The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #20701    
Old March 7th, 2012, 09:04 PM
Tdwilson2009
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
You can see if you map has a level script by going into Advance Map's Header tab and scrolling down to the section that says "Map Script" - There you should find a button that allows you to open a script (if you do in fact have a level script active on that map). Anyway, if you don't have a level script that is operating on the map, try creating another person on your map and transfer your movement script to them so that they take the place of the person even which is acting strangely. It won't be a perfect fix, but hopefully you'll be able to have your script play out the way you want.

If this new person event also doesn't show up on the map where expected (and there wasn't any level script), then I'd suspect that there is something wrong with the ROM you are using.
Thank you so much!!
I did a little bit of everything you said and it fixed it as soon as I added a new person to the map. After the problem seemed to be resolved I gave a simple message script to the new person and let the original person (the one causing all the problems) have the movement script.
Thank you for your time!!!!
  #20702    
Old March 7th, 2012, 09:38 PM
digitelanimefan's Avatar
digitelanimefan
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Okay, so here's an odd request for you guys. I'm looking for something that will let me edit the moves in a japanese romhack. There's no english patch, so playing through it is...interesting. I should be able to manage fine though, since its pretty much just the plot of fire red. The PROBLEM is that battles are a pain, because I don't know whats happening at all. I know what moves my pokemon have, because its pretty easy to figure out based on the type and power, but my opponents...not so much.

In THEORY, I should be able to edit the move names to english ones, but I don't have a tool that will work on a japanese rom. Everything I've tried so far doesn't play nice with it. Or, well, I'm ASSUMING its a language problem. It may very well not be, I've never done this before. @_@

EDIT: I tried one of the tools on an unpatched japanese rom, and same result. So I am assuming its not an issue with the patching.
  #20703    
Old March 7th, 2012, 09:53 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
How would I go about to change the number of Map Names on a Romhack? I can't seem to figure it out.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20704    
Old March 7th, 2012, 10:40 PM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitelanimefan View Post
Okay, so here's an odd request for you guys. I'm looking for something that will let me edit the moves in a japanese romhack. There's no english patch, so playing through it is...interesting. I should be able to manage fine though, since its pretty much just the plot of fire red. The PROBLEM is that battles are a pain, because I don't know whats happening at all. I know what moves my pokemon have, because its pretty easy to figure out based on the type and power, but my opponents...not so much.

In THEORY, I should be able to edit the move names to english ones, but I don't have a tool that will work on a japanese rom. Everything I've tried so far doesn't play nice with it. Or, well, I'm ASSUMING its a language problem. It may very well not be, I've never done this before. @_@

EDIT: I tried one of the tools on an unpatched japanese rom, and same result. So I am assuming its not an issue with the patching.
Most of the tools here are for English roms, and the offsets are most likely different. I don't know where the offset for the moves names are stored (they are independent of the actual move data), but it should be simple enough to convert a move's japanese name into hex, and search for it with a hex editor. You could then change the name accordingly, through hex editing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
How would I go about to change the number of Map Names on a Romhack? I can't seem to figure it out.
It requires a fair amount of editing the hex structure of the rom...There's a "tutorial" floating around in the research and development thread, I think. I attempted to put it in my rom hack, but it just messed up everything. Feel free to try it, if you want.
__________________

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #20705    
Old March 7th, 2012, 10:55 PM
digitelanimefan's Avatar
digitelanimefan
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
Most of the tools here are for English roms, and the offsets are most likely different. I don't know where the offset for the moves names are stored (they are independent of the actual move data), but it should be simple enough to convert a move's japanese name into hex, and search for it with a hex editor. You could then change the name accordingly, through hex editing.
Is it possible you could point me in the direction of a tutorial on how to do that?
  #20706    
Old March 8th, 2012, 12:36 AM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitelanimefan View Post
Is it possible you could point me in the direction of a tutorial on how to do that?
The charmap for Japanese should be easy to understand, as it is the kana chart (which is the Japanese alphabet if you didn't already care). It's "あいうえお", then "さしすせそ" (or something), and it's pretty straightforward from there, and it should take you about fifteen minutes to get the charmap figured out.

