Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21101    
Old April 21st, 2012 (05:36 AM).
Mickey` Mickey` is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
Hello,

When I add an OW to my ROM (Fire Red), I can't add new frames, an error message appears...

And, how I may add new pallets for my OW ?

I use Pokemon Rouge Feu (Because I'm French), so the available patches here don't work on my ROM... :s
  #21102    
Old April 21st, 2012 (05:45 AM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by Mickey`:
Hello,

When I add an OW to my ROM (Fire Red), I can't add new frames, an error message appears...

And, how I may add new pallets for my OW ?

I use Pokemon Rouge Feu (Because I'm French), so the available patches here don't work on my ROM... :s
What tool are you using and what does the error message say?

JPAN's FR Engine gives you the ability to expand the OW palette table, so you're going to have to use that if you wish to have more palettes to chose from. Since you've said that you can't patch your ROM I'm afraid there's no way you can add new palettes at this point in time.
__________________
  #21103    
Old April 21st, 2012 (05:55 AM).
Mickey` Mickey` is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
I use Hex Editor to add my new OW, and the error message says something such as 'Run Time Error - Type mismatch' (I don't remember exactly, I deleted the ROM --')

The patche works on an English version, so I can't use it... :/
  #21104    
Old April 21st, 2012 (08:52 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Mickey`:
I use Hex Editor to add my new OW, and the error message says something such as 'Run Time Error - Type mismatch' (I don't remember exactly, I deleted the ROM --')

The patche works on an English version, so I can't use it... :/
Generally, when you have two programs open with the same rom, you'll get an error message. Did you have another program open at the same time? I.E Advance Map, XSE, Overworld Editor, etc?

Quote originally posted by shahariko5:
How I edit the first map of the game ( example of emerald : the van map) ?
-----
another question, I saw an video for XSE toturial , in the end i have to take the offest and put it in the script offest positon.
i'm save and I look for checking the script and its diffrent.
The van map can be edited like any other map. It's map (25.40) in A-map (called "Inside of Truck").
It's okay if the offsets are different. It's the exact same process. Just make sure it's something above 0x750000 or so, or else you might overwrite stuff.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21105    
Old April 21st, 2012 (10:57 AM).
shahariko5 shahariko5 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Generally, when you have two programs open with the same rom, you'll get an error message. Did you have another program open at the same time? I.E Advance Map, XSE, Overworld Editor, etc?



The van map can be edited like any other map. It's map (25.40) in A-map (called "Inside of Truck").
It's okay if the offsets are different. It's the exact same process. Just make sure it's something above 0x750000 or so, or else you might overwrite stuff.
I mean whitch script do that after you chhose your name . the game know to send you for the van and no ohter map.
  #21106    
Old April 21st, 2012 (02:23 PM).
Cykness Cykness is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Hi. I don't know if this is the right place to ask this but I made a cave map, and whenever I enter it, the character is facing backwards to the entrance and I can't get out from where I came in. I also can't warp through any entrance or exit inside the cave. Ladders work though.
  #21107    
Old April 21st, 2012 (02:27 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is offline
Don't think, feel.
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Americalanavania
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 7,748
Quote originally posted by Cykness:
Hi. I don't know if this is the right place to ask this but I made a cave map, and whenever I enter it, the character is facing backwards to the entrance and I can't get out from where I came in. I also can't warp through any entrance or exit inside the cave. Ladders work though.
Did you add a warp to the cave map as well? If so, are you sure you have the correct coordinates?
__________________
  #21108    
Old April 21st, 2012 (02:34 PM). Edited April 21st, 2012 by Cykness.
Cykness Cykness is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Quote originally posted by machomuu:
Did you add a warp to the cave map as well? If so, are you sure you have the correct coordinates?
Yes, of course. I also made absolutely sure I set the right settings for the map/bank and the warp. no in both the entrance and the exit.

I just can't get it to get out of the cave.
  #21109    
Old April 21st, 2012 (02:54 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by Cykness:
Hi. I don't know if this is the right place to ask this but I made a cave map, and whenever I enter it, the character is facing backwards to the entrance and I can't get out from where I came in. I also can't warp through any entrance or exit inside the cave. Ladders work though.
It sounds like you're using the wrong tiles for your warp. In the games there are two types of tiles within caves - A 'regular' ground tile and a warping tiles which displays a downwards arrow, lets you warp and reorients you if you warp onto it. If you look at an unchanged Mt Moon tileset in FR you can see the first tile is a regular ground tile, while at the end of the row there is a second identical looking tile (which has a behaviour byte that does everything I described earlier) - Place this tile in front of the downwards entrances and you should be good to go.

