The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #23976    
Old February 22nd, 2013, 03:25 PM
LocksmithArmy's Avatar
LocksmithArmy
Mew!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 25
Gender: Male

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
1. Can you go back and forth in A-map?

2. Sometimes maps get corrupted. Just insert the new maps that don't work into a new map bank and change everything to point to there new locations. Then everything should work.
1. yes i can...

2. I tried once making a bank 44 and it did not work... but i shall try some more...

I did corrupt a map bad once... but they are fairly easy to fix in the hex editor... this stuff is pretty straight forward (1 month ago I had done no hex work or skripting... at all... it was all gibberish) its alot of fun to learn
__________________
~Current Project:

~Completed Projects:


  #23977    
Old February 22nd, 2013, 03:33 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocksmithArmy View Post
1. yes i can...

2. I tried once making a bank 44 and it did not work... but i shall try some more...

I did corrupt a map bad once... but they are fairly easy to fix in the hex editor... this stuff is pretty straight forward (1 month ago I had done no hex work or skripting... at all... it was all gibberish) its alot of fun to learn
If you can go back and forth in A-map, then just delete all map connections, save, and try again. Sometimes it just needs a reset.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23978    
Old February 22nd, 2013, 03:57 PM
LocksmithArmy's Avatar
LocksmithArmy
Mew!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 25
Gender: Male
I shall try this...

thanks

UPDATE (this totally worked, I 000000d the map connection offset and made them anew... works great)
__________________
~Current Project:

~Completed Projects:



Last edited by LocksmithArmy; February 23rd, 2013 at 05:26 AM.
  #23979    
Old February 22nd, 2013, 05:09 PM
iDowngrade
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
If you run out of flags, I have a risky, but worth it solution. Just let me know if you do.



Please, never use that giant text again. Please. Also, the pallette is messed up because they both share a pallette. A much better way to do it would be to use GIMP and index them both with the same pallette before insertion. An even easier way, just use Wichu's Sprite Editor: The Advance Series. It does the pallettes for you and will also do shiny pallettes very easily.

Edit: I see you've already used Wichu's but your giant text prevented me from seeing the first part of your message. No kidding. Give it another try. The problem is that your images will have to share the same pallette before going into Wichu's sprite editor.
I fixed it but there is a little problem, do i really need to have the same pallette?, cause look
It looks like:

When it should be looking with the skin more shaded, how do i do that?
Attached Images
File Type: png WaterStarter.png‎ (1.2 KB, 73 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #23980    
Old February 22nd, 2013, 06:06 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDowngrade View Post
I fixed it but there is a little problem, do i really need to have the same pallette?, cause look
It looks like:

When it should be looking with the skin more shaded, how do i do that?
Yu have 15 colors plus a background color, (which will be removed) to work with. There are only two pallettes for each pokemon. One shiny and one normal. Therefore, you have to work around this. Each pokemon only has two pallettes for 4 sprites. This means two sets of front and back, one shiny one normal. Unless you can change the way the game operates, you have to work around it.

So for your thing, you would have to remove a color somewhere else if you want to have more shading on the face.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23981    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 07:47 AM
Waterfall~'s Avatar
Waterfall~
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Female
Hi guys, I'd like to know if I can insert a brand new pokémon. I don't know if I can do it just editing one of the existing pokémons or if there's another way. I would like to create a brand new pokémon with its own sprite and decide which moves it has to learn at which level. Am I asking for too much? XD Anyway if it is possible, I would like to know also if it's easier in Pokémon Ruby or DP (since I'm still not sure about which one to use for my project).
  #23982    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 09:03 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterfall~ View Post
Hi guys, I'd like to know if I can insert a brand new pokémon. I don't know if I can do it just editing one of the existing pokémons or if there's another way. I would like to create a brand new pokémon with its own sprite and decide which moves it has to learn at which level. Am I asking for too much? XD Anyway if it is possible, I would like to know also if it's easier in Pokémon Ruby or DP (since I'm still not sure about which one to use for my project).
Without a lot skill, you will be forced to replace a pokemon. It is possible to add them, but it takes a lot of time and effort. I have never hacked DP, but I can tell you that it is fairly easy to do on Ruby. The tools are fairly self-explanatory, so here is a list:

