The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #20426    
Old January 28th, 2012, 12:54 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
Yes, I have an english rom, but it seems to be missing several things when I open it up with a Hex editor.
I got the other things to work.
Now something else has come up (I'm such a noob D
It won't write my tile map to the rom, even when I find free space and such. It never gives me the confirmation message or anything.
Is there a way to fix that? fad;lkfj
Well try to get it from a different source. I had this when I originally started hacking. Just try one from a bunch of different sources.

As for the tile map, are you still working with Unlz.gba?
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20427    
Old January 28th, 2012, 02:02 PM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
Well try to get it from a different source. I had this when I originally started hacking. Just try one from a bunch of different sources.

As for the tile map, are you still working with Unlz.gba?
Yes, I am.
What do you mean, a bunch of different sources? I've tried about 10-15 different offsets (is that the right term? Ugh) and none of them work.


Also, what's the maximum amount of new sprites you can put into a game?

Last edited by OMGWURMPLES!; January 28th, 2012 at 03:27 PM.
  #20428    
Old January 28th, 2012, 03:25 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
Yes, I am.
What do you mean, a bunch of different sources? I've tried about 10-15 different offsets (is that the right term? Ugh) and none of them work.
I mean get a different FireRed English ROM from many different 'websites' if that explains it better. If the offsets still do not work tell me. It could be that they are using a different language of the ROM or you aren't searching thee offsets right.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20429    
Old January 28th, 2012, 05:25 PM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
I mean get a different FireRed English ROM from many different 'websites' if that explains it better. If the offsets still do not work tell me. It could be that they are using a different language of the ROM or you aren't searching thee offsets right.
I found what was wrong.
Is there a maximum to the amount of new overworlds we can put into the game?
Also, in this topic it says, "Okay back to the second sprite data with our large offset we need to make this a pointer by reversing the bytes so for me it would be 00 00 82 08 next we need data size which is equal to (height*width)/2 with the bytes reversed."
What does this mean? It's talking about making new overworlds.
Sorry for so many questions, I'm new at this.
  #20430    
Old January 28th, 2012, 05:49 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
I found what was wrong.
Is there a maximum to the amount of new overworlds we can put into the game?
Also, in this topic it says, "Okay back to the second sprite data with our large offset we need to make this a pointer by reversing the bytes so for me it would be 00 00 82 08 next we need data size which is equal to (height*width)/2 with the bytes reversed."
What does this mean? It's talking about making new overworlds.
Sorry for so many questions, I'm new at this.
Bah, try this one.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20431    
Old January 29th, 2012, 07:27 AM
Puffle754
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wisconson
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
I am rather new to the hacking world, and I have 2 very basic questions:

1: How do I make a patch for a game?
2: Whenever I play a save file of a pokemon game, I recieve a "The file has been currupted. The previous save file will be loaded" message. How to I fix this, and could this have any effect on gameplay (Such as game deleating after E4)?

~Thanks~
  #20432    
Old January 29th, 2012, 07:47 AM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puffle754 View Post
I am rather new to the hacking world, and I have 2 very basic questions:

1: How do I make a patch for a game?
2: Whenever I play a save file of a pokemon game, I recieve a "The file has been currupted. The previous save file will be loaded" message. How to I fix this, and could this have any effect on gameplay (Such as game deleating after E4)?

~Thanks~
1: Its usually the same for IPS, UPS, or APS. Just download either A-Ptch, UPS Patcher, or Lunar-IPS. Then you have to open one up, click "Create Patch," then select the original file you didn't modified (Blank FireRed, Ruby, ect.), then select the game you did modify and finally pick a place to save the patch at.

2: I'm not 100% but I could recommened going to Options>Emulator>Save Type>Flash 128K
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20433    
Old January 29th, 2012, 09:02 AM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
I feel so stupid.
When I insert sprites in the Overworld editor, I can insert one, but when I insert the other, the first one's palette gets really messed up. When I go back and reimport it, the other one's palette gets messed up in turn.
Am I importing them incorrectly?
  #20434    
Old January 29th, 2012, 09:05 AM
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
I feel so stupid.
When I insert sprites in the Overworld editor, I can insert one, but when I insert the other, the first one's palette gets really messed up. When I go back and reimport it, the other one's palette gets messed up in turn.
Am I importing them incorrectly?
If I recall, OverWorld sprites share a certain number of pallettes, so by changing the pallette of one, it changes it for others too, as the number of pallettes are restricted so they share.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #20435    
Old January 29th, 2012, 09:35 AM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
If I recall, OverWorld sprites share a certain number of pallettes, so by changing the pallette of one, it changes it for others too, as the number of pallettes are restricted so they share.
It does that even between frames of the same sprite, though.
  #20436    
Old January 29th, 2012, 09:56 AM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
It does that even between frames of the same sprite, though.
I had this same problem awhile ago. Its because they have the same colors in there pallet but the colors are in a different order. To fix this you can use NSE 2.X and the Color Match Plug-in. Just open the first frame first and then open the others and color match them.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20437    
Old January 29th, 2012, 10:45 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
Bah, try this one.
Just a question related to this tutorial, because it doesn't explain how to make different sized OWs. In most cases, a 32x32 sprite (which is what was taught in the tutorial) works fine, but I need to make a couple 64x64 sprites for my Rom Hack. Can anyone tell me how to do this?

Also, in reference to the saving question above. Whenever I save in my hack, it says "Save error, please exchange the backup memory". The memory is set at flash 128k, and it continues to happen. I also tried ShinyGold, and IT wouldn't let me save either, citing the same error. Is it the emulator that's the problem? I don't know of any other emulators with a RTC...