As for the side entrances, the tiles directly next to them will perform the same task except suited for their direction.
__________________
  #21110    
Old April 21st, 2012 (03:03 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by shahariko5:
I mean whitch script do that after you chhose your name . the game know to send you for the van and no ohter map.
I guess now is best time to say that about 75% of the game is NOT CONTROLLED BY A SCRIPT. Scripts are pretty much only for speaking with OWs, activating script tiles, signposts, and a few other things, like eggs hatching and whatnot. It's ASM that controls where you start. Use Start Map Chooser Advance to pick the starting location. Use truck remover to get rid of the vibrating truck effect.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21111    
Old April 21st, 2012 (03:04 PM).
Cykness Cykness is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
That solved it! Thanks, man.
  #21112    
Old April 21st, 2012 (04:25 PM).
SamusTheHedgehog SamusTheHedgehog is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
how do i apply a hack to a game?
  #21113    
Old April 21st, 2012 (04:29 PM).
hinkage's Avatar
hinkage hinkage is offline
Go make some new disaster
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 20
Posts: 378
Quote originally posted by SamusTheHedgehog:
how do i apply a hack to a game?
You need a clean ROM of the appropriate game, and Lunar IPS, found here: www.google.com ;D
__________________
(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)
  #21114    
Old April 22nd, 2012 (05:23 AM).
shahariko5 shahariko5 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
I guess now is best time to say that about 75% of the game is NOT CONTROLLED BY A SCRIPT. Scripts are pretty much only for speaking with OWs, activating script tiles, signposts, and a few other things, like eggs hatching and whatnot. It's ASM that controls where you start. Use Start Map Chooser Advance to pick the starting location. Use truck remover to get rid of the vibrating truck effect.
please can you give me link for that?
the one that i find don't work
  #21115    
Old April 22nd, 2012 (06:40 AM).
Mickey` Mickey` is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Generally, when you have two programs open with the same rom, you'll get an error message. Did you have another program open at the same time? I.E Advance Map, XSE, Overworld Editor, etc?
No, it isn't the problem :s

Ah, here is the error message :
Attached Images
File Type: png 120422044902780890.png‎ (56.2 KB, 13 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #21116    
Old April 22nd, 2012 (06:59 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Mickey`:
No, it isn't the problem :s

Ah, here is the error message :
I'm not sure what's causing it to do that, assuming you used the correct structure and everything when you hex-added it. If I were you, I'd try the classic NSE to edit it; But don't use it like you would Overworld Editor; input the offset manually. If it gives you an error again, then it's a problem with your hex. Otherwise, it should work.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21117    
Old April 22nd, 2012 (07:14 AM).
Mickey` Mickey` is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
I will try... Thanks for your help !

----------------

Hem, another question (I know I'm not clever xD)

I follow the tut' by thethethethe to change the style of the textboxs, but I can't delete the white of the textbox, How I can make this ? :/

(Sorry for the language, I'm French and I'm young :s)
Attached Images
File Type: png 120422044810200010.png‎ (3.7 KB, 12 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #21118    
Old April 22nd, 2012 (11:18 AM).
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,287
Does anyone have any documentation of the order of the cry table in any of the GBA games? It's all normal from Bulbasaur to Celebi, but then the order gets really weird from there.
__________________
  #21119    
Old April 22nd, 2012 (02:26 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,289
Quote originally posted by Chaos Rush:
Does anyone have any documentation of the order of the cry table in any of the GBA games? It's all normal from Bulbasaur to Celebi, but then the order gets really weird from there.
You can use a Hex Editor, and the tools PokeCry and YAPE.
With YAPE, search for the POKéMON you wish to view.


Then, open your ROM with a Hex Editor.
And then, with PokéCry...

1. Go to the Table Offset...
2. Search/Find the Sample Offset (reverse it).
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #21120    
Old April 23rd, 2012 (05:45 AM).
Noririn's Avatar
Noririn Noririn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 15
Quote originally posted by Mickey`:
And, how I may add new pallets for my OW ?

I use Pokemon Rouge Feu (Because I'm French), so the available patches here don't work on my ROM... :s
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
JPAN's FR Engine gives you the ability to expand the OW palette table, so you're going to have to use that if you wish to have more palettes to chose from. Since you've said that you can't patch your ROM I'm afraid there's no way you can add new palettes at this point in time.
It can be easily done without JPAN's engine.