Wichu's Sprite Editors (The Advance Series): these will be used to insert new sprites, adjust the sprites, and do icons
YAPE: to edit pokemon stats, pokedex entries, movesets
PGE->P.E.:same as YAPE but can increase the amount of moves a pokemon learns.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23983    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 09:30 AM
Gold011
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
hey, i'm having problems with a tool called a-cry 1.2 (advanced cry editor),my problem is after editing the cries of the pokemon i wanted, i go to save, and when i click save, it gives me an error, where there are a detail button, continue/quit button where i can continue or exit the program....and i don't know what to do with it...
  #23984    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 09:35 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gold011 View Post
hey, i'm having problems with a tool called a-cry 1.2 (advanced cry editor),my problem is after editing the cries of the pokemon i wanted, i go to save, and when i click save, it gives me an error, where there are a detail button, continue/quit button where i can continue or exit the program....and i don't know what to do with it...
A-cry is a very old and buggy program. Here is a much better way to do it until someone finds a better way to make a cry editor http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=293830.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23985    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 09:45 AM
Waterfall~'s Avatar
Waterfall~
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Without a lot skill, you will be forced to replace a pokemon. It is possible to add them, but it takes a lot of time and effort. I have never hacked DP, but I can tell you that it is fairly easy to do on Ruby. The tools are fairly self-explanatory, so here is a list:

Wichu's Sprite Editors (The Advance Series): these will be used to insert new sprites, adjust the sprites, and do icons
YAPE: to edit pokemon stats, pokedex entries, movesets
PGE->P.E.:same as YAPE but can increase the amount of moves a pokemon learns.
It is okay for me to do this way. Can I also edit trainers' pokémons? And trainers' sprites? As for map editing, I read it is easier to do on Ruby, so I'll probably give it a try.
Thank you so much for your help
  #23986    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 10:26 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterfall~ View Post
It is okay for me to do this way. Can I also edit trainers' pokémons? And trainers' sprites? As for map editing, I read it is easier to do on Ruby, so I'll probably give it a try.
Thank you so much for your help
Trainers can be edited by Advance Trainer.

Trainer sprites can be edited by NSE Classic. There is a plugin for it in the options menu.

Map editing is best done in Advance Map. This is the only thing I can guarantee as easier since it is 2d vs the 3d in DPPt.

Hope this helps get you started!
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23987    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 11:59 AM
Gold011
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
A-cry is a very old and buggy program. Here is a much better way to do it until someone finds a better way to make a cry editor http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=293830.
oh sh**, i tried that, and it's way TOO advanced for me, oh well, i guess i'll have to stick with pokecrygui...
  #23988    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 12:20 PM
Shubunkus's Avatar
Shubunkus
I.R.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
How do I make it so a sprite is invisible until a script makes it visible like how Oak is invisible in FireRed until you try to walk out of Pallet Town?
__________________
  #23989    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 01:48 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shubunkus View Post
How do I make it so a sprite is invisible until a script makes it visible like how Oak is invisible in FireRed until you try to walk out of Pallet Town?
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=161616

Scroll down to the section on dissapearing and reapearing sprites.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23990    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 02:03 PM
iDowngrade
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Is there any program that i can use for editing the attack images?, please i really need that for my hack
  #23991    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 02:57 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDowngrade View Post
Is there any program that i can use for editing the attack images?, please i really need that for my hack
These are rediculously fun to edit. The tool is un-lz. By fun, I mean if you can do it.......
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23992    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 03:02 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDowngrade View Post
Is there any program that i can use for editing the attack images?, please i really need that for my hack
You can use UNLZ but, no one has been successful in replacing those, so for know just try creating new battle animations with the current images.
__________________
  #23993    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 04:38 PM
iDowngrade
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
These are rediculously fun to edit. The tool is un-lz. By fun, I mean if you can do it.......
Note: UNLZ.gba... we met again

I will do it by the time, i'm sure i will be able to learn to do so!, im just a 12 year old kid and i know java, so why not learn how to do this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tajaros
You can use UNLZ but, no one has been successful in replacing those, so for know just try creating new battle animations with the current images.
What do you mean with the "battle animations" with the current images? can you make a bit more-depth answer, please?
  #23994    
Old February 24th, 2013, 01:30 AM
Flame999's Avatar
Flame999
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lavaridge Town
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I'm trying to put a give pokemon script where as soon as you come down the stairs the proffosor gives you your pokemon but how do I make him give the Pokedex and it has the nat dex as well and 5 pokeballs

here's my script so far

#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
lock
checkflag 0x200
if 0x1 jump :end
setflag FR_POKEMON
countpokemon
compare LASTRESULT 6
if == jump @noroom
addpokemon BAGON 0x5 NONE 0 0 0
setflag 0x200
storepokemon 0 BAGON
message @get-msg
fanfare 0x101
showmsg
waitfanfare
waitbutton
:end
release
end

#org @noroom
msgbox @noroom-msg
callstd MSG_NOCLOSE
disappear 0x2
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @noroom-msg
= You don't have enough room in your party.

