The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old November 1st, 2012, 09:14 PM
Derxwna Kapsyla's Avatar
Derxwna Kapsyla
X-Class Project, Derxwna, #003
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Margate, FL
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Back a few months ago, there was a thread for a Pokemon Essentials custom-feature, a script that allowed you to activate Turbo Mode. The link to said script is in this thread here.
Now, I have two questions regarding it. The first one is, when I dropped it into Essentials proper, I got an error, about "update" being undefined. So I moved the "def update" up a line, and I got another error about a superclass, I forget which one it was. Problem is, I don't know how to fix this at all. Hopefully somebody knows?
Second question is, in that thread, there was a question asked about how to bind the Turbo Button to an actual button and not a script. The method provided, apparently, returned an error, and no solution was posted. Is there a way that the way to trigger Turbo mode can be bound to a button instead of a switch?
I figured I'd make a new thread to ask these questions, instead of Necro-bumping a four month old thread.
__________________
Development Blog:
For more information future news and updates to any projects, the following blogs are where I post information. You can usually hit me with a message there when it comes to bug reports or feedback, or general conversation about something.
Game Projects:
In Progress:

Last edited by Derxwna Kapsyla; November 2nd, 2012 at 02:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old November 2nd, 2012, 05:18 AM
IceGod64's Avatar
IceGod64
My imagination.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Castelia City
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
The "Def update" being undefined is never fixable by just having a def update sitting around. def update represents a definition that is proprietary to a given class - So you were already doing wrong by trying to move def update out of the class it's inside. Not to mention, even if that were correct, you only moved the def line, and not the entire def. The result is a syntax error of initializing a class inside of a def.

The thread for this script is August 2010. That was so far back, I don't even think Maruno had taken the project yet, in fact, Poccil may have even been still updating it(Not quite sure). Since that time, so many script sections and classes have been cleaned up, rearranged, changed, renamed, or deleted that there's no definite cause of the crash, and there are probably a lot more fixes needed than just one. It would most likely just be easier to start from scratch; Essentials has moved on, and this script hasn't moved with it for at least ten versions.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old November 2nd, 2012, 09:21 AM
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
I don't know which thread you're looking at, IceGod64, but the one linked to was made in March 2012.

From the looks of it, there are some missing alias lines. There should be one in each class, but only the first class has one. Copy the alias line (no changes necessary) into the other classes, before the def update.

Make sure you're putting the script in its own script section, directly above Main.

I didn't realise I'd been credited for that script. I don't remember it at all.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old November 2nd, 2012, 06:47 PM
Derxwna Kapsyla's Avatar
Derxwna Kapsyla
X-Class Project, Derxwna, #003
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Margate, FL
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
That did fix it, thanks Maruno.
As for the second question, is there a way I can bind it to a button? That way I don't need to have it set to run on each map all the time.
__________________
Development Blog:
For more information future news and updates to any projects, the following blogs are where I post information. You can usually hit me with a message there when it comes to bug reports or feedback, or general conversation about something.
Game Projects:
In Progress:
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old November 24th, 2012, 04:09 PM
Derxwna Kapsyla's Avatar
Derxwna Kapsyla
X-Class Project, Derxwna, #003
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Margate, FL
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Okay so, I'm bumping my own thread because, after diving into numerous scripts and tutorials, I figured out how to bind the Turbo function to a solitary button.
Thanks to the tutorial that Fl put on the wiki about recreating the Heart Gold/Soul Silver running shoes, It helped me figure out how to bind it.
The first thing you need to do is get the Turbo Script inserted above main, as earlier said. The second thing you need to do is, in "Scene_Map" in the scripts, paste the following entry before "if $DEBUG and Input.press?(Input::F9)"
Quote:
if Input.trigger?(Input::XXX)
$game_switches[YYY]=!$game_switches[YYY]
end
The XXX could be anything that's in the Input category, defer to the wiki page for Essentials Controls to see whats available. The YYY is a switch, of your choice, that will define how the Turbo button is called. This value must be the same as the Turbo Button's script.
__________________
Development Blog:
For more information future news and updates to any projects, the following blogs are where I post information. You can usually hit me with a message there when it comes to bug reports or feedback, or general conversation about something.
Game Projects:
In Progress:
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old November 28th, 2012, 03:18 AM
Pia Carrot's Avatar
Pia Carrot
Gen II Hacker | PHO Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Yeah, if you're using that old snippet of mine, it needs some fixing. There are plenty of bugs regarding the status screen, especially if you decide to change the screen size. It's quirky like that and needs to be rewritten.
__________________



Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.