Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23976    
Old February 22nd, 2013 (03:33 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by LocksmithArmy:
1. yes i can...

2. I tried once making a bank 44 and it did not work... but i shall try some more...

I did corrupt a map bad once... but they are fairly easy to fix in the hex editor... this stuff is pretty straight forward (1 month ago I had done no hex work or skripting... at all... it was all gibberish) its alot of fun to learn
If you can go back and forth in A-map, then just delete all map connections, save, and try again. Sometimes it just needs a reset.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23977    
Old February 22nd, 2013 (03:57 PM). Edited February 23rd, 2013 by LocksmithArmy.
LocksmithArmy's Avatar
LocksmithArmy LocksmithArmy is offline
Mew!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 402
I shall try this...

thanks

UPDATE (this totally worked, I 000000d the map connection offset and made them anew... works great)
__________________
  #23978    
Old February 22nd, 2013 (05:09 PM).
iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
If you run out of flags, I have a risky, but worth it solution. Just let me know if you do.



Please, never use that giant text again. Please. Also, the pallette is messed up because they both share a pallette. A much better way to do it would be to use GIMP and index them both with the same pallette before insertion. An even easier way, just use Wichu's Sprite Editor: The Advance Series. It does the pallettes for you and will also do shiny pallettes very easily.

Edit: I see you've already used Wichu's but your giant text prevented me from seeing the first part of your message. No kidding. Give it another try. The problem is that your images will have to share the same pallette before going into Wichu's sprite editor.
I fixed it but there is a little problem, do i really need to have the same pallette?, cause look
It looks like:

When it should be looking with the skin more shaded, how do i do that?
Attached Images
File Type: png WaterStarter.png‎ (1.2 KB, 73 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #23979    
Old February 22nd, 2013 (06:06 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by iDowngrade:
I fixed it but there is a little problem, do i really need to have the same pallette?, cause look
It looks like:

When it should be looking with the skin more shaded, how do i do that?
Yu have 15 colors plus a background color, (which will be removed) to work with. There are only two pallettes for each pokemon. One shiny and one normal. Therefore, you have to work around this. Each pokemon only has two pallettes for 4 sprites. This means two sets of front and back, one shiny one normal. Unless you can change the way the game operates, you have to work around it.

So for your thing, you would have to remove a color somewhere else if you want to have more shading on the face.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23980    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (07:47 AM).
Waterfall~'s Avatar
Waterfall~ Waterfall~ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Female
Posts: 5
Hi guys, I'd like to know if I can insert a brand new pokémon. I don't know if I can do it just editing one of the existing pokémons or if there's another way. I would like to create a brand new pokémon with its own sprite and decide which moves it has to learn at which level. Am I asking for too much? XD Anyway if it is possible, I would like to know also if it's easier in Pokémon Ruby or DP (since I'm still not sure about which one to use for my project).
  #23981    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (09:03 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Waterfall~:
Hi guys, I'd like to know if I can insert a brand new pokémon. I don't know if I can do it just editing one of the existing pokémons or if there's another way. I would like to create a brand new pokémon with its own sprite and decide which moves it has to learn at which level. Am I asking for too much? XD Anyway if it is possible, I would like to know also if it's easier in Pokémon Ruby or DP (since I'm still not sure about which one to use for my project).
Without a lot skill, you will be forced to replace a pokemon. It is possible to add them, but it takes a lot of time and effort. I have never hacked DP, but I can tell you that it is fairly easy to do on Ruby. The tools are fairly self-explanatory, so here is a list:

Wichu's Sprite Editors (The Advance Series): these will be used to insert new sprites, adjust the sprites, and do icons
YAPE: to edit pokemon stats, pokedex entries, movesets
PGE->P.E.:same as YAPE but can increase the amount of moves a pokemon learns.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23982    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (09:30 AM).
Gold011 Gold011 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 101
hey, i'm having problems with a tool called a-cry 1.2 (advanced cry editor),my problem is after editing the cries of the pokemon i wanted, i go to save, and when i click save, it gives me an error, where there are a detail button, continue/quit button where i can continue or exit the program....and i don't know what to do with it...
  #23983    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (09:35 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Gold011:
hey, i'm having problems with a tool called a-cry 1.2 (advanced cry editor),my problem is after editing the cries of the pokemon i wanted, i go to save, and when i click save, it gives me an error, where there are a detail button, continue/quit button where i can continue or exit the program....and i don't know what to do with it...
A-cry is a very old and buggy program. Here is a much better way to do it until someone finds a better way to make a cry editor http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=293830.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23984    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (09:45 AM).
Waterfall~'s Avatar
Waterfall~ Waterfall~ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Female
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Without a lot skill, you will be forced to replace a pokemon. It is possible to add them, but it takes a lot of time and effort. I have never hacked DP, but I can tell you that it is fairly easy to do on Ruby. The tools are fairly self-explanatory, so here is a list:

Wichu's Sprite Editors (The Advance Series): these will be used to insert new sprites, adjust the sprites, and do icons
YAPE: to edit pokemon stats, pokedex entries, movesets
PGE->P.E.:same as YAPE but can increase the amount of moves a pokemon learns.
It is okay for me to do this way. Can I also edit trainers' pokémons? And trainers' sprites? As for map editing, I read it is easier to do on Ruby, so I'll probably give it a try.
Thank you so much for your help
  #23985    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (10:26 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Waterfall~:
It is okay for me to do this way. Can I also edit trainers' pokémons? And trainers' sprites? As for map editing, I read it is easier to do on Ruby, so I'll probably give it a try.
Thank you so much for your help
Trainers can be edited by Advance Trainer.

Trainer sprites can be edited by NSE Classic. There is a plugin for it in the options menu.

Map editing is best done in Advance Map. This is the only thing I can guarantee as easier since it is 2d vs the 3d in DPPt.

Hope this helps get you started!
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23986    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (11:59 AM).
Gold011 Gold011 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 101
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
A-cry is a very old and buggy program. Here is a much better way to do it until someone finds a better way to make a cry editor http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=293830.
oh sh**, i tried that, and it's way TOO advanced for me, oh well, i guess i'll have to stick with pokecrygui...
  #23987    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (12:20 PM).
Shubunkus's Avatar
Shubunkus Shubunkus is offline
I.R.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 49
How do I make it so a sprite is invisible until a script makes it visible like how Oak is invisible in FireRed until you try to walk out of Pallet Town?
__________________
  #23988    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (01:48 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Shubunkus:
How do I make it so a sprite is invisible until a script makes it visible like how Oak is invisible in FireRed until you try to walk out of Pallet Town?
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=161616

Scroll down to the section on dissapearing and reapearing sprites.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23989    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (02:03 PM).
iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
Is there any program that i can use for editing the attack images?, please i really need that for my hack
  #23990    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (02:57 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by iDowngrade:
Is there any program that i can use for editing the attack images?, please i really need that for my hack
These are rediculously fun to edit. The tool is un-lz. By fun, I mean if you can do it.......
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23991    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (03:02 PM).
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros tajaros is offline
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 857
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote originally posted by iDowngrade:
Is there any program that i can use for editing the attack images?, please i really need that for my hack
You can use UNLZ but, no one has been successful in replacing those, so for know just try creating new battle animations with the current images.
__________________
  #23992    
Old February 23rd, 2013 (04:38 PM).
iDowngrade iDowngrade is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 34
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
These are rediculously fun to edit. The tool is un-lz. By fun, I mean if you can do it.......
Note: UNLZ.gba... we met again

I will do it by the time, i'm sure i will be able to learn to do so!, im just a 12 year old kid and i know java, so why not learn how to do this?

Quote originally posted by tajaros:
You can use UNLZ but, no one has been successful in replacing those, so for know just try creating new battle animations with the current images.
What do you mean with the "battle animations" with the current images? can you make a bit more-depth answer, please?
  #23993    
Old February 24th, 2013 (01:30 AM).
Flame999's Avatar
Flame999 Flame999 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lavaridge Town
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 97
I'm trying to put a give pokemon script where as soon as you come down the stairs the proffosor gives you your pokemon but how do I make him give the Pokedex and it has the nat dex as well and 5 pokeballs

here's my script so far

#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
lock
checkflag 0x200
if 0x1 jump :end
setflag FR_POKEMON
countpokemon
compare LASTRESULT 6
if == jump @noroom
addpokemon BAGON 0x5 NONE 0 0 0
setflag 0x200
storepokemon 0 BAGON
message @get-msg
fanfare 0x101
showmsg
waitfanfare
waitbutton
:end
release
end

#org @noroom
msgbox @noroom-msg
callstd MSG_NOCLOSE
disappear 0x2
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @noroom-msg
= You don't have enough room in your party.

