The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old January 22nd, 2012, 08:58 AM
xephos's Avatar
xephos
xephos Inc.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: U.S.A
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Thanks so much for this. I could not find any guides like this.
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old April 8th, 2012, 03:40 PM
Arkania's Avatar
Arkania
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
hey has anyone figured out a way to get this to work on windows 7? if not could i post my image here and have someone index it?
__________________
continue on with your valiant fight, fight till the last breath.
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old April 9th, 2012, 04:29 AM
AwsomeMew's Avatar
AwsomeMew
<-- WTF?! WURMPLE!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UNI
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Really nice Tutorial, But a lots of Download's
__________________
Hacks i support!
:
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old April 9th, 2012, 09:01 AM
Pandora_Destiny's Avatar
Pandora_Destiny
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lake Isle
Age: 25
Gender: Female
"Open it back up in Irfanview to check if the BG colour is the same as the first colour in the palette"

What if it doesn't change? What if its the same as it was before? What would I be doing wrong?
__________________
I love Pokemon. Deal with it!
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old April 12th, 2012, 04:22 AM
bensgraphicdesign
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
I follow the guide correctly, I corrected the pallete to come out with the messed up image, I then opened it up in paint and clicked 'Ctrl + V' to paste it, then I saved it and reopened it in Irfanview as the corrected image, but the pallete is the same as when I first opened it in Irfanview. What am I doing wrong? Help is appreciated!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old May 19th, 2012, 06:17 PM
pokemetalhead_96's Avatar
pokemetalhead_96
Enigma
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Any idea what to do if, when the compressed size is too big, the number that shows up contains a letter, like "3E4"?
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old May 19th, 2012, 08:21 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
As long as it doesn't get to "G" or further, it just means it is in hexadecimal; just deal with it normally.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old May 22nd, 2012, 10:19 AM
Jcscheper
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
I did everything you did, but when I try to open my hacked version of the game, it just stays white. I did also try with flash 128K. How can I fix this? (I did also try this with multiple VBA's and an other game)
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old May 22nd, 2012, 11:09 AM
Zilvereyes's Avatar
Zilvereyes
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Gender: Male
Send a message via Skype™ to Zilvereyes
Really nice share, thanks, especially for the unLZ & APE stuff ;-)
__________________
Zilvereyes - Newbie
Hacking: Pokémon Fire Red

[Guides]:
Adding 0x0 - 0x57 Name Header to FireRed - Incomplete (Still working on it though [10-05-2012])
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old July 6th, 2013, 05:41 PM
patar4097's Avatar
patar4097
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
I couldn't index the image correctly. I did everything right more than eight times, but not once did it work. I use Windows 7 by the way. What could I be doing wrong? It could be because of the step where you paste the original image into paint. Are you supposed to save it after you paste it?
__________________
All hail Goomy!!
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old July 17th, 2013, 06:35 AM
patar4097's Avatar
patar4097
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
I think I might have figured out part of it. The background color isn't the fourth option for editing the pallet. So am I supposed to just edit the fourth color option anyways, or do I have to do something to get that to happen?

EDIT: Well, that's not it. Not even what shows in the tutorial.

EDIT #2: I got it working! I didn't notice I needed the old version of paint. But still one more question: if I were to start playing, and then in the middle, I edited a sprite, would it still show the new sprite even on my old game data that existed first?

But I also got a problem with the next step. When writing the new picture to the rom, it came up as 0x2c4 for the compressed size. What's going on?
__________________
All hail Goomy!!

Last edited by patar4097; July 17th, 2013 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old August 11th, 2013, 10:21 AM
EdensElite's Avatar
EdensElite
No0b, but getting there.
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Yeah Windows 7 Paint doesn't work aha . Nooope it wouldn't show because the sprite is stored in the RAM I think? It might change/freeze if you refresh the screen though but I'm not very sure. 0x2C4 seems like a legitimate hexadecimal number to me? Just use that normally.
__________________

ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old August 21st, 2013, 04:57 AM
freddy f1shf1nger's Avatar
freddy f1shf1nger
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Melbourne Australia
Gender: Male
I have found that the easiest way to edit trainers of no particular importance is to leave them there and just edit their teams using VsTrainer. For important trainers or trainers that revert to the game that is being hacked over unfortunately you can't do this though.
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old September 12th, 2013, 08:57 PM
steveoabm
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
i will post something if it worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old November 30th, 2013, 07:19 AM
patar4097's Avatar
patar4097
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
Yeah Windows 7 Paint doesn't work aha :). Nooope it wouldn't show because the sprite is stored in the RAM I think? It might change/freeze if you refresh the screen though but I'm not very sure. 0x2C4 seems like a legitimate hexadecimal number to me? Just use that normally.
This is what I was talking about. Here's what I get for this picture. There is no way I can put that into the FSF, so is it something to do with the picture I put in?
__________________
All hail Goomy!!
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old June 25th, 2014, 01:44 PM
64smashmaster3ds's Avatar
64smashmaster3ds
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Do anyone know the offset for FR HP bar and box for in battle in APE? Also how to make the hp bar in battle the same size like the one in emerald.
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old June 25th, 2014, 07:31 PM
Uikri's Avatar
Uikri
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Holy crap, you are a life saver. I could not figure out what I was doing wrong for the life of me, but your tutorial solved everything for me! Thank you so much! Can I ask where the in-game sprites are for the main character?
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old August 23rd, 2014, 11:08 AM
DNAEmperorX
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
I followed every step but my sprite has a black square behind her
Attached Images
File Type: png black square.PNG‎ (9.1 KB, 3 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old November 13th, 2014, 10:11 AM
Ayonn-'s Avatar
Ayonn-
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FRANCE
Gender: Male
Hi ! How can I change the sprites in Oak's Intro in Fire Red please??
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old November 13th, 2014, 10:55 AM
anonyboy's Avatar
anonyboy
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Israel
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayonn- View Post
Hi ! How can I change the sprites in Oak's Intro in Fire Red please??
Well There is a Tutorial Buried around PC, and this thread is for EM, Not FR.
__________________



Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.