Community

The PokéCommunity

We are still working on a better slogan!

Visit Index



Advertise here

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #21776    
Old June 26th, 2012, 09:10 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
I believe the program you refer to is called Sphere. It's mainly used for making RPGs, but it has an option to import an image, compress it, and make a tilemap of it, if necessary.
Thanks for the name but after extensive searching, I couldn't find it anywhere. Could you link me to it, or show me in the right direction?
Coming soon...
  #21777    
Old June 27th, 2012, 08:31 AM
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
The "Champion" Trainer Class in FRLG is hardwired to substitute whatever the rivals name is as the name of the trainer. The easiest thing to do is make a duplicate Trainer Class called "Champion" and use it instead, or use a trainer class besides Champion.

Now I know it, thanks. But I need the Champion VS screen, how to do it?

Second problem, I use A-Trainer, when I edit the "Elite Four" Trainer Class to "Rival", then I test at VBA battle with the "Rival", the VS screen doesn't
appear, how to make to VS screen appear in game?
  #21778    
Old June 27th, 2012, 08:59 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by LugiaMZ View Post
Now I know it, thanks. But I need the Champion VS screen, how to do it?

Second problem, I use A-Trainer, when I edit the "Elite Four" Trainer Class to "Rival", then I test at VBA battle with the "Rival", the VS screen doesn't
appear, how to make to VS screen appear in game?
I don't know about the Champion Vs. screen, but the elite four vs screens are controlled under the "header" tab. Changing the "Fight Type" to one of the four Elite Four settings will make the battle have a Vs Screen, I believe. But I think it only works in certain circumstances, i.e the battler you're currently battling with is an Elite Four member, with an Elite Four sprite, and possibly only one of the original "Elite Four" trainer numbers. I have some ASM in my game, however, that lets you call the Vs Screen animation at will in any trainer battle, although I don't have the ASM on hand, and I can't find the tutorial either...I think it was either erased, or put somewhere else, or I just missed it in my pass through of the tutorial section.

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #21779    
Old June 27th, 2012, 09:03 AM
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
How do you search by offset in XSE? I'm trying to find the Oak intro speech to see if it's possible to change the female Nidoran to something else, using Advance Text I found the offset for the start of the script at 1C5C78. I took that, put it into the offset box in XSE and hit decompile. What shows up is text that says "update coins" and some hex numbers.
  #21780    
Old June 27th, 2012, 09:21 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Conley View Post
How do you search by offset in XSE? I'm trying to find the Oak intro speech to see if it's possible to change the female Nidoran to something else, using Advance Text I found the offset for the start of the script at 1C5C78. I took that, put it into the offset box in XSE and hit decompile. What shows up is text that says "update coins" and some hex numbers.
It shows up like that because, when you put in the offset and hit decompile, it assumes it's a script, and uses the hex values for scripting instead of letters. For instance, if you made a script, put in "msgbox 0x1C5C78 MSG_FACE", and compiled and then decompiled that same script, it'd show up as it should, because XSE would assume it was letters. That being said, I don't think XSE can search for hex values, just decompile scripts. Try using a hex editor to search for the hex values "78 5C 1C 08" and you'll find the part of the overall script that calls the message at 0x1C5C78.

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #21781    
Old June 27th, 2012, 10:03 AM
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Did that got the offset there got this in XSE:
#org 0x12F8F0
braille 0x18081C5C
comparebanktofarbyte 0x2 0x3B10802
end

The weird thing is that in XSE's own hex viewer if I go to the offset from my previous post it shows the proper text in the side bar of it.
Attached Images
File Type: png example.PNG‎ (35.5 KB, 11 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #21782    
Old June 27th, 2012, 11:38 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Conley View Post
Did that got the offset there got this in XSE:
#org 0x12F8F0
braille 0x18081C5C
comparebanktofarbyte 0x2 0x3B10802
end

The weird thing is that in XSE's own hex viewer if I go to the offset from my previous post it shows the proper text in the side bar of it.
In the hex viewer, it shows the letter equivalent of every byte, so it'll show messages that exist in the ROM. But like I said in an earlier post, if you just put in the offset of the text, XSE will assume it's script commands, so you'll get weird script commands instead of the text. The best way to edit it, like I said in my earlier post, is to create a script that uses "msgbox 0x1C5C78 MSG_FACE", compile that script, decompile it, and it'll give you the proper characters, like so:

Spoiler:


You can then edit it as you see fit, although you can't make the text longer this way. You need to repoint things if you want to make it longer, and that requires a hex editor

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #21783    
Old June 27th, 2012, 12:15 PM
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Oh ok, thank you. I didn't quite get what you were saying in your other post and this one really helps! Well there doesn't seem to be a way to change the Nidoran through text, anyone know if there is a way to do this at all? After all that I realized there was a tool for what I was trying to do. At least I learned something new about XSE though.

