Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20601    
Old February 25th, 2012 (06:35 PM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
Quote originally posted by Rumille:
Ah well, that makes a bit more sense.

So, basically, by using #dynamic 0x800000 it starts with searching a free space to put in the script?
Yes. It looks at 0x800000 and checks if it corresponds to the "free" value (usually 0xFF). If there is enough free bytes in a row, it will overwrite those bytes to compile the script.

It is also smart, and instead of having to look at offsets (e.g. 0x809293) you will only need to match up logical labels (e.g. @hellomsg, @subtract) and it makes life a loooooot easier.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20602    
Old February 26th, 2012 (12:44 AM). Edited February 26th, 2012 by Kamon137.
Kamon137's Avatar
Kamon137 Kamon137 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Gender:
Posts: 9
I replaced Castform's sprites using the Advanced Pokemon Sprite Editor, and now I'm having an issue--the alternate forms are completely black. Looks like something happened in regards to their palettes, and I'm not sure what to do to make them use their original palettes.

For reference, I didn't alter their palettes at all--the new sprites share the old palette, which fits perfectly. But I don't know what to do to make the alternate forms use their old palettes again.

Any chance someone could run me through some steps to fix this?
Attached Images
File Type: png moemonemerald.PNG‎ (5.2 KB, 12 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
If you don't like my driving, stay off the sidewalk!
  #20603    
Old February 26th, 2012 (05:07 AM).
Masterchief1755 Masterchief1755 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by wierddude22:
look for a tool called poke edit or something like that
Thanks for the reply...but I downloaded the program you're talking about and it only does the same as what I originally was working with...edit the stats/type...not the evolutions. If you were to use PokemonAmplifier, it lets you do that plus the level they evolve...that's the kind of thing I'm looking for it if exists.
  #20604    
Old February 26th, 2012 (05:52 AM).
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster Speedster is offline
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 134
Quote originally posted by Masterchief1755:
Thanks for the reply...but I downloaded the program you're talking about and it only does the same as what I originally was working with...edit the stats/type...not the evolutions. If you were to use PokemonAmplifier, it lets you do that plus the level they evolve...that's the kind of thing I'm looking for it if exists.
Try YAPE. It is very useful. I could highly recommend PGE's Pokemon editor if YAPE is not good enough.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20605    
Old February 26th, 2012 (06:06 AM).
Masterchief1755 Masterchief1755 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by Speedster:
.
What I'm looking for is for the 2nd gen games. From what it looks like these ones you're talking about are for 3rd gen and/or GBA? Or am I (hopefully) wrong
  #20606    
Old February 26th, 2012 (01:10 PM).
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite EdensElite is offline
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 190
My ROM stopped working in Amap after I installed DNS, it works on 1.92, but when I try to load it in 1.95, it says "Cannot read bytes behind end of file. How can I fix this?
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
  #20607    
Old February 26th, 2012 (02:47 PM).
iRyahn's Avatar
iRyahn iRyahn is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 179
How (if possible) do I create new moves in Pokemon Fire Red without replacing any current ones?
  #20608    
Old February 26th, 2012 (04:48 PM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 350
Quote originally posted by iRyahn:
How (if possible) do I create new moves in Pokemon Fire Red without replacing any current ones?
I see you posted in Chaos Rush's thread in Research and Development. Only if you wouldve scrolled down a bit further...

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=263479
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #20609    
Old February 26th, 2012 (05:12 PM).
drpepper111's Avatar
drpepper111 drpepper111 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 8
Where can I find a program that allows me to edit the pokemon of trainers in Fire Red?

I have not learned scripting for the trainer's pokemon if it exists. A link to a tutorial or tips on how to do that would be welcome.
  #20610    
Old February 26th, 2012 (05:59 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Kamon137:
I replaced Castform's sprites using the Advanced Pokemon Sprite Editor, and now I'm having an issue--the alternate forms are completely black. Looks like something happened in regards to their palettes, and I'm not sure what to do to make them use their original palettes.


For reference, I didn't alter their palettes at all--the new sprites share the old palette, which fits perfectly. But I don't know what to do to make the alternate forms use their old palettes again.

Any chance someone could run me through some steps to fix this?
Did you check all the sprites in APSE for Castform? You never know, the pallate may be the problem.


