Community

The PokéCommunity

We are still working on a better slogan!

Visit Index



Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Research & Development
Notices

Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!
Research & Development programs in this forum are subject to moderator approval before they are displayed.

Post Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old April 2nd, 2011, 08:01 AM
Crimson Stardust's Avatar
Crimson Stardust
Anime Addiction
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: It is for me to noe and all of you to find out
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via AIM to Crimson Stardust Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Crimson Stardust
Hey,
Ace here, When i was trying to insert a new animation for the grass tile i used, i found out one grass animation was not enough since i was using the HGSS style of grass.
So i tried to use another grass animation but it doesn't activate in-game[ or is it just me ]
So i ask Colcolstyles opinion/help and he told me i will have a better chance here to get help.
This was my vm i send to Colcolstyles:
Spoiler:

Hey colcolstyles,
I have a question,
I insert a new grass like the one in HGSS. Then now i want to change its animation, i mange to do it but at the edge/lower part of the tiles the animation will look funny since the animation i use only on the center part/the main part of the whole 9 tiles wide grass.
Then i was thinking of using another animation byte for for the edge/lower part of the tiles, i try putting the animation " High Grass Animation " to see which animation it is from the list of grass animation but when in-game no animation happen.
Is there a way to use two grass animation for it?
I hope you understand,haha..

regards,
Ace

It would be great if i could have 9 tile animation for each grass tile with their own kind of animation or even just few more..


As you can see when i reach the edge, it will look weird as the animation tile i use was the center main grass tile.
Maybe there is already a solution to this but i have not find one or i might have misslook it.




Last edited by Crimson Stardust; April 2nd, 2011 at 08:14 AM.
  #2    
Old April 2nd, 2011, 05:26 PM
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pogeygothaxed View Post
Wasn't there a tutorial on changing Grass animations? Also, I believe it's in the Bookmarks of NSE. There's several tiles that are used in the animation. Instead of re-mapping the behavior bytes for it, you should just edit over the pre-existing ones...just export them from NSE and paste them over each one. iirc, that's what thethethethe did. He took it into TileMolester and just copied the frames over as an example, it looked kinda like yours. Just edit the frames so that the edge ones aren't using the same frame as the inside?

Also, another option may be to look at this tutorial from Shiny Quagsire: http://pkmnhackersonline.com/pho/?page_id=349 it explains how to insert NEW animations, which would be a much better option than trying to overwrite an existing one which could cause more bugs if done incorrectly. It looks like you can control the amount of frames to use, so it might be worth checking out.

p.s. This thread seems out of place. o.O Maybe a mod should move it?
The grass animation is stored differently to the tile animations. This animation works by creating an OAM where the player is standing, not just changing parts of the tileset dynamically.

Crimson Stardust: If you can send me a patch with the grass already inserted, I would be more than happy to take a look in to this.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #3    
Old April 2nd, 2011, 07:22 PM
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
His problem isn't editing the animation. He wants to add more.
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #4    
Old April 2nd, 2011, 08:12 PM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pogeygothaxed View Post
He was only thinking of other ways to "fix" this problem, because he didn't know how. I told him how. But, feel free to do it for him. What do I care? I was just trying to help. >:
Can you post a video of your solution? I'd like to see how you did it.

Brother of Vrai
  #5    
Old April 2nd, 2011, 08:40 PM
Crimson Stardust's Avatar
Crimson Stardust
Anime Addiction
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: It is for me to noe and all of you to find out
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via AIM to Crimson Stardust Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Crimson Stardust
@ Pogeygothaxed- Sorry if my thread have missled you, yes i am finding a way to fix this and the solution i am finding is adding a few more animation instead of editing it, and what you showed me in the screenshots is basically editing, that is what i do to get what i have now, if you try it you will know yourself.

@ Darthatron- Hey, thanks for wanting to helping out, i have pm you the patch and tell me what you find out so we can share it here..xD



  #6    
Old April 2nd, 2011, 09:22 PM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pogeygothaxed View Post
I don't have a screen recorder, but it's simple: I just opened the ROM, played 'til the grass animation, opened the OAM viewer to confirm Darth's post. Then, I went into NSE, File>Bookmarks>Landscape - it has the offsets already in there, so you just click grass, open it, and edit it? You could also export it, I believe, if you don't like the in-program editor. That specific tile was a match to the one in the OAM Viewer, so I just made a dark green line through the bottom section of the grass(leaving the top transparent for the character to show through) and tested in-game to make sure it was the correct tile used in the animation, which it was.

I wouldn't know how to add extra frames. Common sense would suggest re-pointing the frames and pals to free space and then adding the new offset in an .ini if it's supported, or try to find the new frames in Tile Molester. Honestly I'm still new to Hex editing and more "advanced hacking" techniques. I just saw an easy fix, and I don't see the point in adding more frames, when the game already uses more than enough. In thethethe's tutorial, it showed at least 25 frames altogether. NSE has narrowed them down, though.
That's not what this thread is about. The OP is trying to develop a system where the tall grass animation image changes depending on which tall grass tile the player is standing on (normally there is only one tile but in his new system, there will be nine (hence the title)). If you take a look at the video, the tall grass image is the same throughout, even when the player is on the edge of a grass patch, which doesn't look good. The OP wants the image to change if the player is standing on the edge. I hope that makes sense.

