Community

The PokéCommunity

We are still working on a better slogan!

Visit Index



Advertise here

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #23076    
Old October 28th, 2012, 10:40 AM
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp
I liek Mudkipz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to Herpahermaderp

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaka-Z View Post
Surely one of the more experienced hackers can answer my question?

Scroll up 4 My question.
Plz?
Thanks
Just so you know, your question was deleted by DrFuji.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaka-Z View Post
Hey. Im interested in hacking FireRed , but it's not possible to put your ROM hack back onto the real firered cart is it? I 'd have to buy some flashcart. Also, I'm slightly concerned about legality issues.
I would like to hack to just slightly tweak stuff. Ive watched lots of advance map tutorials-The videos make it seem pretty simple, but idk. My big question:
On AdvanceMap, can you use the coded ruby and sapphire trainer sprites and music?
Because I wanted to put Maxie and Archie in the game...Also, how could I make them and the gym leaders trigger rematches without VS Seeker? I was thinking like every time you beat the elite four but surely there's something easier?
My main point is: I would like to play on my GBA, not a PC.
Thanks.
Unless if you were talking about this one. No, you can't load your ROM onto a real Fire Red cartridge, so yes, you'd have to buy a flashcart. It's only illegal if you don't own the game. Yes, you can have Maxie and Archie in your games, all you would have to do is insert new scripts for them and the sprites are already in the game. The last question I cannot answer, for IDK anything about the VS Seeker or it's functions.

Last edited by Herpahermaderp; October 28th, 2012 at 10:45 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #23077    
Old October 28th, 2012, 12:16 PM
Lugia_Da_Boss's Avatar
Lugia_Da_Boss
Togepi
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Does anyone know how to make shinies more common?
  #23078    
Old October 28th, 2012, 02:29 PM
Alaka-Z's Avatar
Alaka-Z
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
You sort of can. In B2/W2, after conpleting the national pokedex, Professor Juniper gives you an item that increases shiny encounter rate. Also, there is the masuda method in gen 4/5-Breed your pokemon with one from a different language game, and the offspring has a higher chance of being shiny.
Those are the only affecting factors I think-
Its up to chance-Only 1/8192 Pokemon are shiny without either of the above methods.
  #23079    
Old October 28th, 2012, 02:39 PM
Lugia_Da_Boss's Avatar
Lugia_Da_Boss
Togepi
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaka-Z View Post
You sort of can. In B2/W2, after conpleting the national pokedex, Professor Juniper gives you an item that increases shiny encounter rate. Also, there is the masuda method in gen 4/5-Breed your pokemon with one from a different language game, and the offspring has a higher chance of being shiny.
Those are the only affecting factors I think-
Its up to chance-Only 1/8192 Pokemon are shiny without either of the above methods.
Dude, I mean is there any way I can hack it so that the 1/8192 is a higher chance, like say 1/5000 or whatever.
  #23080    
Old October 28th, 2012, 03:24 PM
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp
I liek Mudkipz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to Herpahermaderp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lugia_Da_Boss View Post
Dude, I mean is there any way I can hack it so that the 1/8192 is a higher chance, like say 1/5000 or whatever.
So far I believe it is safe to say no, that's not possible. Try checking Research & Development, there might be something there.
  #23081    
Old October 28th, 2012, 05:08 PM
Cyclone's Avatar
Cyclone
Eye of the Storm
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Sorry if this has been asked somewhere back on page 367 of 924, but I didn't feel like searching back that far.

In the Block Editor in AdvanceMap, which I'm toying with for the first time trying to fix some tile issues in a hack, I'm trying to figure out which flag makes a character (or Hero) hide behind the tile when standing in the spot that tile is on. I already know "??? [00]" hides the player behind a tile. However, there are tiles that use transparency to reveal a tile underneath.

In my example, the area behind the Gym is accessible, but it also has snow on it. The way this tile has been set up by the designer is that the building tile is the base tile and the snow is the second tile. You can walk onto the Gym tiles (as in walking behind the Gym) to hide behind them and they work for hiding behind the snow. However, now I need to hide behind the building tile itself. Can I do this?

Assuming I can, that will take care of one tile. I then have one more complication as pictured below:


In this case, the Hero should be seen behind the upper-left segment, but not the rest. Because of the extreme corner being in the right segment (the part hidden behind), it causes him to hide behind the extreme corner, but the transparency in the snow tiles causes him to appear in the pink areas:


I'm thinking I might have to remove the snow from these tiles. Thought I'd ask for help first.

Cyclone
"Y'know...my Emolga really wants to shock your Dedenne."

