Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20776    
Old March 17th, 2012 (06:47 AM).
Capitalist Ness's Avatar
Capitalist Ness Capitalist Ness is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 57
@up
I think Ruby is the best rom for editing, but no one cares about it. Most people here know alot about FireRed. IMO best script editor is XSE and best map editor is AM 1.92.

Anyways, I have a problem too.
I think it's a common problem, I remember encountering it in Light Platinum once. Not sure when. In some places, when I turn menu on/kick wild Pokemon's butt/make a trainer eat dirt, game glitches like hell. For example, game's camera going insane, main character's clonning. I have no idea why is it happening. But I pointed out that it happens mostly in places where I put new events.
Hope someone helps.
Hacking Ruby.
  #20777    
Old March 17th, 2012 (07:14 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,425
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Flame:
@up
I think Ruby is the best rom for editing, but no one cares about it. Most people here know alot about FireRed. IMO best script editor is XSE and best map editor is AM 1.92.

Anyways, I have a problem too.
I think it's a common problem, I remember encountering it in Light Platinum once. Not sure when. In some places, when I turn menu on/kick wild Pokemon's butt/make a trainer eat dirt, game glitches like hell. For example, game's camera going insane, main character's clonning. I have no idea why is it happening. But I pointed out that it happens mostly in places where I put new events.
Hope someone helps.
Hacking Ruby.
Hm, do any person events have the "look down" movement type? If so, change it to "No Movement", it makes the ow look down without the glitches.
__________________
  #20778    
Old March 17th, 2012 (07:35 AM).
Capitalist Ness's Avatar
Capitalist Ness Capitalist Ness is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 57
Impressive, it worked.
Thank you very much! I thought it was something bigger. Why "look down" movement type causes these glitches?
You don't need to respond, but it just makes me think...
  #20779    
Old March 17th, 2012 (07:43 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,425
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Flame:
Impressive, it worked.
Thank you very much! I thought it was something bigger. Why "look down" movement type causes these glitches?
You don't need to respond, but it just makes me think...
Not sure, I think it's just a glitch code that Lu-Ho incorrectly labelled, though I'm no expert haha. Glad to have helped!
__________________
  #20780    
Old March 17th, 2012 (02:57 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 6,977
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:
Hello pipz.
I have a few questions that I hope anyone can help me.

I am editing the title screen of a Ruby ROM. I have done the tileset for the titlescreen and already done inserting it in the game via Unlz-GBA and repointing. Now, I wish to know where should I insert the .raw... I have arranged the tiles of the title screen through NTME.

Thanks and hope someone can help me.
I am reposting my question~
Hope anyone can help~
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #20781    
Old March 17th, 2012 (05:21 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:


I am reposting my question~
Hope anyone can help~
The best way would be to just test by messing with the pointers near it, to be honest. It doesn't take long to find the right one.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #20782    
Old March 17th, 2012 (05:53 PM).
Black Zekrom Black Zekrom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Hello
Where can I download the newest version of HackMew's XSE tool?
  #20783    
Old March 18th, 2012 (08:49 AM).
Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
ASM is very cool!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 68
Quote originally posted by Black Zekrom:
Hello
Where can I download the newest version of HackMew's XSE tool?
Google, Google, Google...
__________________
Check out my tutorials:Next tutorials coming soon!
  #20784    
Old March 18th, 2012 (08:58 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,425
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Black Zekrom:
Hello :)
Where can I download the newest version of HackMew's XSE tool?
http://www.4shared.com/rar/lcgKM8Q5/XSE_Upload.html?

That's the latest version of XSE, 1.1.1.

Quote originally posted by Rasenshurikenbum:
Google, Google, Google...
Actually, Google doesn't help for that. Google only seems to have version 1.0.0
__________________
  #20785    
Old March 18th, 2012 (11:15 AM).
JMCjoe JMCjoe is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
I'm kind of just messing around with a FireRed ROM in Advance Map, but when I try to load it in VisualBoy, it sets me up as though I'm playing Sienna with my party and items etc., however my changes are still in effect.
  #20786    
Old March 18th, 2012 (11:34 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,425
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by JMCjoe:
I'm kind of just messing around with a FireRed ROM in Advance Map, but when I try to load it in VisualBoy, it sets me up as though I'm playing Sienna with my party and items etc., however my changes are still in effect.
Is the ROM in the same place as Sienna's .sav file? If so, move the ROM into a separate folder.
__________________
  #20787    
Old March 18th, 2012 (12:34 PM).
JMCjoe JMCjoe is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
Is the ROM in the same place as Sienna's .sav file? If so, move the ROM into a separate folder.
Wow, I feel stupid now. But thanks!
  #20788    
Old March 18th, 2012 (12:43 PM).
ShinyUmbreon189's Avatar
ShinyUmbreon189 ShinyUmbreon189 is offline
Never go full retard
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Little dot on the map
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 923
I'm just wondering if it is possible to add IV Gen moves into a Fire Red ROM? Also does anybody know how to use the Day and Night system?
__________________

  #20789    
Old March 18th, 2012 (12:57 PM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 350
Quote originally posted by ShinyUmbreon189:
I'm just wondering if it is possible to add IV Gen moves into a Fire Red ROM? Also does anybody know how to use the Day and Night system?
Well fr the moves, you might want to check out this thread.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=263479

And the D&N, you can just apply it using the tool found here to your rom and it will work.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=246089
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #20790    
Old March 18th, 2012 (01:01 PM).
ShinyUmbreon189's Avatar
ShinyUmbreon189 ShinyUmbreon189 is offline
Never go full retard
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Little dot on the map
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 923
Quote originally posted by Quickster:
Well fr the moves, you might want to check out this thread.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=263479