#org @get-msg
= You got a \v\h02!

if you can help great
__________________
Pokemon Fire Red Hack
-3rd Gen game
- more rival
- New Tiles
- New Trainer sprites
- New Map for Hoenn (replace Sevii islands)
Finished making the Hoenn & Kanto Gym leaders
Finished making the Hoenn & Kanto Elite four and Champions

  #23994    
Old February 24th, 2013 (05:44 AM).
Shubunkus's Avatar
Shubunkus Shubunkus is offline
I.R.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 49
Quote originally posted by Flame999:
I'm trying to put a give pokemon script where as soon as you come down the stairs the proffosor gives you your pokemon but how do I make him give the Pokedex and it has the nat dex as well and 5 pokeballs

here's my script so far

#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
lock
checkflag 0x200
if 0x1 jump :end
setflag FR_POKEMON
countpokemon
compare LASTRESULT 6
if == jump @noroom
addpokemon BAGON 0x5 NONE 0 0 0
setflag 0x200
storepokemon 0 BAGON
message @get-msg
fanfare 0x101
showmsg
waitfanfare
waitbutton
:end
release
end

#org @noroom
msgbox @noroom-msg
callstd MSG_NOCLOSE
disappear 0x2
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @noroom-msg
= You don't have enough room in your party.

#org @get-msg
= You got a \v\h02!

if you can help great
The PokeDex and National Dex can be activated by setting a certain flag. Look at Tajaros's Tutorial and look for the special flags. As for the PokeBalls, you use the Give Item command.
__________________
  #23995    
Old February 24th, 2013 (05:47 AM).
FBI agent's Avatar
FBI agent FBI agent is offline
If my PM box is full, VM instead :x
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unknown Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 823
Quote originally posted by Flame999:
I'm trying to put a give pokemon script where as soon as you come down the stairs the proffosor gives you your pokemon but how do I make him give the Pokedex and it has the nat dex as well and 5 pokeballs

here's my script so far

#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
lock
checkflag 0x200
if 0x1 jump :end
setflag FR_POKEMON
countpokemon
compare LASTRESULT 6
if == jump @noroom
addpokemon BAGON 0x5 NONE 0 0 0
setflag 0x200
storepokemon 0 BAGON
message @get-msg
fanfare 0x101
showmsg
waitfanfare
waitbutton
:end
release
end

#org @noroom
msgbox @noroom-msg
callstd MSG_NOCLOSE
disappear 0x2
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @noroom-msg
= You don't have enough room in your party.

#org @get-msg
= You got a \v\h02!

if you can help great
You don't need to use 0x200 to see if the event is being triggered, just use FR_POKEMON. Finally, the Pokedex is given by setting the flag 0x829 and the national dex is enabled by special 0x16F (special comes after the flag 0x829).

Those changes should make the script work as you intend. If what you want to do is a level script, there is a good tutorial by Cooley on level scripts (it should be the first hit if you use the search, or one of the first).
__________________
...

My name forum name is FBI Agent, though you can call me FBI because it's shorter.

Some of my stuff:
ASM request/resource thread
ASM tutorials thread
ASM Workshop
  #23996    
Old February 24th, 2013 (08:05 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by iDowngrade:
Note: UNLZ.gba... we met again

I will do it by the time, i'm sure i will be able to learn to do so!, im just a 12 year old kid and i know java, so why not learn how to do this?


What do you mean with the "battle animations" with the current images? can you make a bit more-depth answer, please?
Search "creating new battle animations" and look for a thread by Chaos Rush.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23997    
Old February 24th, 2013 (09:40 AM).
Noah Ridgewood's Avatar
Noah Ridgewood Noah Ridgewood is online now
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 16,891
I have no idea if this is a simple question or not, but I figured that there wasn't any harm in asking to see where it leads me.

