Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] DS Map Graphics Editor

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



View Poll Results: Do you want Platinum, HG/SS and BW first Map for the first release?
Yes 397 90.85%
No, later 40 9.15%
Voters: 437. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #551    
Old January 8th, 2013 (11:57 AM).
Link_971's Avatar
Link_971 Link_971 is offline
French Rom-Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: France
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 212
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Link_971
Quote originally posted by Skara:
I wonder how long it'll take before X and Y map editing becomes possible, I imagine I'll be married with kids by that time XD

Hum nope, i've watched the trailer today, and i can say it works like NB / NB 2.
Excepted the 3DS format specificities to discover and the time for having dumps and emulator, these games are already potentially editable, on multiple points, included Map hacking.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #552    
Old January 9th, 2013 (03:53 PM).
joshblevins's Avatar
joshblevins joshblevins is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 79
Quote originally posted by PokémonShinySilver:
It would actually be rather pointless to have something like that when you can already test it out with the emulator itself. Besides, the 3D viewer should be able to view the maps, once it's implemented. So why do we need an emulator built into it? And besides... it would be extremely hard to put a closed source emulator like No$GBA in the tool, even for it's debugging purposes.
Being closed source is not relevant because running an external exe is an operating system process. I would also look into doing functionality like this just like real programming IDE's do. Save the code or changed textres/models in this case and then dump them back into the rom during the save process and have the build or run functionality call the emulator.

P.S. you can always use a decompiler to figure out the code of No$GBA. I'm sure there is a space in memory you can cram the pre-loaded rom into.
__________________
Working on a Fire Red Remake Hack nameless for the time being!
Reply With Quote
  #553    
Old January 13th, 2013 (09:16 PM).
kakashi1548 kakashi1548 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sinnoh
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 3
I know there would probably be bugs with this, but one thing that I would love to see is the ability to export maps and models from one game (say Platinum) and import them into another (say Black). This would be tough to do, but this plus the ability to create maps from scratch in theory would allow the creation of a "World Version" that includes all of the current regions.
Reply With Quote
  #554    
Old January 13th, 2013 (09:41 PM).
Link_971's Avatar
Link_971 Link_971 is offline
French Rom-Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: France
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 212
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Link_971
Quote originally posted by kakashi1548:
I know there would probably be bugs with this, but one thing that I would love to see is the ability to export maps and models from one game (say Platinum) and import them into another (say Black). This would be tough to do, but this plus the ability to create maps from scratch in theory would allow the creation of a "World Version" that includes all of the current regions.

This NPRE branch do not support models.
But you can use Spiky's tool if you want.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #555    
Old January 14th, 2013 (02:47 AM).
Pike15's Avatar
Pike15 Pike15 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 168
Link still working on this?? or have you gave it up??
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeding 350px height limit
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:09 PM.