And the D&N, you can just apply it using the tool found here to your rom and it will work.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=246089
Thanks for the links to the first question asking about moves. I already have the Day and Night tool, I just don't know how to use it and can't find any tutorials anywhere.
__________________

  #20791    
Old March 18th, 2012 (01:05 PM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 350
Quote originally posted by ShinyUmbreon189:
Thanks for the links to the first question asking about moves. I already have the Day and Night tool, I just don't know how to use it and can't find any tutorials anywhere.
Oh right, well after its inserted the time will do its work. But if you want to use it in a script to check for time, you need get the values of the designated byte and compare it to whatever you want.
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #20792    
Old March 18th, 2012 (01:16 PM).
ShinyUmbreon189's Avatar
ShinyUmbreon189 ShinyUmbreon189 is offline
Never go full retard
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Little dot on the map
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 923
Quote originally posted by Quickster:
Oh right, well after its inserted the time will do its work. But if you want to use it in a script to check for time, you need get the values of the designated byte and compare it to whatever you want.
Uhh... Yea I can't script yet. I'm wanting to get the tiles, sprites, Pokemon states, moves, evos, etc, and other things done before I do scripting. So I do not understand what you are trying to say. I know how to hack pretty decently just never really worked on scripting yet. Are there any tutorials anywhere for it?
__________________

  #20793    
Old March 18th, 2012 (01:26 PM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 350
Quote originally posted by ShinyUmbreon189:
Uhh... Yea I can't script yet. I'm wanting to get the tiles, sprites, Pokemon states, moves, evos, etc, and other things done before I do scripting. So I do not understand what you are trying to say. I know how to hack pretty decently just never really worked on scripting yet. Are there any tutorials anywhere for it?
There is a simple one on WAH, but thats a spanish forum.
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

  #20794    
Old March 18th, 2012 (01:32 PM).
ShinyUmbreon189's Avatar
ShinyUmbreon189 ShinyUmbreon189 is offline
Never go full retard
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Little dot on the map
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 923
Quote originally posted by Quickster:
There is a simple one on WAH, but thats a spanish forum.
Well, everytime I went on that site in the past my internet browser always said translate? So I might be able to translate it, hopefully.
__________________

  #20795    
Old March 18th, 2012 (07:07 PM).
shadowdragon17's Avatar
shadowdragon17 shadowdragon17 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
How can I edit Prof. Birch's script at the beginning of ruby (using PokeScript) so i can make him say what i want to but he'll still give me whichever starter I chose?
  #20796    
Old March 18th, 2012 (08:02 PM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph droomph is offline
mmm gurl that 90s
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,289
Quote originally posted by shadowdragon17:
How can I edit Prof. Birch's script at the beginning of ruby (using PokeScript) so i can make him say what i want to but he'll still give me whichever starter I chose?
Find the special, and stick it in your script.

That way he'll give you whatever stater you want, but he'll say whatever you want.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #20797    
Old March 19th, 2012 (02:17 AM).
Harminia's Avatar
Harminia Harminia is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 7
Just requoting because I ended up getting the last post before the next page so I don't know if anyone saw it..? (hopefully that won't happen again for this post..) If anyone can help, I'd be most grateful!

Quote originally posted by Harminia:
Hi, apologies in advance if this is a completely dumb question that's been answered countless times. I've looked at heaps of tutorials and looked around for anything with the same problem but I can't really find anything that's specifically like mine.
So, this is my first time editing a ROM, I'm editing Ruby version.
I'm trying to put in edited sprites for the gym leaders in unLZ. I've followed the tutorials about how indexing it, finding free space, fixing the pointers.
And I can get one gym sprite showing up fine.


but if I try and import more than one leader's sprite they start messing up. The colours go crazy or if I'm on pokenav the page won't load at all and freezes.

I have no idea what to do. I thought maybe I had to put the in free space that was far away from eachother, but that doesn't seem to help.
Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? The first time I add a new sprite is perfectly fine, but I don't know what's happening the second time to make it mess up round when I'm doing the exact same process.

(I'd give images but I have to make 15 posts beforehand, and to be honest I only joined the site to see if I can get help with this + I'm too distracted to go out and post right now + I'm not sure if I'm allowed to bypass it by putting in spaces in links or if that's against the rules)
  #20798    
Old March 19th, 2012 (02:36 AM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by Harminia:
Just requoting because I ended up getting the last post before the next page so I don't know if anyone saw it..? (hopefully that won't happen again for this post..) If anyone can help, I'd be most grateful!
The main problem I find that new hackers have is that the offset has to be a multiple of 4. So it has to end in 0, 4, 8, or C. "123456" is not valid, but "123458" is fine. You get it?
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #20799    
Old March 19th, 2012 (10:13 AM). Edited March 20th, 2012 by redx2dth.
redx2dth's Avatar
redx2dth redx2dth is offline
Metapods' got class!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Im an AI. I live in a chip.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 27
I have a problem with XSE 1.1.1 and have searched google and the forums for hours.

Ive tried running as administrator and in compatabillity mode for XP SP1, SP2, and SP3 but i allways get this error:

"A whole new scipting experience has stopped working."

BTW Im running windows 7 SP1

NVM I got it fixed. Im just using it through my XP computer through remote app.
  #20800    
Old March 19th, 2012 (05:12 PM).
Harminia's Avatar
Harminia Harminia is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 7
Quote originally posted by Darthatron:
The main problem I find that new hackers have is that the offset has to be a multiple of 4. So it has to end in 0, 4, 8, or C. "123456" is not valid, but "123458" is fine. You get it?
(Sorry, I really have no knowledge of this stuff). Do you mean, like, the number for where the sprite is being allocated to, and for the pallete?
If I used freespace finder, and got a space of, say... 8036, I'd change it to 8034/38/30/3C? Or is the offset something different? Sorry!
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:44 PM.