The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #20401    
Old January 22nd, 2012, 05:22 PM
SwirlyBirds's Avatar
SwirlyBirds
apparently not quite dead
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Nature: Lonely

Advertise here
Which version of A-Map do you use?
__________________
this is not a signature
  #20402    
Old January 22nd, 2012, 05:58 PM
QuilavaKing's Avatar
QuilavaKing
(>^.(>0.0)>
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oregon
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Send a message via Skype™ to QuilavaKing
I'm helping a friend with a hack of Ruby, and really the only thing we've edited so far is Rusturf Tunnel. We just edited the map, and added a couple more levels to it. So, basically all that's changed is that there is 1 extra warp, and the map is slightly larger. (Edit: Oh, and we've replaced all of the Ruby tiles with Emerald tiles.)

When I enter it, this happens:


If I've talked to someone besides that hiker more recently, their message will play.
It looks infinitely, and there's no way to keep playing once it starts.

Why is it happening?
Attached Images
File Type: png FUUUUUUUUU.png‎ (31.5 KB, 137 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
#156 :: Quilava

The Volcano Pokemon


  #20403    
Old January 22nd, 2012, 08:03 PM
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron
巨大なトロール。
Community Supporter Tier 2
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuilavaKing View Post
I'm helping a friend with a hack of Ruby, and really the only thing we've edited so far is Rusturf Tunnel. We just edited the map, and added a couple more levels to it. So, basically all that's changed is that there is 1 extra warp, and the map is slightly larger. (Edit: Oh, and we've replaced all of the Ruby tiles with Emerald tiles.)

When I enter it, this happens:


If I've talked to someone besides that hiker more recently, their message will play.
It looks infinitely, and there's no way to keep playing once it starts.

Why is it happening?
Looks like you have a level script in the map that's calling the message. Try removing all of the level scripts on that map.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #20404    
Old January 23rd, 2012, 02:19 PM
robosllim's Avatar
robosllim
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Show View Post
Try changing his AI to a higher number. If you want to tell a trainer how/when to use items, you gotta ASM
Here's the way things are now. There's a particular trainer, Battle Girl Lauren, who is known to cause problems. So I moved her to my debug location using Advance Map. She has a Hitmonlee with AI Value 200. She has an Antidote, a Burn Heal, a Full Heal, and a Full Restore. I poison the Hitmonlee and, consistently, she uses a Super Repel one turn, followed by a ?????? the next turn. Each will say "Foe HITMONLEE's SUPER REPEL/?????? cured POISON!" without actually doing so.

So next, I remove all of her items and set Hitmonlee's AI Value to 0. I confirm that these changes take effect through HxD. I also change her name to confirm I'm loading the right ROM in VBA. So now, when Battle Girl Laurrrrrr battles me, she still uses a Super Repel and a ?????? when her Hitmonlee gets poisoned. Same behavior as before, even though her data changed.

Now, I've figured out all the bytes in the trainer Pokemon data section (AI, level, dex number, item, and attacks), but I've got some holes in the trainer data:

Code:
0-1   - ???
2-3   - Music and Sprite
4-15  - Name
16-23 - Items
24-27 - ???
28    - Type (07 is story battle, I think)
29-31 - ???
32    - Pokemon count
33-35 - ???
36-39 - The address of the Pokemon data
I'm wondering if any of the blanks could be causing issues. So, two questions: First, can anyone fill in my blanks? Second, is there anything else that may account for the weird item behavior? It definitely seems to be tied to particular trainers, rather than some corruption of the battle code... though I obviously am not certain.

Last edited by robosllim; January 23rd, 2012 at 02:21 PM. Reason: Typo
  #20405    
Old January 23rd, 2012, 11:52 PM
Jana Cutler's Avatar
Jana Cutler
James_Cutler
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver
Gender: Male
how can i change the pokemon icon in sapphire?? i saw a program called iconed but it cant import png files..
  #20406    
Old January 24th, 2012, 06:40 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jana Cutler View Post
how can i change the pokemon icon in sapphire?? i saw a program called iconed but it cant import png files..
Try using Wichu's Icon Editor (here) or you can also use Nameless Sprite Editor

Edit: Sapphire doesn't work with Wichu's Icon Editor, but if you manage to procure a .ini file for your game, put it in the .ini folder that comes with the download and it should work
__________________

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...




