The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Pokémon Gaming > Fifth Generation
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Fifth Generation Are Pokémon slaves to humans? Team Plasma thinks so. Travel the Unova region and prove them wrong in Black & White, and then return two years later in Black2 & White2.

View Poll Results: You play B2W2 on...
Nintendo DS 39 21.79%
Nintendo 3DS 112 62.57%
Both 28 15.64%
Voters: 179. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old November 5th, 2012, 07:31 AM
Perico's Avatar
Perico
Ripper
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Yesterday I thought of playing White 2 on my 3DS, since it could be more comfortable for me not to be switching between both consoles (DS and 3DS) every time I wanted to play a DS or 3DS game... as soon as I started White 2, I remembered why I wasn't playing any DS game on it... yes, they look quite bad and I can't stand it.

So, I'm wondering, do you play B2/W2 on your 3DS? Or you prefer doing it on DS/DSi because of the bad look of the games on 3DS?
__________________

Allez, hop!
  #2    
Old November 5th, 2012, 08:05 AM
Aura Vitae's Avatar
Aura Vitae
Down, Sword Hand!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
I'm playing White 2 on my 3DS mainly because of the Dream Radar and because I got rid of my DS after getting my 3DS.
__________________


Pokemon X FC 3368-1319-2305
  #3    
Old November 5th, 2012, 10:57 AM
holdmykidney's Avatar
holdmykidney
Riddled with pokerus
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Midlands, UK
Age: 36
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
I started playing it on the 3ds but now I've switched back to the DSi.

I actually don't mind the way DS games look on the 3DS. I think it's fine.

But, it does bother me that DS games block the StreetPass function on the 3DS. I was recently in Japan and I wanted to leave the 3DS AND Pokemon White 2 sharing data with passers-by so I had to leave both running.

I've also found that sometimes when I put White 2 into the 3DS, sometimes the cartridge doesn't register. It doesn't seem to "fit" the 3DS properly. Anybody else had this?

My personal opinion is that Black and White 2 are really started to show how dated the current Pokemon engine is. Even my wife asked, since this is the latest game in the series, why do the Pokemon in the foreground of the battle look so rubbish. Everything the game is trying to do with zooming images, medals (i.e. trophies) and data sharing needs to step up and embrace the features of the 3DS. That's what it's there for.
__________________
HeartGold FC: 0131 5125 1138
Black: 5157 7477 8315
White 2 FC: 1636 2391 9110

Last edited by holdmykidney; November 5th, 2012 at 11:03 AM. Reason: More info
  #4    
Old November 5th, 2012, 11:27 AM
Nintendork15
I'm gone. Bye.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Undertaker. Co.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
I'm playing on the 3DS because it's all I have
But in all fairness, it's like the GBA quality on a DS. Looks good, but it's not the same.

When I get Dream Radar, that'll be my reason.
__________________
gone.
  #5    
Old November 5th, 2012, 01:05 PM
Mochi's Avatar
Mochi
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Michigan
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Sassy
I play it on my 3DS XL, and sometimes I'm okay with the distorted resolution but most of the time I do the Start + Select trick when the game boots up to have the correct resolution.

I only use my DS Lite when I'm trading Pokemon, but I kind of want another one or a DSi because my Lite has a broken hinge and is pretty uncomfortable to play.

I'm seriously considering this one. uwu


__________________
  #6    
Old November 5th, 2012, 02:02 PM
Nintendork15
I'm gone. Bye.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Undertaker. Co.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzaleaLightning View Post
I play it on my 3DS XL, and sometimes I'm okay with the distorted resolution but most of the time I do the Start + Select trick when the game boots up to have the correct resolution.

I only use my DS Lite when I'm trading Pokemon, but I kind of want another one or a DSi because my Lite has a broken hinge and is pretty uncomfortable to play.

