Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page EMULATION Questions Thread

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #576    
Old December 4th, 2012 (12:02 PM).
GenSmit's Avatar
GenSmit GenSmit is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
So I have officially become confused.

I have been playing Pokemon Emerald on my phone using the MyBoy emulator and decided that I wanted to trade a few pokemon so I went on my computer, got the save file off of the phone and used No$GBA to trade a few starters into that gamefile. Now I'm trying to put the save file back onto my phone so I can play it with the new starters and all.

Here's the problem: When I put the save file back onto my phone and open up the rom it doesnn't recognize that the save file even exists. I placed it with the same file extension and file name as before in the same directory as the rom, but the rom just acts like there isn't a save file there. Is there anything I can do to fix this or can MyBoy just not recognize the save data?
Reply With Quote
  #577    
Old December 4th, 2012 (12:35 PM).
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm Nate VonGrimm is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 124
Quote originally posted by GenSmit:
So I have officially become confused.

I have been playing Pokemon Emerald on my phone using the MyBoy emulator and decided that I wanted to trade a few pokemon so I went on my computer, got the save file off of the phone and used No$GBA to trade a few starters into that gamefile. Now I'm trying to put the save file back onto my phone so I can play it with the new starters and all.

Here's the problem: When I put the save file back onto my phone and open up the rom it doesnn't recognize that the save file even exists. I placed it with the same file extension and file name as before in the same directory as the rom, but the rom just acts like there isn't a save file there. Is there anything I can do to fix this or can MyBoy just not recognize the save data?
My Boy is written in a different language to NO$GBA, they both handle data differently.
My Boy also makes 3 different files (instead of 1) when running a GBA game. The main save file (.SAV), another save file and then an image.
I'm not sure what the other 2 files are for but they seem to be needed when loading the main save.
I'm not sure how to fix this but you are properly better off asking the dev of My Boy for some answers.
His email is on the Play Store.
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


Reply With Quote
  #578    
Old December 5th, 2012 (09:40 PM).
-'s Avatar
- - is offline
Call me Dash.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oregon
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 21
Send a message via Skype™ to -
Any ds emulators that let you use a jailbroken apple device as a bottom touch screen and then use your monitor / keyboard as top screen and button input?
__________________
Sig broke. qwq
Reply With Quote
  #579    
Old December 7th, 2012 (02:41 PM).
swillomnibus swillomnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Hi all, I want to play pokemon snakewood so downloaded the IPS file, but what else do I need to play it etc?

Sorry but new tho this!

Cheers,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #580    
Old December 7th, 2012 (03:50 PM).
-'s Avatar
- - is offline
Call me Dash.
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oregon
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 21
Send a message via Skype™ to -
Quote originally posted by swillomnibus:
Hi all, I want to play pokemon snakewood so downloaded the IPS file, but what else do I need to play it etc?

Sorry but new tho this!

Cheers,
Steve
You're going to need an IPS patcher (I use LIPS(Lunar IPS) I can't provide a link, just google it.) And a rom of the original game. Basically you run the patcher and patch the original game with the IPS. That will yield a patched rom of Pokemon Snakewood. Run the rom through an emulator to play.
__________________
Sig broke. qwq
Reply With Quote
  #581    
Old December 7th, 2012 (04:18 PM).
swillomnibus swillomnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Quote originally posted by -:
You're going to need an IPS patcher (I use LIPS(Lunar IPS) I can't provide a link, just google it.) And a rom of the original game. Basically you run the patcher and patch the original game with the IPS. That will yield a patched rom of Pokemon Snakewood. Run the rom through an emulator to play.

Awesome cheers for that.

But at the moment i've downloaded snakewood from this site and found Lunar IPS.

So basically I need an original version of the game (which oneruby/sapphire) and then apply the snakewood to the original via the lunar IPS I take it then?

If so, can I get the original file from this site?

Thank you again
Reply With Quote
  #582    
Old December 7th, 2012 (05:59 PM). Edited December 7th, 2012 by Nate VonGrimm.
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm Nate VonGrimm is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 124
Quote originally posted by swillomnibus:
Awesome cheers for that.