Cyclone. FC: 5327-1949-9511. Safari: Lampent, Pumpkaboo, and Golurk (Ghost). Champion of the GC11 Pokémon Challenge!
Breeder extraordinaire. Horrible battler. I take requests! Looking ahead to SSB3D for even more fun!

Pokémon Black National Pokédex completed on December 13, 2012. My Lv.7 UT Shiny Nincada (Hoenn) is now in Kalos for trade offers.

  #23082    
Old October 28th, 2012, 08:07 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CycloneGU View Post
Sorry if this has been asked somewhere back on page 367 of 924, but I didn't feel like searching back that far. ;)

In the Block Editor in AdvanceMap, which I'm toying with for the first time trying to fix some tile issues in a hack, I'm trying to figure out which flag makes a character (or Hero) hide behind the tile when standing in the spot that tile is on. I already know "??? [00]" hides the player behind a tile. However, there are tiles that use transparency to reveal a tile underneath.

In my example, the area behind the Gym is accessible, but it also has snow on it. The way this tile has been set up by the designer is that the building tile is the base tile and the snow is the second tile. You can walk onto the Gym tiles (as in walking behind the Gym) to hide behind them and they work for hiding behind the snow. However, now I need to hide behind the building tile itself. Can I do this?

Assuming I can, that will take care of one tile. I then have one more complication as pictured below:


In this case, the Hero should be seen behind the upper-left segment, but not the rest. Because of the extreme corner being in the right segment (the part hidden behind), it causes him to hide behind the extreme corner, but the transparency in the snow tiles causes him to appear in the pink areas:


I'm thinking I might have to remove the snow from these tiles. Thought I'd ask for help first. :)

Cyclone
Yeah, the only way you could be be underneath both the roof and patch of snow would be for both of them to share the same palette - That way you could combine the two into a tile through paint. Unless you can do that it would be best to remove the patch of snow entirely.
  #23083    
Old October 28th, 2012, 08:29 PM
Cyclone's Avatar
Cyclone
Eye of the Storm
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
Yeah, the only way you could be be underneath both the roof and patch of snow would be for both of them to share the same palette - That way you could combine the two into a tile through paint. Unless you can do that it would be best to remove the patch of snow entirely.
Good enough, I'll make that modification to those two tiles then. You can't walk behind the trees to reach the other spots, so ample snow can still be used. I thought about using rocks on the top half of the base tile, but decided it's not worth blocking the space (and would still look wrong).

Thanks.

Cyclone
"Y'know...my Emolga really wants to shock your Dedenne."

Cyclone. FC: 5327-1949-9511. Safari: Lampent, Pumpkaboo, and Golurk (Ghost). Champion of the GC11 Pokémon Challenge!
Breeder extraordinaire. Horrible battler. I take requests! Looking ahead to SSB3D for even more fun!

Pokémon Black National Pokédex completed on December 13, 2012. My Lv.7 UT Shiny Nincada (Hoenn) is now in Kalos for trade offers.

  #23084    
Old October 29th, 2012, 09:26 AM
Alaka-Z's Avatar
Alaka-Z
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
By using Advanced Trainer to create your own trainers, is there a way to change to BGM during the battle (e.g make the battle use the gym leader theme)? Also, is there a way to enable infinite rematches with the trainers you create? Thirdly, on Advanced Trainer can you choose the Pokemon's Ability or is it random(In vids there seems to be no way to choose ability)
Oh, and do ROMs download to all user accounts on the PC, because I use a shared PC so I was hoping that it only downloads to my user account.
Finally, can flashcart GBA games link via cable in the normal method with genuine GBA carts?
Again, thanks
Soz 4 all the questions but i've never hacked in my life.

Last edited by Alaka-Z; October 29th, 2012 at 09:50 AM.
  #23085    
Old October 29th, 2012, 04:38 PM
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp
I liek Mudkipz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to Herpahermaderp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaka-Z View Post
By using Advanced Trainer to create your own trainers, is there a way to change to BGM during the battle (e.g make the battle use the gym leader theme)? Also, is there a way to enable infinite rematches with the trainers you create? Thirdly, on Advanced Trainer can you choose the Pokemon's Ability or is it random(In vids there seems to be no way to choose ability)
Oh, and do ROMs download to all user accounts on the PC, because I use a shared PC so I was hoping that it only downloads to my user account.
Finally, can flashcart GBA games link via cable in the normal method with genuine GBA carts?
Again, thanks
Soz 4 all the questions but i've never hacked in my life.
Yes, but you don't use A-Trainer, you have to use a script to make it gym leader themed. There is a way to make infinite battles, but I can't share them here, no, you can't choose a trainer's Pokemon's ability, no, ROMs you download are on your user account only, and it depends on the flash cart your using, most of them do work with link cables linked to genuine GBA games.
  #23086    
Old October 29th, 2012, 05:23 PM
wwmb's Avatar
wwmb
Watcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Hello! So.... I don't know if it is just that I haven't looked enough or what, but I can't find enough info to get this done: I'm trying to edit the world map in Pokemon Emerald (Later I'll be working on RS too... but that's beside the point.) I've found the three tilsets (245, 328, 330) and tilemaps (246, 390, 331) in unLZ. I've decompressed them all to .raw and .png files (256 for tilesets and 16 for maps.) (for backups, comparison, experimentation etc.)