Last edited by Robert Conley; June 27th, 2012 at 01:14 PM.
  #21784    
Old June 27th, 2012, 02:18 PM
xA1Mx
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daikoru View Post
Hello folks.

I feel like starting a ROM Hack, major project. However, I have never done a ROM Hack before. All of the knowledge I have from creating games are from RPG Maker (Did pretty much everything, except Scripting).

So I went and looked around to get informations and grab programs (thought all the ones I wanted were included in PGE). However, I still have some things I want to know:

-I wish to create Fakemons, with my own spriting skills. PGE has all kind of stuff for editting a Pokemon except one thing: Sprites. What program for Sprite editing would you you suggest for a beginner?
Wichu's Advanced Series:
I can't post links yet, but it's in the Toolbox.

Great tools, super easy to use!

Quote:
-I've seen Physical/Special split is possible to edit in the Attack Editor of PGE. However, I've also heard it requires an ASM to make it work. I have no idea what that is, mind helping me find/install that ASM?
Unfortunately, this is the only complete version I can find. You need to create an account to view the post:

s7.zetaboards.com/Nuzlocke_Forum/topic/8679031/1/#new

It's just an IPS file that you can apply to your ROM, the same way you would apply any hack. If you've already begun work on your hack, I don't think applying the patch will mess anything up, but obviously create a backup just in case.

And to change whether an attack is physical or special, the option in PGE's attack editor should now work.

Quote:
-I'd like to create moves with particular effects. I know I can only use existing effects. However, can I make an effect that normally does no damage actually do damage in addition to the effect? (such as Protect and Transform).
I'm pretty sure that you can just select the effect from the drop-down menu in PGE's attack editor, and then give your attack a base power.

Although with Transform specifically I don't know how this would work. Would the damage be calculated before or after the transform effect?



Bear in mind that I don't have much more experience than you, so make backups in case my advice ruins your ROM.

And I'm not experienced enough to answer your other questions.
  #21785    
Old June 27th, 2012, 03:11 PM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daikoru View Post
Hello folks.

I feel like starting a ROM Hack, major project. However, I have never done a ROM Hack before. All of the knowledge I have from creating games are from RPG Maker (Did pretty much everything, except Scripting).

So I went and looked around to get informations and grab programs (thought all the ones I wanted were included in PGE). However, I still have some things I want to know:

-I wish to create Fakemons, with my own spriting skills. PGE has all kind of stuff for editting a Pokemon except one thing: Sprites. What program for Sprite editing would you you suggest for a beginner?

-I've seen Physical/Special split is possible to edit in the Attack Editor of PGE. However, I've also heard it requires an ASM to make it work. I have no idea what that is, mind helping me find/install that ASM?

-I'd like to create moves with particular effects. I know I can only use existing effects. However, can I make an effect that normally does no damage actually do damage in addition to the effect? (such as Protect and Transform).

-I wish to create a whole new continent. However, I have no idea how I should start it out, if I should delete maps to make space or not. What do you suggest me?

-Anything a beginner should know before throwing himself into a big project?


Thank in advance for the answers.
I don't mean to undermine the post above mine, but I didn't notice this post when it was first made, and I just want to clarify a few things.

Like the person above me, the easiest program to use for sprites is Wichu's Sprite Editor. It's probably on the first page of the "Tools" page here on Pokecommunity.

There's a link to a completed project here which provides IPS patches for the Physical/Special Split itself, as well as a second patch which has everything already done. It should be safe to patch onto existing hacks, as long as you didn't move the move data anywhere.

Some effects, like the ones you listed, won't work if you simply put in a base power. Moves that do something like Protect or Transform have effects that generally solely work on the person who is doing the attacking. You can make your own effects by extending the effect table and doing some ASM, but it's a little cumbersome and difficult. You can try doing what the poster above me says, but I think it'll end up being more difficult than that.

It's generally a silly idea to delete maps, and then make more maps. I realize that some people like to start off with a clean slate, but it's easier to just resize existing maps and add new maps instead of completely restarting.

