Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Pokémon 4th Gen Mapping (Still in the works, Importing is not done yet)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old October 10th, 2012 (01:00 AM).
Pike15's Avatar
Pike15 Pike15 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 168
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
I thought of it, about RSE remake and I made littleroot town.
Then again I thought about LOL this won't make any difference.

Since I used HGSS, i used the build from Pallet Town to start off, since it had the Pallet Town 3D Building data. But I also wanted to use the New Bark 3D building datas which had the appropriate models to load the houses.

And the models from New Bark won't load on Pallet Town.
i wanna some of you´re maps please sir. Becuase i wanna see what you can do with this tools
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeding 350px height limit
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #52    
Old October 25th, 2012 (12:33 PM).
Beike Beike is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Hey, I'd like to say thanks for the tutorial, it's really clear and helpful. However, I have a small problem. Your maps seem to open with textures automatically in Sketchup. Well, mine don't... For the record, I'm using HGSS maps. I've tried several, but none of them work. I'm using Sketchup 8, the free version. Anyone would happen to know the solution to this?
Reply With Quote
  #53    
Old October 25th, 2012 (12:38 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
Quote originally posted by Beike:
Hey, I'd like to say thanks for the tutorial, it's really clear and helpful. However, I have a small problem. Your maps seem to open with textures automatically in Sketchup. Well, mine don't... :nervous: For the record, I'm using HGSS maps. I've tried several, but none of them work. I'm using Sketchup 8, the free version. Anyone would happen to know the solution to this?
They should. Make sure that Ignore Material Library?: is set to No when you are importing the map. Setting this to Yes will make it be all white.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #54    
Old October 25th, 2012 (08:35 PM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
There's a bug sometimes, you need to reinstall it, or clear the Skecthup caches.
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #55    
Old October 25th, 2012 (08:39 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
There's a bug sometimes, you need to reinstall it, or clear the Skecthup caches.
I never knew that it had a cache in the first place. But just try playing a bit with your settings.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #56    
Old October 26th, 2012 (09:54 AM).
Beike Beike is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Afraid the suggestions didn't solve my problem. Ignore Material Library is set to no, I've tried reinstalling both the plugin and Google Sketchup itself, but I still get all black/white textures. I am sure these maps have textures because they show up in MKDS. Any suggestions ?
Reply With Quote
  #57    
Old October 26th, 2012 (09:56 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
Perhaps it might be because I've seen that Sketchup was changed to Trimble Sketchup. I'll see if there is a plugin for that.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #58    
Old October 27th, 2012 (12:57 AM).
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
The Legendary Master of Light!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,526
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
Perhaps it might be because I've seen that Sketchup was changed to Trimble Sketchup. I'll see if there is a plugin for that.
Actually, it has nothing to do with the name. 'Cause I've used Trimble Sketchup (the free version) with the same plugin that you're using, and it imported all the textures into the map.

Quote originally posted by Beike:
Afraid the suggestions didn't solve my problem. Ignore Material Library is set to no, I've tried reinstalling both the plugin and Google Sketchup itself, but I still get all black/white textures. I am sure these maps have textures because they show up in MKDS. Any suggestions ?
The reason why your map doesn't have any textures showing up in it... is quite simple: You didn't export the NSBMD with the textures. The only way to do so is by using SDSME and under "3D Model", click on "Export with Textures". Then you'll be able to export the NSBMD with the textures, then open it up in MKDS Course Modifier and export as .obj.
__________________
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm gradually learning to use Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
Reply With Quote
  #59    
Old November 7th, 2012 (08:50 AM). Edited November 8th, 2012 by giradialkia.
Beike Beike is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Quote originally posted by PokémonShinySilver:
Actually, it has nothing to do with the name. 'Cause I've used Trimble Sketchup (the free version) with the same plugin that you're using, and it imported all the textures into the map.



The reason why your map doesn't have any textures showing up in it... is quite simple: You didn't export the NSBMD with the textures. The only way to do so is by using SDSME and under "3D Model", click on "Export with Textures". Then you'll be able to export the NSBMD with the textures, then open it up in MKDS Course Modifier and export as .obj.
Sadly, it's not that simple. I double-checked it by exporting it again using that option, and on top of that, the textures show up in MKDS Converter, so I am sure they are there. It's not the game either, since I tried DPP maps as well, and they won't open with textures either :(

Edit: It doesn't seem to be Sketchup? Textures won't open in Blender either...

Edit2: Not my computer's fault, doesn't work on other computers either. I've tried about everything I could think of, so I'm pretty much stuck... I'm still getting the models all white (and squarey) and the ground all grey. Anyone willing to upload a correctly textured HGSS map (or DPP if you want to) to see if I can open that?

Would anyone be able to help me?
Reply With Quote
  #60    
Old November 11th, 2012 (06:19 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
Quote originally posted by Beike:
Sadly, it's not that simple. I double-checked it by exporting it again using that option, and on top of that, the textures show up in MKDS Converter, so I am sure they are there. It's not the game either, since I tried DPP maps as well, and they won't open with textures either :(

Edit: It doesn't seem to be Sketchup? Textures won't open in Blender either...