Quote originally posted by EdensElite:
My ROM stopped working in Amap after I installed DNS, it works on 1.92, but when I try to load it in 1.95, it says "Cannot read bytes behind end of file. How can I fix this?
The way it sounds is as if the Rom has been slightly expanded, e.g. no longer 16 MB, but maybe something like 16.1 MB or something. You can check by opening it in a hex editor; the file should stop at 0xFFFFFF

Quote originally posted by drpepper111:
Where can I find a program that allows me to edit the pokemon of trainers in Fire Red?

I have not learned scripting for the trainer's pokemon if it exists. A link to a tutorial or tips on how to do that would be welcome.
There is a tool called Advance Trainer, which allows you to edit pretty much anything about the trainers. As for scripting a trainer, use the following format:

trainerbattle [type of battle] [trainer number in A-trainer] 0x0 @challengetext @textwhendefeated.

The last two commands vary depending on the type of battle. 0x0 uses the two shown above. 0x1 is for gym or rival battles, uses an additional command after text when defeated, the pointer to what should happen after a battle. 0x4 is for double battles, and uses a different command after textwhendefeated, which would be what the trainer says if you only have one Pokemon. There are others, but for the sake of time, those three should be fine.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20611    
Old February 27th, 2012 (12:37 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 12,959
Quote originally posted by Kamon137:
Any chance someone could run me through some steps to fix this?
Were I you I'd put the desired sprite into another location in ROM and then repoint the Castform's sprite location.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #20612    
Old February 27th, 2012 (05:39 AM).
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite EdensElite is offline
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 190
Yes, my ROM does appear to be resized, how can I make a map read it again.
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
  #20613    
Old February 27th, 2012 (06:17 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by EdensElite:
Yes, my ROM does appear to be resized, how can I make a map read it again.
The easiest way is to open your rom in a hex editor, highlight every byte after 0xFFFFFF and hit delete. But if the bytes you highlight aren't empty bytes (FF), then it might be a bad idea to delete them.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20614    
Old February 27th, 2012 (09:37 AM). Edited February 27th, 2012 by ZangoMango.
ZangoMango's Avatar
ZangoMango ZangoMango is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 42
Hey, is there any simple way I can just change the overworld player sprite to say, Gary or Lance? I'm not trying to edit the sprites, just make the player some other character already in the game, so I don't want to go into Overworld Editor and change pixel by pixel. Thanks
  #20615    
Old February 27th, 2012 (10:09 AM).
Kamon137's Avatar
Kamon137 Kamon137 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Gender:
Posts: 9
Quote originally posted by Ash493:

Were I you I'd put the desired sprite into another location in ROM and then repoint the Castform's sprite location.
Well I've already done that--the problem is, I think I need to repoint the extra palettes for the alternate forms, and I'm not sure how to do that.
__________________
If you don't like my driving, stay off the sidewalk!
  #20616    
Old February 27th, 2012 (11:10 AM). Edited February 27th, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Kamon137:
Well I've already done that--the problem is, I think I need to repoint the extra palettes for the alternate forms, and I'm not sure how to do that.
Complete edit: I was wrong earlier, each forme does have a different pallate. I think the best way to locate them is to battle each different forme of Castform in VBA, and open up the Pallate window. Find the colors of Castform (they should be lined up in a row), and search for that string of colors in Advanced Pallate Editor. This should let you find what you need.

FINAL EDIT: The pallates for Castform's formes are like the ones for any shiny; the game just substitutes the pallate color for color. Make sure you take that into account when indexing the sprites.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20617    
Old February 27th, 2012 (12:46 PM).
Kamon137's Avatar
Kamon137 Kamon137 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Gender:
Posts: 9
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Complete edit: I was wrong earlier, each forme does have a different pallate. I think the best way to locate them is to battle each different forme of Castform in VBA, and open up the Pallate window. Find the colors of Castform (they should be lined up in a row), and search for that string of colors in Advanced Pallate Editor. This should let you find what you need.

FINAL EDIT: The pallates for Castform's formes are like the ones for any shiny; the game just substitutes the pallate color for color. Make sure you take that into account when indexing the sprites.
It's fine, my sprites use the original palette perfectly... when they work, at least.

So, I've found the 'address' of each color's value in the palette... but, how do I find the hex location for these exactly?

