The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #23051    
Old October 26th, 2012, 04:24 AM
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herpahermaderp View Post
Actually, if you would take the time to scroll up a few posts, you would see that DrFuji has answered your question by linking you to a tutorial on how to do such a thing.
I'm so sorry I missed that.
Thanks to him for the tutorial and thanks to you for pointing it out but now I have another question, Instead of replacing a sprite, is there a way to add more sprites? (for example, I can currently pick from 147 sprites, I would like to be able to choose from more)
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!


Also I'm currently looking for a spriter for my ROM. Someone who can make OWs and possibly trainer sprites (I might make those myself). Message me if you would like to be a part of Pokemon Battle Brown!
NOTE: You wouldn't be designing your own sprites, I would be telling you what I needed, and you would make it for me ... as appealing as that sounds. I know it doesn't sound like a fun task, but if you want to be a part of this ROM, then that's what will happen. Also I would like to see some stuff you have made before I accept your offer.
  #23052    
Old October 26th, 2012, 06:14 AM
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp
I liek Mudkipz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Skype™ to Herpahermaderp
Quote:
Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
I'm so sorry I missed that.
Thanks to him for the tutorial and thanks to you for pointing it out but now I have another question, Instead of replacing a sprite, is there a way to add more sprites? (for example, I can currently pick from 147 sprites, I would like to be able to choose from more)
I believe if you use this it will add more over worlds, which is just another name for the sprites that are in the game.
  #23053    
Old October 26th, 2012, 06:34 AM
Dechuri's Avatar
Dechuri
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Can I sableye have wonder guard? Some one told me that shiny sables have it and I couldn't find info on it
__________________
Black FC 0304 7211 4041
Black 2 FC 1335 5536 9339

Quote:
N: "YOU! RIDE THIS FERRIS WHEEL WITH ME!"


  #23054    
Old October 26th, 2012, 07:20 AM
itman
Back to ROM hacking. :D
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 20
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dechuri View Post
Can I sableye have wonder guard? Some one told me that shiny sables have it and I couldn't find info on it
You can easily change Sableye's ability in several different programs to wonder guard...but no, normally it has keen eye I think.
  #23055    
Old October 26th, 2012, 08:19 AM
Alaka-Z's Avatar
Alaka-Z
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Hey. Im interested in hacking FireRed , but it's not possible to put your ROM hack back onto the real firered cart is it? I 'd have to buy some flashcart. Also, I'm slightly concerned about legality issues.
I would like to hack to just slightly tweak stuff. Ive watched lots of advance map tutorials-The videos make it seem pretty simple, but idk. My big question:
On AdvanceMap, can you use the coded ruby and sapphire trainer sprites and music?
Because I wanted to put Maxie and Archie in the game...Also, how could I make them and the gym leaders trigger rematches without VS Seeker? I was thinking like every time you beat the elite four but surely there's something easier?
My main point is: I would like to play on my GBA, not a PC.
Thanks.
  #23056    
Old October 26th, 2012, 08:23 AM
mewmasterify's Avatar
mewmasterify
Actual Mew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Faraway Island
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
is it possible to make a Pokemon Follow you Pokemon Hack?
__________________
  #23057    
Old October 26th, 2012, 09:18 AM
Yogi1881's Avatar
Yogi1881
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
How would I create new Abilities?
Like lets take Castform's ability Forecast.
I want to make it so the pokemon would transform through only a SINGLE Whether condition and maybe boost type moves.
Is there any way to do that.
I am use a Ruby Base ROM
  #23058    
Old October 26th, 2012, 09:31 AM
Lugia_Da_Boss's Avatar
Lugia_Da_Boss
Togepi
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
How do I delete text in A-Text so that it doesn't show up in game? All I've managed to do is delete the text from A-Text but still have it appear in game, or get a blank text-box in game.
  #23059    
Old October 27th, 2012, 12:46 AM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dechuri View Post
Can I sableye have wonder guard? Some one told me that shiny sables have it and I couldn't find info on it
Yes, by using YAPE, you can make Sableye vulnerable only to Toxic (in other words, make it have Wonder Guard).
Shininess isn't factor here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mewmasterify View Post
is it possible to make a Pokemon Follow you Pokemon Hack?
Jambo's working on routine, it's not possible now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yogi1881 View Post
How would I create new Abilities?
Like lets take Castform's ability Forecast.
I want to make it so the pokemon would transform through only a SINGLE Whether condition and maybe boost type moves.
Is there any way to do that.
I am use a Ruby Base ROM
Check the newest tutorial in the tuorial section.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lugia_Da_Boss View Post
How do I delete text in A-Text so that it doesn't show up in game? All I've managed to do is delete the text from A-Text but still have it appear in game, or get a blank text-box in game.
You need to delete the offset in XSE.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign
  #23060    
Old October 27th, 2012, 09:59 AM
Andrut's Avatar
Andrut
Collecting dust since 1898
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Age: 16
What is the special for activating the national Dex in ruby?
  #23061    
Old October 27th, 2012, 11:27 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoax View Post
What is the special for activating the national Dex in ruby?
Script To Activate National Dex In Ruby...
Insert this before/after the flag of the ordinary PokéDex (I forgot if it should be before or after).

