The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #23701    
Old February 3rd, 2013, 10:35 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Does anyone know where Jambo explained how he did the form changes? Like a link or something?
__________________
Coming soon...
  #23702    
Old February 3rd, 2013, 10:40 PM
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
I didn't. That's because it's made up of about 30-40 small hacks each doing their individual little thing. Honestly, it's simply not feasible to give out the code for it. If you're wanting formes, you'll just need to wait til I've released the 649 Patch.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #23703    
Old February 4th, 2013, 02:49 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Hey does anyone knows How can I add new moves to a pokemon's moveset without replacing the old one? For eg. I want to add Giga Drain to Venusaur's moveset without replacing any old move. I tried YAPE and Poke Edit Pro but they can't do that.
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

  #23704    
Old February 4th, 2013, 02:51 AM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aryan143 View Post
Hey does anyone knows How can I add new moves to a pokemon's moveset without replacing the old one? For eg. I want to add Giga Drain to Venusaur's moveset without replacing any old move. I tried YAPE and Poke Edit Pro but they can't do that.
You have to delete some moves from other Pokemon so you will have spaces do that to Pokemon you don't plan using on your hack since you only have a limited number of moves to give to all the Pokemon.
__________________
  #23705    
Old February 4th, 2013, 03:12 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by tajaros View Post
You have to delete some moves from other Pokemon so you will have spaces do that to Pokemon you don't plan using on your hack since you only have a limited number of moves to give to all the Pokemon.
The problem is that my hack is a 386 hack and I plan on improving all the pokemons.
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

  #23706    
Old February 4th, 2013, 03:35 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aryan143 View Post
The problem is that my hack is a 386 hack and I plan on improving all the pokemons.
Them you have to get rid of the moves that come pre-evolution. I know it's a pain but it is the best way without major hex editing.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23707    
Old February 4th, 2013, 03:38 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Them you have to get rid of the moves that come pre-evolution. I know it's a pain but it is the best way without major hex editing.
That idea completely skipped my mind. Thanks!
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

  #23708    
Old February 4th, 2013, 03:17 PM
Zanny77's Avatar
Zanny77
I'm back, baby!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Hey everyone!
I started scripting 4 years ago(!) when I was working on a hack, but ended up leaving it because of other issues.
I'm back and trying to work on a new hack with my girlfriend, and I'm trying to remember how to script.
Here is my script:
Spoiler:

#dynamic 0x2D538A
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x888
if 0x1 goto @done
msgbox @1 0x6
release
end

#org @1
= Vivian's House. \p...What's this?
givepokemon 0x25 0x5D 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
fanfare 0x13E
msgbox @3 0x4
waitfanfare
closeonkeypress
setflag 0x888
msgbox @4 0x5
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
if 0x1 gosub @name
release
end

#org @name
call 0x1A74EB
return

#org @3
= [blue_fr]IT'S A\nHAUNTER!

#org @4
= [blue_fr]Give this dood\na name?

#org @done
msgbox @2 0x6
release
end

#org @2
= Vivian's House.

and I think it looks good, and I think I compiled it right, but when I go in game I get nothing when I click on the mailbox. I don't know if there was a problem compiling it or putting the offset in AdvanceMap (the dynamic offset in the script and the AdvanceMap script are the same). Can someone help me out? I also am not sure about how to properly compile, I just batch compile each time and it says it gets saved. Help!
__________________

I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK
  #23709    
Old February 4th, 2013, 03:29 PM
FBI agent
Imagine something beautiful
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Isle 4 - Dairy Products
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanny77 View Post
Hey everyone!
I started scripting 4 years ago(!) when I was working on a hack, but ended up leaving it because of other issues.
I'm back and trying to work on a new hack with my girlfriend, and I'm trying to remember how to script.
Here is my script:
Spoiler:

#dynamic 0x2D538A
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
checkflag 0x888
if 0x1 goto @done
msgbox @1 0x6
release
end

#org @1
= Vivian's House. \p...What's this?
givepokemon 0x25 0x5D 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
fanfare 0x13E
msgbox @3 0x4
waitfanfare
closeonkeypress
setflag 0x888
msgbox @4 0x5
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
if 0x1 call @name
release
end


#org @name
call 0x1A74EB <- What's this? :O
return

#org @3
= [blue_fr]IT'S A\nHAUNTER!

