The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #22976    
Old October 16th, 2012, 04:00 PM
TheOrangePichu's Avatar
TheOrangePichu
Currently working on new hack
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
I think I worded it wrong and I really need an answer. Is there a way to change the Y coordinate where you start out in Pokemon Fire Red? It is always at 06 and I wish to make it something else (SMCA does not edit the Y coordinate by the way.
__________________
Credit to UmbraDragonX on deviantart for the icon!

  #22977    
Old October 16th, 2012, 04:41 PM
FirEmerald's Avatar
FirEmerald
Pokemon reverse engineer
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Ok, I know this is probably not a response to any question, but I have an as-far-as-I-know complete LZ77 compressed data offset list that I made that could help some people looking for answers. would it be O.K. if I posted it here?
  #22978    
Old October 16th, 2012, 04:56 PM
sab's Avatar
sab
Now too much of a life.
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Midgar
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote:
Originally Posted by FirEmerald View Post
Ok, I know this is probably not a response to any question, but I have an as-far-as-I-know complete LZ77 compressed data offset list that I made that could help some people looking for answers. would it be O.K. if I posted it here?
First, which game is it for, and what is the language? Second, I think it would probably be best suited to this thread here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=196265
__________________
anCay ouyay eakspay igpay atinlay? Ifay osay easeplay m.p.ay
emay enthay opycay anday astepay isthay inay ouryay ignaturesay.
  #22979    
Old October 17th, 2012, 07:11 AM
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Hi everyone, I having two question to ask hope have everyone can answer me.

First question, I want to make a script for example player battle with a Mew, after battle and check player have catched Mew or not, if uncatched going to rebattle or etc. How to scripting it? Can everyone give me an example script and explain for me? I played Pokemon Ash Gray battle with Bulbasaur's it used this script, and I need it too. ><

Another question, how to make a uncatchable Pokemon?

Thanks.
  #22980    
Old October 17th, 2012, 07:12 AM
poisonhearts628
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Yeah, I checked out everything in the OW editor and everything checked out so I went back to a previous version and everything works the way it is supposed to now with one exception. My character's sprite is spot on color wise in NSE but when I load up my game the character is really bright. How do I fix this?
  #22981    
Old October 17th, 2012, 04:00 PM
FirEmerald's Avatar
FirEmerald
Pokemon reverse engineer
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Age: 17
Gender: Male
I already had it on that thread, yes it's for emerald, and I was just asking because some people might not look there or in other places before here.
  #22982    
Old October 17th, 2012, 04:31 PM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by FirEmerald View Post
I already had it on that thread, yes it's for emerald, and I was just asking because some people might not look there or in other places before here.
Na, there's really no point. If it's already on the Pokecommunity somewhere then there's no reason to post it again.
  #22983    
Old October 17th, 2012, 05:49 PM
PunsAreFun
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
For example, lets say I have a cave in Pewter City that warps to the Rock Tunnel map. Now if I look at the Pokedex area map it'll tell me they're in Rock Tunnel when really you get there from Pewter (obviously). So I guess what I'm asking is, is there a way for me to tell the Pokedex where a Pokemon is without it really being there? And vise versa?
  #22984    
Old October 18th, 2012, 01:43 AM
borisjo's Avatar
borisjo
Scripter (XSE, pokescript)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Gender: Male
I have a question about levelscripts. I've been searching but I can't seem to find an answer , my question is: do levelscripts work if you get back to the map after a wild pokemon battle? Some sort of a safari type, when you catch a pokemon, the script detects it with special2 command and you get warped out of there. Can levelscripts work after a battle and if they can, how do I make it to work? Thanks in advance!
  #22985    
Old October 18th, 2012, 03:46 AM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by PunsAreFun View Post
For example, lets say I have a cave in Pewter City that warps to the Rock Tunnel map. Now if I look at the Pokedex area map it'll tell me they're in Rock Tunnel when really you get there from Pewter (obviously). So I guess what I'm asking is, is there a way for me to tell the Pokedex where a Pokemon is without it really being there? And vise versa?
There isn't yet, but I'm working on this very thing for roaming legendaries. If I work it out, I'll post something in R&D, so keep an eye on R&D.

