The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #21201    
Old May 5th, 2012 (01:52 PM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Is there someone who can help me by PM? (or another mean of communication)

I think XSE ****s up my script at compile time and I dont see why. But this is not a simple question, therefore if there is some charitable soul who I can copypaste my script to give me a hint because now...

Thanks.
  #21202    
Old May 5th, 2012 (03:04 PM). Edited May 5th, 2012 by droomph.
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flame View Post
Hey, I have a serious problem, please, help me.
I've replaced Azurill, Marill and Azumarill with Vanillite, Vannilish and Vanniluxe.
Some guy evolved Vanillite in my hack, and said that it makes glitches.
And it does.
When Vanillite evolves, it's sprite isn't showed. In evolution animation, it just goes like this: *vannilish sprite* *blank* *vannilish sprite* *blank*
Ok, it evolved, cool. This problem could be ignored, but, suddenly!
I've tried looking at its summary, and game freezed. Just black screen.
I have no idea what happens in battle. It's probably a freeze too.
Probably has something to do with your sprite and the pointers and everything. Check it again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallowigi View Post
Is there someone who can help me by PM? (or another mean of communication)

I think XSE ****s up my script at compile time and I dont see why. But this is not a simple question, therefore if there is some charitable soul who I can copypaste my script to give me a hint because now...

Thanks.
Go download it again. That usually works.

If not, check every step and be ABSOLUTELY sure you're doing everything right.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #21203    
Old May 5th, 2012 (04:40 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flame View Post
Hey, I have a serious problem, please, help me.
I've replaced Azurill, Marill and Azumarill with Vanillite, Vannilish and Vanniluxe.
Some guy evolved Vanillite in my hack, and said that it makes glitches.
And it does.
When Vanillite evolves, it's sprite isn't showed. In evolution animation, it just goes like this: *vannilish sprite* *blank* *vannilish sprite* *blank*
Ok, it evolved, cool. This problem could be ignored, but, suddenly!
I've tried looking at its summary, and game freezed. Just black screen.
I have no idea what happens in battle. It's probably a freeze too.
This happened to me once too...It happens when the sprite isn't LZZ compressed. When I edited Pokemon Sprites with unlz.gba, sprites would sometimes "uncompress", or something. Ever since I switched to Wichu's sprite editor, it hasn't happened. If you download it, and go to the sprite that isn't shown up, an error message like "Data isn't compressed" will pop up.

Also, you might have some unforseen trouble with replacing Azurill. Breeding Vanillish or Vanilluxe will probably make it breed to Vanillish, instead of Vanillite, unless Vanillish is holding whatever incense. I think this is part of the DayCares coding...There's most likely a simple fix, but just a heads up.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21204    
Old May 6th, 2012 (01:00 AM).
Capitalist Ness's Avatar
Capitalist Ness
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Nature: Relaxed
Thanks, I'm now inserting the sprites of Vanillite and the others with Advanced Pokemon Sprite Editor.
You know, I asked once if there's any way to breed Marill and get Azurill without Incense. I've got no response to this day, because I want my hack to "promote" the breeding. I'm always editing the Egg Moves after modifying the Pokemon with YAPE.
  #21205    
Old May 6th, 2012 (06:35 AM).
CCCPancakes's Avatar
CCCPancakes
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 18
Gender: Male
I could use a little help.

I added a stairway into my rivals house, but now when I try warping to the rivals room, it takes me to the titlescreen.
I checked the warp numbers, map banks, all that jazz, but nothing works.
__________________
  #21206    
Old May 6th, 2012 (10:25 AM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Hi, I'm back!

I need clarification for some things in scripting here, because after looking for some scripts on the main game and after looking after diego's tutorial, there are some things that are not clear for me: the flags and variables.


I understand the concept, flags are here to prevent a script for executing more than once, to go to a certain branch etc... but outside of this there is a lot of misunderstandings.

First of all: how do you set a flag. Not the command, i know the setflag and clearflag, the question is about how do i know what number to give to him? Do I have to search for an offset first like for the #org ? Can I use a random value or a value related to the script, or sprite, or whatever?

The same goes for variables. It's a lot more hard to understand for someone who is used to program in languages when a var is something local, that you must declare before use. Here it's sort of a global variables, with some already used by the game (and I don't know which)

Thanks.
  #21207    
Old May 6th, 2012 (10:31 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallowigi View Post
Is there someone who can help me by PM? (or another mean of communication)

I think XSE ****s up my script at compile time and I dont see why. But this is not a simple question, therefore if there is some charitable soul who I can copypaste my script to give me a hint because now...

Thanks.
XSE does not "4 stars" your script
You must be doing something wrong =)

@Mallowigi: The same number as the flag/var you use must be put into the specific bar =)
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #21208    
Old May 6th, 2012 (10:37 AM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
But what is the value? something totally random? What if that value is already used somewhere else?
  #21209    
Old May 6th, 2012 (10:45 AM).
CCCPancakes's Avatar
CCCPancakes
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallowigi View Post
Hi, I'm back!