#org @4
= [blue_fr]Give this dood\na name?

#org @done
msgbox @2 0x6
release
end

#org @2
= Vivian's House.

and I think it looks good, and I think I compiled it right, but when I go in game I get nothing when I click on the mailbox. I don't know if there was a problem compiling it or putting the offset in AdvanceMap (the dynamic offset in the script and the AdvanceMap script are the same). Can someone help me out? I also am not sure about how to properly compile, I just batch compile each time and it says it gets saved. Help!
The part of your script I bolded goes after the green part, and the orange stuff are things that I think is wrong. Red are changes I made. Look at the spoiler in the quote for the script.
__________________
...

Hacks I support:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=297199 --Legend of Anbuja
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=200227 -- Pokemon Rose version

People whom I thank:
Comrade -- For helping me with my bad hack, and for being a good friend
Darthatron -- Helping me get into basic ASM, even though I'm hopeless. (He is heartless stay away).
Anbuja's_BlooDY -- Graphics help, and being a good friend
FBI -- For having the username I wanted
  #23710    
Old February 4th, 2013, 03:37 PM
Zanny77's Avatar
Zanny77
I'm back, baby!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by FBI agent View Post
The part of your script I bolded goes after the green part, and the orange stuff are things that I think is wrong. Red are changes I made. Look at the spoiler in the quote for the script.
OK, and the call thing opens up the give nickname screen
__________________

I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK
  #23711    
Old February 4th, 2013, 03:40 PM
FBI agent
Imagine something beautiful
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Isle 4 - Dairy Products
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanny77 View Post
OK, and the call thing opens up the give nickname screen
Ohhh, I see what you're doing. Don't you need an "8" before the offset though?
__________________
...

Hacks I support:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=297199 --Legend of Anbuja
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=200227 -- Pokemon Rose version

People whom I thank:
Comrade -- For helping me with my bad hack, and for being a good friend
Darthatron -- Helping me get into basic ASM, even though I'm hopeless. (He is heartless stay away).
Anbuja's_BlooDY -- Graphics help, and being a good friend
FBI -- For having the username I wanted
  #23712    
Old February 4th, 2013, 03:44 PM
Zanny77's Avatar
Zanny77
I'm back, baby!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by FBI agent View Post
Ohhh, I see what you're doing. Don't you need an "8" before the offset though?
I'm honestly not sure. I just tried to make the script as close I could as the one in diegoisawesome's tutorial.
Also I tried the script and I got a fanfare, but no message popped up and it doesn't say I got the Pokemon.
__________________

I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK
  #23713    
Old February 4th, 2013, 03:52 PM
FBI agent
Imagine something beautiful
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Isle 4 - Dairy Products
Gender: Male
Try something like this:
Spoiler:

givepokemon 0xID 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
setvar 0x8004 0x0
bufferpokemon 0x0 0xID
fadescreen 0x1
special 0x9E
waitstate
msgbox2 0x8741A24 '"[player] recieved the [buffer1]!"
fanfare 0x101
waitmsgbox
waitfanfare
waitkeypress


I just decompiled and cropped one of my older scripts which was similar. Remember to fill in the orange (and change the pointers).
__________________
...

Hacks I support:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=297199 --Legend of Anbuja
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=200227 -- Pokemon Rose version

People whom I thank:
Comrade -- For helping me with my bad hack, and for being a good friend
Darthatron -- Helping me get into basic ASM, even though I'm hopeless. (He is heartless stay away).
Anbuja's_BlooDY -- Graphics help, and being a good friend
FBI -- For having the username I wanted
  #23714    
Old February 4th, 2013, 04:08 PM
Zanny77's Avatar
Zanny77
I'm back, baby!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Ok, so I just went in and did a simple little message script and tried to put it into to see if it's my scripting that's the problem, but this one won't work either. I think the issue is how I put in the script. Here's what I do:
1. Go to FSF and find the next Offset.
2. Go to XSE, and open my ROM
3. Put the offset into the little space that says 'offset' and has a small text box to put it in
4. Script
5. Save script as a .rbc
6. Batch compile the script into the ROM. When it saves, it has each part of the script that starts with "@" and has a different offset for each
7. I go into advancemap, and place the offset next to the @start into the part of advancemap that says script offset
8. Save, patch, run ROM
__________________