Last edited by redriders180; January 24th, 2012 at 07:14 AM.
  #20407    
Old January 24th, 2012, 08:02 AM
robosllim's Avatar
robosllim
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Show View Post
Try changing his AI to a higher number. If you want to tell a trainer how/when to use items, you gotta ASM
I might as well ask about this too... Does anyone know where the battle AI code might be? How can I find it? I can see some bytes flipping really quickly in VBA's memory viewer, which... might be the address of the code it's jumping to? Is there a guide that might help me find that code and see what's going on?

Also, at what point should I make my own thread about this?
  #20408    
Old January 24th, 2012, 08:57 AM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by robosllim View Post
I might as well ask about this too... Does anyone know where the battle AI code might be? How can I find it? I can see some bytes flipping really quickly in VBA's memory viewer, which... might be the address of the code it's jumping to? Is there a guide that might help me find that code and see what's going on?
Have a quick eye, and catch the numbers that fly through when the battle starts.

Then breakpoint the suspected code, and then let the research begin!

There's really not a better way to do that. (Do you really want to step through that much code manually?)

btw you should pm someone experienced (like JPAN) for stuff like this
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20409    
Old January 24th, 2012, 09:02 AM
robosllim's Avatar
robosllim
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
Have a quick eye, and catch the numbers that fly through when the battle starts.

Then breakpoint the suspected code, and then let the research begin!

There's really not a better way to do that. (Do you really want to step through that much code manually?)

btw you should pm someone experienced (like JPAN) for stuff like this
My goal at this point is to compare the hack's code with a clean ROM's code. I don't necessarily need to see the code itself (though that would be nice), but I just need to know where the code is so I can compare.

I think I will PM JPAN. Everyone loves a challenge, right?
  #20410    
Old January 24th, 2012, 10:44 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by robosllim View Post
My goal at this point is to compare the hack's code with a clean ROM's code. I don't necessarily need to see the code itself (though that would be nice), but I just need to know where the code is so I can compare.

I think I will PM JPAN. Everyone loves a challenge, right?
I feel like I should mention this. One of the posts in the quick research and development threads (this post) states that the AI in A-Trainer really only sets the IVs of the Pokemon in question. Perhaps you should be pursuing a different method of doing this item stuff
__________________

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #20411    
Old January 24th, 2012, 04:39 PM
Serpdrako
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2009
Gender:
Is there any way I can import (I guess that's the word, I'm not very good at this) only the wild pokemon encounter data from one rom to another? I'm playing soul silver and was using ppre to do the hacks. I messed up somewhere while making backups along the way, and my wild encounter data got left in the dust a little ways back. Don't really feel like editing all of the trainers over again.

Thanks in advance!!
  #20412    
Old January 24th, 2012, 04:55 PM
SwirlyBirds's Avatar
SwirlyBirds
apparently not quite dead
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpdrako View Post
Is there any way I can import (I guess that's the word, I'm not very good at this) only the wild pokemon encounter data from one rom to another? I'm playing soul silver and was using ppre to do the hacks. I messed up somewhere while making backups along the way, and my wild encounter data got left in the dust a little ways back. Don't really feel like editing all of the trainers over again.