Spoiler:
Look for a 144 byte table of data that follows the same structure as the following your rom:
(from BPRE at 0x3A5158)
28 D8 36 08 03 11 00 00 48 D8 36 08 04 11 00 00
68 D8 36 08 05 11 00 00 88 D8 36 08 06 11 00 00
A8 D8 36 08 07 11 00 00 C8 D8 36 08 08 11 00 00
E8 D8 36 08 09 11 00 00 08 D9 36 08 0A 11 00 00
68 B9 35 08 00 11 00 00 68 E9 35 08 01 11 00 00
88 E9 35 08 02 11 00 00 08 80 39 08 0B 11 00 00
28 80 39 08 0C 11 00 00 40 4E 8E 08 10 11 00 00
82 4E 8E 08 11 11 00 00 A8 4E 39 08 13 11 00 00
E8 5A 39 08 15 11 00 00 C8 52 39 08 14 11 00 00

Copy the table, find some free space and paste it there, add 0000FF1100 to the end. Search for pointers to the original table and repoint the first 3 you find from the start of the rom to the new table's location. Then just follow the same process to add new OW palettes as you would with JPAN's engine.
  #21121    
Old April 23rd, 2012 (09:18 AM).
Mickey` Mickey` is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
Great, but just a little question, what represents this table ?
  #21122    
Old April 23rd, 2012 (10:40 AM). Edited April 23rd, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Mickey`:
No, it isn't the problem :s

Ah, here is the error message :
Quote originally posted by Mickey`:
Great, but just a little question, what represents this table ?
The table is a list of all the OW palettes in game. It's laid out like so:

XX XX XX XX YY 11 00 00. XX XX XX XX is the offset of the palettes, reversed, and YY is the pallete number. I might also be doing it wrong, but typing in any of those custom pallete numbers into NSE or Overworld Editor will result in an error message...You'll have to add it via hex editor.

PS ALWAYS end the table with 00 00 00 00 FF 11 00 00. That signifies the end of the table.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21123    
Old April 23rd, 2012 (10:50 AM).
Mickey` Mickey` is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
Ok, thanks a lot ! I'm going to try it...
  #21124    
Old April 23rd, 2012 (01:31 PM).
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,287
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:


You can use a Hex Editor, and the tools PokeCry and YAPE.
With YAPE, search for the POKéMON you wish to view.


Then, open your ROM with a Hex Editor.
And then, with PokéCry...

1. Go to the Table Offset...
2. Search/Find the Sample Offset (reverse it).
Sorry, that doesn't help at all. Obviously, I've already looked into it with a hex editor (its the first thing I do), and apparently no one else noticed that the order is scrambled after Celebi. Because of how YAPE and PokeCry reads the tables (except the PokeCry mod that someone posted here), all the offsets listed for Pokemon higher than Celebi are completely incorrect.

Jambo51 recently told me that there is a second cry table in the rom that determines what each Pokemon's cry is, starting from index number 252 (the number after Celebi). This is most likely because index number's 252-276 are glitch Pokemon, so the game disabled cries for those index numbers (they're all Unown cries). Does anyone know where the second cry table is in Ruby, or at least what format the second table is in?
__________________
  #21125    
Old April 24th, 2012 (11:37 AM).
Mickey` Mickey` is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 71
Quote originally posted by Noririn:
It can be easily done without JPAN's engine.

Spoiler:
Look for a 144 byte table of data that follows the same structure as the following your rom:
(from BPRE at 0x3A5158)
28 D8 36 08 03 11 00 00 48 D8 36 08 04 11 00 00
68 D8 36 08 05 11 00 00 88 D8 36 08 06 11 00 00
A8 D8 36 08 07 11 00 00 C8 D8 36 08 08 11 00 00
E8 D8 36 08 09 11 00 00 08 D9 36 08 0A 11 00 00
68 B9 35 08 00 11 00 00 68 E9 35 08 01 11 00 00
88 E9 35 08 02 11 00 00 08 80 39 08 0B 11 00 00
28 80 39 08 0C 11 00 00 40 4E 8E 08 10 11 00 00
82 4E 8E 08 11 11 00 00 A8 4E 39 08 13 11 00 00
E8 5A 39 08 15 11 00 00 C8 52 39 08 14 11 00 00

Copy the table, find some free space and paste it there, add 0000FF1100 to the end. Search for pointers to the original table and repoint the first 3 you find from the start of the rom to the new table's location. Then just follow the same process to add new OW palettes as you would with JPAN's engine.
I have a last problem...

I copy/paste the table to a new offset ($B40000), and at the end I add this :

00 00 B3 08 20 11 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF 11 00 00

$B30000 is the offset where I put my new palette.

So, in my sprite, after "FFFF", I put the pallet number, "20", but in game, a black screen apears. It apears when I use a new pallet.

What's the problem ?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:22 AM.