I want to start mapping for fun, but I don't want to use the tileset (is that what it's called?) that comes with the ROM. I want to use one that I find online.

I open AdvancedMap and load the ROM.
I got to Map and then New Map and come to this:

Spoiler:


And over at the right hand side is this:

Spoiler:


But what I want to do is change all those tiles in there to look something like this:

Spoiler:


...so that I can create a new map using tiles that I chose myself.

How do I do that? I looked at tutorials and all I see is recolors or edits to existing tiles, but I don't want to do that.

Whaaaah someone help me! :(
  #23998    
Old February 24th, 2013 (09:45 AM).
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,280
Quote originally posted by Patchisou Yutohru:
I have no idea if this is a simple question or not, but I figured that there wasn't any harm in asking to see where it leads me.

I want to start mapping for fun, but I don't want to use the tileset (is that what it's called?) that comes with the ROM. I want to use one that I find online.

I open AdvancedMap and load the ROM.
I got to Map and then New Map and come to this:

Spoiler:


And over at the right hand side is this:

Spoiler:


But what I want to do is change all those tiles in there to look something like this:

Spoiler:


...so that I can create a new map using tiles that I chose myself.

How do I do that? I looked at tutorials and all I see is recolors or edits to existing tiles, but I don't want to do that.

Whaaaah someone help me! :(
You'd have to apply patches to the game that provide new tilesets. There's programs for patching, Lunar IPS being the most used patch format. Just make sure the patch is designed for Fire Red (Or whatever game you plan to use) and you'll be set to go :D

Here's a base for Fire Red:
http://wesleyfg.weebly.com/rom-bases.html
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source
~This signature is under construction
  #23999    
Old February 24th, 2013 (09:53 AM).
Noah Ridgewood's Avatar
Noah Ridgewood Noah Ridgewood is online now
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 16,891
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
You'd have to apply patches to the game that provide new tilesets. There's programs for patching, Lunar IPS being the most used patch format. Just make sure the patch is designed for Fire Red (Or whatever game you plan to use) and you'll be set to go :D

Here's a base for Fire Red:
http://wesleyfg.weebly.com/rom-bases.html
Okay so I downloaded Lunar IPS and the Hoenn base and then I patched Fire Red and opened the rom and the tiles were changed -- perfect! But what if I want to use a tileset that I find in just an image file? I can't do it any other way than rely on a patch someone made?

Is what I'm looking for called bases? All they do is change all the tiles?
  #24000    
Old February 24th, 2013 (09:58 AM). Edited February 24th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Patchisou Yutohru:
I have no idea if this is a simple question or not, but I figured that there wasn't any harm in asking to see where it leads me.

I want to start mapping for fun, but I don't want to use the tileset (is that what it's called?) that comes with the ROM. I want to use one that I find online.

I open AdvancedMap and load the ROM.
I got to Map and then New Map and come to this:

Spoiler:


And over at the right hand side is this:

Spoiler:


But what I want to do is change all those tiles in there to look something like this:

Spoiler:


...so that I can create a new map using tiles that I chose myself.

How do I do that? I looked at tutorials and all I see is recolors or edits to existing tiles, but I don't want to do that.

Whaaaah someone help me!

Like Team Fail said, you can do it with a patch. Or you can do it yourself if you can't find a patch you like. Here is a post I posted about a week ago for someone looking for the same thing:

Quote:
Here is Lu-Ho's tut on how to add (not replace) new tilesets: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=156018

Here is a tutorial on adding tilesets in general: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=186982
Like FBI said, just type in tile sets and hit search!:D

And another good tutorial, (I hope...): http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=193377

For animating tiles, this should be useful: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=260619

Adding tilesets: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=209974&highlight=Tile
Same, (looks okay....): http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=91975
Another: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=190537
And another: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=197215
There are more... But I'm done
There are plenty of more tutorials in the tutorials section. Have fun.


Edit: 24000th post on this thread:D.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:30 AM.