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #21786    
Old June 27th, 2012, 03:49 PM
ADLFM14's Avatar
ADLFM14
Legendary Spriter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: EGYPT
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
hello i wanted to ask how to edit any items image in Pokemon ruby because i couldn't change it in Item image editor and i didn't find it in unlz and i need to change it please so if any one would help i would be very happy :D
My Tutorials:
Hacking Ruby Title Screen Completely Step By Step
How To Insert An OW Sprite In NSE Classic Step By Step.
Hacks I'm Currently Making


Join My Hacking Team(D.A.T.S)




My deviantART


  #21787    
Old June 27th, 2012, 04:40 PM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADLFM14 View Post
hello i wanted to ask how to edit any items image in Pokemon ruby because i couldn't change it in Item image editor and i didn't find it in unlz and i need to change it please so if any one would help i would be very happy :D
You probably couldn't find them in UNLZ.gba because Ruby and Sapphire don't have item images The only ones that have images are the berries, which are located around number 1511 in UNLZ.gba.

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #21788    
Old June 28th, 2012, 06:17 AM
Rights's Avatar
Rights
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
If it's not too much trouble I have two questions. The first is regarding tilesets in AdvanceMap, every time I try to switch between two it resets my tiles to the set I've changed to, is there any way to stop this or just be able to use more then one set? Secondly how do you set up encounters in a hack like when you first encounter entei as his sprite and he runs off etc. Again sorry if these are rather loaded questions. Thanks a bunch.
  #21789    
Old June 28th, 2012, 09:03 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rights View Post
If it's not too much trouble I have two questions. The first is regarding tilesets in AdvanceMap, every time I try to switch between two it resets my tiles to the set I've changed to, is there any way to stop this or just be able to use more then one set? Secondly how do you set up encounters in a hack like when you first encounter entei as his sprite and he runs off etc. Again sorry if these are rather loaded questions. Thanks a bunch.
If I understand your first question correctly, you can only use two tilesets at any given time...in the case of outdoor maps, the nature set and the secondary set. So if you want towns with tiles from Celadon City, Cinnabar Island, and Fuschia City at the same time, you need to modify one of the existing tilesets with tiles from those three places.

Roaming Pokemon are generally the results of the "special" command, and you can't really call one at will (that runs away, at least) without ASM. Setting variable 0x4031 to either 0x0, 0x1, or 0x2 and calling special 0x129 will make the roamer either Entei, Raikou, or Suicune, respectively. There's no way to make more then one roam at any given time, without ASM.

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...




Last edited by redriders180; June 28th, 2012 at 09:18 AM.
  #21790    
Old June 28th, 2012, 09:29 AM
diskjock89
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
I'm adding an ice cave to a route using advancemap and inserted added two warp location with correct tiles to allow the warps to work one is to the route i placed it in and the other is to a spot in little root town so i can just change that warp to test my new maps. I enter the warp it changes to a blacked out room with my character stuck on a random bush and cant go any where. i've tried changing the cave option but that doesn't work same thing happens. I'm getting frustrated and would love some help on this problem
  #21791    
Old June 28th, 2012, 11:54 AM
Valentin
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
hey does anyone know how to expand or add more to the OW in Nameless sprite editor[NSE] pokemon firered ?

Pokemon fr only has 151
  #21792    
Old June 28th, 2012, 11:41 PM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valentin View Post
hey does anyone know how to expand or add more to the OW in Nameless sprite editor[NSE] pokemon firered ?

Pokemon fr only has 151
You can use JPAN's patch or you need to expand them manually by using hex editor.
There's a tutorial how to do it in Tutorials section.
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #21793    
Old June 29th, 2012, 05:46 AM
Gerokunz
7
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: =/
Age: 15
I have a question, how do you change Prof. Birch's Sprite at the intro?
I have no ideas about it.

Sorry for my bad English.
=/
  #21794    
Old June 29th, 2012, 09:36 AM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Hello, I have a question.

How can I change the music that will be playing in a Pokèmon battle? I'm using the trainer editor PET. There is a "music change" section in PET, but I don't think it is accurate. I went through a lot of different trainers and all of their music was 0. Help please?

Thanks again guys
  #21795    
Old June 29th, 2012, 10:32 AM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
Hello, I have a question.

How can I change the music that will be playing in a Pokèmon battle? I'm using the trainer editor PET. There is a "music change" section in PET, but I don't think it is accurate. I went through a lot of different trainers and all of their music was 0. Help please?