Quote:
Originally Posted by borisjo View Post
I have a question about levelscripts. I've been searching but I can't seem to find an answer , my question is: do levelscripts work if you get back to the map after a wild pokemon battle? Some sort of a safari type, when you catch a pokemon, the script detects it with special2 command and you get warped out of there. Can levelscripts work after a battle and if they can, how do I make it to work? Thanks in advance!
Level script type 5 triggers every time you refresh the OW screen (with, perhaps the exception of special 0x8E). There isn't one which only triggers after battle, but if you write your script well, that won't matter too much.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #22986    
Old October 18th, 2012, 12:25 PM
borisjo's Avatar
borisjo
Scripter (XSE, pokescript)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
Level script type 5 triggers every time you refresh the OW screen (with, perhaps the exception of special 0x8E). There isn't one which only triggers after battle, but if you write your script well, that won't matter too much.
Thank you for replying! But I have no idea how to make this levelscript type 5 to work, I've tried many things but the screen stays black when I come back to the map after a battle. I hope you know how I can solve this? I have added the script here:

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x3C9E86

#org @start
setvar 0x7001 0x1
setvar 0x8004 0xEC
special2 0x800D 0x17C
compare 0x800D 0x1
if 0x1 goto @have
setvar 0x8004 0xCC
special2 0x800D 0x17C
compare 0x800D 0x1
if 0x1 goto @have
setvar 0x8004 0xD7
special2 0x800D 0x17C
compare 0x800D 0x1
if 0x1 goto @have
release
end

#org @have
lock
msgbox @1 0x2
fadescreen 0x1
fadescreen 0x0
warp 0x0 0x05 0xFF 0x1A 0x0E
applymovement 0xFF @move

#org @1
= Attention! We have our\nlast member: \vh01!

#org @move
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0xFE
  #22987    
Old October 18th, 2012, 12:59 PM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by borisjo View Post
Thank you for replying! But I have no idea how to make this levelscript type 5 to work, I've tried many things but the screen stays black when I come back to the map after a battle. I hope you know how I can solve this? I have added the script here:

Script removed for brevity.
You can't execute scripts like that using type 5 level scripts. It explicity requires type 2, which in turn, is variable reliant.

Try setting a variable you haven't used inside the type 5 script:
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @main
[Checks for caught Pokémon]
[If not caught, branch to @alt]
setvar 0x40F0 0x1
end

#org @alt
end


And then putting the "exit" script in the type 2 level script slot, using (in my example) var 0x40F0 as the control value, and set the "value" to 1.

Your script requires some modification, because you can't warp and then continue execution of the script, so it needs split up into 2 parts.

Type 2 level script (Map 1, same map as type 5 script from above):
Spoiler:
lock
msgbox @1 0x2
warp 0x0 0x05 0xFF 0x1A 0x0E
waitstate
setvar 0x40F0 0x2
release
end

#org @1
= Attention! We have our\nlast member: \vh01!


Finally, you need to (in the map you warp back to) add yet another type 2 level script which contains the remaining movement part. The var is still 0x40F0, but the value is now 2:
Spoiler:
lock
applymovement 0xFF @move
waitmovement 0x0
setvar 0x40F0 0x3
release
end

#org @move
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0xFE


I know for a fact that the last 2 parts will work, but I'm not sure about the type 5 level script part. It's worth a try. If it doesn't work, you're looking at ASM hacking to get your desired result, and that's not fun.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #22988    
Old October 18th, 2012, 01:31 PM
borisjo's Avatar
borisjo
Scripter (XSE, pokescript)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
You can't execute scripts like that using type 5 level scripts. It explicity requires type 2, which in turn, is variable reliant.

Try setting a variable you haven't used inside the type 5 script:
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @main
[Checks for caught Pokémon]
[If not caught, branch to @alt]
setvar 0x40F0 0x1
end

#org @alt
end


And then putting the "exit" script in the type 2 level script slot, using (in my example) var 0x40F0 as the control value, and set the "value" to 1.

Your script requires some modification, because you can't warp and then continue execution of the script, so it needs split up into 2 parts.

Type 2 level script (Map 1, same map as type 5 script from above):
Spoiler:
lock
msgbox @1 0x2
warp 0x0 0x05 0xFF 0x1A 0x0E
waitstate
setvar 0x40F0 0x2
release
end

#org @1
= Attention! We have our\nlast member: \vh01!


Finally, you need to (in the map you warp back to) add yet another type 2 level script which contains the remaining movement part. The var is still 0x40F0, but the value is now 2:
Spoiler:
lock
applymovement 0xFF @move
waitmovement 0x0
setvar 0x40F0 0x3
release
end

#org @move
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0x12
#raw 0xFE


I know for a fact that the last 2 parts will work, but I'm not sure about the type 5 level script part. It's worth a try. If it doesn't work, you're looking at ASM hacking to get your desired result, and that's not fun.
It's been a while since I scripted XSE so I need to get back into it also I'm dutch and learning a scripting language in English is not the easiest for me so I hope you can explain some more about this.

