The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old October 10th, 2012, 01:00 AM
Pike15's Avatar
Pike15
Smoochum
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by VERGUNDAI View Post
I thought of it, about RSE remake and I made littleroot town.
Then again I thought about LOL this won't make any difference.

Since I used HGSS, i used the build from Pallet Town to start off, since it had the Pallet Town 3D Building data. But I also wanted to use the New Bark 3D building datas which had the appropriate models to load the houses.

And the models from New Bark won't load on Pallet Town.
i wanna some of you´re maps please sir. Becuase i wanna see what you can do with this tools
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeding 350px height limit
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #52    
Old October 25th, 2012, 12:33 PM
Beike
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Hey, I'd like to say thanks for the tutorial, it's really clear and helpful. However, I have a small problem. Your maps seem to open with textures automatically in Sketchup. Well, mine don't... For the record, I'm using HGSS maps. I've tried several, but none of them work. I'm using Sketchup 8, the free version. Anyone would happen to know the solution to this?
Reply With Quote
  #53    
Old October 25th, 2012, 12:38 PM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beike View Post
Hey, I'd like to say thanks for the tutorial, it's really clear and helpful. However, I have a small problem. Your maps seem to open with textures automatically in Sketchup. Well, mine don't... :nervous: For the record, I'm using HGSS maps. I've tried several, but none of them work. I'm using Sketchup 8, the free version. Anyone would happen to know the solution to this?
They should. Make sure that Ignore Material Library?: is set to No when you are importing the map. Setting this to Yes will make it be all white.
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
  #54    
Old October 25th, 2012, 08:35 PM
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
There's a bug sometimes, you need to reinstall it, or clear the Skecthup caches.
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #55    
Old October 25th, 2012, 08:39 PM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by VERGUNDAI View Post
There's a bug sometimes, you need to reinstall it, or clear the Skecthup caches.
I never knew that it had a cache in the first place. But just try playing a bit with your settings.
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
  #56    
Old October 26th, 2012, 09:54 AM
Beike
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Afraid the suggestions didn't solve my problem. Ignore Material Library is set to no, I've tried reinstalling both the plugin and Google Sketchup itself, but I still get all black/white textures. I am sure these maps have textures because they show up in MKDS. Any suggestions ?
Reply With Quote
  #57    
Old October 26th, 2012, 09:56 AM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Perhaps it might be because I've seen that Sketchup was changed to Trimble Sketchup. I'll see if there is a plugin for that.
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
  #58    
Old October 27th, 2012, 12:57 AM
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario
The Legendary Master of Light!
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
Perhaps it might be because I've seen that Sketchup was changed to Trimble Sketchup. I'll see if there is a plugin for that.
Actually, it has nothing to do with the name. 'Cause I've used Trimble Sketchup (the free version) with the same plugin that you're using, and it imported all the textures into the map.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beike View Post
Afraid the suggestions didn't solve my problem. Ignore Material Library is set to no, I've tried reinstalling both the plugin and Google Sketchup itself, but I still get all black/white textures. I am sure these maps have textures because they show up in MKDS. Any suggestions ?
The reason why your map doesn't have any textures showing up in it... is quite simple: You didn't export the NSBMD with the textures. The only way to do so is by using SDSME and under "3D Model", click on "Export with Textures". Then you'll be able to export the NSBMD with the textures, then open it up in MKDS Course Modifier and export as .obj.
__________________
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm really looking forward to learning how to understand what the hex values mean and how to create programs using Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
Reply With Quote
  #59    
Old November 7th, 2012, 08:50 AM
Beike
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by PokémonShinySilver View Post
Actually, it has nothing to do with the name. 'Cause I've used Trimble Sketchup (the free version) with the same plugin that you're using, and it imported all the textures into the map.



The reason why your map doesn't have any textures showing up in it... is quite simple: You didn't export the NSBMD with the textures. The only way to do so is by using SDSME and under "3D Model", click on "Export with Textures". Then you'll be able to export the NSBMD with the textures, then open it up in MKDS Course Modifier and export as .obj.
Sadly, it's not that simple. I double-checked it by exporting it again using that option, and on top of that, the textures show up in MKDS Converter, so I am sure they are there. It's not the game either, since I tried DPP maps as well, and they won't open with textures either :(

Edit: It doesn't seem to be Sketchup? Textures won't open in Blender either...

Edit2: Not my computer's fault, doesn't work on other computers either. I've tried about everything I could think of, so I'm pretty much stuck... I'm still getting the models all white (and squarey) and the ground all grey. Anyone willing to upload a correctly textured HGSS map (or DPP if you want to) to see if I can open that?

Would anyone be able to help me?

Last edited by giradialkia; November 8th, 2012 at 02:57 PM. Reason: Sorry, no double posts- you'll just have to be patient.
Reply With Quote
  #60    
Old November 11th, 2012, 06:19 PM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beike View Post
Sadly, it's not that simple. I double-checked it by exporting it again using that option, and on top of that, the textures show up in MKDS Converter, so I am sure they are there. It's not the game either, since I tried DPP maps as well, and they won't open with textures either :(

Edit: It doesn't seem to be Sketchup? Textures won't open in Blender either...