Thanks in advance!!
I'm no expert at 4th Gen hacking, but unless someone makes a tool, there's no way you can import / export the wild Pokemon data
__________________
this is not a signature
  #20413    
Old January 24th, 2012, 04:56 PM
Serpdrako
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2009
Gender:
Thanks for the quick response, but is this not even possible with .narc files. I feel like that is what I'm looking for. Is there a specific .narc file for wild pokemon or trainer data?
  #20414    
Old January 24th, 2012, 06:36 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpdrako View Post
Thanks for the quick response, but is this not even possible with .narc files. I feel like that is what I'm looking for. Is there a specific .narc file for wild pokemon or trainer data?
According to a page on the ProjectPokémon wiki, the trainer data is located in \a\0\5\5 through \a\0\5\9, and maybe (just maybe) \a\1\0\2 is the wild pokemon data. Look through the page yourself, maybe you'll find other things.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20415    
Old January 26th, 2012, 05:26 PM
RSBeauAngel
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
I'm having trouble adding events to Fire Red...I'm very new to this and I'm just practicing making simple talking events, and I've gotten two to work fine. But now all the events I try to add wont work. Like when I walk up to the person and press A to talk to them, they just don't talk. I'm using the Script Generator on my scripting tool, and it made the other two speaking events work just fine. But other than those two, none that I try to add will work. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong :/
  #20416    
Old January 26th, 2012, 06:05 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSBeauAngel View Post
I'm having trouble adding events to Fire Red...I'm very new to this and I'm just practicing making simple talking events, and I've gotten two to work fine. But now all the events I try to add wont work. Like when I walk up to the person and press A to talk to them, they just don't talk. I'm using the Script Generator on my scripting tool, and it made the other two speaking events work just fine. But other than those two, none that I try to add will work. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong :/
What script editor are you using? Could you post an example of a script that isn't working properly? The more information you provide, the more likely somebody will be able to help you out :)
__________________
  #20417    
Old January 26th, 2012, 06:46 PM
RSBeauAngel
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
I'm using PKSV, and here's one of the scripts:

Spoiler:
#org 0x8740000
'-----------------------------------
#raw 0xFF
lock
faceplayer
msgbox 0x874000D ' If you follow this p...
callstd MSG_LOCK ' Built-in lock command
release
end


#org 0x874000D
= If you follow this path, you'll get to\nFoamstone Town. It's a popular vacation spot!
  #20418    
Old January 26th, 2012, 07:08 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSBeauAngel View Post
I'm using PKSV, and here's one of the scripts:

Spoiler:
#org 0x8740000
'-----------------------------------
#raw 0xFF
lock
faceplayer
msgbox 0x874000D ' If you follow this p...
callstd MSG_LOCK ' Built-in lock command
release
end


#org 0x874000D
= If you follow this path, you'll get to\nFoamstone Town. It's a popular vacation spot!
The only problem I see is the #raw 0xFF. Remove that and you should be fine.

Also, you should use MSG_FACEPLAYER instead of MSG_LOCK.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20419    
Old January 27th, 2012, 12:14 PM
Repede
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Okay, so I have searched to no avail...unless I don't know how to use the search function. I've also got no idea if this is the proper place for these questions. I will move it if necessary.
So first, hi!

Some friends and I are starting up a new Pokemon rom hack. This is, I should say, the first we've ever done. None of us know anything yet about using Pokescript, which is why I'm here, for the above tutorials.

Here's my issue: We were hoping to use Generation 4, particularly Heart Gold and Soul silver, for a couple reasons. One, we definitely want to have the Physical/Special attack split that the fourth gen introduced. Two, IF we use HG/SS, we'd have access to a second 'world' to toy with, though that one isn't particularly important.

Now, I've perused the tutorials, looked at some of the most popular/comprehensive, but it seems everything addresses the third generation of games. My question is this; is there a Pokescript tutorial for the fourth generation? And if not, is there a way to bring that Physical/Special split into the third? We aren't too concerned with visuals, so I'd be fine with either.

On the note of using a 3rd gen game, actually, would we be able to expand the pre-programmed Pokedex to include all current gen Pokemon, from gen 4 and 5?

Thanks for the help, sorry for all the questions. I look forward to a response!
  #20420    
Old January 27th, 2012, 12:30 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repede View Post
Okay, so I have searched to no avail...unless I don't know how to use the search function. I've also got no idea if this is the proper place for these questions. I will move it if necessary.
So first, hi!

Some friends and I are starting up a new Pokemon rom hack. This is, I should say, the first we've ever done. None of us know anything yet about using Pokescript, which is why I'm here, for the above tutorials.

Here's my issue: We were hoping to use Generation 4, particularly Heart Gold and Soul silver, for a couple reasons. One, we definitely want to have the Physical/Special attack split that the fourth gen introduced. Two, IF we use HG/SS, we'd have access to a second 'world' to toy with, though that one isn't particularly important.

Now, I've perused the tutorials, looked at some of the most popular/comprehensive, but it seems everything addresses the third generation of games. My question is this; is there a Pokescript tutorial for the fourth generation? And if not, is there a way to bring that Physical/Special split into the third? We aren't too concerned with visuals, so I'd be fine with either.