I understand I need to make 3 scripts, 1 type 5 levelscript that detects that I caught(or that I didn't caught) a specific pokemon.
1 type 2 levelscript that warps me to a certain point and 1 typ2 levelscript that makes me move.
But I don't quite understand how these scripts follow up to each other.
I can't follow the 0x40F0 part, when it's set to 1 does the next script sees it because it is going to set the variable to value 2? Sorry if my grammar isn't good, I'm trying my best!

I hope you will take time to explain this to me, again thanks in advance!
  #22989    
Old October 18th, 2012, 02:33 PM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
I have a question. Hope someone can answer

My question is this: How can I make the "BF1" titles go away in Pokemon Fire Red? What I mean is, in the Team Rocket hideout, when you go from place to place, the map title that pops up every time you go into a new map is something like "ROCKET HIDEOUT" but then there is another string of text that says "BF1" or "BF2", which stands for bottom floor. How would I go about getting rid of these strings of text?

Thank you for your time in advanced.
  #22990    
Old October 18th, 2012, 04:14 PM
PunsAreFun
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
I have a question. Hope someone can answer

My question is this: How can I make the "BF1" titles go away in Pokemon Fire Red? What I mean is, in the Team Rocket hideout, when you go from place to place, the map title that pops up every time you go into a new map is something like "ROCKET HIDEOUT" but then there is another string of text that says "BF1" or "BF2", which stands for bottom floor. How would I go about getting rid of these strings of text?

Thank you for your time in advanced.
In the Advnace Map Header go to "Show Name on Entering" and change it to 02??
That should do the trick.

I wrote a level script that will show certain sprites if certain flags are set. The first time I visited it set the sprites correctly. But now when I go back there, nothing shows up! Why is that? Is there a way to write a level script to make sprites appear/disappear every time you enter?

Last edited by PunsAreFun; October 18th, 2012 at 04:22 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #22991    
Old October 18th, 2012, 04:38 PM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by PunsAreFun View Post
In the Advnace Map Header go to "Show Name on Entering" and change it to 02??
That should do the trick.

I wrote a level script that will show certain sprites if certain flags are set. The first time I visited it set the sprites correctly. But now when I go back there, nothing shows up! Why is that? Is there a way to write a level script to make sprites appear/disappear every time you enter?
What is the level script set to? 02 Validates Values, or what?
  #22992    
Old October 18th, 2012, 04:41 PM
PunsAreFun
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
What is the level script set to? 02 Validates Values, or what?
My double post was combined. The level script was a separate question that I was asking. What you need to set to 02?? is in the header tab under "show name on entering".
  #22993    
Old October 18th, 2012, 04:48 PM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by PunsAreFun View Post
My double post was combined. The level script was a separate question that I was asking. What you need to set to 02?? is in the header tab under "show name on entering".
Yes, I know, and it worked. Thanks for that by the way. But I was asking what you set your level script to.
  #22994    
Old October 18th, 2012, 05:04 PM
PunsAreFun
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
Yes, I know, and it worked. Thanks for that by the way. But I was asking what you set your level script to.
Oh, my bad. I had it set to 2.
  #22995    
Old October 18th, 2012, 05:55 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
I have a question. Hope someone can answer :)

My question is this: How can I make the "BF1" titles go away in Pokemon Fire Red? What I mean is, in the Team Rocket hideout, when you go from place to place, the map title that pops up every time you go into a new map is something like "ROCKET HIDEOUT" but then there is another string of text that says "BF1" or "BF2", which stands for bottom floor. How would I go about getting rid of these strings of text?

Thank you for your time in advanced.
I know PunsAreFun answered your question, but from the sounds of this post it seemed like you wanted to retain the 'ROCKET HIDEOUT' text but get rid of the B1F part. Its an easy thing to do, but I'm also going to explain how (both types of) the floor numbers are activated in case you or anybody else ever needs to edit them/ add them back in :P

The floor number is determined by the third and second last bytes in the map header - The map header can be viewed by going into the header tab of Advance Map and pressing Ctrl+H. Here is a comparison of the main Celadon City map, the first floor of the Department Store and the first floor of the Rocket Hideout respectively.



The bytes in the red and blue boxes are the ones we're interested in (though more-so the red one). The blue boxes are highlighting a feature that is already present in the header setting - It is actually the 'Show name on entering' option which is available in the default header tab. I'm just highlighting it here since it needs to be set to 4, 5, 6 or 7 in order for the drop down box to be displayed.

The game determines whether it should designate a floor number to the map based on the second byte. If you're climbing a tower the byte ascends in a pretty logical fashion: 0x1 = 1F, 0x2 = 2F, 0x3 = 3F etc, all the way up to 0x63 (99F) because the game can't display a third digit pushing it over into the 100's.

