRo141414, your videos were helpful in my success. Everyone who tried to help me, thank you. :D
Reply With Quote
  #117    
Old November 26th, 2010, 08:23 PM
phoenix897's Avatar
phoenix897
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orangturttle View Post
On the NTME it's saying it doesn't support Raw Files.. So what should I do?
I would say do what the instructions say and import the raw2011.raw file, after downloading it.
__________________
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Pokémon biggest fan!
own every Pokémon RPG game LEGIT!
Fave Pokémons: Tyranitar + Scizor
Reply With Quote
  #118    
Old December 4th, 2010, 03:31 PM
Dark_Trainer96's Avatar
Dark_Trainer96
Dark-Type Specialist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Can you use this to create your own world maps? I already have my map in full colour and at a size of 240x160.
Reply With Quote
  #119    
Old December 11th, 2010, 11:19 AM
fluid
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Yay, finally there are so many possibilities with more colours. thanks =)
Reply With Quote
  #120    
Old December 18th, 2010, 09:30 AM
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor
The rocks cry out to me
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
Nice tutorial but alas the one thing I was really hoping to see was away to edit the 16th indexed slot. I have spent hours in the DMI and trying to use asm to edit that slot. I was able to edit the last 4 pallets for that slot, but for some reason the game overrides the rest; This drives me crazy. :'c
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
Reply With Quote
  #121    
Old January 7th, 2011, 06:45 AM
Washibon's Avatar
Washibon
---
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Female
I'm sorry, but your tutorial seems a bit rushed. Some parts you barely explained, and that makes it really hard to follow.
My final result was completely messed up, due to the fact that half the time I was just so confused about what you were trying to say.

Like, for example;
"Then go on like that and hit replace until you had all 16 indexes."
Go on like what? I don't understand. In the first one you were supposed to just import the palette, and in the second you were supposed to click the arrow.
So should I click the arrow for all the others? Or..?
And this too;
"
Then go to offset 00EAB8C4 click it on 256 colors then click import bitmap.
Then this popup should appear:"
You skipped the whole import bitmap step, what are we supposed to import?

Sorry if I'm sounding slightly rude.. I trust that you put effort into this. But please explain a bit further, some people are completely new to this.
Reply With Quote
  #122    
Old January 7th, 2011, 07:26 AM
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire
I like .short's because they're comfy and easy to wear.
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washibon View Post
I'm sorry, but your tutorial seems a bit rushed. Some parts you barely explained, and that makes it really hard to follow.
My final result was completely messed up, due to the fact that half the time I was just so confused about what you were trying to say.

Like, for example;
"Then go on like that and hit replace until you had all 16 indexes."
Go on like what? I don't understand. In the first one you were supposed to just import the palette, and in the second you were supposed to click the arrow.
So should I click the arrow for all the others? Or..?
And this too;
"
Then go to offset 00EAB8C4 click it on 256 colors then click import bitmap.
Then this popup should appear:"
You skipped the whole import bitmap step, what are we supposed to import?

Sorry if I'm sounding slightly rude.. I trust that you put effort into this. But please explain a bit further, some people are completely new to this.
I think he kind of rushed that too. So for each index, find the offset in the box below that post, and replace each index spot with the right index in your custom pallet.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #123    
Old January 8th, 2011, 02:27 AM
Washibon's Avatar
Washibon
---
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiny quagsire View Post
I think he kind of rushed that too. So for each index, find the offset in the box below that post, and replace each index spot with the right index in your custom pallet.
So I keep pressing the arrow until I've replaced all the possible palettes in the index?
Reply With Quote
  #124    
Old January 9th, 2011, 06:05 PM
shinyabsol1's Avatar
shinyabsol1
Pokemon DarkJasper!?
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
So I keep pressing the arrow until I've replaced all the possible palettes in the index?

I did this tut a while ago, and it says all 16 indexes, but there are only 15 offsets. So you only need to replace at 15 indexes. But to clarify what shiny quagsire said, basically you need to replace all of the palettes each at a different index. So for the first palette, put in the offset and replace at index 1. For the next offset, do the same except click the arrow to make it at index 2. And so on until you have replaced all of the palettes.
Reply With Quote
  #125    
Old January 10th, 2011, 12:32 PM
Washibon's Avatar
Washibon
---
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
I did this tut a while ago, and it says all 16 indexes, but there are only 15 offsets. So you only need to replace at 15 indexes. But to clarify what shiny quagsire said, basically you need to replace all of the palettes each at a different index. So for the first palette, put in the offset and replace at index 1. For the next offset, do the same except click the arrow to make it at index 2. And so on until you have replaced all of the palettes.
I understood that. What do I do in Index 3? Do I click the arrow 3 times? I'm sorry, I'm just so confused.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.