The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #20901    
Old April 2nd, 2012, 04:31 AM
pikachugirl666
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Female
Hello

I've been trying to change the professor oak sprite in FR and nothing I try seems to work. I'm relatively new to ROM hacking. Using unlz.gba I'm able to change the sprite and the transparency works but the palette is all wrong. It's a mixture of blues and bright pinks. I can send a picture if you don't understand what the sprite looks like after it's inserted.

So I've narrowed it down to the palette being the problem. I've tried multiple offsets for oak in APE. The only one that seems to work is "00460568" but that changes the background as well.

Does anybody know the OAK INTRO offset that does not include the background?
  #20902    
Old April 2nd, 2012, 07:50 AM
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pppgggr View Post
Hey, how do I access scripts allready in the game?(More specifically, the one that determine where you start when you create your character) I have both advance map and PKSV atm
That requires ASM hacking unfortunately.
It's not a script.

Another way of doing it is re-creating the starting map.

Example: In Ruby, you start off in the truck. You can edit the truck to look like whatever map you want it to be but it will keep the animation.

If you're hacking Pokemon Fire Red/Leaf Green, you can copy Pallet Town and paste it onto a new map and just edit the original Pallet.
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


  #20903    
Old April 2nd, 2012, 03:12 PM
Roffleman's Avatar
Roffleman
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Zealand
Age: 21
Nature: Bold
Hey guys, got a few questions..

1) When I unzip A-Text, the exe file disappears. I'm not sure how I'd go about rectifying this problem, as it appears my computer is automatically deleting the file upon unzipping. Any suggestions? I desperately need A-Text for a project I'm currently working on.

2) I think my two problems are related, but anyway, a lot of programs I have downloaded for use (most of the elitemap set, namely) are not working and a lot are saying that files are missing and to reinstall or whatever but no matter how many times I repeat, nothing is happening.

I know these are not exactly hacking related, but perhaps some one out there has had a similar issue and found a way around this? Thanks guys. Actually I tell you what if some one could attach the exe file for A-Text here so I can download the file directly, that'd potentially work for my first issue. Everything else for A-Text is intact, it's only the exe that's missing. Perhaps if I downloaded some one elses exe for A-Text, and used it within my A-Text folder, it'd work?

Still doesn't solve my second issue however, so if anyone has any tips or help they can offer, I'd be very grateful!
__________________
If anyone could pretty please PM me as to whether I am able to change my username, I'd be very thankful. You come to regret names you gave yourself when you were 13.
  #20904    
Old April 2nd, 2012, 04:51 PM
redx2dth's Avatar
redx2dth
Metapods' got class!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Im an AI. I live in a chip.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
For some reason XSE 1.1.1 refuses to run on my computer. I open it and it says a whole new scripting experiance has stopped working.

Also does anyone know if psvkui supports 7 digit offsets?
  #20905    
Old April 3rd, 2012, 01:33 AM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by redx2dth View Post
Also does anyone know if psvkui supports 7 digit offsets?
Well... since offset should be 4 hex numbers... 7 digits should be supported as long as the first is 0 which does not need to be written.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #20906    
Old April 3rd, 2012, 05:00 AM
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
How does one edit the amount of frames an overworld sprite has?
__________________
  #20907    
Old April 3rd, 2012, 06:51 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roffleman View Post
Hey guys, got a few questions..

1) When I unzip A-Text, the exe file disappears. I'm not sure how I'd go about rectifying this problem, as it appears my computer is automatically deleting the file upon unzipping. Any suggestions? I desperately need A-Text for a project I'm currently working on.

2) I think my two problems are related, but anyway, a lot of programs I have downloaded for use (most of the elitemap set, namely) are not working and a lot are saying that files are missing and to reinstall or whatever but no matter how many times I repeat, nothing is happening.

I know these are not exactly hacking related, but perhaps some one out there has had a similar issue and found a way around this? Thanks guys. Actually I tell you what if some one could attach the exe file for A-Text here so I can download the file directly, that'd potentially work for my first issue. Everything else for A-Text is intact, it's only the exe that's missing. Perhaps if I downloaded some one elses exe for A-Text, and used it within my A-Text folder, it'd work?