Code:
...
checkflag 0x8000
writebytetooffset 0x2 0x2026B00
writebytetooffset 0x3 0x2026B01
writebytetooffset 0xDA 0x2024EBE
writebytetooffset 0x67 0x2026A5A
clearflag 0x8000
...
__________________
3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
SV: 1364 | Rock Safari: Dwebble, Corsola and Barbaracle
  #23062    
Old October 27th, 2012, 11:34 AM
Totodilesteel99's Avatar
Totodilesteel99
Lord of Awesomeness
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: I live in the land of awesomeness
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
I have a question.
How do you index the Title Screen and Game Freak Logo?
I need help on it.
I don't understand these Tutorials that are really In-Depth.
__________________
Hey there! Your reading this!
If your still reading this now have a cookie.
If you are reading now still have another cookie.
If you are wondering why you are receiving cookies it's because i feel like it.
If you still reading now your just stupid. ;D

Join my Forum!
pokemasters.freeforums.org




  #23063    
Old October 27th, 2012, 12:00 PM
.parado✗'s Avatar
.parado✗
paranormal user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ha✗land
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Send a message via Skype™ to .parado✗
1: you go to irfanview and "image" - "decrease colour depth"
2: Choose 16 colours.
3: goto "image" - "palette" - "edit palette"
4: Choose as first colour (background) any colour thats not anywhere else.
5: Save the screen (its mixed up) as Titlescreen 2 or something.
6: open the old titlescreen and the titlescreen 2 with paint XP.
7: Copy the old titlescreen and paste it into titlescreen 2.
8: Your titlescreen 2 looks normal again! Save it.

Thats it. ;D

Now my Question!:

Well, does someone know how to insert bigger images for the oak intro background?
Whenever i do so in UNLZ gba, this appears.
The sprite is with something strange surrounded!



How to fix , or how to avoid that? Thank you.
__________________
If you are interested in a german romhacker forum, go to

www.board.romresources.net

I'm registered under the name: "Laz0r" there.
  #23064    
Old October 27th, 2012, 01:36 PM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
I have a question. Hope someone can answer.

Game: Pokemon Fire Red
Under the Wild Pokemon tab in A-Map, there are four types of terrain you can choose to have wild Pokemon in - grass, tree, fishing rod, and water. My problem comes in when I get to the Fishing Rod section. How do I know what Pokemon slots are being used by the Old Rod? There are ten wild Pokemon slots in the Fishing Rod section. I'm not sure what slots are being used up by the Old Rod (as well as the Good Rod and the Super Rod).

Thanks for your time in advanced!
  #23065    
Old October 27th, 2012, 02:42 PM
Quilava's Master's Avatar
Quilava's Master
Shattered Dreams '13
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
I have a question. Hope someone can answer.

Game: Pokemon Fire Red
Under the Wild Pokemon tab in A-Map, there are four types of terrain you can choose to have wild Pokemon in - grass, tree, fishing rod, and water. My problem comes in when I get to the Fishing Rod section. How do I know what Pokemon slots are being used by the Old Rod? There are ten wild Pokemon slots in the Fishing Rod section. I'm not sure what slots are being used up by the Old Rod (as well as the Good Rod and the Super Rod).

Thanks for your time in advanced!

