Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Completely Hacking the Fire Red Title Screen by DawnRyder

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #226    
Old June 12th, 2012 (08:32 AM).
JakeJab1's Avatar
JakeJab1 JakeJab1 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
how do you change the bit depth, please help, i dont know how to change it.
__________________
<a href="http://www.eonlightvalley.com/pquiz.php" target="_blank"><img src="http://www.eonlightvalley.com/images/random/pquiz/pqcelebi.jpg" border="0" alt="What Pokemon Are You?"></a>
Reply With Quote
  #227    
Old June 12th, 2012 (06:28 PM).
ADLFM14's Avatar
ADLFM14 ADLFM14 is offline
Legendary Spriter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: EGYPT
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 42
Nice tut and i found a solution for the problem at the bottom left want to know how just PM me
__________________
My Tutorials:
Hacking Ruby Title Screen Completely Step By Step
How To Insert An OW Sprite In NSE Classic Step By Step.
Hacks I'm Currently Making


Join My Hacking Team(D.A.T.S)




My deviantART


Reply With Quote
  #228    
Old June 14th, 2012 (05:06 PM).
Robert Conley's Avatar
Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
Gender: Male
Nature: Docile
Posts: 330
Quote originally posted by ADLFM14:
Nice tut and i found a solution for the problem at the bottom left want to know how just PM me
Wouldn't it be easier just to post it rather than having a bunch of people message you?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #229    
Old June 14th, 2012 (11:42 PM).
thefearless thefearless is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
how do u cover the picture in d's
Reply With Quote
  #230    
Old June 21st, 2012 (02:04 PM).
JakeJoker545 JakeJoker545 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
I messed up the 2012 thing now the image on the game wont come up can i fix this or do i have to start the whole rom over?
Reply With Quote
  #231    
Old June 21st, 2012 (05:24 PM).
thanethane98's Avatar
thanethane98 thanethane98 is offline
Self Proclaimed Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 83
Quote originally posted by thefearless:
how do u cover the picture in d's
At the bottom of NTME, there should be two tabs - TileMap and PaletteMap. You have to switch it to PaletteMap. There should also be a list of characters with a bunch of different colors next to PaletteMap. Switch that from 0 to D, and begin to click on the sprite (which should be covered in 0's when you start, and D's when you finish).

Quote originally posted by JakeJoker545:
I messed up the 2012 thing now the image on the game wont come up can i fix this or do i have to start the whole rom over?
I might be able to help you - can you go into a bit more detail?
Reply With Quote
  #232    
Old July 6th, 2012 (05:29 AM).
ChaosBringer41 ChaosBringer41 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 35
Great tutorial, especially the changing Charizard part.

One question - does the replacement sprite have to be 64 x 64? I want Professor Oak on the title screen of my hack! (The old guy don't get seen much, otherwise)
Reply With Quote
  #233    
Old July 6th, 2012 (11:16 AM).
Beebeeson's Avatar
Beebeeson Beebeeson is offline
A wild Beebeeson appeared!
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 13
I've been trying this but every time I complete the steps, I end up with a weirdly patterned background that isn't the picture I used for the bg. I indexed the image to 16 colours but it doesn't appear, no matter what I do. How did you get the photo behind the arcanine in the first post?
Reply With Quote
  #234    
Old July 8th, 2012 (12:34 PM).
spider095 spider095 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 8
Is there a way to totally revamp the graphics of FR? So that it's not just a bunch of pixels, but to were it looks more like diamond, pearl and platinum? If so, can someone tell me how? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #235    
Old July 11th, 2012 (09:19 PM).
HaydenSane HaydenSane is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
I'd like to change the color of the title (Pokemon and the name of the version) in FR. unLZ-GBA says that it's at 00E84F20 but when I open up APE and load the rom, then enter that number, I get a palette with lots of reds and blacks, but none of the blues or yellows of the title. Am I doing something wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #236    
Old July 11th, 2012 (09:24 PM). Edited July 11th, 2012 by KhaosKnight.
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by HaydenSane:
I'd like to change the color of the title (Pokemon and the name of the version) in FR. unLZ-GBA says that it's at 00E84F20 but when I open up APE and load the rom, then enter that number, I get a palette with lots of reds and blacks, but none of the blues or yellows of the title. Am I doing something wrong?
The colors of the Pokemon title are in 256 colors, so loading in APE is only gonna show 16 colors.