Edit2: Not my computer's fault, doesn't work on other computers either. I've tried about everything I could think of, so I'm pretty much stuck... I'm still getting the models all white (and squarey) and the ground all grey. Anyone willing to upload a correctly textured HGSS map (or DPP if you want to) to see if I can open that?

Would anyone be able to help me?
Are you sure you're exporting your map with textures?
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #61    
Old November 12th, 2012 (07:11 AM). Edited November 16th, 2012 by Beike.
Beike Beike is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
Are you sure you're exporting your map with textures?
The textures show up in both SDSME and MKDS Converter, so yeah, I think I can say I'm sure enough. I'm thinking it has to do something with MKDS Converter, but I've got no clue what I would be looking for.

Edit: Just read Spiky got an OBJ converter working. I guess I'll wait for that and try out whether that does work.
Reply With Quote
  #62    
Old November 17th, 2012 (07:16 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
Quote originally posted by Beike:
The textures show up in both SDSME and MKDS Converter, so yeah, I think I can say I'm sure enough. I'm thinking it has to do something with MKDS Converter, but I've got no clue what I would be looking for.

Edit: Just read Spiky got an OBJ converter working. I guess I'll wait for that and try out whether that does work.
Well, when I get a copy of the program that exports .obj, I'll be sure to update the tutorial.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #63    
Old November 24th, 2012 (01:04 PM).
Beike Beike is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
So, I downloaded the new version of Spiky's DS Map Editor and tried opening a directly exported OBJ in Sketchup and Blender...still doesn't work. I'll post a link to a picture of what I'm getting, if that's OK. I think it's something trivial, but who knows...
http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/1268/sketchupissue.png
Reply With Quote
  #64    
Old November 25th, 2012 (10:36 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
I've updated the tutorial to SDSME 1.5.0, so be sure to check out the revised portion for exporting maps!
Quote originally posted by Beike:
So, I downloaded the new version of Spiky's DS Map Editor and tried opening a directly exported OBJ in Sketchup and Blender...still doesn't work. I'll post a link to a picture of what I'm getting, if that's OK. I think it's something trivial, but who knows...
http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/1268/sketchupissue.png
Unless your textures aren't exporting correctly, I don't know what could cause it. Are there textures in the same folder as the model?
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #65    
Old November 30th, 2012 (06:12 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
I've added a link to an Italian translation, and I've also found a third plugin for a 3D modelling program called "Softimage3D". I'm not documenting how it's used, as I'm not downloading a third program to add to the tutorial, but if someone wants to, provide me instructions for it and I'll add it later on when I include model importing.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #66    
Old December 2nd, 2012 (06:10 AM).
TheWaffleKiing's Avatar
TheWaffleKiing TheWaffleKiing is offline
Pokemon Lets Player :)
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 19
Send a message via Skype™ to TheWaffleKiing
is this really hard cause i wnana get into making my own hack for a game
Reply With Quote
  #67    
Old December 15th, 2012 (09:10 PM).
andibad's Avatar
andibad andibad is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indonesia
Gender: Male
Posts: 33
thank you teamfail, you always give good tutorial (and also for all was researching this part) . well is seems work for me (yeah is need SDK)....

for now i not focused in this part so i can't help :/, i focused on my course XD
but is seems awesome i will try it later :3

and on 3ds max 7 , the plugin is seems working ....

if i have a lot time, i try update my youtube channel again XD,and maybe try map hacking (is seems interesting). i have all for this so no need searching again XP
Reply With Quote
  #68    
Old December 15th, 2012 (09:17 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
Thanks. I'm currently working on importing models. I'm getting close, but I'm not getting the textures to display properly. It's kinda getting to me.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #69    
Old December 26th, 2012 (04:48 AM). Edited December 26th, 2012 by SolusX.
SolusX's Avatar
SolusX SolusX is offline
Poké Hacker Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 18
Send a message via Skype™ to SolusX
Is the importing section near completion? I'm having a bit of trouble.
I'm not sure what specific question to ask, but I'm having problems with the end result. When I create the final .nsbmd it seems to be a little bit off of where it should be axiswise and the tilesets don't appear like they once did on that particular edit

Some notes on it:
When I run NNS_Batch_Export_Maya70 it produced an error stating: "Error: n3be file is not specified." However I do see "NINTENDO NITRO system" in Maya and can export as .imd with it. Occasionally it gives a file length error as well.
I'm using Maya 7.0.1 for the conversion from .obj to .imd
I'm not moving any maps when loaded in Google Sketchup or Maya (as an attempt to keep it aligned within the axis)
Altered previews tiles (Tileset 2 normally displayed the town fine; now it shows flower bushes on the preview and a glitchy floor)
There is a black floor when the ROM is loaded, movement permissions not aligned with the map (or so it'd seem since I cannot approach the water in New Bark Town, as if there was a 4x4 obstacle)

edit: I apologize if I am asking in the wrong place.
Reply With Quote
  #70    
Old December 26th, 2012 (05:46 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
Quote originally posted by SolusX:
Is the importing section near completion? I'm having a bit of trouble.
I'm not sure what specific question to ask, but I'm having problems with the end result. When I create the final .nsbmd it seems to be a little bit off of where it should be axiswise and the tilesets don't appear like they once did on that particular edit