Brother of Vrai
  #7    
Old April 2nd, 2011, 10:31 PM
Crimson Stardust's Avatar
Crimson Stardust
Anime Addiction
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: It is for me to noe and all of you to find out
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via AIM to Crimson Stardust Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Crimson Stardust
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pogeygothaxed View Post
I don't like arguing, but...
He isn't developing anything. He's using exactly what I said, which is why it looks funny. Because all he did was copy over the part like I did in my edit. He wants to use another animation byte for the edge/lower part of the tiles, so that he can use that instead. i.e. setting the behavior byte to 03 instead of 02. But why would you replace tall grass with the same type of tile? It'd still have the same error regardless, because he'd just do what he did before(making the same animation...) I know what the OP wants but it's inefficient, and pointless. <_<

Also, now that I re-read this, I think he set the behavior bytes incorrectly; because he said "in-game no animation happen"(s). If the animation did happen, then you'd be correct because he'd be using 02 for the mid-part of the grass and 03 for the outer-parts. Which leads back to my point: why would you want to do it that way when you could simply edit it and get the same results?

Wanting to add more frames to an animation / re-point to where the byte reads the frames for an animation, etc. is all fine and dandy but it's not needed in this situation and I can already tell you that this person isn't going to make it happen, hence why Darth wanted to take the project.

Anyway, I'm done here. As I said before: "good luck." I don't have the patience for this.
Since i started this thread, i will have the responsibility to answer your question.
And the stuff you are putting to my thread is not what i intended at all. You are trying to change what i intended the thread to be. Who said i did the behavior bytes incorrectly, that is so simple to get wrong, i change the byte to see what kind of animation it is so instead of just the 02 byte i could also use the 03 byte for the animation for different parts of the "9 TILES GRASS", The edge of the tiles doesn't look the same as the other parts of the tiles if i were to use the same animation for all the parts, the grass won't look nice hence the other byte was tried. It is you who don't understand the thread and what with "this person isn't going to make it happen", i have a name and i won't just let Darth do all the work and i will put it here in case someone else wants to try it.

Sorry if i sound harsh, just trying to clarify some stuff..



  #8    
Old April 2nd, 2011, 10:59 PM
E.C.'s Avatar
E.C.
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charicific Valley
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
i think the tile set animation editor program has an option to add animations.

EDIT: it DOES have an option to add animations, maybe this program can help you.

Last edited by E.C.; April 2nd, 2011 at 11:08 PM.
  #9    
Old April 3rd, 2011, 02:40 AM
>Dante<'s Avatar
>Dante<
Call me Steven
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torino (ITA)
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to >Dante<
Just as colcolstyles has said, that animation work as OAM.
I don't know how this can help, but fire red has, to its inside, a lot of animations coming from RSE (grass, mini-grass, tall grass, etc...) that however they are not active. Then, even if we tries to insert these animations through the blocks editor of A-map, nothing won't happen, because the animation is "locked".

In conclusion, isn't necessary to add extra-frame... we needs only to understand whether to already activate those existing "


P.S: Is the hack of that video the hack of The Panda?? Because if it is true, I have inserted those 2 animations for him...(I remember that his hack used the same identical tiles
)

  #10    
Old April 3rd, 2011, 06:50 AM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by ΣŁ1ŦΣ CHΛRIΖΛЯĐ View Post
i think the tile set animation editor program has an option to add animations.

EDIT: it DOES have an option to add animations, maybe this program can help you.
If you had read the thread, you would know that we're talking about tall grass animation, not tile animations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by >Dante< View Post
Just as colcolstyles has said, that animation work as OAM.
I don't know how this can help, but fire red has, to its inside, a lot of animations coming from RSE (grass, mini-grass, tall grass, etc...) that however they are not active. Then, even if we tries to insert these animations through the blocks editor of A-map, nothing won't happen, because the animation is "locked".

In conclusion, isn't necessary to add extra-frame... we needs only to understand whether to already activate those existing ^^"


P.S: Is the hack of that video the hack of The Panda?? Because if it is true, I have inserted those 2 animations for him...(I remember that his hack used the same identical tiles
:P)
Yes, I pointed that out to Crimson Stardust in our VM conversation: the images are there in the ROM; it's just a matter of "unlocking" them so that using the "Tall grass" behavior byte will actually work. Hopefully Darthatron will have some success with that. :)

Brother of Vrai
  #11    
Old May 23rd, 2011, 02:32 PM
LadyGaGa12321's Avatar
LadyGaGa12321
Deoxys FAn
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: N/A
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccolcostyles
Yes, I pointed that out to Crimon Stardust in our VM conversation: the images are there in the ROM; it's just a matter of "unlocking" them so that using the "Tall grass" behavior byte will actually work. Hopefully Darthatron will have some success with that.


but how do you unlock it
  #12    
Old May 24th, 2011, 02:40 PM
colcolstyles's Avatar
colcolstyles
Yours truly
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Bay Area
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyGaGa12321 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccolcostyles
Yes, I pointed that out to Crimon Stardust in our VM conversation: the images are there in the ROM; it's just a matter of "unlocking" them so that using the "Tall grass" behavior byte will actually work. Hopefully Darthatron will have some success with that. :)


but how do you unlock it
Funny you should mention it. There's another thread in R&D (link) about doing just that. I suggest you check it out.

Brother of Vrai
Post Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:31 PM.

About Us
© 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com. Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.

Copyright
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com. PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator. Header artwork by Jordanice of deviantART.

Social Media
If you would like to stay up-to-date with us on the go, when we're down, or other such things, follow us on social media sites--most notibly Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus--by clicking on the links provided.

Design presented by Peitharchia. Special thanks to Hiroshi Sotomura and Ausaudriel.