So once you've figured that out, you take the hex values corresponding to the letters, and in a hex editor find the hex values (e.g. for "いいえ" you would search up "02 02 04", and change it however you wish, and you can repoint if necessary.
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
It requires a fair amount of editing the hex structure of the rom...There's a "tutorial" floating around in the research and development thread, I think. I attempted to put it in my rom hack, but it just messed up everything. Feel free to try it, if you want.
Where might this be? I tried to find something like it a long time ago, but couldn't. I appreciate
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20707    
Old March 8th, 2012, 05:48 AM
blackpikachu's Avatar
blackpikachu
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indonesia
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Heyy... tut for season tool plis...
  #20708    
Old March 8th, 2012, 07:14 AM
digitelanimefan's Avatar
digitelanimefan
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
The charmap for Japanese should be easy to understand, as it is the kana chart (which is the Japanese alphabet if you didn't already care). It's "あいうえお", then "さしすせそ" (or something), and it's pretty straightforward from there, and it should take you about fifteen minutes to get the charmap figured out.

So once you've figured that out, you take the hex values corresponding to the letters, and in a hex editor find the hex values (e.g. for "いいえ" you would search up "02 02 04", and change it however you wish, and you can repoint if necessary.
I meant the hex editing bit. I don't know how to do that, or what it means exactly. ;
  #20709    
Old March 8th, 2012, 12:11 PM
wierddude22's Avatar
wierddude22
New hacker
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: My house
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to wierddude22 Send a message via Skype™ to wierddude22
Quick question, i've made an indoor area and the border block is differnt than the one i used, how do i solve it
  #20710    
Old March 8th, 2012, 01:02 PM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitelanimefan View Post
I meant the hex editing bit. I don't know how to do that, or what it means exactly. ;
Here is a basic overview of finding and replacing words with a hex editor...It's uses an english rom, but it's the same concept for a japanese rom...However, japanese characters don't seem to be built in to an english rom, so you'd have to have another way to find out what each japanese character is in hex.

Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
Where might this be? I tried to find something like it a long time ago, but couldn't. I appreciate
This is what I used...it's difficult because just a plain Firered rom has space for only 196 names...108 names for Firered, and the remaining 88 names for locations in Hoenn (for compatibility). The tutorial on there has two options; either replacing the Hoenn names, or adding onto the list entirely.
__________________

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...




Last edited by redriders180; March 8th, 2012 at 04:00 PM.
  #20711    
Old March 8th, 2012, 07:27 PM
Decon082
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
So I'm kinda new to scripting. And by "kinda new", I mean completely new. I have the concepts down, and I'm working on a storyline before I even begin to start writing script.

Two questions. Both related to event scripting. I searched for both, and neither were answered very well.

1. So, you know the "grayscale" palette that's used during the flashbacks of what you did before your last save? Well, is there any way to use that while events are going on? Such as, to show a flashback sequence? I'd like to know if it's possible and how difficult it would be, so I can alter my storyline a bit as to not include that part.

2. How would you go about making the camera warp to a different map to show an event that's happening at the same time in a different location? My idea is that once the player enters the cave for the first time, the camera will warp to a different location while the screen fades out, and an event will be shown all the way across the map, and then the player will regain control back in the cave. I know there's a command to do this, but I couldn't find it anywhere.

Any tips would be appreciated.
  #20712    
Old March 8th, 2012, 07:35 PM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decon082 View Post
So I'm kinda new to scripting. And by "kinda new", I mean completely new. I have the concepts down, and I'm working on a storyline before I even begin to start writing script.

Two questions. Both related to event scripting. I searched for both, and neither were answered very well.

1. So, you know the "grayscale" palette that's used during the flashbacks of what you did before your last save? Well, is there any way to use that while events are going on? Such as, to show a flashback sequence? I'd like to know if it's possible and how difficult it would be, so I can alter my storyline a bit as to not include that part.

