The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #151    
Old December 12th, 2012, 09:55 AM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
You can find the "day of week"-byte @ 0x0300553E

but you can ask such questions in interdpth's RTC-thread.
Reply With Quote
  #152    
Old December 12th, 2012, 11:11 AM
Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
Hacker Bisharp
Bug reporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Uff... why i can't implement day/night in my emerald rom?
The rom of emerald is Italian.. here is the screen of the error :
http://imageshack.us/content_round.p.../catturana.png
__________________
Hacks I support:

And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

Reply With Quote
  #153    
Old December 12th, 2012, 12:30 PM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
what size has your ROM, maybe there isn't enough space...
Reply With Quote
  #154    
Old December 12th, 2012, 12:39 PM
Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
Hacker Bisharp
Bug reporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote:
Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
what size has your ROM, maybe there isn't enough space...
Oh! Thanks a lot! Now i've expanded my rom and the tool work good. Thank you!
__________________
Hacks I support:

And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

Reply With Quote
  #155    
Old December 14th, 2012, 07:17 AM
pabioxxx
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
You can find the "day of week"-byte @ 0x0300553E

but you can ask such questions in interdpth's RTC-thread.


It still doesn't work, the game freeze... I have no idea what's wrong, the check day time and check season scripts work fine, maybe the status byte is not set ,is it possible to check it?

Last edited by pabioxxx; December 30th, 2012 at 03:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #156    
Old January 1st, 2013, 04:02 AM
lance320's Avatar
lance320
Ace Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
does this work on firered?
Reply With Quote
  #157    
Old January 1st, 2013, 04:04 AM
Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
Hacker Bisharp
Bug reporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote:
Originally Posted by lance320 View Post
does this work on firered?
Yes, this tool support pokèmon fire red
__________________
Hacks I support:

And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

Reply With Quote
  #158    
Old January 1st, 2013, 04:02 PM
pabioxxx
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by LugiaMZ View Post
Can someone tell me why this check day script is not working for me?
For Example:
#dynamic 0x800000
#org @dif
lock
faceplayer
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x0
if 0x1 goto @sunday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x1
if 0x1 goto @monday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x2
if 0x1 goto @tuesday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x3
if 0x1 goto @wednesday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x4
if 0x1 goto @thursday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x5
if 0x1 goto @friday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x6
if 0x1 goto @saturday
release
end


Answer me please... ><

PS: Sorry for my bad english... Thanks.
Try this:
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x6
if 0x1 goto @sunday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x7
if 0x1 goto @monday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x1
if 0x1 goto @tuesday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x2
if 0x1 goto @wednesday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x3
if 0x1 goto @thursday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x4
if 0x1 goto @friday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x5
if 0x1 goto @saturday
Reply With Quote
  #159    
Old January 3rd, 2013, 03:54 PM
Gary0ak's Avatar
Gary0ak
TPP ROM Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pallet Town, Kanto
Gender: Male
I was just wondering, can anyone post a tutorial about the seasons?
Reply With Quote
  #160    
Old January 20th, 2013, 11:03 PM
thizzman's Avatar
thizzman
PKMN rom maker and hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
hey, This is amazing !! (:
I can use this with ease.
Just some thing I wanted to ask..
Is it possible that I could change the wild Pokemon depending whether its day or night??
If so U rule!!! 8)
__________________
Projects I'm working on:

Pokemon Dust version GBA hack
This will be created By my team.
Team: Shadow Pokemon.

Thizz ready for epicness.
Reply With Quote
  #161    
Old January 21st, 2013, 07:06 AM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
sry, it isn't possible to change the wild Pokemon with the current tool and i haven't the time to implement it in a future version.
Reply With Quote
  #162    
Old January 21st, 2013, 07:22 AM
thizzman's Avatar
thizzman
PKMN rom maker and hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Das ok, You made this amazing tool in the first place (;
It works fine with everything else!! (:
__________________
Projects I'm working on:

Pokemon Dust version GBA hack
This will be created By my team.
Team: Shadow Pokemon.