Also, unLZ only show compressed palettes, so generally the palette loaded with unLZ isnt gonna be correct. Here is what I found with a quick search. EAB6C4 and EAB6E4 shows part of the yellows and blues but I don't think that is all of them. So you can start your search around there.
__________________





Reply With Quote
  #237    
Old July 18th, 2012 (08:55 AM).
RivalOfYourFace RivalOfYourFace is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
This doesn't work. I used a Latios, too!
Reply With Quote
  #238    
Old July 20th, 2012 (08:39 PM). Edited July 28th, 2012 by Dylanrockin.
Dylanrockin's Avatar
Dylanrockin Dylanrockin is offline
Horizon Seeker - Symphonic Horizon Lead Dev.
 
Join Date: May 2011
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 257
For some odd reason it wont work for me, can someone please explain to me. I went through all of the steps, and I tried it on a clean rom, the background I used was: This, I cut out the stars part of the picture http://spriters-resource.com/ds/pkmnbnw2/sheet/48188. If there's any kind of specific resolution I need to meet or something that would be greatly appreciated.

Oh and one last thing it does not tell me Ptr found at 00078AB0 or something like that, rather it just does nothing and nothing happens. This was with Pokemon Fire Red. I tried out a different image, still didn't work.

I also tried importing this picture: http://www.google.com/imgres?start=201&um=1&hl=en&rlz=1C1CHKZ_en&biw=1280&bih=631&tbm=isch&tbnid=M3hYxrXGQL-fxM:&imgrefurl=http://twitterdex.net/Cute_eevee&docid=FX86x4vHp1ICLM&imgurl=http://twitterdex.net/images/thumb/2/2b/133_Eevee_by_Skitteeh.jpg/250px-133_Eevee_by_Skitteeh.jpg&w=250&h=213&ei=TtMLUMjgH4rJ0QGy5onyAw&zoom=1&iact=rc&dur=263&sig=101232359596842498237&page=9&tbnh=138&tbnw=162&ndsp=25&ved=1t:429,r:8,s:201,i:108&tx=60&ty=80

But that picture did not come out so well, infact it was glitchy, well very glitchy. The background fire animation was playing out in it's eyes which is weird. And the title screen went completely blue at the sides. The resolution I used (not sure if it matters) is 160x152 smaller or bigger I have no clue.
Reply With Quote
  #239    
Old August 25th, 2012 (10:58 PM).
davel777's Avatar
davel777 davel777 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 23
Please can anyone help me? I did everything what is said in the part 1 tut but when I opened my GBA it turned this..
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Your Signature is too large. You\'ll need to shrink it down.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #240    
Old August 27th, 2012 (11:09 PM). Edited August 28th, 2012 by littlebrother.
littlebrother's Avatar
littlebrother littlebrother is offline
<- my spirit animal
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The future
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 224
As long as you put in the right hex codes for the palette, this will work.

I did this with Leaf Green and had to find the right offset for that darn Venusaur palette. If anyone asks, it's 00EAD768 !



Haven't done the background part yet, will do that later.
__________________
Everyone knows that the internet is managed by millions of tiny gnomes and
goblins working in sweatshops in Africa and Eastern Europe. Do you really
want to encourage that by staying on here all day?