2. How would you go about making the camera warp to a different map to show an event that's happening at the same time in a different location? My idea is that once the player enters the cave for the first time, the camera will warp to a different location while the screen fades out, and an event will be shown all the way across the map, and then the player will regain control back in the cave. I know there's a command to do this, but I couldn't find it anywhere.

Any tips would be appreciated.
I can try to help you with your second question. The best way to make a camera "warp" to a different place is to warp the player there, and immediately hide him using what we call a level script, which is a script that activates when you enter a map. There are different kinds, one being a script that activates once you warp into a building. There's also a kind that activates the very instant you enter a map, even before the fade effect has finished. You'd use the second kind to hide the player, and the first kind to start your script immediately. once the script is finished, warp the player to the entrance of the cave. Before you tackle that, i'd read up on level scripts.

As for your first question, I don't know any conventional, simple way to make that occur. Of course it's possible, but it requires tinkering with the games internal coding.
__________________

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #20713    
Old March 8th, 2012, 07:44 PM
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decon082 View Post
So I'm kinda new to scripting. And by "kinda new", I mean completely new. I have the concepts down, and I'm working on a storyline before I even begin to start writing script.

Two questions. Both related to event scripting. I searched for both, and neither were answered very well.

1. So, you know the "grayscale" palette that's used during the flashbacks of what you did before your last save? Well, is there any way to use that while events are going on? Such as, to show a flashback sequence? I'd like to know if it's possible and how difficult it would be, so I can alter my storyline a bit as to not include that part.


Any tips would be appreciated.
This is actually quite simple, if you look at this thread.
http://wahackforo.com/t-Hacer-el-efe...a-un-FlashBack
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #20714    
Old March 8th, 2012, 08:23 PM
Decon082
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Cool, thanks for the info. I'll look into this. I'm wanting to try to make the intro part over my break next week. I think I got a quite different storyline in mind.
  #20715    
Old March 10th, 2012, 05:03 AM
GoGoShinyDunsparce's Avatar
GoGoShinyDunsparce
And Flounderp too!
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Eastern Europe
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
I'm having trouble finding this information anywhere: what is the maximum selectable area for the World Map in FireRed? I know the map itself can be up to 208x144 pixels, but what area of that can actually be accessed with the cursor during the game?

Thanks!
__________________
Claimed:
  #20716    
Old March 10th, 2012, 09:46 AM
Nidote
Nido-Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Okay, I tried taking a look around and I don't think there were any answers to this but here goes.

Are there any basic hacking tools for Heartgold/Soulsilver? Nothing major like changing entire maps, I'm mostly only interested in editing pokemon, wild encounters (and their levels), trainers and optionally moves but the ONE tool I've seen so far is an editor that only works for gym leaders... on the japanese versions.

So yeah, is HG&SS just programmed so differently it makes it impossible to work with or has nobody just had an interest in doing tools or something? :>
  #20717    
Old March 10th, 2012, 10:51 AM
Outkin's Avatar
Outkin
OM*G PIKMIN 3!!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada B.C.
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
I was playing with maps in firered. I implnated a new map in the game, and every time I select it it says "canvas cannot be drawn on" or something like that. The menus can be a bit...stubborn....in the map, but otherwise I can still edit it, but I'm curious what this means.
__________________





  #20718    
Old March 10th, 2012, 01:31 PM
Rumille's Avatar
Rumille
Togepi
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
How can you change the name of the maps in the map bank? For example, I apparently changed VIRIDIAN FOREST (1.0) in PALLET TOWN (1.0). How do I change this?
  #20719    
Old March 10th, 2012, 01:38 PM
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rumille View Post
How can you change the name of the maps in the map bank? For example, I apparently changed VIRIDIAN FOREST (1.0) in PALLET TOWN (1.0). How do I change this?
Go to the map in Advance Map, go to the Header tab, click on the first dropdown box, select Pallet Town, then click Change Name. Save the ROM, close A-Map, reopen and you should see your change has taken place :D

__________________
  #20720    
Old March 10th, 2012, 02:55 PM
Rumille's Avatar
Rumille
Togepi
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Thank you!
Next question: All of a sudden I can't get my outside-map tiles to be black. It works perfectly on all my other maps, but this one doesn't seem to get it.