I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK
  #23715    
Old February 4th, 2013, 04:25 PM
FBI agent
Imagine something beautiful
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Isle 4 - Dairy Products
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanny77 View Post
Ok, so I just went in and did a simple little message script and tried to put it into to see if it's my scripting that's the problem, but this one won't work either. I think the issue is how I put in the script. Here's what I do:
1. Go to FSF and find the next Offset.
2. Go to XSE, and open my ROM
3. Put the offset into the little space that says 'offset' and has a small text box to put it in
4. Script
5. Save script as a .rbc
6. Batch compile the script into the ROM. When it saves, it has each part of the script that starts with "@" and has a different offset for each
7. I go into advancemap, and place the offset next to the @start into the part of advancemap that says script offset
8. Save, patch, run ROM
Woah, that's ancient lol. Download the new XSE and just use #dynamic 0x800000 instead of doing steps 1-7. You should get something like this:



Take note of the highlighted @start offset. Insert it into advance map (with the "$" before it). If you still can't get it to work, I'm sure there are videos of the same process on youtube or something.
__________________
...

Hacks I support:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=297199 --Legend of Anbuja
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=200227 -- Pokemon Rose version

People whom I thank:
Comrade -- For helping me with my bad hack, and for being a good friend
Darthatron -- Helping me get into basic ASM, even though I'm hopeless. (He is heartless stay away).
Anbuja's_BlooDY -- Graphics help, and being a good friend
FBI -- For having the username I wanted
  #23716    
Old February 4th, 2013, 04:48 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanny77 View Post
alright. I'm getting in issue whenever I try to open up the new XSE, it closes as soon as it's opened. I know I saw somewhere how to fix it but I don't remember which thread (I've read like 20 of them in the past 3 days).
Go into settings.ini and change autoupdate to 0.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23717    
Old February 4th, 2013, 04:58 PM
Zanny77's Avatar
Zanny77
I'm back, baby!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote:
Originally Posted by FBI agent View Post
Woah, that's ancient lol. Download the new XSE and just use #dynamic 0x800000 instead of doing steps 1-7. You should get something like this:



Take note of the highlighted @start offset. Insert it into advance map (with the "$" before it). If you still can't get it to work, I'm sure there are videos of the same process on youtube or something.
Alright! Just downloaded 1.1.1, put in a simple script and got it the simple script to work! Thanks a lot! I'll try again using the other simplish script, then go for the one I put here. Thanks for all your help!


EDIT: Just got the givepokemon script to work also! Thanks for all your help!
__________________

I SUPPORTQUOTECREDITHACK

Last edited by Zanny77; February 4th, 2013 at 05:39 PM.
  #23718    
Old February 5th, 2013, 02:32 PM
Vicktor Black's Avatar
Vicktor Black
Blaziken
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: A white room in "The Void"
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Does anyone know where I can share my ideas for Rom Hacking.
__________________

Always keep an open mind!
  #23719    
Old February 5th, 2013, 02:35 PM
FBI agent
Imagine something beautiful
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Isle 4 - Dairy Products
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicktor Black View Post
Does anyone know where I can share my ideas for Rom Hacking.
Hack stories:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=295483

Hack ideas in general can be brought up in the ROM hacking discussions (I think :P). Research and research questions can be brought up in the R&D section.
__________________
...

