Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page Help Patching & Emulation Help Thread

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #476    
Old January 9th, 2012 (03:43 PM).
BOBcorevette BOBcorevette is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
Posts: 9
When running Mac Boy Advance and loading a game it makes the screen half pink and half the game(red version & and newest Mac OS). Has anyone else had this problem on Mac and know how to fix it? Or any other good emulators that work on mac?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #477    
Old January 10th, 2012 (03:02 AM).
leafjammer leafjammer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Hey i've been posting because of my problem so this is it how do i fix my ttds wont load it keeps loading but not load help
Reply With Quote
  #478    
Old January 12th, 2012 (04:07 AM). Edited January 12th, 2012 by pokejohn01.
pokejohn01 pokejohn01 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
i need some help with this no exp thing.
my rom works fine but the emulator desmume wont give exp when playing pokemon white on it.
if i play it on the ds i get exp, so there is nothing wrong with the rom and i dont need to patch the rom

edit: ok problem solved. i found a action replay code for the xp problem and now it works
Reply With Quote
  #479    
Old January 15th, 2012 (06:16 AM).
MachoPony's Avatar
MachoPony MachoPony is offline
Resident Brony
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Equestria
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 119
im Running he Latest VBA Link so i can play through Firered
Problem is that i cant save so no trading all that happens is it says *saving* and then stays there eternally
the weird thing is i started gain on a diff File (need something to trade to) and it worked absolutely fine so what can i do?
Reply With Quote
  #480    
Old February 2nd, 2012 (05:07 PM).
Jill Valentine's Avatar
Jill Valentine Jill Valentine is offline
Nexios Leader
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 9
did'nt know where to post this probably here anyways umm I'm making a Firered Hack based on Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire but I need help this first is the message when you start firered you know the one with pikachu at the top how can I changed the text there Also where on here can I get help with the professors script I need help
__________________
September 28th Daylight, the monsters have overtaken the city somehow....I'm still alive...
Reply With Quote
  #481    
Old February 2nd, 2012 (11:42 PM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,384
Quote originally posted by Jill Valentine:
did'nt know where to post this probably here anyways umm I'm making a Firered Hack based on Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire but I need help this first is the message when you start firered you know the one with pikachu at the top how can I changed the text there Also where on here can I get help with the professors script I need help
Professor's script can be changed with A-Text or better by using Hex Editor.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #482    
Old February 3rd, 2012 (02:27 PM). Edited February 3rd, 2012 by Tman109ner.
Tman109ner's Avatar
Tman109ner Tman109ner is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 143
1. Is it possible to have all the pokemon (through Gen 5), or at least through gen 4, on a FR/LG or a R/S/E rom? if so how?
2. How do you put the overworld pokemon sprites in on a rom map?
Reply With Quote
  #483    
Old February 4th, 2012 (12:20 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,384
Quote originally posted by Tman109ner:
1. Is it possible to have all the pokemon (through Gen 5), or at least through gen 4, on a FR/LG or a R/S/E rom? if so how?
2. How do you put the overworld pokemon sprites in on a rom map?
1. Not possible yet.
2. ROM map? Do you mean world map or map in game?
If you mean in-game map then just put them like normal OW :D
If you mean world map then I don't think that's possible =D
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #484    
Old February 6th, 2012 (06:37 PM).
Jill Valentine's Avatar
Jill Valentine Jill Valentine is offline
Nexios Leader
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 9
Quote originally posted by Ash493:

Professor's script can be changed with A-Text or better by using Hex Editor.
I use pksvui and I know how to change it but there was a bunch of stuff when I opened it I got confused and I still need help with that welcome message also now I got a problem I really need help with Ive completed Littleroot, route 101,olddale,Route 102,route 103 and petalburg everything fine scripts, warps, changed music, wild pokemon nothing wrong any ways I made route 104 the map works fine I connected it to Petalburg now my Petalburg map frezes when I enter it when it worked fine before
__________________
September 28th Daylight, the monsters have overtaken the city somehow....I'm still alive...
Reply With Quote
  #485    
Old February 8th, 2012 (06:02 AM).
G-Six G-Six is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
hey guys,

pretty dumb question maybe but, where can I get support for a little bigger problem? I have a Scripting problem and have to post a few files to get help. But I don't quite know where to post it '