The basement floors have another system entirely which is slightly less apparent. They begin at 0xFF and start to descend, making the pattern: 0xFF = B1F, 0xFE = B2F, 0xFD = B3F etc. Essentially, the basement floor numbering is exactly the same as regular flooring, except in reverse. It also stops at 0x9D (B99F) because once again the display would require an extra character to be displayed, causing it to glitch slightly.

With this information there are two options which are now open to you: Remove the map name display entirely (by changing whether it should be displayed or not) or just get rid of the numbering. Since you want the latter, just change the byte in the red box to 00 and those pesky floor numbers should never trouble you on that map again :D

Quote:
Originally Posted by PunsAreFun View Post
I wrote a level script that will show certain sprites if certain flags are set. The first time I visited it set the sprites correctly. But now when I go back there, nothing shows up! Why is that? Is there a way to write a level script to make sprites appear/disappear every time you enter?
The 02 type of level script will only activate when the chosen variable is set to a chosen value (What you've put into the Flag and Value boxes), but simultaneously the variable's value needs to be changed within the script to prevent it from repeating forever. Essentially this means that the script will only be played once upon entering the map but the variable's value will need to be reset in order for it to activate a second time when you enter again. Its very finicky and awkward to have a type 02 script activate every time you enter a map, especially if the player can fly to that exact map.

If you want a script that plays every time, you can use level script numbers 03, 05 and 07, whose descriptions are shown in A-Map. They don't need a variable/ value combination to be activated and checkflag commands should work so they're great for the kind of thing you're talking about. Hopefully this helps.
__________________
  #22996    
Old October 19th, 2012, 03:55 AM
RanQrusu
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Male
Hi everbody!

I didn't really know where to post my question, so i decided to post it here and hope it isn't too long.

I am currently working on a Pokemon Emerald Hack and since i'm not all that experienced, i need your help with the program "Advance Trainer".
I started off with the tool "Advance Starter" and changed the starters to Meowth, Snubbull and Whismur.
Now i'm trying to change the Rivals Starter-Pokemon directly in "Advance Trainer" to Mankey, Tyrogue and Makuhita. I first of all gave all a new offset cause of the custom moveset and item. It always works for the first Pokemon i change, but as soon as i change the second, the first one gets either reset or gets really strange movesets and items.

An example would be: I change the Rival with the Mudkip as Starter and give him a Tyrogue, i give it the moves "Fake Out" and "Tackle". Now, if i go and change the Rival with the Torchic to a Mankey, the Tyrogues Moveset changes to stuff like "Pay Day". If i go change it back, the Mankey gets reset and there's a Torchic again.

I guess it has to do with some sort of link those trainer files have to each other, does someone know how i can fix this?

Too, i'd really love to implement my own music, would be grateful if you can link me the most easy-to-understand guide in this forum!

Best regards and sorry for my bad English, i'm a foreigner.
RanQrusu

Last edited by RanQrusu; October 19th, 2012 at 04:16 AM.
  #22997    
Old October 19th, 2012, 05:44 AM
Krika
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Male
When I try and load my Emerald ROM in A-Trainer, I get an error message saying "Subscript is out of range - DrawTile8@ModLZ77", and then I can't proceed any farther? This is the first time that this has happened when I've used it, so I'm not sure what the issue is. It isn't just my modified ROM, a clean one gets the same message.

Also, the Bug.txt file gets this printed out into it: "20121016|224113|6.1.7601|0.9.1|DrawTile8|9|modLZ77|Subscript out of range|4" if that helps identify the problem.

This is kinda a big deal, so if someone could help me fix this, I'd really appreciate it.
  #22998    
Old October 19th, 2012, 10:36 AM
MrSandman64's Avatar
MrSandman64
Pokemon Moon Creator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
How do you change the cry in the fire red title screen (when you press start)
  #22999    
Old October 19th, 2012, 12:46 PM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSandman64 View Post
How do you change the cry in the fire red title screen (when you press start)
Use a little somethin' called Title Screen Cry Changer:

http://www.mediafire.com/?7n5uje5bh3nh946
  #23000    
Old October 19th, 2012, 03:22 PM
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Is there a way to create new routes in advanced map?
I have routes 1-25 but when I create a new map and give it a new route, it will just change the name of the map that I originally used.
Can someone give me very detailed instructions on how to create a new route. Please and thank you.
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!


Also I'm currently looking for a spriter for my ROM. Someone who can make OWs and possibly trainer sprites (I might make those myself). Message me if you would like to be a part of Pokemon Battle Brown!
NOTE: You wouldn't be designing your own sprites, I would be telling you what I needed, and you would make it for me ... as appealing as that sounds. I know it doesn't sound like a fun task, but if you want to be a part of this ROM, then that's what will happen. Also I would like to see some stuff you have made before I accept your offer.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.