Hacks I support:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=297199 --Legend of Anbuja
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=200227 -- Pokemon Rose version

People whom I thank:
Comrade -- For helping me with my bad hack, and for being a good friend
Darthatron -- Helping me get into basic ASM, even though I'm hopeless. (He is heartless stay away).
Anbuja's_BlooDY -- Graphics help, and being a good friend
FBI -- For having the username I wanted
  #23720    
Old February 5th, 2013, 02:39 PM
Vicktor Black's Avatar
Vicktor Black
Blaziken
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: A white room in "The Void"
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Thank You I have been searching for a thread like this.
__________________

Always keep an open mind!
  #23721    
Old February 5th, 2013, 08:58 PM
SchokoInc
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Very quick question :)
Is there any way to edit the attacks a pokémon learns through move tutor? E.g. I replace the move-tutor-move for the softboiled-tutor with fire punch (with Hack Mew's Move Tutor Editor)
How can I change which pokémon can learn these attacks?
Thanks in advance :)

(Some other small questions:
What bytes do i have to change if I want the regional pokédex in fire red contain pokémon 1-252?
Nothing more at the moment :) )

Last edited by SchokoInc; February 5th, 2013 at 09:12 PM.
  #23722    
Old February 6th, 2013, 01:49 AM
FBI agent
Imagine something beautiful
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Isle 4 - Dairy Products
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchokoInc View Post
Very quick question :)
Is there any way to edit the attacks a pokémon learns through move tutor? E.g. I replace the move-tutor-move for the softboiled-tutor with fire punch (with Hack Mew's Move Tutor Editor)
How can I change which pokémon can learn these attacks?
Thanks in advance :)

(Some other small questions:
What bytes do i have to change if I want the regional pokédex in fire red contain pokémon 1-252?
Nothing more at the moment :) )
For the move tutor thing, you can change a Pokemon's move pool through YAPE (also in the toolbox).
For the National dex problem, I have no idea how you would limit it to being only the first 1-252 :D
What's wrong with just enabling the whole thing?
__________________
...

Hacks I support:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=297199 --Legend of Anbuja
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=200227 -- Pokemon Rose version

People whom I thank:
Comrade -- For helping me with my bad hack, and for being a good friend
Darthatron -- Helping me get into basic ASM, even though I'm hopeless. (He is heartless stay away).
Anbuja's_BlooDY -- Graphics help, and being a good friend
FBI -- For having the username I wanted
  #23723    
Old February 6th, 2013, 03:51 AM
SchokoInc
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Well YAPE only lets me edit level-moves, TM-compatibility and HM-compatibility. How do I edit move-tutor-compatibility? :(

And having the regional pokédex going up to 251 is quite important for my hack :) I've also read about it being only a few byte changes several times :)
  #23724    
Old February 6th, 2013, 01:32 PM
FBI agent
Imagine something beautiful
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Isle 4 - Dairy Products
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchokoInc View Post
Well YAPE only lets me edit level-moves, TM-compatibility and HM-compatibility. How do I edit move-tutor-compatibility? :(

And having the regional pokédex going up to 251 is quite important for my hack :) I've also read about it being only a few byte changes several times :)
Doesn't tutor compatibility depend on learn-able moves? I don't know for sure, but that sounds like a logical way to program it.
__________________
...

Hacks I support:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=297199 --Legend of Anbuja
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=200227 -- Pokemon Rose version

People whom I thank:
Comrade -- For helping me with my bad hack, and for being a good friend
Darthatron -- Helping me get into basic ASM, even though I'm hopeless. (He is heartless stay away).
Anbuja's_BlooDY -- Graphics help, and being a good friend
FBI -- For having the username I wanted
  #23725    
Old February 6th, 2013, 01:54 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by FBI agent View Post
Doesn't tutor compatibility depend on learn-able moves? I don't know for sure, but that sounds like a logical way to program it.
Not if he means the single-move tutors. The ones that teach one specific move. I'm pretty sure that with these, if the Pokemon knows the move in it's move set at some point, the move tutor will be able to teach it. Other than that, I think that compatibility for those moves must be based in type.

Why don't you give it a try? Set the move tutor to teach a move that is not in a pokemon's move pool but is the same type as the Pokemon and try to make him learn it.


For the move tutor's that help you remember old moves, it is just going to read the moves you find in YAPE that could have been learned up to your pokemon's level.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.