I also made my own map in GIMP, using the exact same colors as the tileset in the game (taken with VBA); then I used Sphere to remove duplicate tiles in the tileset. I PrtScreen-nd that back into gimp indexing it with the same colors too (.png, both a 0compression and a 9-or-something/max compression version.) Made the .raw tilemap in NTME (8bpp). I noticed in VBA that the world map is square (512x512) and that NTME's Emerald World Map setting isn't, so I made three different sizes (in tiles): a 32x32, a 64x32, and a 64x64 sized map.

Going back to the tileset, I opened up TileMolester-Alt 8bpp linear, imported the bg.pal I got from VBA when looking at the world map, Pasted in my tiles (same dimensions as the tileset I got from #328) and saved it as .raw.

unLZ doesn't want to overwrite the tileset even though the .raw is using the same colors (if I open it back up in TileMoleset-alt it goes to 2bpp planar, and after turning it back its colors are different until I reload the pallet) it's the same size (I even opened it up with a hexeditor and deleted all of the unused tiles at the end... so now my tileset .raw is 2to3 8x8 tiles smaller in filesize).
unLZ won't even compress and put the original tilesets back into the rom, claiming they are too big when compressed too.

So any help would be awesome in finding a way to replace the files. (I don't want to use any free space when I'm not using ANY more data than the game is, AFAIK.)
  #23087    
Old October 29th, 2012, 05:25 PM
Yogi1881's Avatar
Yogi1881
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Is it possible to use multiple different egg sprites.
Like customizing pokemon eggs?
  #23088    
Old October 30th, 2012, 12:42 AM
Alaka-Z's Avatar
Alaka-Z
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
@ Yogi1881-Maybe. The reason eggs use only one sprite is because of all the pointless memory it would take programming individual frames for hatching each one.

@ HerpaHermaDerp-Thanks. What script would I need to change music? Ppl on youtube say the default BGM is determined on trainer class- Say if I put a trainer with the trainer class Magma Leader, that badass theme from R/S would be default because its coded? Not to be a douche but why can't you share the infinite battles method? Is it like valuable advanced knowledge? Or.....Maybe say the e4 have idk a script or something that allows infinite battles with them? Finally, u have any vague ideas about the flashcarts that CAN link with genuine carts? Again, cheers; sorry for all the questions...
  #23089    
Old October 30th, 2012, 03:58 AM
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp
I liek Mudkipz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to Herpahermaderp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yogi1881 View Post
Is it possible to use multiple different egg sprites.
Like customizing pokemon eggs?
Yes, this would be possible, but you would have to learn ASM and create a routine for it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaka-Z View Post
@ Yogi1881-Maybe. The reason eggs use only one sprite is because of all the pointless memory it would take programming individual frames for hatching each one.

@ HerpaHermaDerp-Thanks. What script would I need to change music? Ppl on youtube say the default BGM is determined on trainer class- Say if I put a trainer with the trainer class Magma Leader, that badass theme from R/S would be default because its coded? Not to be a douche but why can't you share the infinite battles method? Is it like valuable advanced knowledge? Or.....Maybe say the e4 have idk a script or something that allows infinite battles with them? Finally, u have any vague ideas about the flashcarts that CAN link with genuine carts? Again, cheers; sorry for all the questions...
No, I chose not to share the infinite loop battle script here because this is the Simple Questions thread, not the Script Help thread And so far I've noticed that it would be best if you went with an EZFlash cartridge if you want to connect, seeing as those are by far the most praised and compatible GBA cartridge.
  #23090    
Old October 30th, 2012, 08:13 AM
Alaka-Z's Avatar
Alaka-Z
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Again, Thanks
Very helpful
  #23091    
Old October 30th, 2012, 10:52 PM
Totodilesteel99's Avatar
Totodilesteel99
Lord of Awesomeness
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: I live in the land of awesomeness
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Another Question!
How do i insert Sprites from Black and White found on Bulbapedia into my Fire Red Hack?
It's possible, I've seen, but i can't figure out.
Hey there! Your reading this!
If your still reading this now have a cookie.
If you are reading now still have another cookie.
If you are wondering why you are receiving cookies it's because i feel like it.
If you still reading now your just stupid. ;D