I need clarification for some things in scripting here, because after looking for some scripts on the main game and after looking after diego's tutorial, there are some things that are not clear for me: the flags and variables.


I understand the concept, flags are here to prevent a script for executing more than once, to go to a certain branch etc... but outside of this there is a lot of misunderstandings.

First of all: how do you set a flag. Not the command, i know the setflag and clearflag, the question is about how do i know what number to give to him? Do I have to search for an offset first like for the #org ? Can I use a random value or a value related to the script, or sprite, or whatever?

The same goes for variables. It's a lot more hard to understand for someone who is used to program in languages when a var is something local, that you must declare before use. Here it's sort of a global variables, with some already used by the game (and I don't know which)

Thanks.
I haven't looked too much at variables yet, but with flags you can set just about any random flag (save the "special" flags). It'd be smart to use flags that aren't already used in the ROM, but you can use any random number.
__________________
  #21210    
Old May 6th, 2012 (11:45 AM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallowigi View Post
But what is the value? something totally random? What if that value is already used somewhere else?
Flags (and variables) affect certain parts in RAM memory. By using completely random flags, you may overwrite data that you wouldn't want to.
Your best bet would be using the flags that are already in the game because you know for sure that ram area is reserved for the flags and no other data is written there.
__________________
My Rom Hack



Hacks I support





Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
  #21211    
Old May 6th, 2012 (12:22 PM). Edited May 6th, 2012 by Mallowigi.
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Ok, to sum it up, given a list of used flags, I put one of these in my script, let's say Person 1 on VIRIDIAN, who gives me the ItemSeeker on the first dialogue.

setflag 0x2C

Then, when I talk to that guy again, he doesnt offer me the item because the checkflag prevent so.

BUT, what if that flag is already used in another script not related to the map, say, PEWTER? this setflag would fudge it up isn't it?

This is why i'm confused.

Also, another question: Let's say I compile a script a hundred times. The space is used every time I compile it, therefore the memory available is decreasing little by little. Is it okay, or should I do a backup before scripting, debug, and then apply the debugged script to the backup?

Also, I got a problem with a warp:
warp 0x4 0x3 0x2 0x6 0xC
waitstate
which is supposed to make me warp to OAK's lab, but the game freeze at that point.

Sknaht

EDIT: Never mind the two last questions, for the space, just use #removeall lOffset before the script, and for the second one, just a dumb FE missing (reminds me of the first days in programming when we use to look for the ; missing XD)
  #21212    
Old May 6th, 2012 (01:27 PM).
CCCPancakes's Avatar
CCCPancakes
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallowigi View Post
Ok, to sum it up, given a list of used flags, I put one of these in my script, let's say Person 1 on VIRIDIAN, who gives me the ItemSeeker on the first dialogue.

setflag 0x2C

Then, when I talk to that guy again, he doesnt offer me the item because the checkflag prevent so.

BUT, what if that flag is already used in another script not related to the map, say, PEWTER? this setflag would fudge it up isn't it?

This is why i'm confused.
Using the same flag with 2 different scripts will "fudge up" the script. Flags are universal, they aren't restricted to one script.
__________________
  #21213    
Old May 6th, 2012 (02:23 PM).
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCCPancakes View Post
I could use a little help.

I added a stairway into my rivals house, but now when I try warping to the rivals room, it takes me to the titlescreen.
I checked the warp numbers, map banks, all that jazz, but nothing works.
Which version of AMap are you using? Old versions usually screw the warps up, 1.92 on shouldn't do that.

Also check if you have a warp on the other end.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #21214    
Old May 6th, 2012 (02:32 PM).
CCCPancakes's Avatar
CCCPancakes
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
Which version of AMap are you using? Old versions usually screw the warps up, 1.92 on shouldn't do that.

Also check if you have a warp on the other end.
I'm using 1.9.5. I just tried it with 1.9.2., still didn't work. Also, both warps are there. Oddly enough, this is the only warp that does this.
__________________
  #21215    
Old May 6th, 2012 (02:33 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallowigi View Post
Ok, to sum it up, given a list of used flags, I put one of these in my script, let's say Person 1 on VIRIDIAN, who gives me the ItemSeeker on the first dialogue.

setflag 0x2C

Then, when I talk to that guy again, he doesnt offer me the item because the checkflag prevent so.

BUT, what if that flag is already used in another script not related to the map, say, PEWTER? this setflag would fudge it up isn't it?

This is why i'm confused.

Also, another question: Let's say I compile a script a hundred times. The space is used every time I compile it, therefore the memory available is decreasing little by little. Is it okay, or should I do a backup before scripting, debug, and then apply the debugged script to the backup?