Thanks again guys
This question has been asked alot recently...the only way to change it is with ASM, or Jambo51 is making a routine that'll read it from a table, allowing for custom music in-battle depending on stuff like Trainer Class.

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #21796    
Old June 29th, 2012, 10:44 AM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
This question has been asked alot recently...the only way to change it is with ASM, or Jambo51 is making a routine that'll read it from a table, allowing for custom music in-battle depending on stuff like Trainer Class.
Okay, sorry about the question being asked again... Couldn't find it being asked beforehand. Thanks.
  #21797    
Old June 29th, 2012, 11:59 AM
Tannecho51's Avatar
Tannecho51
Pokemon Lion's Eye
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Illinois
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
This is a question for Ruby Version. How do you edit the beginning scripts? Not the text, but the actual script. I can't find the offsets anywhere.
Sorry if this question was already answered, I couldn't find it anywhere in the thread.

Last edited by Tannecho51; June 29th, 2012 at 12:59 PM. Reason: answered a question on my own
  #21798    
Old June 29th, 2012, 04:13 PM
Daikoru's Avatar
Daikoru
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thanks for the answers. I have a few more questions thought:

-I wish to create a Rival that changes gender depending on which gender we chose at the beginning, much like R/S/E. Is it easily doable in FireRed, or would I better off doing it on R/S/E?

-I'd like to have multiple kind of battle musics. However, I'm not sure how it works, and if it's possible to have more battle musics than on the original (like 3 Trainer themes while still keeping the other themes). Is it possible to do that?

-Can I apply an IPS patch (from, let's say, a hack that has all the moves from 4rd/5th gen and physical/special split) to a rom, make a Hack out of it, and create an IPS patch that will work on the original?

Thanks in advance for the answers again.
  #21799    
Old June 29th, 2012, 06:34 PM
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via AIM to redriders180 Send a message via Skype™ to redriders180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daikoru View Post
Thanks for the answers. I have a few more questions thought:

-I wish to create a Rival that changes gender depending on which gender we chose at the beginning, much like R/S/E. Is it easily doable in FireRed, or would I better off doing it on R/S/E?

-I'd like to have multiple kind of battle musics. However, I'm not sure how it works, and if it's possible to have more battle musics than on the original (like 3 Trainer themes while still keeping the other themes). Is it possible to do that?

-Can I apply an IPS patch (from, let's say, a hack that has all the moves from 4rd/5th gen and physical/special split) to a rom, make a Hack out of it, and create an IPS patch that will work on the original?

Thanks in advance for the answers again.
1. Yes, this is easily doable, since the commands are the same for both versions. A typical script would check the players gender, then which starter you chose, and branch into six potential battle scenarios:
Spoiler:

Boy, Fire Starter
Boy, Water Starter
Boy, Grass Starter
Girl, Fire Starter
Girl, Water Starter
Girl, Grass Starter


So, for each encounter with the Rival, you need to have six potential battles programmed. As for changing OWs, RSE have a few OWs that dynamically change, but you can just have two different OWs, and hide the one that's the same gender as yours, and show the one that's of the opposite gender.

2. Like I mentioned above, Firered doesn't naturally have a battle music "table", it checks with ASM. Only way to fix is with ASM, or Jambo51 is apparently making a routine that lets you use a table (which I hope he's making because I still want it!)

3. Yes. When making the patch in question, you just select a clean ROM as the base, then select your hack, and IPS will make the patch fine. In short, patches of patches can be consolidated into one patch.

Thank you for hatching the eggs!
Please view these dragons! Just click them and you're done!
If you don't help them grow up, they'll die...



  #21800    
Old June 29th, 2012, 06:44 PM
Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
Darkrai Lv.1000
Has a tendency to figure things out
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aboard the Arc-Gurren
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to Darkrai Lv.1000
I want to know one more thing before I start on my project.

Is it currently possible to change the credits in FireRed? Text? Music?
I went through unLZ and found Red's credits sprite, but that's all I found.

EDIT: another thing: Can I remove the "this is your rival, name him" section in the intro?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:22 AM.

About Us
© 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com. Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.

Copyright
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com. PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator. Header artwork by Jordanice of deviantART.

Social Media
If you would like to stay up-to-date with us on the go, when we're down, or other such things, follow us on social media sites--most notibly Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus--by clicking on the links provided.

Design presented by Peitharchia. Special thanks to Hiroshi Sotomura and Ausaudriel.