The blue thing should be black. How do I solve thís?
  #20721    
Old March 10th, 2012, 03:53 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoGoShinyDunsparce View Post
I'm having trouble finding this information anywhere: what is the maximum selectable area for the World Map in FireRed? I know the map itself can be up to 208x144 pixels, but what area of that can actually be accessed with the cursor during the game?

Thanks!
The total area that your cursor can access in the Town Map is 22 x 14 8x8 tiles. Basically this area is 176 x 112 pixels in size.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rumille View Post
Thank you!
Next question: All of a sudden I can't get my outside-map tiles to be black. It works perfectly on all my other maps, but this one doesn't seem to get it.


The blue thing should be black. How do I solve thís?
That's because you're using the wrong type of block when making that tile. In FR's tileset 0 the top left tile looks to be entirely black, when in fact it is not. This is because the black that makes up the tile is being used as Palette 0's transparent colour. As such, when you apply nothing but that transparent 8x8 block when making the tile you are seeing 'beyond the tile'. If you wish to have a completely black tile that shows up in tileset 0, you are going to have to change one of the palettes associate with the tileset so that it has a (non-transparent) colour that is perfectly black.

You can see why the tile actually comes out as being black when playing in interior maps because tileset 12's palette 5 has a colour that is both black and not transparent which is used to make up the tile.
__________________
  #20722    
Old March 10th, 2012, 05:48 PM
Alec Empire's Avatar
Alec Empire
Are you ready to testify?
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
I have a vague understanding of how to use the tools, but where do I get them? I've tried Whack a Hack, and some of the tools won't even open.
__________________
  #20723    
Old March 10th, 2012, 05:54 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alec Empire View Post
I have a vague understanding of how to use the tools, but where do I get them? I've tried Whack a Hack, and some of the tools won't even open.
Try the "Toolbox" Forums. They have quite a few, and if you want, and you can try the "search" function if you can't easily find it in that Forum.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20724    
Old March 10th, 2012, 07:07 PM
AnotherLevel
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Wheres a good place to find custom BW mugshots/overworlds/trainer battle sprites from?

Last edited by AnotherLevel; March 10th, 2012 at 07:59 PM.
  #20725    
Old March 11th, 2012, 02:04 AM
darkprince909
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
Of course it's possible I was wrong. The only reason I assumed cmda06 wasn't necessary was because the tutorial for unlocking it in Firered made no mention of it. My assumption of the background bytes not working was because of the same tutorial, which only has a spot for inputting the ashy grass, the grass with ashy background, and the normal grass, and nothing else, but that may be because of the script.

I assume (not like my assumptions seem to ever hold true) that there's a sort of table in the rom, which cmda06 calls. assuming that you could find this, you could write another ASM script which would handle the background tree tiles, and put it in the table in question. The simplest way, in my opinion, would be to add setmaptile scripts to each place underneath the tree, and play the animation involved with the puff of ash. All of these things I believe you can access in a script. setanimation and doanimation can play the puff of dust. (0x7 is the ashgrass dust cloud, but the list I have also says it does a setmaptile part, so 0xA should also work [0xA is the dust cloud when the player jumps off a ledge])

And you explained it perfectly clear, i was just being stupid, so no hard feelings?
So, um, I feel like a real noob for asking this, but how exactly would i find the table that controls the ashy grass and go about changing it so the right half of the tree top would work (basically, just adding one more linked block, similar to the normal ashy grass with nothing in front of it. that always changes to a specific block, and every other block changes to a specific other block.) I havent done any work with ASM before, and advanced scripting still eludes me (I am working on it though.) My areas of expertise, though are definitely in the graphical areas of hacking. If anyone more experienced than I would be so kind as to help out a fledgling hacker, I'd be truly grateful.
And I've tried looking at tutorials, but it just seems to fly right above my head. I tend to learn a lot better with combined examples and hands-on, which makes tutorials sometimes not the best method, oddly)
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.