On the note of using a 3rd gen game, actually, would we be able to expand the pre-programmed Pokedex to include all current gen Pokemon, from gen 4 and 5?

Thanks for the help, sorry for all the questions. I look forward to a response!
Well good and bad news for you. For one when you mean a second 'world' I'm guessing you mean a second reason which you can easily do with a 3rd Generation game.

Anyways, the bad news is HG/SS is extremely hard to hack and there are no such tutorials.

Good news is that there is a Physical/Special Split that has just very recently been finished. Here is a Split for Ruby and as for a Split for FireRed and Emerald it is here.

Also for the 4th and 5th Generation Pokemon, you can refer to this thread. And for Ruby you will find it in this thread. As of now these projects are still in work so you'll have to wait but they are coming along.

Finally never worry about too many questions. Others or myself are always happy to help.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20421    
Old January 27th, 2012, 12:36 PM
Repede
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Absolutely fantastic answers, thank you so much for the help. Our hack is still quite a ways off, it's still in the planning stages, so I'm willing to wait.

I guess I'll give up on Gen 4, then, and focus on Ruby/Sapphire. I was indeed referring to a second region, such as Kanto is to Heart Gold. I was originally told by a friend that you cannot "add" to rom hacks, simply "modify", so I wasn't sure that was possible. Glad to know it is!

Well, thank you so much for all your help! Now I've got a point to start learning! Watch for our hack in the Progression's area, once we get something actually concrete! Thanks again, Speedster!
  #20422    
Old January 27th, 2012, 12:42 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repede View Post
Absolutely fantastic answers, thank you so much for the help. Our hack is still quite a ways off, it's still in the planning stages, so I'm willing to wait.

I guess I'll give up on Gen 4, then, and focus on Ruby/Sapphire. I was indeed referring to a second region, such as Kanto is to Heart Gold. I was originally told by a friend that you cannot "add" to rom hacks, simply "modify", so I wasn't sure that was possible. Glad to know it is!

Well, thank you so much for all your help! Now I've got a point to start learning! Watch for our hack in the Progression's area, once we get something actually concrete! Thanks again, Speedster!
Your welcome. If you have any more questions feel free to ask the the thread Repede!
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20423    
Old January 28th, 2012, 12:01 PM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Okay, so I think I have a few problems:
First, where can I get a FireRed rom that actually has the offsets I need to use? I try to find the music table (is that what it's called?) according to a tutorial, but my hex editor can never find the offset... and when I manually go look for it, it's not there.
Also, I changed a few things in the title screen. Opens fine the first time in unLZ-GBA, but the second time I open it, all the things are screwed up, like, the pallete is weird, things aren't where they should be, etc. I've had to redo everything several times due to the roms just FREAKING out. I can never open it a second time and get it to be, well, NORMAL.
Is there any way to fix these two things?
  #20424    
Old January 28th, 2012, 12:10 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
Okay, so I think I have a few problems:
First, where can I get a FireRed rom that actually has the offsets I need to use? I try to find the music table (is that what it's called?) according to a tutorial, but my hex editor can never find the offset... and when I manually go look for it, it's not there.
Also, I changed a few things in the title screen. Opens fine the first time in unLZ-GBA, but the second time I open it, all the things are screwed up, like, the pallete is weird, things aren't where they should be, etc. I've had to redo everything several times due to the roms just FREAKING out. I can never open it a second time and get it to be, well, NORMAL.
Is there any way to fix these two things?
First, you can't discuss where to get ROMs here so all I can say is search google for "FireRed English ROM" because most tutorials are about English ROM.

Next make sure you click "Write to ROM" when you are finished editing. Just to ensure that all your changes are saved and saved in the write place.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20425    
Old January 28th, 2012, 12:45 PM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
First, you can't discuss where to get ROMs here so all I can say is search google for "FireRed English ROM" because most tutorials are about English ROM.

Next make sure you click "Write to ROM" when you are finished editing. Just to ensure that all your changes are saved and saved in the write place.
Yes, I have an english rom, but it seems to be missing several things when I open it up with a Hex editor.
I got the other things to work.
Now something else has come up (I'm such a noob D
It won't write my tile map to the rom, even when I find free space and such. It never gives me the confirmation message or anything.
Is there a way to fix that? fad;lkfj
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.