Still doesn't solve my second issue however, so if anyone has any tips or help they can offer, I'd be very grateful!
Is it an error like "blahblahblah.OCX is missing", or something along those lines? If it is, you need to download the OCX files from online, and register them. If you don't know how to register those kinds of files, I'd google a how-to guide for the command prompt. It's different depending on if you have 32 or 64 bit windows, so if one doesn't work, try the other.

Oh, and which unzipping program are you using?
__________________

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #20908    
Old April 3rd, 2012, 07:01 AM
redx2dth's Avatar
redx2dth
Metapods' got class!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Im an AI. I live in a chip.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
I got xse working. Well somewhat.
It apparently will not run on 64 bit due to an improperly used api call to user32.dll (might bring that to hackmew's attention)
I created another partition and dual booted windows 7 32 bit and it will run on that no prob.

Last edited by redx2dth; April 3rd, 2012 at 05:38 PM. Reason: Solved prob.
  #20909    
Old April 3rd, 2012, 09:05 AM
Pppgggr's Avatar
Pppgggr
Cheese, for everyone!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roffleman View Post
Hey guys, got a few questions..

1) When I unzip A-Text, the exe file disappears. I'm not sure how I'd go about rectifying this problem, as it appears my computer is automatically deleting the file upon unzipping. Any suggestions? I desperately need A-Text for a project I'm currently working on.

2) I think my two problems are related, but anyway, a lot of programs I have downloaded for use (most of the elitemap set, namely) are not working and a lot are saying that files are missing and to reinstall or whatever but no matter how many times I repeat, nothing is happening.

I know these are not exactly hacking related, but perhaps some one out there has had a similar issue and found a way around this? Thanks guys. Actually I tell you what if some one could attach the exe file for A-Text here so I can download the file directly, that'd potentially work for my first issue. Everything else for A-Text is intact, it's only the exe that's missing. Perhaps if I downloaded some one elses exe for A-Text, and used it within my A-Text folder, it'd work?

Still doesn't solve my second issue however, so if anyone has any tips or help they can offer, I'd be very grateful!
Some picky virus protection programs delete hacking tools upon DL/Unzip. Disable your virus protection while unzipping these.
__________________
  #20910    
Old April 3rd, 2012, 12:43 PM
south69_dallas
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
i was using per to change the trainers and when i press backspace add a new value for the amount of pokemon they have it has a run time error 13 mismatch. also now when i click on the battle ids on the left they change automatically for example i now have 063 064 066 067 067 068 etc will that change back to normal or how do i fix it?

ok so i tried to clear the data for that trainer 067 a bug catcher in virdian forest and the it has another error after clearing the data, pretty much it wont let me edit that trainer now at all, i was able to go through advance trainer and access him but then it asks to re point the offset. The numbers are still funky though. sigh i hope this doesnt mean i need start from a fresh rom

last post for today i played the rom to c what my mess up wld do and i can battle the trainer i cleared althoughthe pre battle text is all jbfjbvkb and he sends out a ? pokemon that i defeated with a leer attack . thanks for helping me with my nubeness so yea how do i fix this trainer?

Last edited by south69_dallas; April 3rd, 2012 at 01:23 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #20911    
Old April 3rd, 2012, 01:52 PM
Roffleman's Avatar
Roffleman
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Zealand
Age: 21
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
Is it an error like "blahblahblah.OCX is missing", or something along those lines? If it is, you need to download the OCX files from online, and register them. If you don't know how to register those kinds of files, I'd google a how-to guide for the command prompt. It's different depending on if you have 32 or 64 bit windows, so if one doesn't work, try the other.

Oh, and which unzipping program are you using?
Yup, that's exactly it. I'll try Pppgggr's suggestion for temporarily disabling my virus protection software and re-unzipping them, but if this still doesn't work I'll take the approach you've suggested. Thanks heaps man, and I'll keep you updated as to what happens.

@ Pppgggr: Thanks, I'll give that a go.

EDIT: Alright, both of you are life savers!