Edit: I'm using VBA
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



Last edited by redriders180; January 29th, 2012 at 10:56 AM.
  #20438    
Old January 29th, 2012, 11:01 AM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
I had this same problem awhile ago. Its because they have the same colors in there pallet but the colors are in a different order. To fix this you can use NSE 2.X and the Color Match Plug-in. Just open the first frame first and then open the others and color match them.
Ooh, okay. Thanks! I'll try that.
  #20439    
Old January 29th, 2012, 12:07 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
Just a question related to this tutorial, because it doesn't explain how to make different sized OWs. In most cases, a 32x32 sprite (which is what was taught in the tutorial) works fine, but I need to make a couple 64x64 sprites for my Rom Hack. Can anyone tell me how to do this?

Also, in reference to the saving question above. Whenever I save in my hack, it says "Save error, please exchange the backup memory". The memory is set at flash 128k, and it continues to happen. I also tried ShinyGold, and IT wouldn't let me save either, citing the same error. Is it the emulator that's the problem? I don't know of any other emulators with a RTC...

Edit: I'm using VBA
Spoiler:
00 = Palette Number
11 02 11 = Sprite validation.
0200 = This is equal to the second 4 numbers in the Frame Data Pointer; this is the size of each frame
0010 = Width
0020 = Height
0110 and 0000 = oam data. Do not modify!
1@ 10373A08 = Points to @3.
2@ 9C373A08 = Void pointer\ unsure.
3@ 70343A08 = A pointer to @5 lol.
4@ A0003A08 = Sprite Pointer
5@ FC1C2308 = Pointer to pointers which point to code that loads the sprite through the ewram into the sprite block of the vram and its data into the oam.

This is the code for a OW given in the tutorial. Height and Width are given. 0010 by 0020 is the same as 16x32. So just do 0040 by 0040 for height and weight.

As for the save file I'm not sure right now but I know you could use the VBA Save Files instead of the in-game save files. I'll try to see what's the problem.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20440    
Old January 29th, 2012, 12:10 PM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
I have a problem with Visual Boy Advance not exporting palettes as .act files.
It absolutely refuses to, even if I click the ".act" thing in the scrolldown.
If I click that, it exports it as a half-functioning .pal file that doesn't even open up right.
Help?
Ugh, this is hard ;A;
  #20441    
Old January 29th, 2012, 12:22 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
I have a problem with Visual Boy Advance not exporting palettes as .act files.
It absolutely refuses to, even if I click the ".act" thing in the scrolldown.
If I click that, it exports it as a half-functioning .pal file that doesn't even open up right.
Help?
Ugh, this is hard ;A;
I tried this and it doesn't work for me either. I'm not sure what you would need it for but if its Intro Sprites I think I can recommend an easier method.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20442    
Old January 29th, 2012, 12:45 PM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
I tried this and it doesn't work for me either. I'm not sure what you would need it for but if its Intro Sprites I think I can recommend an easier method.
Yeah, it's for the intro sprites.
Is there really an easier method? It would be greatly appreciated if you would tell it to me :D
  #20443    
Old January 29th, 2012, 01:10 PM
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
What's DS equivalent of Advance Map?
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
  #20444    
Old January 29th, 2012, 02:26 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
Yeah, it's for the intro sprites.
Is there really an easier method? It would be greatly appreciated if you would tell it to me :D
Yes there is and its much easier. If you use NSE Classic or NSE 2.X there are included bookmarks where you can edit the pallets and sprites from the intro along with many other random sprites (Surfing Pokemon sprite, Ghost Sprite, Old Man back sprite, ect.). So that should help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
What's DS equivalent of Advance Map?
As far as now I believe there is not. The only way I can think of is mapping with Hex which is very agonizing and time consuming. So you'll have to wait until someone develops one.

EDIT: This is what I'm guessing your looking for Eden so you might want to follow the project.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~

Last edited by Speedster; January 29th, 2012 at 02:31 PM.
  #20445    
Old January 29th, 2012, 02:31 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
What's DS equivalent of Advance Map?
On the topic of Hex Editing, check out this one.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt



Last edited by droomph; January 29th, 2012 at 02:40 PM.
  #20446    
Old January 29th, 2012, 06:20 PM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
unLZ-GBA still refuses to repoint my boot screen/boot screen tilemap. Is there any way to fix this? Any way at all?
  #20447    
Old January 29th, 2012, 06:26 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
unLZ-GBA still refuses to repoint my boot screen/boot screen tilemap. Is there any way to fix this? Any way at all?
Did you write everything to ROM (Image and Pallet)? There isn't much more to it.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20448    
Old January 29th, 2012, 06:45 PM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
Did you write everything to ROM (Image and Pallet)? There isn't much more to it.
When I clicked "Write to palette" it screwed up the entire ROM.
It works when I write other things, like the title screen and such, just never the boot screen.
  #20449    
Old January 29th, 2012, 06:49 PM
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
When I clicked "Write to palette" it screwed up the entire ROM.
It works when I write other things, like the title screen and such, just never the boot screen.
"Write to Palette?" You should just import the images you want into Unlz and then click "Write to ROM" and then pick a Image and Pallet Offset.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20450    
Old January 30th, 2012, 02:18 PM
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
"Write to Palette?" You should just import the images you want into Unlz and then click "Write to ROM" and then pick a Image and Pallet Offset.
I clicked it by accident.
It just... doesn't repoint my Tilemap, no matter what I do.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.