Stay up all night to
(ง ͠ ͠° ل͜ °)ง NEVER UNDERESTIMATE THE POWER OF THE PONG (ง ͠ ͠° ل͜ °)ง
instead!
Reply With Quote
  #241    
Old September 14th, 2012 (05:55 PM).
Hasan's Avatar
Hasan Hasan is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
Ape doesnt load any palletes highest it loads is 000004E0
__________________
Need help on rom hacking i need some1 who can do half the scripts and half the maps and half the OW others done by me

Reply With Quote
  #242    
Old September 23rd, 2012 (05:40 PM). Edited September 24th, 2012 by Circaoffire.
Circaoffire's Avatar
Circaoffire Circaoffire is offline
Clueless Scripter :/
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 48
When I attempt to do the background, I get those corrupt tiles in the bottom left. I can't find an answer and I have been troubleshooting to no avail. I saw someone say they knew how, but not post it. I want to try this since he claims it will fix it, but the part that he says will really fix it; I don't understand. I'm using this picture http://i1102.photobucket.com/albums/g446/circaoffire/dreamwithgreen.png
Reply With Quote
  #243    
Old October 5th, 2012 (07:18 AM).
Elements1's Avatar
Elements1 Elements1 is offline
Meh
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nevada
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 275
Hey Guys I have one problem I can't right click the image in ifranview. All it gives me is a hand with a watch on it!! Plz help!!
Thanks
__________________
Air, fire

water, earth!


Completed National Pokedex: 2/20/14 Dusknoir Finial Entry
3DS FC:1263-7361-4137
Reply With Quote
  #244    
Old October 7th, 2012 (09:52 PM).
Gerokunz Gerokunz is offline
7
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: =/
Age: 16
Posts: 286
This tutorial is helped me a lot!
Now I can hack Title Screen now, thank you for a great tutorial!
__________________
=/
Reply With Quote
  #245    
Old November 4th, 2012 (12:58 PM).
thethiny thethiny is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Please the pallet offset to use in APE for 2010 (TileMap of Pokemon Screen) and Tile map of Press Start
Reply With Quote
  #246    
Old December 8th, 2012 (07:38 PM).
BroskiRage's Avatar
BroskiRage BroskiRage is offline
Current Gym Leader in my Hacks
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: where i want to live
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 99
hey when i try to load pallete on APE it says invalid pallete PLEASE HELP me pwease?
__________________




He... is Wilson the Human God of Lightning!
Reply With Quote
  #247    
Old April 5th, 2013 (07:13 AM).
theRiolvile's Avatar
theRiolvile theRiolvile is offline
Thelucaman
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 12
Can please help I don't understand for what ofset to search in FSF
Reply With Quote
  #248    
Old April 28th, 2013 (09:21 AM).
Shadow67's Avatar
Shadow67 Shadow67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Gender: Female
Posts: 3
my NTME wont work with the sprites. whenever i follow the instructions, it doesn't do anything. What do i do???
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #249    
Old May 18th, 2013 (03:44 PM).
Uzumaki Naruto Jr.'s Avatar
Uzumaki Naruto Jr. Uzumaki Naruto Jr. is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 木ノ葉隠れの里
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 38
Wonderful tutorial. Everything worked flawlessly on the first try. Thanks for your help. Now my title screen looks epic. =D Thanks again.
__________________
- Uzumaki Naruto Jr. -
"I won't run away anymore... I won't go back on my word... that is my shinobi way!"
Reply With Quote
  #250    
Old May 28th, 2013 (04:26 AM). Edited May 28th, 2013 by rhettz_emboar.
rhettz_emboar's Avatar
rhettz_emboar rhettz_emboar is offline
Did you just pee??
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
Nice tut!
it worked for my first try!

BTW when will be the 3rd Part?
===.====

Quote originally posted by BroskiRage:
hey when i try to load pallete on APE it says invalid pallete PLEASE HELP me pwease?
Use NSE for your ease.
It is very easy and time saving to use
Just click view=>start page=>navigate then look in un-Lz for the image and pallete offsets then click open, then press Ctrl+I,then load your image(must be index). On the dropbox button on the bottom right corner, choose image plus pallete.
Last thing is you need to save your pallete changes to your rom. press Ctlr+P then click "save pallete changes to rom"

And your DONE!!!!
__________________


I hate people like you..
[/SIZE]
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:54 PM.