@ redriders180: I should've followed your advice from the get go. I did try the registering of the file, but it turns out I was over-eager and jumped into it without considering the last part where you said it varies for 32 bit and 64 bit, and I wasn't having success until I searched for fixes for 64 bit. When I did I found my solution. Could've saved time if I had listened to you in the first place ;) Thanks so much man, wouldn't have been able to figure this out without your help.

@ Pppgggr: Disabled my Norton Anti-Virus and re-unzipped, and this solved my issue! The EXE files were evidently being deleted without any prompt by Norton, so I'm happy to report I have the exe file of my own accord now. Thanks so much man, without you or redriders180, my project would've likely stalled!
__________________
If anyone could pretty please PM me as to whether I am able to change my username, I'd be very thankful. You come to regret names you gave yourself when you were 13.

Last edited by Roffleman; April 3rd, 2012 at 02:47 PM.
  #20912    
Old April 4th, 2012, 07:56 AM
Byrne1995
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Hi everyone, I'm making a Pokemon ROM hack. When creating a person event (In this case a battle) many tutorial videos have told me to tick the box next to Trainer although, I don't have a tick box next to Trainer all it says is $00 so I'm unsure on what to do.

so to confirm. On the right hand column next to where it says "Trainer" there should be a tick box but, I don't have a tick box, I have a box like the rest which says [$00].

I'm doing this with Pokemon Fire Red and to make sure it wasn't the Rom I've done it with Pokemon Ruby and still no tick box.

I'd like to know how I can get a tick box next to trainer but if not what do I type in where it says [$00] ?

If anyone can help it would be much appreciated, thanks
  #20913    
Old April 4th, 2012, 10:27 AM
Arab
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Hey guys, I have one question....I´m looking for pokemon trainer editor for GBA games, in which I can edit trainer´s PKM ....I had one and it was good, but I can´t remember name of it....
  #20914    
Old April 4th, 2012, 12:12 PM
YouListeningROMs's Avatar
YouListeningROMs
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arab View Post
Hey guys, I have one question....I´m looking for pokemon trainer editor for GBA games, in which I can edit trainer´s PKM ....I had one and it was good, but I can´t remember name of it....
Go with HackMew's A-Trainer. Dependable with a good UI.
  #20915    
Old April 4th, 2012, 12:13 PM
PsychoToxin's Avatar
PsychoToxin
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Advanced Trainer, Get it at Filetrip.net.
__________________

Logic, so rare it's a goddamn superpower...
I also started messing with soundfonts... Check the rest of my channel for more.
  #20916    
Old April 4th, 2012, 05:15 PM
redx2dth's Avatar
redx2dth
Metapods' got class!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Im an AI. I live in a chip.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Byrne1995 View Post
Hi everyone, I'm making a Pokemon ROM hack. When creating a person event (In this case a battle) many tutorial videos have told me to tick the box next to Trainer although, I don't have a tick box next to Trainer all it says is $00 so I'm unsure on what to do.

so to confirm. On the right hand column next to where it says "Trainer" there should be a tick box but, I don't have a tick box, I have a box like the rest which says [$00].

I'm doing this with Pokemon Fire Red and to make sure it wasn't the Rom I've done it with Pokemon Ruby and still no tick box.

I'd like to know how I can get a tick box next to trainer but if not what do I type in where it says [$00] ?

If anyone can help it would be much appreciated, thanks
Could you upload a screenshot of advance map? And what version are you using?
  #20917    
Old April 4th, 2012, 06:59 PM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Byrne1995 View Post
Hi everyone, I'm making a Pokemon ROM hack. When creating a person event (In this case a battle) many tutorial videos have told me to tick the box next to Trainer although, I don't have a tick box next to Trainer all it says is $00 so I'm unsure on what to do.

so to confirm. On the right hand column next to where it says "Trainer" there should be a tick box but, I don't have a tick box, I have a box like the rest which says [$00].

I'm doing this with Pokemon Fire Red and to make sure it wasn't the Rom I've done it with Pokemon Ruby and still no tick box.

I'd like to know how I can get a tick box next to trainer but if not what do I type in where it says [$00] ?