Edit2: Not my computer's fault, doesn't work on other computers either. I've tried about everything I could think of, so I'm pretty much stuck... I'm still getting the models all white (and squarey) and the ground all grey. Anyone willing to upload a correctly textured HGSS map (or DPP if you want to) to see if I can open that?

Would anyone be able to help me?
Are you sure you're exporting your map with textures?
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
  #61    
Old November 12th, 2012, 07:11 AM
Beike
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
Are you sure you're exporting your map with textures?
The textures show up in both SDSME and MKDS Converter, so yeah, I think I can say I'm sure enough. I'm thinking it has to do something with MKDS Converter, but I've got no clue what I would be looking for.

Edit: Just read Spiky got an OBJ converter working. I guess I'll wait for that and try out whether that does work.

Last edited by Beike; November 16th, 2012 at 11:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #62    
Old November 17th, 2012, 07:16 AM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beike View Post
The textures show up in both SDSME and MKDS Converter, so yeah, I think I can say I'm sure enough. I'm thinking it has to do something with MKDS Converter, but I've got no clue what I would be looking for.

Edit: Just read Spiky got an OBJ converter working. I guess I'll wait for that and try out whether that does work.
Well, when I get a copy of the program that exports .obj, I'll be sure to update the tutorial.
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
  #63    
Old November 24th, 2012, 01:04 PM
Beike
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
So, I downloaded the new version of Spiky's DS Map Editor and tried opening a directly exported OBJ in Sketchup and Blender...still doesn't work. I'll post a link to a picture of what I'm getting, if that's OK. I think it's something trivial, but who knows...
http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/1268/sketchupissue.png
Reply With Quote
  #64    
Old November 25th, 2012, 10:36 AM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
I've updated the tutorial to SDSME 1.5.0, so be sure to check out the revised portion for exporting maps!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beike View Post
So, I downloaded the new version of Spiky's DS Map Editor and tried opening a directly exported OBJ in Sketchup and Blender...still doesn't work. I'll post a link to a picture of what I'm getting, if that's OK. I think it's something trivial, but who knows...
http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/1268/sketchupissue.png
Unless your textures aren't exporting correctly, I don't know what could cause it. Are there textures in the same folder as the model?
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
  #65    
Old November 30th, 2012, 06:12 PM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
I've added a link to an Italian translation, and I've also found a third plugin for a 3D modelling program called "Softimage3D". I'm not documenting how it's used, as I'm not downloading a third program to add to the tutorial, but if someone wants to, provide me instructions for it and I'll add it later on when I include model importing.
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
  #66    
Old December 2nd, 2012, 06:10 AM
TheWaffleKiing's Avatar
TheWaffleKiing
Pokemon Lets Player :)
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Gender: Male
Send a message via Skype™ to TheWaffleKiing
is this really hard cause i wnana get into making my own hack for a game
Reply With Quote
  #67    
Old December 15th, 2012, 09:10 PM
andibad's Avatar
andibad
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indonesia
Gender: Male
thank you teamfail, you always give good tutorial (and also for all was researching this part) . well is seems work for me (yeah is need SDK)....

for now i not focused in this part so i can't help :/, i focused on my course XD
but is seems awesome i will try it later :3

and on 3ds max 7 , the plugin is seems working ....

if i have a lot time, i try update my youtube channel again XD,and maybe try map hacking (is seems interesting). i have all for this so no need searching again XP
Reply With Quote
  #68    
Old December 15th, 2012, 09:17 PM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Thanks. I'm currently working on importing models. I'm getting close, but I'm not getting the textures to display properly. It's kinda getting to me.
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
  #69    
Old December 26th, 2012, 04:48 AM
SolusX's Avatar
SolusX
Poké Hacker Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Send a message via Skype™ to SolusX
Is the importing section near completion? I'm having a bit of trouble.
I'm not sure what specific question to ask, but I'm having problems with the end result. When I create the final .nsbmd it seems to be a little bit off of where it should be axiswise and the tilesets don't appear like they once did on that particular edit

Some notes on it:
When I run NNS_Batch_Export_Maya70 it produced an error stating: "Error: n3be file is not specified." However I do see "NINTENDO NITRO system" in Maya and can export as .imd with it. Occasionally it gives a file length error as well.
I'm using Maya 7.0.1 for the conversion from .obj to .imd
I'm not moving any maps when loaded in Google Sketchup or Maya (as an attempt to keep it aligned within the axis)
Altered previews tiles (Tileset 2 normally displayed the town fine; now it shows flower bushes on the preview and a glitchy floor)
There is a black floor when the ROM is loaded, movement permissions not aligned with the map (or so it'd seem since I cannot approach the water in New Bark Town, as if there was a 4x4 obstacle)

edit: I apologize if I am asking in the wrong place.

