The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #23301    
Old December 4th, 2012, 10:34 PM
itman
Back to ROM hacking. :D
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 20
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos Rush View Post
I just searched through the Documents & Tutorials, and Toolbox section, and there isn't a single document/tutorial on making your own tools.

So my question is, how do you make your own tools?
Programming knowledge. You have to know how to make a tool find certain information in the ROM and then change that information depending on what the user clicks/types in and such (user interface programming is needed too). Most I know use C++, but there are many other programming languages that work just as well.
  #23302    
Old December 4th, 2012, 11:38 PM
MissDigitalis's Avatar
MissDigitalis
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Female
Can someone help me find the palette for the female hero sprite?

I looked at this tutorial :http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthr...prite+fire+red

But it doesn't seem to work.

EDIT:

It does work when changing the palette of the already existing sprite but when I try to insert a sprite it messes up the palette.
__________________


Last edited by MissDigitalis; December 4th, 2012 at 11:45 PM.
  #23303    
Old December 5th, 2012, 12:25 AM
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario
The Legendary Master of Light!
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by MissDigitalis View Post
Can someone help me find the palette for the female hero sprite?

I looked at this tutorial :http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthr...prite+fire+red

But it doesn't seem to work.

EDIT:

It does work when changing the palette of the already existing sprite but when I try to insert a sprite it messes up the palette.
You must make sure all the pixels in the image use the exact same palette colour, if it's any different... it will revert to the last colour in the palette. It's exactly the same way as you change the tiles in AdvanceMap, you must make sure all the pixels in the image use the exact same colours as in the palette itself.
__________________
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm really looking forward to learning how to understand what the hex values mean and how to create programs using Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
  #23304    
Old December 5th, 2012, 01:42 AM
MissDigitalis's Avatar
MissDigitalis
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokémonShinySilver View Post
You must make sure all the pixels in the image use the exact same palette colour, if it's any different... it will revert to the last colour in the palette. It's exactly the same way as you change the tiles in AdvanceMap, you must make sure all the pixels in the image use the exact same colours as in the palette itself.

Thank you for trying to help but my trial just ended on photoshop so I don't think I'll be able to do it myself now.
__________________

  #23305    
Old December 5th, 2012, 02:10 AM
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper Chibi Absol View Post
Thank you for the help. :3


Also I need help with something else. I'm getting an error message every time I'm trying to save my Pokemon now which means I can't change the Pokemon you find in certain routes. *frown* Here's a screen shot. Can someone help me with this?

Spoiler:
Dunno what you did, I'm going to ask - did you delete the Wild Pokemon entries on a map as that sometimes makes AdvanceMap go all crazy, or it used to, still may not be safe to do so. If you didn't, I have no idea.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #23306    
Old December 5th, 2012, 05:23 AM
motb777's Avatar
motb777
Spriter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Is this how Chuck Norris find out?
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by motb777 View Post
Sorry guys if I ask already existed questions but:
1) How to edit the pokedex skins in pokemon ruby?
2) How to change the order of the entries (in ruby again)?

Please reply (I've been searching for ages).
Thanks a lot!
Can anybody answer this please?
__________________



Scan this with an Android[/sig-reason]
  #23307    
Old December 5th, 2012, 06:00 AM
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp
I liek Mudkipz
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Skype™ to Herpahermaderp
Quote:
Originally Posted by motb777 View Post
Can anybody answer this please?
http://www.pokecommunity.com/archive.../t-239048.html
This should help you, since it's a unLZ scan of Ruby.
__________________
Y: Roak || 1177-8023-4387
  #23308    
Old December 5th, 2012, 07:36 AM
MissDigitalis's Avatar
MissDigitalis
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokémonShinySilver View Post
You must make sure all the pixels in the image use the exact same palette colour, if it's any different... it will revert to the last colour in the palette. It's exactly the same way as you change the tiles in AdvanceMap, you must make sure all the pixels in the image use the exact same colours as in the palette itself.

I think I found a way of getting around needing photoshop by using PEdit to convert my pal files to act files but I still am not sure how I'm messing up on this.