If anyone can help it would be much appreciated, thanks
The new A-map has $00 instead of a tickbox. Type in $01 to make it start a trainer battle when it sees you.
__________________

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #20918    
Old April 5th, 2012, 04:08 AM
Arab
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsychoToxin View Post
Advanced Trainer, Get it at Filetrip.net.
Could you please send it to me via PM ? I was searching that website, but I can´t find it...
  #20919    
Old April 5th, 2012, 05:32 PM
redx2dth's Avatar
redx2dth
Metapods' got class!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Im an AI. I live in a chip.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arab View Post
Could you please send it to me via PM ? I was searching that website, but I can´t find it...
http://filetrip.net/g25123196-Advance-Trainer.html
  #20920    
Old April 5th, 2012, 10:30 PM
Big_Bad_Lith
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
When setting which Pokemon will appear from Fishing (with Adv Map), what determines which ones can be caught with which rod?

Does it take the first two slots and let the Old Rod catch them, take the next 3 for the Good Rod, and the last 5 for the Super Rod?

Or it is based on levels, meaning anything I put down as 5-10 can be caught by the Old Rod, anything 10-30 is Good Rod, and anything above that is for the Super Rod?


I ask because I'd like to tweak the variety (and maybe the level ranges) of Pokemon the rods can catch, so that the Old and Good rods catch a few more, leaving the Super Rod to only pull in a few awesome Pokemon.
  #20921    
Old April 5th, 2012, 10:35 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
repeat repeat repeat
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Bad_Lith View Post
When setting which Pokemon will appear from Fishing (with Adv Map), what determines which ones can be caught with which rod?

Does it take the first two slots and let the Old Rod catch them, take the next 3 for the Good Rod, and the last 5 for the Super Rod?

Or it is based on levels, meaning anything I put down as 5-10 can be caught by the Old Rod, anything 10-30 is Good Rod, and anything above that is for the Super Rod?


I ask because I'd like to tweak the variety (and maybe the level ranges) of Pokemon the rods can catch, so that the Old and Good rods catch a few more, leaving the Super Rod to only pull in a few awesome Pokemon.
Yup, the first two Pokemon can be caught with the Old Rod, the next three with the Good Rod and the rest are done with the Super Rod. You can see the specific chance ratios for each slot in this thread.
  #20922    
Old April 6th, 2012, 02:51 AM
Magic's Avatar
Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
How can I use NSE to edit the textbox? I loaded and changed it on there, pressed 'Insert -> Image Data', then save, however it just causes the game to go into a crashing frenzy (problems loading the first textbox image I presume?) ><.

Pic:
Spoiler:




I have also attempted it by repointing the data to a 100% safe zone, but the same thing happens. If I reinsert the original back in then it works fine. ;_;
__________________
  #20923    
Old April 6th, 2012, 05:30 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftSign View Post
How can I use NSE to edit the textbox? I loaded and changed it on there, pressed 'Insert -> Image Data', then save, however it just causes the game to go into a crashing frenzy (problems loading the first textbox image I presume?) ><.

Pic:
Spoiler:




I have also attempted it by repointing the data to a 100% safe zone, but the same thing happens. If I reinsert the original back in then it works fine. ;_;
Are you inserting it with compression? If not, that might be your problem.
__________________

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #20924    
Old April 6th, 2012, 08:18 AM
Magic's Avatar
Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
Are you inserting it with compression? If not, that might be your problem.
I was inserting it normally, should I be inserting with compression instead then? :s
__________________
  #20925    
Old April 6th, 2012, 09:20 AM
link12552's Avatar
link12552
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwiftSign View Post
How can I use NSE to edit the textbox? I loaded and changed it on there, pressed 'Insert -> Image Data', then save, however it just causes the game to go into a crashing frenzy (problems loading the first textbox image I presume?) ><.

Pic:
Spoiler:




I have also attempted it by repointing the data to a 100% safe zone, but the same thing happens. If I reinsert the original back in then it works fine. ;_;
  1. No the image does not have to be compressed.
  2. It also looks like you are trying to import a "Type2" text-box in the "Type1" slot... don't do that!
  3. Do not edit any part of the image in this red box!



That should fix up any issue you're having

P.S. Attached are the original Type1 and 2 sprites in-case you need them
Attached Files
File Type: zip Originals.zip‎ (11.3 KB, 1 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.