Also, I got a problem with a warp:
warp 0x4 0x3 0x2 0x6 0xC
waitstate
which is supposed to make me warp to OAK's lab, but the game freeze at that point.

Sknaht

EDIT: Never mind the two last questions, for the space, just use #removeall lOffset before the script, and for the second one, just a dumb FE missing (reminds me of the first days in programming when we use to look for the ; missing XD)
What I do is I write down all the flags I've used in a notepad file. Then, when I'm writing new scripts, I know which not to use. I use a Rom Base that already had all events removed, and it's sometimes a good idea to do that, since you have control over every flag. If you're too far into it, though, then you'll just have to check every script to look for conflicting flags, especially if you aren't editing them all.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21216    
Old May 6th, 2012 (02:34 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
How would one edit the script that's executed upon activation of special 0x108 (Kanto 'dex Diploma) in FireRed? This script plays a fanfare, but I would like to know the location if possible.
__________________
  #21217    
Old May 6th, 2012 (02:46 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCCPancakes View Post
I'm using 1.9.5. I just tried it with 1.9.2., still didn't work. Also, both warps are there. Oddly enough, this is the only warp that does this.
I bet it has something to do with events or maps in the Rivals room itself. Try putting in two completely different warps, that leads to the rivals room. If they do the same thing, it's something with the Rivals room.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
How would one edit the script that's executed upon activation of special 0x108 (Kanto 'dex Diploma) in FireRed? This script plays a fanfare, but I would like to know the location if possible.
I don't think it's a script, but probably some simple ASM. The special table starts at 0x0815FD60, and it's a list of pointers to specials. Just go down to the right pointer, and that'll give you the ASM you need.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21218    
Old May 6th, 2012 (02:56 PM).
CCCPancakes's Avatar
CCCPancakes
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
I bet it has something to do with events or maps in the Rivals room itself. Try putting in two completely different warps, that leads to the rivals room. If they do the same thing, it's something with the Rivals room.
Thank you. Apparently there was some sprite that was hidden causing the game to crash.
__________________
  #21219    
Old May 6th, 2012 (03:08 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Thanks, redriders. Does anyone know the hex number for the fanfare that plays when you receive a badge?

It can be activated in text via the code: "\c\h06Á" but I'd like to activate it through the fanfare command.
__________________
  #21220    
Old May 6th, 2012 (04:15 PM).
CCCPancakes's Avatar
CCCPancakes
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
Thanks, redriders. Does anyone know the hex number for the fanfare that plays when you receive a badge?

It can be activated in text via the code: "\c\h06Á" but I'd like to activate it through the fanfare command.
I believe its this:
fanfare 0x13E
__________________
  #21221    
Old May 6th, 2012 (04:18 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Nope, that's a separate fanfare I'm afraid D:
__________________
  #21222    
Old May 7th, 2012 (01:37 PM).
Tman109ner's Avatar
Tman109ner
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
I just downloaded and patched Fire Red to the Frozen Rom Base by Neti, Thrace, and Fangking Omega and I can't find the snow tiles for anything. Does anyone know where to find them? Or they in a random tileset I cant find. Thanks for any help.
  #21223    
Old May 7th, 2012 (01:57 PM). Edited May 7th, 2012 by FrenziedChaos.
FrenziedChaos's Avatar
FrenziedChaos
Like a hyena.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Does anybody know how to delete scripts, as in turn them into free space?

Or, does anyone know where the default scripts are located in Emerald so I can overwrite them with free space?
  #21224    
Old May 7th, 2012 (03:08 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenziedChaos View Post
Does anybody know how to delete scripts, as in turn them into free space?

Or, does anyone know where the default scripts are located in Emerald so I can overwrite them with free space?
Open up XSE, and compile a "script" (it isn't really a script, it's basically telling XSE to do something) and write either of the following:

#erase [Starting Offset] [Range] or #eraserange [Starting Offset] [Ending Offset]. Use the first if you want to erase X number of bytes, starting at an offset. Use the second if you want to erase all bytes from one offset to another.

Edit: #dynamic 0x800000 and #org aren't required. Just write #erase or #eraserange, the two parameters, and hit compile.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21225    
Old May 7th, 2012 (10:03 PM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91
A GB/C Rom Hacker since 2010
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A small country in the North
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
Thanks, redriders. Does anyone know the hex number for the fanfare that plays when you receive a badge?

It can be activated in text via the code: "\c\h06Á" but I'd like to activate it through the fanfare command.
Search for the text code in a hex editor and locate the pointer to it.
That pointer is likely a normal "message script" command and you ought to find a command for playing the fanfare close to it.

*Sometimes script commands are looked from other script commands, not always ASM
__________________
My Rom Hack



Hacks I support





Learn how to hack GB/C games:

Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
-The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.