But at the moment i've downloaded snakewood from this site and found Lunar IPS.

So basically I need an original version of the game (which oneruby/sapphire) and then apply the snakewood to the original via the lunar IPS I take it then?

If so, can I get the original file from this site?

Thank you again
Lunar IPS is the commonly used one.

Yes, You download the version the game was created on (Which is Ruby), Load Lunar IPS, Select the IPS file, then the ROM, then you patch =]

We are not allowed to post links to ROM's (Forum rules).

Google is your friend.
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


Reply With Quote
  #583    
Old December 8th, 2012 (01:02 AM).
swillomnibus swillomnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Quote originally posted by Nate VonGrimm:
Lunar IPS is the commonly used one.

Yes, You download the version the game was created on (Which is Ruby), Load Lunar IPS, Select the IPS file, then the ROM, then you patch =]

We are not allowed to post links to ROM's (Forum rules).

Google is your friend.
Awesome thank you so much, i've cracked it
Reply With Quote
  #584    
Old December 8th, 2012 (02:26 PM).
KyX KyX is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Does someone know if it's possible to make a AR code for BW2 to always get double wild battles?
I've searched a lot in google but couldn't find anything.
Reply With Quote
  #585    
Old December 9th, 2012 (07:16 AM).
cfx90 cfx90 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
I've searched and searched and searched for a Evolution Editor, and found a couple (like from 2008) but they don't work for whatever reason. All I'm after is a way to evolve trade Pokemon (Alakazam, Golem, Gengar, Machamp) in FR/LG while playing on VBA. I used to have a program that let you change it so they evolve at a level instead of by trade. It had an Eevee as the program icon. The program Pokemon Editor seems to be what I want BUT keeps giving me an error (InvalidArguement=Value of '15' is not valid for 'index'.) and wound up giving me a white screen when I load my game.

Help!? A method of trading or a editor to change the trade requirement would be great...
Reply With Quote
  #586    
Old December 9th, 2012 (11:47 AM).
Craver's Avatar
Craver Craver is offline
I'm From WAH!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Argentina
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 46
I have problems with Sappy mod 17.1. I've installed correctly (first version 2006 and then replacing it with the mod 17.1) I have Windows 7 Enterprise x86 and is updated to the day of the date. The problem is that when I run the application doesn't open. And if I drag the ROM. Gba to sappy, opens correctly, but if I want to file assembly. S, sappy closes saying "sappy 2006 has stopped working" HELP!!
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
Reply With Quote
  #587    
Old December 9th, 2012 (12:16 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
Dragon at heart
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 9,682
Try finding an older sappy 2006 installer, then run it and install Sappy 2006. It'll register some files in the registry that it requires to run.
__________________
| | | | |
PM | VM
PC Minecraft Bukkit Server Moderator


Do the best with whatever you can today.
Then tomorrow, you will have surely progressed.


The Legend of Legacy - Main Battle Theme
Reply With Quote
  #588    
Old December 9th, 2012 (12:19 PM).
Craver's Avatar
Craver Craver is offline
I'm From WAH!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Argentina
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 46
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
Try finding an older sappy 2006 installer, then run it and install Sappy 2006. It'll register some files in the registry that it requires to run.
IF you want i'll show you a video. i'm doing exactly that you say but nothing happens. Anyway i'll do it again
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
Reply With Quote
  #589    
Old January 1st, 2013 (03:23 PM).
BXisAWOL BXisAWOL is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
Hey guys I'm just getting into Pokemulation and I'm trying to play Soul Silver but I heard it was bugged unless you have a patch. Can anyone give me more info on this? Or just how to play it correctly and what emulator to use?
Reply With Quote
  #590    
Old January 1st, 2013 (04:35 PM).
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm Nate VonGrimm is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 124
Quote originally posted by BXisAWOL:
Hey guys I'm just getting into Pokemulation and I'm trying to play Soul Silver but I heard it was bugged unless you have a patch. Can anyone give me more info on this? Or just how to play it correctly and what emulator to use?
It's not bugged. It's full of pirate checks which causes the game to crash due to being emulated. The patch simply freezes these pirate checks so that it doesn't cause any crashes.
As far as I know, you have to use No$GBA for the patch to work.
If it works for DeSmuME, Can someone confirm this please?
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