There ya go.
__________________
The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
  #23066    
Old October 27th, 2012, 06:10 PM
Cold Ivory's Avatar
Cold Ivory
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
Quote:
1: you go to irfanview and "image" - "decrease colour depth"
2: Choose 16 colours.
3: goto "image" - "palette" - "edit palette"
4: Choose as first colour (background) any colour thats not anywhere else.
5: Save the screen (its mixed up) as Titlescreen 2 or something.
6: open the old titlescreen and the titlescreen 2 with paint XP.
7: Copy the old titlescreen and paste it into titlescreen 2.
8: Your titlescreen 2 looks normal again! Save it.
So I keep doing this much, like every inserting tutorial instructs, but every time I copy the old sprite over the new, the resultant image goes back to being un-indexed.
Suggestions? I've tried the original sprite both indexed and un-indexed.
  #23067    
Old October 27th, 2012, 06:51 PM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cold Ivory View Post
So I keep doing this much, like every inserting tutorial instructs, but every time I copy the old sprite over the new, the resultant image goes back to being un-indexed.
Suggestions? I've tried the original sprite both indexed and un-indexed.
Are you using Paint? You can't use Paint. You need to use something like GIMP2.
I have a tutorial on indexing:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IT7-EedW7Dg
  #23068    
Old October 27th, 2012, 07:37 PM
itman
Back to ROM hacking. :D
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 20
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
Are you using Paint? You can't use Paint. You need to use something like GIMP2.
I have a tutorial on indexing:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IT7-EedW7Dg
Windows 7 paint doesn't support indexed images. Gimp works, or you can put your old copy of paint from XP onto your windows 7 (it's easy to do).
  #23069    
Old October 27th, 2012, 08:47 PM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by itman View Post
Windows 7 paint doesn't support indexed images. Gimp works, or you can put your old copy of paint from XP onto your windows 7 (it's easy to do).
? I wasn't asking anything...
  #23070    
Old October 28th, 2012, 01:04 AM
Lugia_Da_Boss's Avatar
Lugia_Da_Boss
Togepi
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
XSE won't let me edit scripts, it only lets me save them as new files to have on my computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post

You need to delete the offset in XSE.
XSE doesn't let me edit scripts, it just lets me save them as new files...

Last edited by Lugia_Da_Boss; October 28th, 2012 at 01:16 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #23071    
Old October 28th, 2012, 01:59 AM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
repeat repeat repeat
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by .parado✗ View Post
Now my Question!:

Well, does someone know how to insert bigger images for the oak intro background?
Whenever i do so in UNLZ gba, this appears.
The sprite is with something strange surrounded!



How to fix , or how to avoid that? Thank you.
The first two tiles in your background's new tileset must be transparent. You need to have both of them transparent because the Professor Oak sprite's tilemap which overlays the entire screen is displayed in 256 colours which crunches regular 16 colour tiles together (You can see this if you look at the Tile Viewer of your Emulator and switch between the two colour display options).

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
? I wasn't asking anything...
itman was correcting your statement that Paint can't be used at all. While its true that the newer Windows 7 version of Paint doesn't support indexed images or transparency, the older ones do. People interested in looking to downgrade their Paint can follow a tutorial like this one - I reverted back a long time ago since I find it is the easiest image editor to work with by far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lugia_Da_Boss View Post
XSE won't let me edit scripts, it only lets me save them as new files to have on my computer.



XSE doesn't let me edit scripts, it just lets me save them as new files...
Are you just clicking on the 'Save Script' icon which looks like a floppy disk? You need to click on the 'Compile' icon which looks like two cogs in order to insert your new/ edited scripts into the game.
  #23072    
Old October 28th, 2012, 08:35 AM
thanethane98's Avatar
thanethane98
Self Proclaimed Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Nature: Relaxed
I've been looking at creating Pokemarts in XSE recently. While being able to define the items is great, is there a way to define the price for the items?

P.S. If this needs to go in the Script Help thread, tell and I'll move it there.
__________________
Back and ROM hacking again!
  #23073    
Old October 28th, 2012, 09:33 AM
Yogi1881's Avatar
Yogi1881
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Can you put contests in pokemon fire red?
  #23074    
Old October 28th, 2012, 10:11 AM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanethane98 View Post
I've been looking at creating Pokemarts in XSE recently. While being able to define the items is great, is there a way to define the price for the items?

P.S. If this needs to go in the Script Help thread, tell and I'll move it there.
Item prices can be defined in Item Editor. There's a price field you can change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yogi1881 View Post
Can you put contests in pokemon fire red?
No.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #23075    
Old October 28th, 2012, 10:32 AM
Alaka-Z's Avatar
Alaka-Z
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Nintendo say its not true about the owning the game stuff-Still illegal by them, but its not like I'd make any profit or distribute my hacking. Cheers for answering my question.

Last edited by Alaka-Z; October 28th, 2012 at 02:32 PM.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.