I have the image of the correct size and then I export the color palette and then convert it to an act file. Then I load the picture as a PNG into the unLZ. The picture loads into the game. Then I open up APE and go to 00460EF0 and import the act file of the picture I just loaded into the game. Then when I check in the game the palette doesn't match.

If I load the palette first it seems to work on the existing female hero sprite but when I load in the image of the new female hero sprite it turns bright pink and cyan again.
__________________

  #23309    
Old December 5th, 2012, 09:32 AM
Hyper Chibi Absol's Avatar
Hyper Chibi Absol
The Chibiest Absol ever :3
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: With muh hubby :3
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
Dunno what you did, I'm going to ask - did you delete the Wild Pokemon entries on a map as that sometimes makes AdvanceMap go all crazy, or it used to, still may not be safe to do so. If you didn't, I have no idea.
I didn't delete all. Technically I didn't delete any because I was just trying the rearrange the Pokemon I already put into the map because I needed to fix the encounter rate (example: I don't want a Meowth to have a 1% rate when I just put him at the bottom of the Pokemon list) The program deleted them when the error came up.

I hope you aren't saying I just f-ed up my ROM because this was meant to be a gift to my fiance's twin brother who's in the hospital. X-X;;;; If that's the case then... Ugh... I dunno what I'm gonna do... This sucks. >o<+
__________________
Love is bliss

Bliss is love
Yin and Yang
Yang and Yin

We are one in the same...

Heart and Soul
Soul and Heart
You and me
Me and you

Let our lives be more than this game...

~Hyper Chibi Absol



Hyper Chibi Absol x TheUmbreonMaster
  #23310    
Old December 5th, 2012, 09:38 AM
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper Chibi Absol View Post
I didn't delete all. Technically I didn't delete any because I was just trying the rearrange the Pokemon I already put into the map because I needed to fix the encounter rate (example: I don't want a Meowth to have a 1% rate when I just put him at the bottom of the Pokemon list) The program deleted them when the error came up.

I hope you aren't saying I just f-ed up my ROM because this was meant to be a gift to my fiance's twin brother who's in the hospital. X-X;;;; If that's the case then... Ugh... I dunno what I'm gonna do... This sucks. >o<+
So, all you were doing was editing the Wild Pokemon Data in a map and you move map and the error comes up? Tried contacting Lu-Ho, the creator of the program? He may be able to give more help about what the issue could be, because from what you've said, this shouldn't be happening. Go through each step that you did.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

  #23311    
Old December 5th, 2012, 09:54 AM
LegendaryMohawk's Avatar
LegendaryMohawk
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mars
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Does anyone know the script for taking away a players pokemon? I need them to be gone since it's just how the hack will go.

I've been searching for it for a while but if you try searching 'release pokemon script' all you get is scripts that have release in. -.-'' Don't even attempt searching for 'taking pokemon away from player' all that it searchs is 'player'.

So does anyone know how I'd go about doing that?
__________________
LegendaryMohawk

Hacks underway: Pokémon Magikarps Adventure - NEW Download availible!
Side
Show Hack: Pokemon Rouge

Join Team Missunderstood Chaos
!


New Banners! Check Them Out On The Thread!
  #23312    
Old December 5th, 2012, 02:23 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by X3 View Post
Does anyone know the script for taking away a players pokemon? I need them to be gone since it's just how the hack will go.

I've been searching for it for a while but if you try searching 'release pokemon script' all you get is scripts that have release in. -.-'' Don't even attempt searching for 'taking pokemon away from player' all that it searchs is 'player'.

So does anyone know how I'd go about doing that?
This thread is definitely what you're looking for. If you don't know how to insert ASM then there's a part in here which can help you.
__________________
  #23313    
Old December 5th, 2012, 04:38 PM
Biggggg5's Avatar
Biggggg5
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Gender: Male
I searched all over but the only one I found is out of date so... Is there an up to date list of completed hacks? If not could someone make one please?
__________________
Please help my dragons!
  #23314    
Old December 5th, 2012, 05:12 PM
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by X3 View Post
Does anyone know the script for taking away a players pokemon? I need them to be gone since it's just how the hack will go.

