Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Reload this Page [Question] Trainer Battle BGM not working at all

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old November 9th, 2012 (10:15 AM). Edited November 9th, 2012 by ~JV~.
~JV~'s Avatar
~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
Dev of Pokémon Uranium
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 712
Send a message via Skype™ to ~JV~
Hey guys, this issue happened on the last few weeks and it's one of the first times I have NO IDEA on what's going on and how to fix. As the title says, trainer BGM isn't working nad I've already narrowed down the problem, but still can't find a solution. Here is what I know:

-It has nothing to do with scripts, I tried using the default Essentials script files and it still doesn't work (I never made changes to any audio related script...).

-It has nothing to do with the mp3 file.

-When I do a DEBUG trainer battle THE BGM PLAYS.

-In Gym/Rival battles IT WORKS (can this be related to pbtrainerend or pbnoticeplayer etc??).

-Wild battles are fine.

-Cries, menu sounds... everything else plays just fine, it's just the bgm that has problems.


Don't come suggesting workaround please, I need solutions =/. BTW, I get no error windows...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old November 9th, 2012 (12:50 PM).
Luka S.J.'s Avatar
Luka S.J. Luka S.J. is offline
@LukaSJ0
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Croatia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 804
Check the bit-rate of the mp3 file. If it is something like 320 kbps it won't work. I had the same problems. I found that 128 kbps works the best with RMXP, but if you want higher quality, 220 kbps worked for me as well. I haven't tested out too many mp3 files, but higher than that, never worked for me.

If the problem is what I suggested, Audacity can easily export your mp3 files in 128 kbps bit-rate.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old November 9th, 2012 (01:08 PM).
~JV~'s Avatar
~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
Dev of Pokémon Uranium
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 712
Send a message via Skype™ to ~JV~
Quote originally posted by Luka S.J.:
Check the bit-rate of the mp3 file. If it is something like 320 kbps it won't work. I had the same problems. I found that 128 kbps works the best with RMXP, but if you want higher quality, 220 kbps worked for me as well. I haven't tested out too many mp3 files, but higher than that, never worked for me.

If the problem is what I suggested, Audacity can easily export your mp3 files in 128 kbps bit-rate.
I've tried that... I've tried using midis, using .ogg... nothing works. It isn't script, it isn't pbs, it isn't the audio file. No matter what I do, regular trainer bgm won't play. I have no idea if a file could have gotten corrupted or something. This is the weirdest bug I faced since 2008. =/
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old November 9th, 2012 (01:11 PM).
Luka S.J.'s Avatar
Luka S.J. Luka S.J. is offline
@LukaSJ0
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Croatia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 804
Try replacing or removing the Audio dll. I don't know what else to say, at first it sounded just like simple RMXP incompatibility. Is it like that for all Trainer Battle BGMs or just one?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old November 9th, 2012 (02:17 PM).
~JV~'s Avatar
~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
Dev of Pokémon Uranium
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 712
Send a message via Skype™ to ~JV~
Audio.dll isn't part of Essentials anymore. I noticed the game hangs for a couple of seconds the first time I get noticed by a trainer. This probably has to do with it since it didn't use to happen.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old November 9th, 2012 (07:09 PM).
ambalance's Avatar
ambalance ambalance is offline
Vorpal_Rabbit
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: N/a
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 9
I've recently encountered the same issue. As in, the exact same. My trainer battle BGM doesn't work for any trainers, save for a BUG CATCHER. I attempted reimporting the music files, testing to see if other extensions would work, changing the unique BGM for each trainer, each map and even trying to play a BGM with a script. Nothing worked.
I even copied my entire game's data to the updated version of Essentials, but I am having the same issue. Can anyone help us?

I'm pretty sure it isn't down to the bitrate of the BGM files, seeing as my desired BGM works in a battle with a bug catcher, but not for a youngster, firebreather, cooltrainer, etc.
__________________
Signature:
Writer/Mapper/Eventing/Scripter/Spriter.

Also, writer.
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old November 10th, 2012 (05:14 AM).
~JV~'s Avatar
~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
Dev of Pokémon Uranium
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 712
Send a message via Skype™ to ~JV~
Quote originally posted by ambalance:
I've recently encountered the same issue. As in, the exact same. My trainer battle BGM doesn't work for any trainers, save for a BUG CATCHER. I attempted reimporting the music files, testing to see if other extensions would work, changing the unique BGM for each trainer, each map and even trying to play a BGM with a script. Nothing worked.
I even copied my entire game's data to the updated version of Essentials, but I am having the same issue. Can anyone help us?

I'm pretty sure it isn't down to the bitrate of the BGM files, seeing as my desired BGM works in a battle with a bug catcher, but not for a youngster, firebreather, cooltrainer, etc.
What bugs me more is that debug trainer battle works, so does when you use the change battle bgm command. what is even worse is that it happens with unedited Essentials script. (but it doesn't happen when I play the raw Essentials example game)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old November 10th, 2012 (09:49 PM).
ambalance's Avatar
ambalance ambalance is offline
Vorpal_Rabbit
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: N/a
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 9
I thought maybe it might have something to do with my map sizes, seeing as I have large maps. I thought it might have something to do with lag, but it seems it doesn't. Still bugging me. I'm out of options!!
__________________
Signature:
Writer/Mapper/Eventing/Scripter/Spriter.

Also, writer.
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old November 11th, 2012 (03:41 AM).
~JV~'s Avatar
~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
Dev of Pokémon Uranium
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 712
Send a message via Skype™ to ~JV~
I FOUND THE SOLUTION!

Find this line in PoemonUtilities:
Code:
 pbMEPlay(bgm)
Comment it and add this:
Code:
 Audio.bgm_play("Audio/ME/#{bgm.name}",bgm.volume,bgm.pitch)
There you go, it's fixed for good. pbMEPlay is just a bad method. For some reason it tends to f*** with what comes next (the battle bgm) because of unknow reasons that have to do with the trainer intro ME (which I noticed having some lag at the first time it plays). Audio.bgm_play was the one used the most in older versions of Essentials, and so far it has been way more realiable to me :)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old November 11th, 2012 (08:22 AM).
ActionReplayer's Avatar
ActionReplayer ActionReplayer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 44
Wait. So, you substituted
Quote:
pbMEPlay(bgm)
for
Quote:
Audio.bgm_play("Audio/ME/#{bgm.name}",bgm.volume,bgm.pitch)
or did you put the second one after the first?
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old November 11th, 2012 (01:48 PM).
~JV~'s Avatar
~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
Dev of Pokémon Uranium
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Age: 21
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 712
Send a message via Skype™ to ~JV~
Quote originally posted by ActionReplayer:
Wait. So, you substituted

for


or did you put the second one after the first?
substituted, however I added the "#" before it because I prefer to have original code commented
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old November 18th, 2012 (02:02 AM).
ambalance's Avatar
ambalance ambalance is offline
Vorpal_Rabbit
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: N/a
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 9
YES! That worked! Thanks so much. I'm glad it worked for you too.
__________________
Signature:
Writer/Mapper/Eventing/Scripter/Spriter.

Also, writer.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:39 PM.