Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Create & Discover > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Reload this Page Battle different form

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 22nd, 2012 (10:47 PM).
tasmania12's Avatar
tasmania12 tasmania12 is offline
Mewtwo Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pallet Town
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 47

Is there a way to event battle a different form of a pokemon?
I did this:

pbWildBattle(PBSpecies::GIRATINA,25)
poke.form=2

I tested it and it errored:

Spoiler:

---------------------------
Pokemon Essentials
---------------------------
Exception: RuntimeError

Message: Script error within event 3, map 5 (Shadow Cave):

Exception: NameError

Message: (eval)in `pbExecuteScript'undefined local variable or method `poke' for #<Interpreter:0x3930d80>

***Full script:

pbWildBattle(PBSpecies::GIRATINA,25)
poke.form=2

Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:1592:in `eval'

Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:1592:in `command_355'

Interpreter:493:in `execute_command'

Interpreter:193:in `update'

Interpreter:106:in `loop'

Interpreter:198:in `update'

Scene_Map:103:in `update'

Scene_Map:101:in `loop'

Interpreter:275:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:1592:in `command_355'

Interpreter:493:in `execute_command'

Interpreter:193:in `update'

Interpreter:106:in `loop'

Interpreter:198:in `update'

Scene_Map:103:in `update'

Scene_Map:101:in `loop'

Scene_Map:114:in `update'

Scene_Map:68:in `main'

It doesn't like the 'poke' part of 'poke.form=2'

__________________

-Groudon-Rayquaza-
Reuniclus-Ho-oh-
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old February 23rd, 2012 (7:11 AM).
TACHAN TACHAN is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Female
Posts: 197

Quote originally posted by tasmania12:
Is there a way to event battle a different form of a pokemon?
I did this:

pbWildBattle(PBSpecies::GIRATINA,25)
poke.form=2

I tested it and it errored:

Spoiler:

---------------------------
Pokemon Essentials
---------------------------
Exception: RuntimeError

Message: Script error within event 3, map 5 (Shadow Cave):

Exception: NameError

Message: (eval)in `pbExecuteScript'undefined local variable or method `poke' for #<Interpreter:0x3930d80>

***Full script:

pbWildBattle(PBSpecies::GIRATINA,25)
poke.form=2

Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:1592:in `eval'

Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:1592:in `command_355'

Interpreter:493:in `execute_command'

Interpreter:193:in `update'

Interpreter:106:in `loop'

Interpreter:198:in `update'

Scene_Map:103:in `update'

Scene_Map:101:in `loop'

Interpreter:275:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:1592:in `command_355'

Interpreter:493:in `execute_command'

Interpreter:193:in `update'

Interpreter:106:in `loop'

Interpreter:198:in `update'

Scene_Map:103:in `update'

Scene_Map:101:in `loop'

Scene_Map:114:in `update'

Scene_Map:68:in `main'

It doesn't like the 'poke' part of 'poke.form=2'

Read here the "Wild Pokemon with equipped item":
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=6852512#post6852512
It adds these lines in an empty script above of the script Main.

It uses the item "GRISEOUSORB" for Giratina's alternative form and the number of switch that you want, 80 for example. This does that the Pokemon always has this equipped item. Giratina changes form taking this item.

Then in the window of Giratina's event put:

Quote:
Switch: [80 for example] = ON
Script: pbWildBattle(
:BSpecies::GIRATINA,25,1)
Switch: [80 for example] = OFF

I do not know do it without forcing that it takes the item to transform.

Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old February 23rd, 2012 (8:48 PM).
tasmania12's Avatar
tasmania12 tasmania12 is offline
Mewtwo Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pallet Town
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 47

Quote originally posted by TACHAN:
Read here the "Wild Pokemon with equipped item":
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=6852512#post6852512
It adds these lines in an empty script above of the script Main.

It uses the item "GRISEOUSORB" for Giratina's alternative form and the number of switch that you want, 80 for example. This does that the Pokemon always has this equipped item. Giratina changes form taking this item.

Can I do it using a variable if I wanted to use it on a pokemon that I want to battle with several forms throughout my game instead of using a switch linked to the item that changes Giratina's form? (If you can follow that... :D)

__________________

-Groudon-Rayquaza-
Reuniclus-Ho-oh-
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old February 24th, 2012 (3:08 AM). Edited February 24th, 2012 by TACHAN.
TACHAN TACHAN is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Female
Posts: 197

Quote originally posted by tasmania12:
Can I do it using a variable if I wanted to use it on a pokemon that I want to battle with several forms throughout my game instead of using a switch linked to the item that changes Giratina's form? (If you can follow that... :D)

OK.
Already I have managed to put a form of a Pokemon without depending on the item.

In script:

Quote:
Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
pokemon=e[0]
if $game_variables[80]=1
pokemon.form=1
end
}

Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
pokemon=e[0]
if $game_variables[80]=2
pokemon.form=2
end
}

Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
pokemon=e[0]
if $game_variables[80]=3
pokemon.form=3
end
}

Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
pokemon=e[0]
if $game_variables[80]=4
pokemon.form=4
end
}

Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
pokemon=e[0]
if $game_variables[80]=5
pokemon.form=5
end
}

pokemon.form=1, 2, 3, 4, or 5... It depends on all the forms has the pokemon

In event:

Quote:
Variable: [80] = 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5.
Script: pbWildBattle(
:BSpecies::ROTOM,25,1)
Variable: [80] = 0
I suppose that it will work, but I have not used it.

PD: I believe that everything does not work with trainers

Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old February 24th, 2012 (9:14 AM).
tasmania12's Avatar
tasmania12 tasmania12 is offline
Mewtwo Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pallet Town
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 47

I tested it and it said:

Spoiler:
---------------------------
Pokemon Essentials
---------------------------
Script 'Variable Forms' line 40: SyntaxError occurred.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Line 40 is the last line in:

Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
pokemon=e[0]
if $game_variables[80]=6
pokemon.form=6
end
} <- line 40

__________________

-Groudon-Rayquaza-
Reuniclus-Ho-oh-
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old February 24th, 2012 (10:07 AM).
TACHAN TACHAN is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Female
Posts: 197

Quote originally posted by tasmania12:
I tested it and it said:
Spoiler:
---------------------------
Pokemon Essentials
---------------------------
Script 'Variable Forms' line 40: SyntaxError occurred.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Line 40 is the last line in:

Events.onWildPokemonCreate+=proc {|sender,e|
pokemon=e[0]
if $game_variables[80]=6
pokemon.form=6
end
} <- line 40

The same thing happens to me, and I discovered the error:

I forgot to put one } in the second form. Now I edit my post.

Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old February 24th, 2012 (11:16 AM).
Abnegation's Avatar
Abnegation Abnegation is offline

ATTACKonTITAN

Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 10,778

tasmania12, in future post a thread for a question, Bugs & Error Reporting is not for questions. So I have moved your posts into a new thread.

__________________

abnegation

paired with my beloved rikadventure
there's always something
worth waiting for
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old February 26th, 2012 (6:04 PM). Edited February 27th, 2012 by tasmania12.
tasmania12's Avatar
tasmania12 tasmania12 is offline
Mewtwo Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pallet Town
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 47

It still doesn't give me the correct form...

Quote originally posted by Abnegation:
tasmania12, in future post a thread for a question, Bugs & Error Reporting is not for questions. So I have moved your posts into a new thread.

Sorry about that, I'll keep that in mind.

--------------------------------------
BUMP

__________________

-Groudon-Rayquaza-
Reuniclus-Ho-oh-
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:51 AM.