Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Scripts & Tutorials
Reload this Page [Engine] Zelda: Oracles Engine; for Game Maker

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Scripts & Tutorials This forum is for scripts and code, as well as all kinds of tutorials, software, tools and so forth. Remember to give credit!
The thread revival limit does not apply here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old October 17th, 2012 (12:29 AM).
Lord Varion's Avatar
Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
Guess who's back?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Other
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 2,648
Quote originally posted by I'mCatman:
We're only using GML as a simple example of Object oriented programming.

Anyway, you want me to do the up-scaling thing for you again Varion? It looked like you had lost that part
I know what to do with that now.
__________________
gone.
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old October 17th, 2012 (10:27 AM).
Rafael-animal's Avatar
Rafael-animal Rafael-animal is offline
Pokémon DS Kit
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
I always wanted to create my own Zelda game... I hope you release it soon :D
Lucky (;
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old October 17th, 2012 (01:03 PM).
Lord Varion's Avatar
Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
Guess who's back?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Other
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 2,648
''Lucky (;''

Not sure what I'm lucky for?
but nyeh.
Release won't be any day now, most likely. Got lots to do.
__________________
gone.
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old October 18th, 2012 (02:59 AM).
Lord Varion's Avatar
Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
Guess who's back?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Other
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 2,648

Sword is being done.
Animations and cutting work.

Quote:
Anyway, I'm not sure of what use this project really is. It seems outdated in terms of graphical style and therefore perhaps even a few features so only a few would really want to use it. Honestly, I think more people would use a Minish Cap styled engine.
Like I've said in an earlier post, if people wish to change the graphics for the engine they can't. It won't be that hard to do.
__________________
gone.
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old October 19th, 2012 (05:42 AM).
Catman's Avatar
Catman Catman is offline
Testosterone Incarnate
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cyber Space
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 66
Quote originally posted by Nintendork15:

Sword is being done.
Animations and cutting work.



Like I've said in an earlier post, if people wish to change the graphics for the engine they can't. It won't be that hard to do.
Lol, that can't is supposed to be a can right?
And I have thought of a way of making the sprites recognise one sheet (Making use of the import from strip's selection areas) which includes the animations. So yeah, we should try to sort this out because it'll making graphics swaps much, much easier.
__________________
Be excellent to each other...
...and party on, dudes!
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old October 19th, 2012 (07:21 AM).
Lord Varion's Avatar
Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
Guess who's back?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Other
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 2,648
lol, yeah it's a can.
But as of now, I'm fine with the way I'm doing things.
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old November 14th, 2012 (08:45 PM).
Lin Lin is offline
JohtoMap/ZOLE Creator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 51
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Lin
Looks pretty good so far! Just so you know though, ZOLE can export entire tilesets from both games, which might be easier for you when it comes to mapping instead of using fan-made maps. :)
__________________
Hiidoran is one of the most helpful people on here
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old November 15th, 2012 (03:02 AM).
Lord Varion's Avatar
Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
Guess who's back?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Other
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 2,648
Quote originally posted by Lin:
Looks pretty good so far! Just so you know though, ZOLE can export entire tilesets from both games, which might be easier for you when it comes to mapping instead of using fan-made maps.
In the .gmk file I have added the maps of Ages, seasons and Fan Made Hours.
So they have 3 styles to choose from. But I may need to export the dungeon tiles from that, actually.
__________________
gone.
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old November 15th, 2012 (08:39 AM).
Lishy Lishy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
I am super-excited for this. Keep it up!

My only complaints are the top menu would not be transparent because the GBC actually isn't capable of that (to my knowledge..)
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old November 15th, 2012 (09:04 AM).
Lord Varion's Avatar
Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
Guess who's back?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Other
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 2,648
Quote originally posted by Lishy:
I am super-excited for this. Keep it up!

My only complaints are the top menu would not be transparent because the GBC actually isn't capable of that (to my knowledge..)
It needs to be transparent, over link can walk under it and you won't see him.
And, it can be change able to anyone who wishes.
__________________
gone.
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old November 15th, 2012 (09:06 AM). Edited November 15th, 2012 by Lishy.
Lishy Lishy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
Quote originally posted by Nintendork15:
It needs to be transparent, over link can walk under it and you won't see him.
And, it can be change able to anyone who wishes.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8WiGoOXgIM

It's not actually part of the "screen" though. The engine should be redone for this slight detail if it's going for accuracy.
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old November 15th, 2012 (09:11 AM).
Lord Varion's Avatar
Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
Guess who's back?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Other
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 2,648
It's hard to put in with the way I'm doing things.
The HUD bar itself is not an object, it's shown using codes.
So it doesn't and can't have collision data. I know what your saying, but I can't make it 100% to the original.
__________________
gone.
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old November 15th, 2012 (12:15 PM).
Lishy Lishy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
Quote originally posted by Nintendork15:
It's hard to put in with the way I'm doing things.
The HUD bar itself is not an object, it's shown using codes.
So it doesn't and can't have collision data. I know what your saying, but I can't make it 100% to the original.
Isn't it possible to show the status bar at the top "offscreen"? Because when the player moves between zones and different screens, it will look very weird with it ontop of the player. Furthermore, it might frustrate those going for 8-bit accuracy.
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old November 15th, 2012 (12:35 PM).
Lord Varion's Avatar
Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
Guess who's back?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Other
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 2,648
That would mean extending the port on screen and camera view, therefore viewing what's gonna be where I've just extended everything.

No matter which way you or I go of thinking about this, the chances of a solution are slim.
__________________
gone.
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old November 15th, 2012 (12:36 PM).
DaSpirit's Avatar
DaSpirit DaSpirit is offline
Mad Programmer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 237
Chances of solution slim? Huh? I have tons of ideas of how to make something like this work.

Easiest solution: Why don't you just make another view?
__________________
My Links:
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old November 15th, 2012 (01:14 PM).
Lord Varion's Avatar
Lord Varion Lord Varion is offline
Guess who's back?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Other
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 2,648
Quote originally posted by DaSpirit:
Chances of solution slim? Huh? I have tons of ideas of how to make something like this work.

Easiest solution: Why don't you just make another view?
I said ''Not matter how he or me thinks of it, chances of solution are slim.''
Never said anything about you.

If I do that, when link goes what would be to the next panel of the map, he'll walk, and the camera will not follow.
__________________
gone.
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old December 10th, 2012 (12:08 PM).
Macronix Macronix is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
You got any new things/update so far?
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old December 10th, 2012 (03:46 PM).
DaSpirit's Avatar
DaSpirit DaSpirit is offline
Mad Programmer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 237
Quote originally posted by Nintendork15:
I said ''Not matter how he or me thinks of it, chances of solution are slim.''
Never said anything about you.

If I do that, when link goes what would be to the next panel of the map, he'll walk, and the camera will not follow.
I was wondering why you thought the chances of solution were slim in the first place.

And by adding another view on top of the current one, the camera would still follow Link because the camera is part of the other view.

Or you can make the camera code in the end step event rather than having GameMaker do it for you automatically.

Regardless, it shouldn't matter too much, but I like to see the area fully! >.<
__________________
My Links:
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old February 8th, 2013 (04:19 PM).
Ooka's Avatar
Ooka Ooka is offline
<3
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Challenging The E4
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Ooka
Quote originally posted by KingCharizard:
I use C++ and Direct X to develop games. Also your assumption of my skills is wrong and insulting...
I use GameMaker and GML to develop games. Also your assumption of my skills is wrong and insulting...




@OP - Great job on the engine man, can't wait to see a finished product (Might even end up using it myself).
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:35 AM.