Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21301    
Old May 14th, 2012 (02:49 PM).
pokemetalhead_96's Avatar
pokemetalhead_96 pokemetalhead_96 is offline
Enigma
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
I was fascinated by how the creators of Liquid Crystal managed to insert the physical-special split into FireRed for their hack, so I wanted to do the same thing for a hack I'm trying to make. Can someone teach me how? Thanks.
  #21302    
Old May 14th, 2012 (03:58 PM).
TheOrangePichu's Avatar
TheOrangePichu TheOrangePichu is offline
Currently working on new hack
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 49
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Can you show the sprite you tried to insert, as well?
I inserted Chaos Rush's Bulbasaur sprite. All credit goes to him.

  #21303    
Old May 14th, 2012 (04:10 PM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,683
Quote originally posted by pokemetalhead_96:
I was fascinated by how the creators of Liquid Crystal managed to insert the physical-special split into FireRed for their hack, so I wanted to do the same thing for a hack I'm trying to make. Can someone teach me how? Thanks.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=234550
__________________
#
  #21304    
Old May 14th, 2012 (08:25 PM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
Hey guys. Wondering if there is a way to remove the prof oak intro in a game? I want an intro consisting only of the player selecting the hero name (no girls allowed)

Is there a way?
  #21305    
Old May 15th, 2012 (03:14 AM).
hashtag's Avatar
hashtag hashtag is offline
the man in black
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Salisbury, England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,683
Quote originally posted by Mallowigi:
Hey guys. Wondering if there is a way to remove the prof oak intro in a game? I want an intro consisting only of the player selecting the hero name (no girls allowed)

Is there a way?
You'd have to use ASM (Assembly) to edit it out.
__________________
#
  #21306    
Old May 15th, 2012 (04:55 AM).
Mallowigi's Avatar
Mallowigi Mallowigi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
Basically what I need to do is to insert a routine that jumps to the naming screen then directly to the starting point, if I got it well

But how can I determine where these points are located in the rom?
  #21307    
Old May 15th, 2012 (06:09 AM).
Kaith's Avatar
Kaith Kaith is offline
Hacker of Fire
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North, it's cold.
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 49
What, like change the starting point of the game from the back of the truck or Red's house? Just use SMCA (Smart Map Chooser Advance).
__________________
Hackers, Hacker everywhere.

Hacks I support:
FloralSky





  #21308    
Old May 15th, 2012 (06:27 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
No, he means removing the Oak Introduction where you name the Player, Rival and choose your gender.

Like Manipulation said, ASM is required.
__________________
  #21309    
Old May 15th, 2012 (11:29 AM).
AlphayOmega AlphayOmega is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
i´m new in this and i need to know one thing
i create with Advance Map a icy cave a i named it mount gelic
and that mount gelic is in the litleroot town if name that mount differente than
the name of the town the town will be named mount gelic
please what i have to do to name just the mount?
  #21310    
Old May 15th, 2012 (01:56 PM).
TheOrangePichu's Avatar
TheOrangePichu TheOrangePichu is offline
Currently working on new hack
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 49
Sadly, I still cannot insert these sprites into the game. I thank everyone though that tried to help me. I really appreciate the effort that was put forth by everyone.
  #21311    
Old May 15th, 2012 (03:11 PM).
RealMrFaceMan's Avatar
RealMrFaceMan RealMrFaceMan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 27
I'm hacking Firered and adding in my own little secret plot (so reading the random things like Oak's email is useful) that explains things. And in order for this to work I need to make it so you can use Surf before your first badge. I'll be nerfing (aka weakening) Surf since it's a pretty strong move, but it'll make sense. Many thanks for taking time for this, and I tried finding an answer to this question but I found nothing about it.
  #21312    
Old May 15th, 2012 (05:46 PM).
sab's Avatar
sab sab is offline
Now too much of a life.
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Midgar
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 979
Quote originally posted by TheOrangePichu:
Sadly, I still cannot insert these sprites into the game. I thank everyone though that tried to help me. I really appreciate the effort that was put forth by everyone.
Most likely this is because it is none indexed. I haven't tried it myself, but if this is the case, you could use a program like irfanview to index it. If all else fails, download unlz gba, or (my personal preference) regular old NLZ-GBA. Using this jump around until you find some pokemon pictures, and go back to bulbasaur. There will be a normal front sprite, and a shiny back sprite. It should tell you the location of the pallette. open this up with advance pallette editor by hackmew, and change the colors to be what you need , remembering that the first one is transparent. Next you should just be able to export the images, copy and paste the sprite into the saved image, then import it.
__________________
anCay ouyay eakspay igpay atinlay? Ifay osay easeplay m.p.ay
emay enthay opycay anday astepay isthay inay ouryay ignaturesay.
  #21313    
Old May 15th, 2012 (07:08 PM).
TheOrangePichu's Avatar
TheOrangePichu TheOrangePichu is offline
Currently working on new hack
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 49
This is so weird...it worked for me before, why not now? Maybe there's a .dll file I need? I wish there was some kind of way to get in contact with Wichu....
  #21314    
Old May 16th, 2012 (03:41 PM).
Hideos Hideos is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Quote originally posted by RealMrFaceMan:
I'm hacking Firered and adding in my own little secret plot (so reading the random things like Oak's email is useful) that explains things. And in order for this to work I need to make it so you can use Surf before your first badge. I'll be nerfing (aka weakening) Surf since it's a pretty strong move, but it'll make sense. Many thanks for taking time for this, and I tried finding an answer to this question but I found nothing about it.
I believe there was a flag which needs to be active. Check this guide*, it has a complete list of flags which are related to a game function.

*pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=164276
__________________

  #21315    
Old May 16th, 2012 (05:35 PM).
Kiniest1's Avatar
Kiniest1 Kiniest1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
Anyone know how to resize overworld sprites? I just realized that what I'm trying to create is very difficult to condense into what I'm trying to make.
  #21316    
Old May 16th, 2012 (06:04 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by Kiniest1:
Anyone know how to resize overworld sprites? I just realized that what I'm trying to create is very difficult to condense into what I'm trying to make.
If I were you, I'd take a look at this tutorial. Even though it describes how to add OWs with JPANs hack engine, it also says how the OW data is structured, and if think about it a little, you'll be able to resize OWs easily.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21317    
Old May 16th, 2012 (06:37 PM).
Kiniest1's Avatar
Kiniest1 Kiniest1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
If I were you, I'd take a look at: (url). Even though it describes how to add OWs with JPANs hack engine, it also says how the OW data is structured, and if think about it a little, you'll be able to resize OWs easily.
Thanks, I'll look into it later.
  #21318    
Old May 16th, 2012 (07:31 PM).
vanillagfx's Avatar
vanillagfx vanillagfx is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 90
Is it possible to create a new folder on AM like.. Pallet town how you click on it, it shows that towns maps.
Can I make my own or do I have to write over the others?
__________________

Youtube Channel.
  #21319    
Old May 16th, 2012 (08:14 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by vanillagfx:
Is it possible to create a new folder on AM like.. Pallet town how you click on it, it shows that towns maps.
Can I make my own or do I have to write over the others?
If you open A-map, right at the top, there's a dropdown that most likely says "Sort by <bank>.<map>". Click it, and it gives an option to sort by name.
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21320    
Old May 16th, 2012 (09:08 PM).
vanillagfx's Avatar
vanillagfx vanillagfx is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 90
Quote originally posted by redriders180:
If you open A-map, right at the top, there's a dropdown that most likely says "Sort by <bank>.<map>". Click it, and it gives an option to sort by name.
No I meant am I able to create my own drop down list for a city? Or should I write over existing maps.
__________________

Youtube Channel.
  #21321    
Old May 16th, 2012 (09:41 PM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote originally posted by vanillagfx:
No I meant am I able to create my own drop down list for a city? Or should I write over existing maps.
I don't think I understand...I thought I just gave you a viable suggestion for showing all the Pallet Town maps?
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21322    
Old May 16th, 2012 (09:53 PM).
Darthatron's Avatar
Darthatron Darthatron is offline
巨大なトロール。
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 1,152
Quote originally posted by vanillagfx:
No I meant am I able to create my own drop down list for a city? Or should I write over existing maps.
It requires ASM to add more map names, if that's what you mean. And even then, Advance Map doesn't really have support for it.
__________________
あなた は しきしゃ です
わたし は ばか です
  #21323    
Old May 17th, 2012 (04:00 PM). Edited May 17th, 2012 by redriders180.
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 537
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Looks like it's my turn to ask the questions...

I rarely edit the Wild Pokemon found on the routes in my ROM hack, because every time I do so, it completely messes up everything. I get an error message saying "There isn't a pointer found at [offset]", with [offset] obviously being an offset. This generally happens whenever I add or remove potential wild Pokemon, i.e. adding a "water" section or removing a "water" section, but it also happens when I just change values. Is there some method to changing these that I'm not getting?

Edit: Sometimes, when I'm entering level values of Wild Pokemon, I might enter, say "15", but going to another box snaps it back to zero, so I have to fight with Advance Map just to get the right levels. Maybe Advance Map just isn't a good program for this kind of thing. Is there another program that I can use for this kind of stuff? Or is there a method I'm not doing?

Double Edit: I'm using A-map 1.95. When I was using 1.92, I never had this problem. Is that a coincidence, or should I always use 1.92 for Wild Pokemon encounters?

Triple Edit: I guess a secondary question would be to ask for a way to fix any maps that have this problem already, so I'm not harassed by these popups whenever I try to access them
__________________


Superfan of Pokemon Glazed? Click here to join the official Pokemon Glazed Facebook Page!

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...


  #21324    
Old May 17th, 2012 (10:58 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
use 1.92 when adding new pokemon slot, never remove pokemon slots, just lower the percentage rate and add more of the same pokemon in the slots.
__________________
  #21325    
Old May 18th, 2012 (02:27 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 730
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
use 1.92 when adding new pokemon slot, never remove pokemon slots, just lower the percentage rate and add more of the same pokemon in the slots.
Actually, zeroing out the encounter rate doesn't stop encounters. The game has code which checks if it is zero, and sets it to a base value if it is. So there is ALWAYS a chance of an encounter if there's Pokémon data.

Quote originally posted by redriders180:
Post
If you don't have a Water section on the map in question, it's not exactly the worst thing just to leave the data there, it simply won't get used. If you DO have a water segment and need it to have no Pokémon, it's possible to remove certain sets of data by (this sounds utterly counter intuitive, but bear with me!) hitting the expand button. It'll open up a dialogue for you to choose what types of wild data you want. Simply uncheck the relevant one, and press OK. This will safely remove the wild data from the map. (This is on A-Map 1.92 - not sure if it'd work on 1.95)

There is a still better way to do it, involving hex editing, if you're willing to do that. Do everything you did last time up to the unchecking in the list. Instead, take note of the first valid offset in the list, convert it to little endian (reverse hex) and then search for said offset in your ROM. It will lead you to the pointers for your map's wild Pokémon. Now you can zero out any unwanted sets of map data from the map without repointing the wild Pokémon pointers (which is what method 1 does).

As to changing the old ones back - Try using method 2 to find the pointers and see if you have an invalid pointer in the list.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:43 AM.