I've been searching for it for a while but if you try searching 'release pokemon script' all you get is scripts that have release in. -.-'' Don't even attempt searching for 'taking pokemon away from player' all that it searchs is 'player'.

So does anyone know how I'd go about doing that?
A lot of people wish this was possible but unfortunately, there is no such thing as a release Pokemon script.
It's all done by ASM.

There is a work around for it though.
You can use the Daycare script to take the Pokemon away and not place a Daycare centre in your game. But you will also need to make sure that the player will have a Pokemon in his/her party for that to work.
I'm not exactly sure what command is used to move the Pokemon to the Daycare but if you poke around the script, you're bound to find it.
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


  #23315    
Old December 5th, 2012, 08:27 PM
Hyper Chibi Absol's Avatar
Hyper Chibi Absol
The Chibiest Absol ever :3
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: With muh hubby :3
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
So, all you were doing was editing the Wild Pokemon Data in a map and you move map and the error comes up? Tried contacting Lu-Ho, the creator of the program? He may be able to give more help about what the issue could be, because from what you've said, this shouldn't be happening. Go through each step that you did.
I already sent him an email 2 days ago. Just waiting for a reply. I can only assume he's VERY busy for obvious reasons. I just really hope this is an easy fix... I put alot of effort into making this edit. Not just in the rearanging but I was already doing concept art for the poses of the Pokemon and the new Gym Leaders/Trainers/E4/Champion/Team. And I can't abandon the project because that would let my brother-in-law down and I don't that...
__________________
Love is bliss

Bliss is love
Yin and Yang
Yang and Yin

We are one in the same...

Heart and Soul
Soul and Heart
You and me
Me and you

Let our lives be more than this game...

~Hyper Chibi Absol



Hyper Chibi Absol x TheUmbreonMaster
  #23316    
Old December 5th, 2012, 09:58 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper Chibi Absol View Post
Thank you for the help. :3


Also I need help with something else. I'm getting an error message every time I'm trying to save my Pokemon now which means I can't change the Pokemon you find in certain routes. *frown* Here's a screen shot. Can someone help me with this?

Spoiler:
I did some experimenting to replicate what you've been experiencing and it seems like you may have overwritten a number of pointers which point to the lists (Grass, Water, Headbutt etc.) of which Pokemon appear on which route. This large block of pointers is located between 0x39D454 and 0x39DBEA in Ruby. There are quite a few zeroes in this location so something was probably inserted here accidentally and overwrote stuff. You should be able to C+P this data from a clean Ruby ROM to remove the error notification and let your lists save themselves again.

Unfortunately if you do this then any new list pointers which are still usable will be deleted and the the actual new Pokemon lists will be lost somewhere in your ROM. For example: the Route 101 grass Pokemon list will still show your changes, but if you added a water list in Route 101 then its pointer will be deleted. Also, whatever you inserted and overwrote everything with will be deleted so that may cause problems somewhere.

Hopefully that was the culprit, but if not could you post a patch in the thread/ PM it to me so I can have a better look at it? :)
__________________
  #23317    
Old December 6th, 2012, 06:26 AM
Hyper Chibi Absol's Avatar
Hyper Chibi Absol
The Chibiest Absol ever :3
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: With muh hubby :3
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
I did some experimenting to replicate what you've been experiencing and it seems like you may have overwritten a number of pointers which point to the lists (Grass, Water, Headbutt etc.) of which Pokemon appear on which route. This large block of pointers is located between 0x39D454 and 0x39DBEA in Ruby. There are quite a few zeroes in this location so something was probably inserted here accidentally and overwrote stuff. You should be able to C+P this data from a clean Ruby ROM to remove the error notification and let your lists save themselves again.

Unfortunately if you do this then any new list pointers which are still usable will be deleted and the the actual new Pokemon lists will be lost somewhere in your ROM. For example: the Route 101 grass Pokemon list will still show your changes, but if you added a water list in Route 101 then its pointer will be deleted. Also, whatever you inserted and overwrote everything with will be deleted so that may cause problems somewhere.