Reply With Quote
  #591    
Old January 1st, 2013 (04:46 PM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote originally posted by Nate VonGrimm:
It's not bugged. It's full of pirate checks which causes the game to crash due to being emulated. The patch simply freezes these pirate checks so that it doesn't cause any crashes.
As far as I know, you have to use No$GBA for the patch to work.
If it works for DeSmuME, Can someone confirm this please?
It works fine on the latest Desmume, I've played the entire rom without any crashes or errors.
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #592    
Old January 1st, 2013 (07:40 PM).
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm Nate VonGrimm is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 124
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
It works fine on the latest Desmume, I've played the entire rom without any crashes or errors.
Quote originally posted by BXisAWOL:
Hey guys I'm just getting into Pokemulation and I'm trying to play Soul Silver but I heard it was bugged unless you have a patch. Can anyone give me more info on this? Or just how to play it correctly and what emulator to use?
Quote originally posted by Nate VonGrimm:
It's not bugged. It's full of pirate checks which causes the game to crash due to being emulated. The patch simply freezes these pirate checks so that it doesn't cause any crashes.
As far as I know, you have to use No$GBA for the patch to work.
If it works for DeSmuME, Can someone confirm this please?
Thanks VERGUNDAI for the confirmation.

BXisAWOL, You can use either No$GBA or DeSmuME with a patched Soul Silver.
You should be able to find the patch through Google.
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


Reply With Quote
  #593    
Old January 1st, 2013 (11:36 PM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 12,950
Quote originally posted by Nate VonGrimm:
If it works for DeSmuME, Can someone confirm this please?
As VERGUNDAI confirmed, play on DeSmuME isn't problematic, but don't try AR freeze fixes or something, that only makes more bugs.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #594    
Old January 2nd, 2013 (11:03 AM).
BXisAWOL BXisAWOL is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
ok thanks for the help guys
Reply With Quote
  #595    
Old January 8th, 2013 (04:36 AM).
AnonygooseD's Avatar
AnonygooseD AnonygooseD is offline
Lametrainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Africa
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 476
Hey all, I've just downloaded an official GBA Video ROM containing 2 episodes of Pokemon, I tried to run it on PSP on the gPSP emulator but it's lagging and the sound is slow making the episodes impossible to watch. Is there anything I can do in the configuration to make it play normally? Any help is appreciated
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #596    
Old January 8th, 2013 (05:34 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 12,950
Quote originally posted by AnonygooseD:
Hey all, I've just downloaded an official GBA Video ROM containing 2 episodes of Pokemon, I tried to run it on PSP on the gPSP emulator but it's lagging and the sound is slow making the episodes impossible to watch. Is there anything I can do in the configuration to make it play normally? Any help is appreciated
Have you tried VBA on PC if it's actually working?
The PSP emulation of GBA isn't that good... that might also be a reason.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #597    
Old January 8th, 2013 (09:00 PM).
AnonygooseD's Avatar
AnonygooseD AnonygooseD is offline
Lametrainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Africa
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 476
It works well on PC, but I'm sure there's something that could fix it on PSP;
For example I was able to play Pokemon hacks uploaded here after I changed something in the gPSP configuration file, there could be a similar solution for my ROM?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #598    
Old January 9th, 2013 (01:52 AM).
goukazaru goukazaru is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender:
Posts: 5
Is there a way to trade or battle in 4th gen games in no$gba using double screen? the game freezes when i try.
Reply With Quote
  #599    
Old January 9th, 2013 (03:27 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 12,950
Quote originally posted by goukazaru:
Is there a way to trade or battle in 4th gen games in no$gba using double screen? the game freezes when i try.
Of course, it's not possible with No$GBA, it is probably possible with DeSmuME.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #600    
Old January 11th, 2013 (01:18 AM).
Daryan001 Daryan001 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
I dont need any links or anything special i just need to know how i can get a ups or ips to a gba gb or anything like that. none of the files are working..
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:32 AM.