I'm seriously considering this one. uwu


You do know you can trade between a 3DS/DS/i
Right?
__________________
gone.
  #7    
Old November 5th, 2012, 02:07 PM
holdmykidney's Avatar
holdmykidney
Riddled with pokerus
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Midlands, UK
Age: 36
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintendork15 View Post
You do know you can trade between a 3DS/DS/i
Right?
You can But the game does dislike you using the online function between different consoles. I don't know why, but it always throws a hissy-fit at me if I change consoles and try to go online!
__________________
HeartGold FC: 0131 5125 1138
Black: 5157 7477 8315
White 2 FC: 1636 2391 9110
  #8    
Old November 5th, 2012, 02:11 PM
Dmatt's Avatar
Dmatt
Medium-Rare Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
I think it looks horrible, no matter what handeld you use...
I used to play White on my DSi, then sold it, and months after I got a 3DS. I guess I forgot if it was any better, but in my perspective, they both look awful when they zoom in your pokemon...
I just tried the Start + Select trick that someone mentioned, but it just makes them tiny, yet, still horrible :p

My point is, GameFreak really *really* needs to step up with this zooming thing. All other sprites and stuff are fine IMO, specially on Black 2, all but the zoom.
__________________
Name: Dmatt/Dan
Pearl : 2538 0185 7851
SoulSilver : 2495 0636 9069
White : 0905 9140 0338

My thread: Trades, EV services, Breeding. Clicky.
  #9    
Old November 5th, 2012, 04:16 PM
`Brianna's Avatar
`Brianna
Mahamagiha, my friends!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Idaho
Age: 15
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Skype™ to `Brianna
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmatt View Post
I think it looks horrible, no matter what handeld you use...
I used to play White on my DSi, then sold it, and months after I got a 3DS. I guess I forgot if it was any better, but in my perspective, they both look awful when they zoom in your pokemon...
I just tried the Start + Select trick that someone mentioned, but it just makes them tiny, yet, still horrible :p

My point is, GameFreak really *really* needs to step up with this zooming thing. All other sprites and stuff are fine IMO, specially on Black 2, all but the zoom.
What is this start and select thing you speak of? What does it do? I am curious.

I mostly play it on my 3ds because it's more comfortable that my Dsi and DS lite. I sometimes switch, though, when my 3ds isn't charged and vice versa.
__________________
  #10    
Old November 5th, 2012, 04:20 PM
Hikamaru's Avatar
Hikamaru
オニゴーリ
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
When I get Black 2, I will be playing it on my Ice Blue DS Lite that I have used with all other Pokemon games.
__________________
  #11    
Old November 5th, 2012, 04:28 PM
Cataclysmic's Avatar
Cataclysmic
A New Adventure
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Laverre City
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I started on the 3DS, switched to the DSi, and finally ended up on my new 3DS XL after getting it for my birthday.
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 3222-5630-4587
---PM me so I can add you back!---
  #12    
Old November 5th, 2012, 05:17 PM
MrTripStack's Avatar
MrTripStack
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Orlando, FL (USA)
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
I actually decided on selling my DSi to a friend once I purchased my 3DS and playing White 2 on my 3DS is my only option at the moment. It does look a little different, but it doesn't bother me too much.

I've been thinking about buying another DSi (or even a DS Lite), so I'd be able to trade between my games whenever I need to, without having to use somebody else's DS. I keep deciding against it because I know that the games will eventually move to the 3DS, and the DS would then be useless to me.

And Dream Radar, for the win!
__________________
“Let go of your attachment to being right, and suddenly your mind is more open. You're able to benefit from the unique viewpoints of others, without being crippled by your own judgment.”
  #13    
Old November 5th, 2012, 05:21 PM
curiousnathan's Avatar
curiousnathan
they said we could be anything
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
I play on my DS Lite. I've always loved it, and I think on 3DS, the gaming experience is just...different.
__________________
moderator | lovely pair | PC live
  #14    
Old November 5th, 2012, 05:32 PM
Krazzikk's Avatar
Krazzikk
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Well, due to me being poor i don't really have a 3DS, so yeah, DSi.
__________________
  #15    
Old November 5th, 2012, 05:57 PM
Mochi's Avatar
Mochi
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Michigan
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintendork15 View Post
You do know you can trade between a 3DS/DS/i
Right?
Yeah, I said I trade between my Lite and 3DS but want a new Lite because my current one is funky to play on from the broken hinge.