Thizz ready for epicness.
Reply With Quote
  #163    
Old March 1st, 2013, 12:17 PM
SincerestTester
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Hey, I keep trying to download the tool and it says program has stopped working when I download.
Reply With Quote
  #164    
Old March 2nd, 2013, 04:09 AM
ArthurWaine
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Ermegerd. This looks amazing! :D Will certainly be using this!
Reply With Quote
  #165    
Old March 2nd, 2013, 01:54 PM
SincerestTester
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Still doesnt open or work I need a fix
Reply With Quote
  #166    
Old March 6th, 2013, 06:17 AM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
@SincerestTester
have you extracted it from the archiv-File and is the .net-Framework installed?
Reply With Quote
  #167    
Old March 10th, 2013, 07:41 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
How do edit the seasons tileset in this tool?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
Reply With Quote
  #168    
Old March 11th, 2013, 02:53 PM
SincerestTester
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Oh I had in archive derp sorry haha. Also it says there's a previous system installed yet I never did install a previous day and night system?
Reply With Quote
  #169    
Old March 11th, 2013, 10:21 PM
dkp
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
First off, I'd like to thank you prime-dialga for this tool. And you know, everyone else involved at some level in the creation of this tool - interdpth, Dragonflye, Jambo51.

I would like to say though, that after so much searching I've found nothing in the way of guide to get seasons working. I'd really like to make a Tutorial, honestly, but I myself don't know much beyond getting the header inserted. I'll walk you all through my process so far, though, which gets the RTC and DAN installed correctly (or at least, functionally). I'm extremely far from experienced, actually, so there's quite possibly a number of errors in my method.



So first off, make sure the tools and everything are in place. Make sure windows is updated to the latest version, that you have .NET framework installed, that the program is unzipped and the program executable (.EXE) is in the same folder as the other folder. That part shouldn't really need be explained, but can save some time and headaches if you're sure this is right.

Make sure that pretty much anything else you want to with the hack is done. My understanding of patches and their like means that they have a set location where they insert or change date; inserting the DNS before patching can lead to parts of the DNS getting overwritten, and, worse case scenario, the rom being rendered nonfunctional.

Next, back up the rom you're going to use.

Open DNS, click update whether or not a update is likely. Then click File>Open , and navigate to and open the file.

Next, using a free space finder - say HackMew's FSF tool - open the same rom. Back on the DNS program, right beneath RTC it should say something like "Offset(needs 0x### Bytes)".

To be safe, on HackMew's FSF type the number represented by ### into the lower right box, which should convert the number to a decimal.

For safety reasons I round this number up to the next highest power of two. So if the rtc needs 3D0 (976) bytes, I round it to 1024. Later the DAN I believe needs like 300 bytes so I rounded that up to 512. (powers of 2: 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192....)

On HackMew's tool I then type 1024 into the box next to "needed bytes"; the skip interval then should update automatically (or at least after pressing tab).

The free space byte, at least as far as I'm aware for the pokemon gen III games, is FF.

The default offset to search from, for me at least, is 800000. Based on my knowledge, which is limited, it shouldn't really matter as long as the freespace byte is correct and you have enough room, but I could be gravely false here. My lack of understanding here is why I round up earlier- fear.

Now, finally, I click "Find". It should generate a number. I then click the copy button, go back to the DNS program, and replace the default offset with the new number. Then click "insert RTC". Now you should have the RTC installed.

Next, alter the palettes for the DAN as you see fit; I like the default setup, so I go with that. But generally, the time dials correspond to the times defined in the quadrat to the bottom right. For a 24 hour clock, which the DAN uses internally, 0 is midnight, 12 is noon, 23 would be 11 at night. To get the proper range, add twelve to you PM times (0 to AM). The default times should be okay (=work for me), but for more realism you should adjust them accordingly; twilight lasts a long time under the default circumstances.

The radio dials (circles that can be selected but not others) control what set of palettes you're using, whether OW (overworld), background, sprites, attacks, etc.

Before you go much further, you need to already know if you've done something that would alter the the way RAM is read and interpreted by the game. If you haven't or don't know (in which case you more than likely haven't), the default value seems to work. Otherwise, adjust to an address the game isn't using, ideally with a free byte afterwards as well (for the seasons).

Going through the same process with the RTC, to insert the DAN, first I type the needed bytes into the FSF to convert, change the values accordingly (and probably hypercorrectness (based on false assumptions) I also round up to the nearest power of two so things are aligned properly), and get a new value. I copy this over.

Pasting the value into the box beneath Offset, I then double check that everything is right, and press "insert DAN". For me, this is about as far as I can prove to have gotten things to function.




So at this part, I have the DAN installed. Good, fine. I can open it up and play , everything's fine, the battles work, it's dark when it's dark, etc.