~g-six
Reply With Quote
  #486    
Old February 10th, 2012 (12:49 AM).
Perry_'s Avatar
Perry_ Perry_ is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Just looking for an IPS patcher for macs, havent played hacks since my PC days
Reply With Quote
  #487    
Old February 10th, 2012 (01:17 AM).
zantetsu122's Avatar
zantetsu122 zantetsu122 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 198
Go to Suicune's Expert Emerald, I think I saw a Patcher for MAC.
__________________
Challenges
Water UMC: FR: 6/8 Badges
C: UE: 1/16
E: 0/8
D/P: 0/8
B: 0/8
Ultimate Solo Challenge:
Excadrill: 0/8( still confirming.)
Dragonite; LG>LC>E>PT>BB/VW(still confirming)
Random Solo Challenge Platinum 0/8:
Snorlax
Milotic
Luxray
Pelipper
Mamoswine
Lickylicky
0/8
Reply With Quote
  #488    
Old February 10th, 2012 (01:43 AM).
Perry_'s Avatar
Perry_ Perry_ is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Quote originally posted by zantetsu122:
Go to Suicune's Expert Emerald, I think I saw a Patcher for MAC.
Checked it, couldnt find anything
Reply With Quote
  #489    
Old February 10th, 2012 (02:16 AM).
mysteryme's Avatar
mysteryme mysteryme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Netherlands
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
I am busy with my fire red hack, and I am always testing it. I made it up to gym 2. it all worked perfect. I just edited some trainers on the next route but when i try to launch the game in vba, it only gives me a white screen! the game won't load. my previous demo (till mt.moon) is working perfect, but my new beta just gives me a white screen.

what could it be?
__________________
Currently busy with a rpg maker xp project.
Reply With Quote
  #490    
Old February 10th, 2012 (02:59 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by G-Six:
hey guys,

pretty dumb question maybe but, where can I get support for a little bigger problem? :S I have a Scripting problem and have to post a few files to get help. But I don't quite know where to post it ^_^'

~g-six
If it's a scripting problem then you should post in the Script Help Thread. Just write a reply with your script in it and the chances are that somebody will be able to help. Uploading files generally isn't necessary to get your problem solved :)

Quote originally posted by mysteryme:
I am busy with my fire red hack, and I am always testing it. I made it up to gym 2. it all worked perfect. I just edited some trainers on the next route but when i try to launch the game in vba, it only gives me a white screen! the game won't load. my previous demo (till mt.moon) is working perfect, but my new beta just gives me a white screen.

what could it be?
If you're encountering a never ending white screen then you have most likely overwritten or corrupted important data while you were editing your ROM. It is next to impossible to recover from this so the best/ easiest thing to do is to start work from your most recent working file and reinsert all of your newer improvements. Be sure to use safe offsets and back up your files regularly to prevent this from happening again!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #491    
Old February 10th, 2012 (03:12 AM). Edited February 10th, 2012 by mysteryme.
mysteryme's Avatar
mysteryme mysteryme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Netherlands
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Thanks for help. Now i have 1 more question:
Where can i find a tutorial for making a rival? Or where can i find a rival script?
__________________
Currently busy with a rpg maker xp project.
Reply With Quote
  #492    
Old February 10th, 2012 (04:00 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by mysteryme:
Thanks for help, another quick question:
Where can i find a script tutorial for making a rival?
There is no real tutorial for making a rival as there is no set way for making one. You just need to use a combination of commands like you would in any other script. If you want their Pokemon to change depending on which starter you chose you can set a flag/ variable when you receive the Pokemon and then check it when you encounter you rival. You could write something along the lines of this:

Code:
...
compare 0x4031 0x0 // variable 0x4031 determines which starter you chose in an unedited FR ROM
if 0x1 call @BattleCharmander
compare 0x4031 0x1
if 0x1 call @BattleBulbasaur
compare 0x4031 0x2
if 0x1 call @BattleSquirtle
msgbox @YouBeatMe 0x2
...

#org @BattleCharmander
trainerbattle 0x3 0x30 0x0 @after
return

#org @BattleBulbasaur
trainerbattle 0x3 0x31 0x0 @after
return

#org @BattleSquirtle
trainerbattle 0x3 0x32 0x0 @after
return
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #493    
Old February 10th, 2012 (05:13 AM).
mysteryme's Avatar
mysteryme mysteryme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Netherlands
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
There is no real tutorial for making a rival as there is no set way for making one. You just need to use a combination of commands like you would in any other script. If you want their Pokemon to change depending on which starter you chose you can set a flag/ variable when you receive the Pokemon and then check it when you encounter you rival. You could write something along the lines of this:

Code:
...
compare 0x4031 0x0 // variable 0x4031 determines which starter you chose in an unedited FR ROM
if 0x1 call @BattleCharmander
compare 0x4031 0x1
if 0x1 call @BattleBulbasaur
compare 0x4031 0x2
if 0x1 call @BattleSquirtle
msgbox @YouBeatMe 0x2
...