Last edited by SolusX; December 26th, 2012 at 04:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #70    
Old December 26th, 2012, 05:46 AM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolusX View Post
Is the importing section near completion? I'm having a bit of trouble.
I'm not sure what specific question to ask, but I'm having problems with the end result. When I create the final .nsbmd it seems to be a little bit off of where it should be axiswise and the tilesets don't appear like they once did on that particular edit

Some notes on it:
When I run NNS_Batch_Export_Maya70 it produced an error stating: "Error: n3be file is not specified." However I do see "NINTENDO NITRO system" in Maya and can export as .imd with it. Occasionally it gives a file length error as well.
I'm using Maya 7.0.1 for the conversion from .obj to .imd
I'm not moving any maps when loaded in Google Sketchup or Maya (as an attempt to keep it aligned within the axis)
Altered previews tiles (Tileset 2 normally displayed the town fine; now it shows flower bushes on the preview and a glitchy floor)
There is a black floor when the ROM is loaded, movement permissions not aligned with the map (or so it'd seem since I cannot approach the water in New Bark Town, as if there was a 4x4 obstacle)

edit: I apologize if I am asking in the wrong place.
I'm still working on it, as I've gotten the model to import, but it's textureless. I've been told why, so I still have to check it out and investigate. As well, I'm not using 7.0 myself, so I'm not sure what the errors are about. As for the off-centeredness, I'll have to see what could be causing that, and movement permissions would have to be modified to cause that, so check your movement permissions.
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
  #71    
Old December 26th, 2012, 05:56 AM
SolusX's Avatar
SolusX
Poké Hacker Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Send a message via Skype™ to SolusX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
I'm still working on it, as I've gotten the model to import, but it's textureless. I've been told why, so I still have to check it out and investigate. As well, I'm not using 7.0 myself, so I'm not sure what the errors are about. As for the off-centeredness, I'll have to see what could be causing that, and movement permissions would have to be modified to cause that, so check your movement permissions.
I've managed to get it back to the center. I just have the same problem that you're having so I'll wait on your expertise to solve it while tinkering with the programs myself. It was merely my fault. I wasn't positioning map correctly.

Last edited by SolusX; December 28th, 2012 at 06:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #72    
Old December 27th, 2012, 01:40 PM
gatarda
Half-PokéGod
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Netherlands
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Send a message via Yahoo to gatarda
Maybe, Spiky-Eared Pichu/Markitus95 will make an OBJ to NSBMD tool soon, so we don't have to pay for something anymore!
Reply With Quote
  #73    
Old December 28th, 2012, 02:34 AM
SolusX's Avatar
SolusX
Poké Hacker Noob
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Send a message via Skype™ to SolusX
I've been doing a lot of testing and have come up with an area to focus on fixing. What I most suspect to be the problem with this is Maya and the Nitro plugin OR G3DCVTR. Considering G3DCVTR has been in use for a long time, it could be Maya and/or the Nitro Plugin. I just obtained 3DS Max 6 and the Nitro plugin for that and will test it momentarily. I'd say if it has the same problem, there could be a bug with importing in the program.

edit: Hitting a dead end. 3DS Max 6 doesn't run on Windows 7, and it's giving me issues on an XP Virtual machine. I have no way to test it.

Last edited by SolusX; December 28th, 2012 at 06:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #74    
Old January 3rd, 2013, 09:06 AM
Trifindo's Avatar
Trifindo
POKEMON OMICRON CREATOR
 
Join Date: May 2011
Gender: Male
Hello I´m not very good at english but I think that this can help you.

There is a programme called SM64DSe, you can download it here: http://kuribo64.cjb.net/archive/board/thread.php?id=12
It can import .obj files in SUPER MARIO 64 DS roms and the results are really good!
You can check an old video I made: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qF98O...r_aI_w&index=1
Well I don´t know if it is posible to do it in a Pokemon rom. =/

Thanks a lot for the tutorial!!
Reply With Quote
  #75    
Old January 3rd, 2013, 09:14 AM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
A Little Bit Of Sparkle
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trifindo View Post
Hello I´m not very good at english but I think that this can help you.

There is a programme called SM64DSe, you can download it here: http://kuribo64.cjb.net/archive/board/thread.php?id=12
It can import .obj files in SUPER MARIO 64 DS roms and the results are really good!
You can check an old video I made: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qF98O...r_aI_w&index=1
Well I don´t know if it is posible to do it in a Pokemon rom. =/

Thanks a lot for the tutorial!!
I've heard of the editor before, but I don't think the 3D Model types are the same. Since the games were developed at different times, newer filetypes have been made, so the formats would be vastly different. As well, the 3D engines in each game are vastly different, so one model probably wouldn't work on the other.

It'd be interesting to see if the creator of SM64DSe could perhaps make a model importer tool for the Pokémon DS games though.
__________________

Platinum Supporter Team Fail




"It is said that Charizard's fire burns hotter if it has experienced harsh battles."



Charizard

Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.