But now I get the part I don't understand. I do the same thing to get free space for the seasons-header, and find the next interval (thanks to HackMew's tool), and put that into the header offset box. I check that the RAM offset for the status byte is one more than the DAN, change the season months so they line up how I want them to (Kyushu (=Hoenn) is ecologically the same as where I live, minus monsoon season, and Kanto is easy to research) and insert.

So at this point I should have the seasons half-installed with a blank header, yeah?

At which point I've tried the built-in tool, which should load the (blank) header I've installed. If I used this accordingly, I'd click "create new one" > "add new set" and put all the proper tileset offsets for each season in place before writing to rom. But this requires that the tilesets for winter, summer, and autumn for the "normal" tileset are already entered and you know where they are. If you're trying to create seasons as opposed to import them, say, at then end of the file and repoint the header, I'm lost - and I don't even know of a tileset to import anyways. Actually, it would be nice if someone were to point me to a Kanto and Hoenn

Evidently AdvanceMap 1.9.5 has support for this DNS. It's a beta though so I don't expect much. So I open it up, opening the game with it. Already I see the new tools appearing. I open up the map I want to create seasons for (arranged by tileset for lack of redundancy; I'm not creating new seasons for both Petalburgh and Littleroot, for example).

That should be right, right? I go tools>season editor. It found my blank header. Pretty cool. So I click create.

Here I create something for tileset 0 (which all the maps upto tileset 12 seem to use) and click okay. I tend to press save instinctively, so there's that. then I go "create new tileset" and when I start with zero with Pallet town or Petalburg loaded, the dialog comes up with a dial hardset to tileset 1, season defaulting to normal (I change this to Autumn) and Options link block data and behavior data.

I tend to click those; but no matter what, regardless of whether I do or not, I end up with something non-functional. I end up with screwed up tilesets - usually all of the tiles for that map shift around, only load partially (like only the bottom layer of a block), or it duplicates the default tileset in a way that, say for Petalburg, gives me two sets of pokecenters and no hedges. Or better yet, utter blackness. If I do it for tileset 1 (which is the 2nd for that map) exactly the same thing happens.

So what's the big deal? Just import corrected tilesets, palettes, etc, right? Exporting maps, blocks, pictures, palettes, and everything from a clean rom works (or seems to), but importing does absolutely nothing at best and corrupts clean-looking (actually duplicated) tilesets at worst. If I use an expanded rom (expanded with FFs via a patched XSE), it actually just crashes advancemap.


So, where does the problem lie? Is it me? Is it a limitation of the DNS? Is it advancemap? A little bit of guidance would be appreciated - and it seems there's nothing as far as a guide goes for beyond this, German (which got me this far, but as it's not my native language maybe my comprehension is simply too poor) or otherwise. Everything on here when I search for seasons looks to be an unanswered question, something about an asm routine, or correcting a problem that simply isn't a problem anymore. Anything as far as a tutorial for tile editing goes only teaches about replacing an existing functioning tileset, which is nice if you intend to do everything from scratch and make a brand new everything, but not if, say, you're making seasons for a personal (I've lost track of everyone I'd have to credit to redistribute, sorry) aesthetic hack (you know, play a decapitalized DNS Emerald or Firered with GenIII's slightly derpy-looking Torchic replaced with gen V's for nostalgia without annoyances).

Last edited by dkp; March 11th, 2013 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #170    
Old March 15th, 2013, 06:22 AM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
The season-System has some bugs (and maybe the tool to). I hope i can fix them in the next version and add a better way to add seasons.
Reply With Quote
  #171    
Old March 15th, 2013, 08:23 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
How about the thing where your tiles change to a certain tileset when its night?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
Reply With Quote
  #172    
Old March 16th, 2013, 01:10 PM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
maybe you can do this in a future version of the Season-System but it isn't planed for the next DAN-Version
Reply With Quote
  #173    
Old March 16th, 2013, 02:03 PM
Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
Hacker Bisharp
Bug reporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
So, you are working in a new version.... awesome!
Which will be the new feature?
__________________
Hacks I support:

And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

Reply With Quote
  #174    
Old March 17th, 2013, 03:16 AM
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
This tool is simply amazing ! Thank you and thanks for keeping me interested in making my hack!

~~Steve
__________________
HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
Reply With Quote
  #175    
Old March 26th, 2013, 07:09 AM
Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
Hacker Bisharp
Bug reporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle

How can i erase the old dan?
__________________
Hacks I support:

And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.