#org @BattleCharmander
trainerbattle 0x3 0x30 0x0 @after
return

#org @BattleBulbasaur
trainerbattle 0x3 0x31 0x0 @after
return

#org @BattleSquirtle
trainerbattle 0x3 0x32 0x0 @after
return
I just want to make a second rival. I have gary, and now i want to make a second one. so, i don't need the codes with starters.
I want her to meet me, battle, than walk away and disappear.
__________________
Currently busy with a rpg maker xp project.
Reply With Quote
  #494    
Old February 10th, 2012 (05:37 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by mysteryme:
I just want to make a second rival. I have gary, and now i want to make a second one. so, i don't need the codes with starters.
I want her to meet me, battle, than walk away and disappear.
If that's what you need help with then I think you would be better of by reading diegoisawesome's XSE tutorial as it gives detailed instructions on making applymovement scripts and how a lot of the scripting commands work. Also, try looking at scripts that other people/ Gamefreak have made to learn their structures. If you're still having problems with your script then you should post in the Script Help Thread from now on.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #495    
Old February 10th, 2012 (06:25 AM).
mysteryme's Avatar
mysteryme mysteryme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Netherlands
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Ok thank you i found it.
Another quick and very different question:
How long does it take for an admin or mod to confirm a new topic in hacks showcase and progressing hacks? i am waiting for 2 days now..
__________________
Currently busy with a rpg maker xp project.
Reply With Quote
  #496    
Old February 19th, 2012 (05:53 PM). Edited February 19th, 2012 by Hamel.
Hamel's Avatar
Hamel Hamel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 4
This may have been answered before or there may be a tutorial on this, if there are, I'm not finding something that is helping me at all, or it could be that I'm just too frustrated in trying to find it that I'm blinded in actually seeing it. I'm trying to make a hack but I'm having a few problems.

1) I'm trying to figure out how to change the selecting options on the side of advanced map, (where you pick the selections for grass/buildings etc, I'd post a pic but it won't allow me to without 15 posts, I'm not exactly sure the exact term or name for this either so searching for how to change it around is hard) I don't want to use the options for Ruby and want to have something a bit more updated looking but I'm not understanding or seeing how to change it. I'm on a Mac (which some might say is the problem) and am using Advanced Map through Wine.

2) Are there hacking tools for Mac? I'd really like to use the A-Mart, A-Text and A-Starter not to mention YAPE but wine won't open them and when I tried to use them on another computer (PC) it won't load them and keeps telling me that trojans are attached to them I have this really awesome idea for a hack but I feel that the task may be outside my abilities for what I'm working with.
Reply With Quote
  #497    
Old February 20th, 2012 (06:50 AM).
BDHORNZ BDHORNZ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
I have a question which came in my mind yesterday.is it possible to play hacks online? I want to play pokemon b/w online and I am playing Blaze Black(a b/w hack),so can I just play online with normal b/w players even though I play a hack??
Reply With Quote
  #498    
Old February 25th, 2012 (12:34 AM).
Hamel's Avatar
Hamel Hamel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 4
Not sure if allowed to bump this up, because I'd really like some answers to my questions since I can't seem to find any answers through threads. Thanks~!
Reply With Quote
  #499    
Old March 2nd, 2012 (06:27 PM).
Outkin's Avatar
Outkin Outkin is offline
OM*G PIKMIN 3!!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada B.C.
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 281
What are the diffrences between roms for hacking purposes? Diffrent people seem to keep saying diffrent ones are better which leads me to believe it's down to the type of hack and personal choice. This is confusing me a bit, but I'm sure once I get the facts I'll figure it out.

Thanks1
__________________





Reply With Quote
  #500    
Old March 3rd, 2012 (05:16 PM).
bwburke94's Avatar
bwburke94 bwburke94 is offline
Mostly retired from PokéCommunity
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 728
Quote originally posted by BDHORNZ:
I have a question which came in my mind yesterday.is it possible to play hacks online? I want to play pokemon b/w online and I am playing Blaze Black(a b/w hack),so can I just play online with normal b/w players even though I play a hack??
This is a late response, but the answer is yes. You just have to make sure everything you use for battles or trading was hatched from an egg, in order to make sure everything's considered to be legal by the servers.
__________________
I'm just a little crazy sometimes. OK, a lot crazy all the time.

3DS Friend Code: 0645-5804-7602
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:34 AM.