Join my Forum!
pokemasters.freeforums.org




  #23092    
Old October 31st, 2012, 01:07 AM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Totodilesteel99 View Post
Another Question!
How do i insert Sprites from Black and White found on Bulbapedia into my Fire Red Hack?
It's possible, I've seen, but i can't figure out.
Resize them to 64x64 and then index them. (There are some tutorials for it in the Tutorials section by the way.) And then by using UnlZ GBA, you can insert them.
I believe there are BW sprites already downloadable somewhere, though... so you can use those if you don't feel like indexing.
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #23093    
Old October 31st, 2012, 04:28 AM
raging-inferno-1986
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Hi, i was wondering do Fire Red and Ruby share the same tile colour pallets?
  #23094    
Old October 31st, 2012, 05:22 AM
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario
The Legendary Master of Light!
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by raging-inferno-1986 View Post
Hi, i was wondering do Fire Red and Ruby share the same tile colour pallets?
Nope, the 0 palette has different colours in Ruby than what it does in FireRed. Even though the tile colours may look similar, it doesn't have the same tile colour palettes. It may have some identical on some palettes like 0 in Ruby shares some from FireRed's 3 (at least I think it is, if I can remember correctly) palette.
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm really looking forward to learning how to understand what the hex values mean and how to create programs using Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
  #23095    
Old October 31st, 2012, 05:49 PM
YogiBerra
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
I'm experiencing a problem with a person script I've created. Instead of being a normal person script where I talk to it and it gives my my message, it acts as if it is a cuttable tree. The settings in Advance Map are below.
  #23096    
Old October 31st, 2012, 05:56 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by YogiBerra View Post
I'm experiencing a problem with a person script I've created. Instead of being a normal person script where I talk to it and it gives my my message, it acts as if it is a cuttable tree. The settings in Advance Map are below.
Is it sharing its Person Event Number with an actual cuttable tree on that map? If it is then that would explain why its mimicking the script - All you have to do is change the number.
  #23097    
Old November 1st, 2012, 01:12 PM
Pokedorkus
Zen Darumaka
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
hellp me someone i am begining to hack i did around 2% of my hacking (2 hours worth) and when i change the # of trainers like add trainers in A-Trainer(to change trainers pokemon stuff etc) or change their pokemon it completley messes up my game. It leaves the pokemons names as blanks or wierd codes so when i play it say a D/hyP or a appered! WTF is it my rom should, i get a new one? or should i use PET instead of A-Trainer to edite trainers but i need to be abble to add new trainers and create them. this has happened twice with me on pokemon EMERALD and i tryed Saphire and the same thing happens it does not mess it up right away but after i save and comeback and change stuff and reload then it puts up weird codes. any advice would be greatley appreciated..
  #23098    
Old November 1st, 2012, 01:29 PM
henryduh8
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Are there any rom hacks of GB or GBA games where all the TMs and/or move tutors are buyable/reusable/fully accessible/etc? I tried looking in the Features sections of many rom hack showcase threads, but I can't find anything similar in nature.
I just have a hard trying using items that have a one time use and that aren't obtainable again.
  #23099    
Old November 1st, 2012, 02:35 PM
Alaka-Z's Avatar
Alaka-Z
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
You know that you have to have MIDI files to add your own themes to FireRed? I got some awesome MIDIs off VGMUSIC of stuff like Cipher Admin Colosseum...Would they be easy to put into the game (like not having to edit them or use Sappy or anything. I read some relevant threads but I've never hacked b4 so i didnt get any of it
My second question:
Anyone know of Gen III save editors (Pokesave type stuff)? Ive heard of Pokemon Encyclopedia but thats apparently in Spanish...
Finally, how much memory does a ROM and VBA take up?
My family PC has 133 GB left if that helps. Thanks ppl
  #23100    
Old November 1st, 2012, 03:15 PM
IStreamSandwich's Avatar
IStreamSandwich
Karen Gillan <3
Community Supporter Tier 4
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southport, England
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
A rom and VBA do NOT take up 133 gb Dont even take up 1GB ... so you're safe.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:07 PM.

About Us
© 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com. Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.

Copyright
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com. PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator. Header artwork by Jordanice of deviantART.

Social Media
If you would like to stay up-to-date with us on the go, when we're down, or other such things, follow us on social media sites--most notibly Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus--by clicking on the links provided.

Design presented by Peitharchia. Special thanks to Hiroshi Sotomura and Ausaudriel.