Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > The PokéCommunity Archives > ARCHIVED: Battle Center
Reload this Page Do you consider Final Gambit as an OHKO move?

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ARCHIVED: Battle Center This forum is designed for all of your Pokémon battling needs! The main forum is meant for discussions, battle requests, battle logs, and other threads related to battling. Look to the sub-forums for events and team help.



 
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 14th, 2012 (06:50 AM).
ELVISTHEGUY's Avatar
ELVISTHEGUY ELVISTHEGUY is offline
Call me Dimentio.
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Egypt
Gender: Male
Posts: 32
Send a message via Skype™ to ELVISTHEGUY
So just now I was battling someone in Random Matchup and I only had one pokemon left, which was paralyzed, anyways he switched into his Staraptor (which had full health) and Ohko'd me.
So yeah, what's your opinion on the move?
  #2    
Old February 14th, 2012 (07:06 AM).
Forever's Avatar
Forever Forever is offline
let it go
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: http://goo.my/server
Age: 23
Gender: Female
Posts: 33,852
I'd say it depends on what uses it, tbh. Of course if it's something with low HP using it, definitely not, but from with lots of HP in general, probably. I don't really think it has much use though considering it's one-time and that you can't revive Pokemon in battle, and sacrificing one Pokemon just for that purpose seems kind of useless when you can take out threats with other methods. While Memento, on the other hand, makes sense, since you're actually "doing" something to the opponent (really with this, you're not even "attacking" it's more like a murder-suicide tbh) and... Final Gambit just seems like a waste of a Pokemon imo - and risky too, having to avoid being attacked first and all. ;x
__________________
I'm paired with and in love with Frizy ♥
  #3    
Old February 14th, 2012 (07:20 AM).
Volcanix769's Avatar
Volcanix769 Volcanix769 is offline
Known as the Quilava Guy!
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NJ in the U.S
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 613
Kinda yes, but when I saw this Pokemon use Final Gambit, it didn't really kill the other one, yes it had very big damage, but it did not kill it in 1 hit.
__________________
  #4    
Old February 14th, 2012 (08:02 AM).
XEL's Avatar
XEL XEL is offline
Lorem Ipsum
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 21
Posts: 491
Quote originally posted by Forever:
I'd say it depends on what uses it, tbh. Of course if it's something with low HP using it, definitely not, but from with lots of HP in general, probably. I don't really think it has much use though considering it's one-time and that you can't revive Pokemon in battle, and sacrificing one Pokemon just for that purpose seems kind of useless when you can take out threats with other methods. While Memento, on the other hand, makes sense, since you're actually "doing" something to the opponent (really with this, you're not even "attacking" it's more like a murder-suicide tbh) and... Final Gambit just seems like a waste of a Pokemon imo - and risky too, having to avoid being attacked first and all. ;x
This, pretty much. If you're going to sacrifice a Pokemon to try and kill your opponent's you might as well use something along the lines of a lead that uses Explosion, such as Azelf. Besides, if you're both down to your last Pokemon, it's kind of useless anyways if you play by the self destruction clause.

Although imagine a team of 5 Blissey + 1 sweeper Granted a physically attacking team would completely wreck that, but still lol
  #5    
Old February 14th, 2012 (04:54 PM).
The Void's Avatar
The Void The Void is offline
The Scientific Method
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: British Empire
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,336
Imagine if Blissey knew Final Gambit... I'd definitely consider that OHKO then lol
btw, I figured out Shedinja can learn Final Gambit... should I add it or not? <sarcasm>
__________________
Νηστεύει ο δούλος του Θεού, γιατί ψωμί δεν έχει.
  #6    
Old February 14th, 2012 (07:52 PM).
PlatinumDude's Avatar
PlatinumDude PlatinumDude is online now
Nyeh?
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 11,986
Send a message via Yahoo to PlatinumDude Send a message via Skype™ to PlatinumDude
It depends when you use it. When your HP is higher than your opponent's by the time you use the move, it's a surefire OHKO unless the opponent is a Ghost or Protected against the attack.
__________________

  #7    
Old February 17th, 2012 (09:01 PM). Edited February 18th, 2012 by Vrai.
Vrai Vrai is offline
can you feel my heart?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Vrai
If you're talking about whether or not it's an OHKO move and therefore not allowed by the standard clauses, Final Gambit is very clearly not an OHKO move. Nearly all users of it have moderate to low HP anyway (Staraptor, Accelgor, Shedinja). It doesn't have the level requirements of other OHKO moves like Fissure, nor does it have a 30% accuracy.

If you weren't asking about the OHKO clause, then I wonder what the purpose of this thread is.
__________________
aka Zebraiken | pairs; Ω & ζ | bffl; λ | now; Ϟ | twin; ξ | brother; φ | sister; Ψ | neeks; Ϫ
  #8    
Old February 17th, 2012 (09:07 PM).
Manila Luzon's Avatar
Manila Luzon Manila Luzon is offline
no one mourns the wicked
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: England
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 3,979
uh nope. if it was a ohko move it would state in the effect that it will ohko the opponent like sheer cold, horn drill etc etc. :x final gambit doesn't. but final gambit isn't really that of a move, like vrai said all of it's users (except victini and maybe staraptor) all have below base 80 hp. victini can do something with it though since it can take down something with 404 and below.
__________________
→ there's no fight we cannot win
→ just you and I
→ defying gravity

→ with you and I
→ defying gravity

→ 1349 6159 4149
26 / 05 / 15
  #9    
Old February 17th, 2012 (11:09 PM).
Tachikaze's Avatar
Tachikaze Tachikaze is offline
九番隊 // Earth-Severing Wind
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Soul Society
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 158
It seems like more of a gimmick than anything else, to be honest. :/
 
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:38 PM.