The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #426    
Old January 4th, 2012, 01:57 PM
Chaosfission
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male

Advertise here
Hey guys, I'm new to hacking, but I've looked at some tutorials and information and even picked up a pack of tools, however I discovered that all the tools are .exe and my mac is the best computer in the house to be hacking on, does anyone know if there are any tools or methods I can use to on my mac?
Reply With Quote
  #427    
Old January 4th, 2012, 10:10 PM
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaosfission View Post
Hey guys, I'm new to hacking, but I've looked at some tutorials and information and even picked up a pack of tools, however I discovered that all the tools are .exe and my mac is the best computer in the house to be hacking on, does anyone know if there are any tools or methods I can use to on my mac?
No tools have been designed for Mac as most of the tools run of the microsoft .net framework.

Even that wine program (whatever it's called) can't run them because Mac's do not use .net framework.

Have to invest in a PC or laptop OR run a virtual windows system on your Mac.
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


Reply With Quote
  #428    
Old January 4th, 2012, 10:55 PM
Chaosfission
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate VonGrimm View Post


No tools have been designed for Mac as most of the tools run of the microsoft .net framework.

Even that wine program (whatever it's called) can't run them because Mac's do not use .net framework.

Have to invest in a PC or laptop OR run a virtual windows system on your Mac.
Alright, thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote
  #429    
Old January 5th, 2012, 12:18 AM
ShadowTails's Avatar
ShadowTails
I'm working on a better Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Does anyone know how to edit the font in Pokemon Emerald? That or happen to know the offsets so I can do it in Fonted? I don't know if there are any new programs that can do this, but Fonted doesn't have the offset for the graphics, or the width of the letters, and wont open the ROM without those.

If I knew how to find it, I'd try to find it myself, but it seems Fonted only has the info to edit Ruby, and I don't believe any of the fonts in any of the games are uncompressed.

Basically, what I'm wanting to do is take the Super Mario World approach (like how it had specific tiles to fit YELLOW SWITCH PALACE for that levels name) and edit some unused "letters" and make words like Electr and Psychc complete words without ruining the formatting of the text box. Possibly a few other things, but that's all I'm wanting to do at the moment, it's not a major concern, I can live without doing it, but it'd be nice to do.
__________________
Who needs a fancy signature full of crap?
Reply With Quote
  #430    
Old January 5th, 2012, 12:50 PM
MightyHeracross
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
ive heard that there is a "supercard" that i can use to play roms of hacked pokemon games on my ds/lite/i/3ds. Is this true? How do i do it? I have all 4 gens of the DS, so which supercard should i get? How much are they?

thanks for all your help!!
Reply With Quote
  #431    
Old January 6th, 2012, 09:05 PM
pzfreez7's Avatar
pzfreez7
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via AIM to pzfreez7
I tried to patch a liquid crystal ips file onto a fire red rom, and lunar ips said "successfully patched!" but the file remained unchanged. Could it be the fire red file I am using? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #432    
Old January 6th, 2012, 11:42 PM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by pzfreez7 View Post
I tried to patch a liquid crystal ips file onto a fire red rom, and lunar ips said "successfully patched!" but the file remained unchanged. Could it be the fire red file I am using? Thanks
Yes, it could be, or it could be 150 more possibilities =)
Try the first you suggested and see what happens =)
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #433    
Old January 7th, 2012, 11:28 PM
pokejohn01
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
i have desmume 0.9.6 x 86 and when playing pokemon white (only just started) have just noticed no exp after a battle.

now i have seen that people have said that they need to download a patched rom but i know the rom is good as i got it from my r4 card in the ds and it works fine and gets exp from battles.

so is there something i can do to fix the desmume emulator as it is not the rom that is the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #434    
Old January 8th, 2012, 11:55 PM
pokejohn01
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
i have desmume and it works with pokemon white but no exp. but the rom works good and with exp on the ds.
so is there a fix for this as i have seen fixes for roms but my rom is good
Reply With Quote
  #435    
Old January 9th, 2012, 04:36 AM
leafjammer
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
so i got an r4 and it is ttds kernel 1.17a12 a few months back it was working fine and now it is suck in ttds is loading and it wont load help!!!!!:'(
Reply With Quote
  #436    
Old January 9th, 2012, 03:43 PM
BOBcorevette
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Gender:
When running Mac Boy Advance and loading a game it makes the screen half pink and half the game(red version & and newest Mac OS). Has anyone else had this problem on Mac and know how to fix it? Or any other good emulators that work on mac?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #437    
Old January 10th, 2012, 03:02 AM
leafjammer
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Hey i've been posting because of my problem so this is it how do i fix my ttds wont load it keeps loading but not load help
Reply With Quote
  #438    
Old January 12th, 2012, 04:07 AM
pokejohn01
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
i need some help with this no exp thing.
my rom works fine but the emulator desmume wont give exp when playing pokemon white on it.
if i play it on the ds i get exp, so there is nothing wrong with the rom and i dont need to patch the rom

edit: ok problem solved. i found a action replay code for the xp problem and now it works