Hopefully that was the culprit, but if not could you post a patch in the thread/ PM it to me so I can have a better look at it?
Well I'll try that but first how do I change the pointers back? I never even knew about pointers till I used Advanced trainer (which is also giving me problems). I didn't think I changed anything because I was only moving the Pokemon around. Do I need another program to change the HEX or something, or did I just overlook something that's in Advanced Map? *facewall* Sorry for all the questions. To be honest, I'm kind of a newb at this. x-x;;;
__________________
Love is bliss

Bliss is love
Yin and Yang
Yang and Yin

We are one in the same...

Heart and Soul
Soul and Heart
You and me
Me and you

Let our lives be more than this game...

~Hyper Chibi Absol



Hyper Chibi Absol x TheUmbreonMaster
  #23318    
Old December 8th, 2012, 12:42 AM
PokemonMasters's Avatar
PokemonMasters
Always Remember Forever&After
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I hope someone can answer this
Does anyone know how to change the size of an overworld? Like if an overworld is 16x32 how do you change the size?
__________________

+ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
  #23319    
Old December 8th, 2012, 01:40 AM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
I hope someone can answer this
Does anyone know how to change the size of an overworld? Like if an overworld is 16x32 how do you change the size?
With Paint. You either change the size or re-draw it.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #23320    
Old December 8th, 2012, 01:45 AM
PokemonMasters's Avatar
PokemonMasters
Always Remember Forever&After
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
No, I mean when you insert it. Like the sprite is 16x32 and I want to make it 32x32.
__________________

+ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
  #23321    
Old December 8th, 2012, 01:57 AM
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
No, I mean when you insert it. Like the sprite is 16x32 and I want to make it 32x32.
You need to resize the size by repointing some data (there are tutorial for it) or I believe NSE has this feature, I believe.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #23322    
Old December 8th, 2012, 02:02 AM
QuartierGenerale
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:

Quote:
Hi everyone,

I've a question: how can i change the rivals name in my hack? I want when i use \h06 in my script the new name appear instead of old.

I do this with thingy, and it works. The problem is i can't change the numer of letters of names...since i'm using Ruby, the female name is only 3 letters long!

thanks a lot
Quote:
\h06? That's wrong it should be \v\h06... Instead of using that you should just input the name that you want. So instead of \v\h06 you can just put Gary in the script so it will look like a new name for the Rival.
I'm hacking Ruby. The name of rival change depending of gender of player...if i play with a boy, the rival name is MAY, otherwise is BRENDAN. Any one have another idea?

After, another important question: i'm using PKSV for scripting. How can i insert special char like * or arrows (arrows are useful in signpost for example)

Thanks a lot
Anyone can help me? .
  #23323    
Old December 8th, 2012, 12:23 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
No, I mean when you insert it. Like the sprite is 16x32 and I want to make it 32x32.
There is a program called Overworld Changer, it works fairly well and will allow you to change the size of any overworld frame by frame.

There is a tread with complete instructions on resizing and inserting overworlds started by destinedjagold. I don't have 15 posts yet so a direct link isn't allowed however it was the first result on Google for "overworld changer".
  #23324    
Old December 8th, 2012, 08:39 PM
Pinkish Purple's Avatar
Pinkish Purple
五代目水影
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kirigakure
Age: 16
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Does anyone know how to fix this:
__________________
  #23325    
Old December 8th, 2012, 08:50 PM
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper Chibi Absol View Post
Well I'll try that but first how do I change the pointers back? I never even knew about pointers till I used Advanced trainer (which is also giving me problems). I didn't think I changed anything because I was only moving the Pokemon around. Do I need another program to change the HEX or something, or did I just overlook something that's in Advanced Map? *facewall* Sorry for all the questions. To be honest, I'm kind of a newb at this. x-x;;;
There are lots of HEX editing programs out on the internet, like HEX Workshop, HxD or Cygnus. If its this over your head I think it would be best to just PM me an .ips file of your hack so I can see what's happenning and hopefully get it straightened out :P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinkish Purple View Post
Does anyone know how to fix this:
It seems like you've set your border on that map to be the first tile in the regular FR tileset. While it may look black in A-Map due to the palette that it is using, the tile is actually completely transparent. Just change the border to some other configuration of tiles and it should look okay.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.