Some notes on it:
When I run NNS_Batch_Export_Maya70 it produced an error stating: "Error: n3be file is not specified." However I do see "NINTENDO NITRO system" in Maya and can export as .imd with it. Occasionally it gives a file length error as well.
I'm using Maya 7.0.1 for the conversion from .obj to .imd
I'm not moving any maps when loaded in Google Sketchup or Maya (as an attempt to keep it aligned within the axis)
Altered previews tiles (Tileset 2 normally displayed the town fine; now it shows flower bushes on the preview and a glitchy floor)
There is a black floor when the ROM is loaded, movement permissions not aligned with the map (or so it'd seem since I cannot approach the water in New Bark Town, as if there was a 4x4 obstacle)

edit: I apologize if I am asking in the wrong place.
I'm still working on it, as I've gotten the model to import, but it's textureless. I've been told why, so I still have to check it out and investigate. As well, I'm not using 7.0 myself, so I'm not sure what the errors are about. As for the off-centeredness, I'll have to see what could be causing that, and movement permissions would have to be modified to cause that, so check your movement permissions.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
  #71    
Old December 26th, 2012 (05:56 AM). Edited December 28th, 2012 by SolusX.
SolusX's Avatar
SolusX SolusX is offline
Poké Hacker Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 18
Send a message via Skype™ to SolusX
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
I'm still working on it, as I've gotten the model to import, but it's textureless. I've been told why, so I still have to check it out and investigate. As well, I'm not using 7.0 myself, so I'm not sure what the errors are about. As for the off-centeredness, I'll have to see what could be causing that, and movement permissions would have to be modified to cause that, so check your movement permissions.
I've managed to get it back to the center. I just have the same problem that you're having so I'll wait on your expertise to solve it while tinkering with the programs myself. It was merely my fault. I wasn't positioning map correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #72    
Old December 27th, 2012 (01:40 PM).
gatarda gatarda is offline
Half-PokéGod
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Netherlands
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 46
Send a message via Yahoo to gatarda
Maybe, Spiky-Eared Pichu/Markitus95 will make an OBJ to NSBMD tool soon, so we don't have to pay for something anymore!
Reply With Quote
  #73    
Old December 28th, 2012 (02:34 AM). Edited December 28th, 2012 by SolusX.
SolusX's Avatar
SolusX SolusX is offline
Poké Hacker Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 18
Send a message via Skype™ to SolusX
I've been doing a lot of testing and have come up with an area to focus on fixing. What I most suspect to be the problem with this is Maya and the Nitro plugin OR G3DCVTR. Considering G3DCVTR has been in use for a long time, it could be Maya and/or the Nitro Plugin. I just obtained 3DS Max 6 and the Nitro plugin for that and will test it momentarily. I'd say if it has the same problem, there could be a bug with importing in the program.

edit: Hitting a dead end. 3DS Max 6 doesn't run on Windows 7, and it's giving me issues on an XP Virtual machine. I have no way to test it.
Reply With Quote
  #74    
Old January 3rd, 2013 (09:06 AM).
Trifindo's Avatar
Trifindo Trifindo is offline
POKEMON OMICRON CREATOR
 
Join Date: May 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 46
Hello I´m not very good at english but I think that this can help you.

There is a programme called SM64DSe, you can download it here: http://kuribo64.cjb.net/archive/board/thread.php?id=12
It can import .obj files in SUPER MARIO 64 DS roms and the results are really good!
You can check an old video I made: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qF98OwnnK9w&list=UUqmrpUDHWBUrwskKMr_aI_w&index=1
Well I don´t know if it is posible to do it in a Pokemon rom. =/

Thanks a lot for the tutorial!!
Reply With Quote
  #75    
Old January 3rd, 2013 (09:14 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,514
Quote originally posted by Trifindo:
Hello I´m not very good at english but I think that this can help you.

There is a programme called SM64DSe, you can download it here: http://kuribo64.cjb.net/archive/board/thread.php?id=12
It can import .obj files in SUPER MARIO 64 DS roms and the results are really good!
You can check an old video I made: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qF98OwnnK9w&list=UUqmrpUDHWBUrwskKMr_aI_w&index=1
Well I don´t know if it is posible to do it in a Pokemon rom. =/

Thanks a lot for the tutorial!!
I've heard of the editor before, but I don't think the 3D Model types are the same. Since the games were developed at different times, newer filetypes have been made, so the formats would be vastly different. As well, the 3D engines in each game are vastly different, so one model probably wouldn't work on the other.

It'd be interesting to see if the creator of SM64DSe could perhaps make a model importer tool for the Pokémon DS games though.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source

"On my business card, I am a corporate president.
In my mind, I am a game developer.
But in my heart, I am a gamer."

- Satoru Iwata, 1959 - 2015
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:22 PM.