The 3DS XL does have a slightly longer battery life, but the previous DS systems still trump the 3DS systems as far as battery goes by a longshot. Makes it nicer to play games for long periods of time like on road trips and such.
__________________
  #16    
Old November 5th, 2012, 05:59 PM
Ω Ruby and α Sapphire's Avatar
Ω Ruby and α Sapphire
Hope will never die! ~Lucina
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Victoria, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
I use my DSi! I have a 3DS, but I don't like the way DS games look on it. They look all weird, and then when you hold select to make it proportional it goes so small! So yeah, that is why is use my DSi!
__________________
  #17    
Old November 5th, 2012, 06:29 PM
Iceman3317's Avatar
Iceman3317
Kalos Explorer!
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mistralton City
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Right now I am using my DSiXL. I plan on getting the 3ds xl sooner or layer,but I just don't feel like wasteing money for a new DS when I just got the IXL 2 years ago after having the first DS they came out with sense then.
__________________
Friend Code - 2251 4942 3229
Friend Safari Pokemon - Abra, Espurr, and Duosion
Pm me with your FC so I can add you if you add me.
  #18    
Old November 5th, 2012, 08:18 PM
Synerjee's Avatar
Synerjee
A madman with a box.
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: The Time Vortex
Age: 20
Nature: Relaxed
I think I'm the only one here who played it on an emulator on my computer. :P The main reason of this being my DS Lite is at home and I'm not at home now. And the emulator works just as fine, but without WiFi connection. And it makes my computer throw fits, make loud angry whirring noises and crash all my open applications. Yeah. I should change my computer soon. But that's out of topic lol. ><

I want a new DS! Anything. 3DS or DSi. It would make me so very happy.
__________________
All of time and space; everywhere and anywhere;
every star that ever was. Where do you want to start?

pairs | twitter | showdown | lake valor | pc family
  #19    
Old November 5th, 2012, 09:21 PM
Rivvon's Avatar
Rivvon
Unburden Belly Drum
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
I first booted it up on 3DS and I don't care for how blurry it looks at all. It looks much better on my DSi, which is what I'm using. I only put the cartridge into my 3DS when I need to transfer something from Dream Radar.
__________________
  #20    
Old November 5th, 2012, 11:27 PM
Dmatt's Avatar
Dmatt
Medium-Rare Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by `Brianna View Post
What is this start and select thing you speak of? What does it do? I am curious.

I mostly play it on my 3ds because it's more comfortable that my Dsi and DS lite. I sometimes switch, though, when my 3ds isn't charged and vice versa.
It changes between "full resolution" and "original" or something of that sort... But it looks way too small when you play it that way, and the distortion "fix" is minimal. If anything, just the overworld looks sharper, but the battle looks not-so-good.
__________________
Name: Dmatt/Dan
Pearl : 2538 0185 7851
SoulSilver : 2495 0636 9069
White : 0905 9140 0338

My thread: Trades, EV services, Breeding. Clicky.
  #21    
Old November 6th, 2012, 06:56 AM
Sora's Avatar
Sora
The Keyblade Pokémon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Under Red's Bed
Nature: Gentle
Playing it on a DS Lite myself. Or rather, on my sibling's DS Lite. Mine has a broken hinge that makes it hard to play on and it also doesn't seem to like to connect to wifi at all anymore. Hopefully I'll be getting a 3DS to replace my DS relatively soon.
__________________
you are wonderful
  #22    
Old November 6th, 2012, 08:43 AM
Cassino's Avatar
Cassino
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Gender:
Nature: Serious
Quote:
Originally Posted by `Brianna View Post
What is this start and select thing you speak of?
One only needs to hold select, actually. Do so as a DS game is starting (ie. during the black screen before anything comes up).

Quote:
Originally Posted by `Brianna View Post
What does it do?
As Dmatt said, it will cause a DS game to run at its native resolution. I will add that because the physical size of pixels on a 3DS screen is smaller, the display will be smaller than on a DS.
  #23    
Old November 6th, 2012, 09:01 AM
Talli's Avatar
Talli
Prince of the Ninja tribe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dragontopia island
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
I have to play it on my 3DS as that is the only one of my DSes that Wi-fi works.
__________________
  #24    
Old November 6th, 2012, 10:03 AM
PlatinumDude's Avatar
PlatinumDude
Nyeh?
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Send a message via Yahoo to PlatinumDude Send a message via Skype™ to PlatinumDude
I'm currently using my 3DS for B2/W2; I mainly use my DSi for trading between my own games.
__________________

  #25    
Old November 6th, 2012, 04:00 PM
rizoph's Avatar
rizoph
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Female
Nature: Mild
I'm playing on a 3DS because my little sister is the one with a DSi.
__________________


Join tsukinohito.com/temp_forum
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.