Last edited by pokejohn01; January 12th, 2012 at 03:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #439    
Old January 15th, 2012, 06:16 AM
pokemonfreek24's Avatar
pokemonfreek24
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
im Running he Latest VBA Link so i can play through Firered
Problem is that i cant save so no trading all that happens is it says *saving* and then stays there eternally
the weird thing is i started gain on a diff File (need something to trade to) and it worked absolutely fine so what can i do?
Reply With Quote
  #440    
Old February 2nd, 2012, 05:07 PM
Jill Valentine's Avatar
Jill Valentine
Nexios Leader
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Sassy
did'nt know where to post this probably here anyways umm I'm making a Firered Hack based on Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire but I need help this first is the message when you start firered you know the one with pikachu at the top how can I changed the text there Also where on here can I get help with the professors script I need help
__________________
September 28th Daylight, the monsters have overtaken the city somehow....I'm still alive...
Reply With Quote
  #441    
Old February 2nd, 2012, 11:42 PM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jill Valentine View Post
did'nt know where to post this probably here anyways umm I'm making a Firered Hack based on Pokemon Ruby/Sapphire but I need help this first is the message when you start firered you know the one with pikachu at the top how can I changed the text there Also where on here can I get help with the professors script I need help
Professor's script can be changed with A-Text or better by using Hex Editor.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #442    
Old February 3rd, 2012, 02:27 PM
Tman109ner's Avatar
Tman109ner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
1. Is it possible to have all the pokemon (through Gen 5), or at least through gen 4, on a FR/LG or a R/S/E rom? if so how?
2. How do you put the overworld pokemon sprites in on a rom map?

Last edited by Tman109ner; February 3rd, 2012 at 03:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #443    
Old February 4th, 2012, 12:20 AM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tman109ner View Post
1. Is it possible to have all the pokemon (through Gen 5), or at least through gen 4, on a FR/LG or a R/S/E rom? if so how?
2. How do you put the overworld pokemon sprites in on a rom map?
1. Not possible yet.
2. ROM map? Do you mean world map or map in game?
If you mean in-game map then just put them like normal OW :D
If you mean world map then I don't think that's possible =D
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #444    
Old February 6th, 2012, 06:37 PM
Jill Valentine's Avatar
Jill Valentine
Nexios Leader
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post

Professor's script can be changed with A-Text or better by using Hex Editor.
I use pksvui and I know how to change it but there was a bunch of stuff when I opened it I got confused and I still need help with that welcome message also now I got a problem I really need help with Ive completed Littleroot, route 101,olddale,Route 102,route 103 and petalburg everything fine scripts, warps, changed music, wild pokemon nothing wrong any ways I made route 104 the map works fine I connected it to Petalburg now my Petalburg map frezes when I enter it when it worked fine before
__________________
September 28th Daylight, the monsters have overtaken the city somehow....I'm still alive...
Reply With Quote
  #445    
Old February 8th, 2012, 06:02 AM
G-Six
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
hey guys,

pretty dumb question maybe but, where can I get support for a little bigger problem? I have a Scripting problem and have to post a few files to get help. But I don't quite know where to post it '

~g-six
Reply With Quote
  #446    
Old February 10th, 2012, 12:49 AM
Perry_'s Avatar
Perry_
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Just looking for an IPS patcher for macs, havent played hacks since my PC days
Reply With Quote
  #447    
Old February 10th, 2012, 01:17 AM
zantetsu122's Avatar
zantetsu122
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Female
Go to Suicune's Expert Emerald, I think I saw a Patcher for MAC.
__________________
Challenges
Water UMC: FR: 6/8 Badges
C: UE: 1/16
E: 0/8
D/P: 0/8
B: 0/8
Ultimate Solo Challenge:
Excadrill: 0/8( still confirming.)
Dragonite; LG>LC>E>PT>BB/VW(still confirming)
Random Solo Challenge Platinum 0/8:
Snorlax
Milotic
Luxray
Pelipper
Mamoswine
Lickylicky
0/8
Reply With Quote
  #448    
Old February 10th, 2012, 01:43 AM
Perry_'s Avatar
Perry_
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zantetsu122 View Post
Go to Suicune's Expert Emerald, I think I saw a Patcher for MAC.
Checked it, couldnt find anything
Reply With Quote
  #449    
Old February 10th, 2012, 02:16 AM
mysteryme's Avatar
mysteryme
Togepi
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Netherlands
Gender: Male
I am busy with my fire red hack, and I am always testing it. I made it up to gym 2. it all worked perfect. I just edited some trainers on the next route but when i try to launch the game in vba, it only gives me a white screen! the game won't load. my previous demo (till mt.moon) is working perfect, but my new beta just gives me a white screen.

what could it be?
__________________
Currently busy with a rpg maker xp project.
Reply With Quote
  #450    
Old February 10th, 2012, 02:59 AM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Six View Post
hey guys,

pretty dumb question maybe but, where can I get support for a little bigger problem? :S I have a Scripting problem and have to post a few files to get help. But I don't quite know where to post it ^_^'

~g-six
If it's a scripting problem then you should post in the Script Help Thread. Just write a reply with your script in it and the chances are that somebody will be able to help. Uploading files generally isn't necessary to get your problem solved :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mysteryme View Post
I am busy with my fire red hack, and I am always testing it. I made it up to gym 2. it all worked perfect. I just edited some trainers on the next route but when i try to launch the game in vba, it only gives me a white screen! the game won't load. my previous demo (till mt.moon) is working perfect, but my new beta just gives me a white screen.

what could it be?
If you're encountering a never ending white screen then you have most likely overwritten or corrupted important data while you were editing your ROM. It is next to impossible to recover from this so the best/ easiest thing to do is to start work from your most recent working file and reinsert all of your newer improvements. Be sure to use safe offsets and back up your files regularly to prevent this from happening again!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.