I've included a screenshot.
Attached Images
File Type: png help.png‎ (18.7 KB, 8 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
If you don't like my driving, stay off the sidewalk!
  #20618    
Old February 27th, 2012 (01:48 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Kamon137:
It's fine, my sprites use the original palette perfectly... when they work, at least.

So, I've found the 'address' of each color's value in the palette... but, how do I find the hex location for these exactly?

I've included a screenshot.
The "address" isn't really all that helpful. When you click on each color, it will tell you the hex value of the color. in that picture, the one you have selected is 0x4B18. Take a note of all the colors after that (there's 16), and use the search feature on Advance Palate Editor to look for the colors by typing in each value. Hitting search should bring up the offset of the palate. I'm pretty sure the palate is compressed, however. If I've explained it wrong, there's a tutorial somewhere around here that describes how to find a pallate.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20619    
Old February 27th, 2012 (03:02 PM). Edited February 27th, 2012 by Kaikai.
Kaikai Kaikai is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Female
Posts: 90
is Yomama's Pokemon Gold and Crystal Gym Leader Editor the only gym leader editor for the II games? I can't seem to find anything else.

edit: ok, I found some others, but one is in german without any translation anywhere, and the other does not work for me. any other english Gym leader hackers?
  #20620    
Old February 27th, 2012 (11:03 PM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,300
Quote originally posted by Kaikai:
is Yomama's Pokemon Gold and Crystal Gym Leader Editor the only gym leader editor for the II games? I can't seem to find anything else.

edit: ok, I found some others, but one is in german without any translation anywhere, and the other does not work for me. any other english Gym leader hackers?
With game-specific table file and a hex editor you can do much more than any normal trainer editor is capable of.
There ought to be some trainer editing tutorials for GSC in Tutorials section here.
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #20621    
Old February 28th, 2012 (04:16 AM).
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster Speedster is offline
The Unknown
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In the depths of space...
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 134
Quote originally posted by ZangoMango:
Hey, is there any simple way I can just change the overworld player sprite to say, Gary or Lance? I'm not trying to edit the sprites, just make the player some other character already in the game, so I don't want to go into Overworld Editor and change pixel by pixel. Thanks
Well if you use NSE Classic you can export the pallet of Gary and a sprite library of him and import it back in over the hero. But there will still be things such as the fishing sprite that will be the normal hero unless you edit it.
__________________

.:Aegis:.
~coming soon~
  #20622    
Old February 28th, 2012 (07:57 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
I have two questions...The first is, what's the problem with Pokemarts? Whenever I attempt to program a new Pokemart for my game, half the time it freezes up, and the other half it works perfectly. Is there some kind of secret to the order?

Also...
Quote originally posted by miksy91:
With game-specific table file and a hex editor you can do much more than any normal trainer editor is capable of.
There ought to be some trainer editing tutorials for GSC in Tutorials section here.
Just out of curiousity, what is a table file, do they exist for Gen III, and where/how do I get/use it?
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #20623    
Old February 28th, 2012 (08:34 AM).
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite EdensElite is offline
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 190
I looked at the end of the file to see if it had been expanded and this came up

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4875391/fdghd.png

Help? Why can't Amap "not read the bytes at the end of the file"?
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
  #20624    
Old February 28th, 2012 (09:28 AM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,300
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Just out of curiousity, what is a table file, do they exist for Gen III, and where/how do I get/use it?
Yes, you can write a table file for (almost) any existing game (and not going to mention which are the expectional cases but yeah).

Table file is just a normal txt-file (made with Notepad for instance) that contains letters and their hexadecimal numbers (which differ in almost every game - those depend on how the game is programmed to load the graphics of font).

Part of table file for GSC

Spoiler:

80=A
81=B
82=C
...
A0=a
A1=b
A2=c


So, ABC is written as 80 81 82 in the ROM and abc as A0 A1 A2.
And by loading the table file with a hex editor, you can easily search for text and edit it.

There is a table file for FireRed here: http://www.romhacking.net/forum/index.php/topic,13825.0.html
__________________
My Rom Hack




Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #20625    
Old February 28th, 2012 (12:19 PM). Edited February 28th, 2012 by letica13s.
letica13s's Avatar
letica13s letica13s is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Durham, NC
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 6
I've created my own map in FR/LG style. I have no idea how to make a tileset or a tilemap though. I want to use either WRAP or NTME, but I don't know how to turn the .png of my map into a tilemap and tileset. Please help!
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:19 AM.