#org @get-msg
= You got a \v\h02!

if you can help great
__________________
Pokemon Fire Red Hack
-3rd Gen game
- more rival
- New Tiles
- New Trainer sprites
- New Map for Hoenn (replace Sevii islands)
Finished making the Hoenn & Kanto Gym leaders
Finished making the Hoenn & Kanto Elite four and Champions

  #23995    
Old February 24th, 2013, 05:44 AM
Shubunkus's Avatar
Shubunkus
I.R.
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flame999 View Post
I'm trying to put a give pokemon script where as soon as you come down the stairs the proffosor gives you your pokemon but how do I make him give the Pokedex and it has the nat dex as well and 5 pokeballs

here's my script so far

#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
lock
checkflag 0x200
if 0x1 jump :end
setflag FR_POKEMON
countpokemon
compare LASTRESULT 6
if == jump @noroom
addpokemon BAGON 0x5 NONE 0 0 0
setflag 0x200
storepokemon 0 BAGON
message @get-msg
fanfare 0x101
showmsg
waitfanfare
waitbutton
:end
release
end

#org @noroom
msgbox @noroom-msg
callstd MSG_NOCLOSE
disappear 0x2
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @noroom-msg
= You don't have enough room in your party.

#org @get-msg
= You got a \v\h02!

if you can help great
The PokeDex and National Dex can be activated by setting a certain flag. Look at Tajaros's Tutorial and look for the special flags. As for the PokeBalls, you use the Give Item command.
__________________
  #23996    
Old February 24th, 2013, 05:47 AM
FBI agent
Imagine something beautiful
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Isle 4 - Dairy Products
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flame999 View Post
I'm trying to put a give pokemon script where as soon as you come down the stairs the proffosor gives you your pokemon but how do I make him give the Pokedex and it has the nat dex as well and 5 pokeballs

here's my script so far

#dyn 0x740000
#org @start
lock
checkflag 0x200
if 0x1 jump :end
setflag FR_POKEMON
countpokemon
compare LASTRESULT 6
if == jump @noroom
addpokemon BAGON 0x5 NONE 0 0 0
setflag 0x200
storepokemon 0 BAGON
message @get-msg
fanfare 0x101
showmsg
waitfanfare
waitbutton
:end
release
end

#org @noroom
msgbox @noroom-msg
callstd MSG_NOCLOSE
disappear 0x2
setflag 0x200
release
end

#org @noroom-msg
= You don't have enough room in your party.

#org @get-msg
= You got a \v\h02!

if you can help great
You don't need to use 0x200 to see if the event is being triggered, just use FR_POKEMON. Finally, the Pokedex is given by setting the flag 0x829 and the national dex is enabled by special 0x16F (special comes after the flag 0x829).

Those changes should make the script work as you intend. If what you want to do is a level script, there is a good tutorial by Cooley on level scripts (it should be the first hit if you use the search, or one of the first).
__________________
...

Hacks I support:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=297199 --Legend of Anbuja
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=200227 -- Pokemon Rose version

People whom I thank:
Comrade -- For helping me with my bad hack, and for being a good friend
Darthatron -- Helping me get into basic ASM, even though I'm hopeless. (He is heartless stay away).
Anbuja's_BlooDY -- Graphics help, and being a good friend
FBI -- For having the username I wanted
  #23997    
Old February 24th, 2013, 08:05 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDowngrade View Post
Note: UNLZ.gba... we met again

I will do it by the time, i'm sure i will be able to learn to do so!, im just a 12 year old kid and i know java, so why not learn how to do this?


What do you mean with the "battle animations" with the current images? can you make a bit more-depth answer, please?
Search "creating new battle animations" and look for a thread by Chaos Rush.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #23998    
Old February 24th, 2013, 09:40 AM
Mr. Downstairs's Avatar
Mr. Downstairs
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Age: 22
I have no idea if this is a simple question or not, but I figured that there wasn't any harm in asking to see where it leads me.

I want to start mapping for fun, but I don't want to use the tileset (is that what it's called?) that comes with the ROM. I want to use one that I find online.

I open AdvancedMap and load the ROM.
I got to Map and then New Map and come to this:

Spoiler:


And over at the right hand side is this:

Spoiler:


But what I want to do is change all those tiles in there to look something like this:

Spoiler:


...so that I can create a new map using tiles that I chose myself.

How do I do that? I looked at tutorials and all I see is recolors or edits to existing tiles, but I don't want to do that.

Whaaaah someone help me! :(
  #23999    
Old February 24th, 2013, 09:45 AM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
The fine line between in|sanity
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patchisou Yutohru View Post
I have no idea if this is a simple question or not, but I figured that there wasn't any harm in asking to see where it leads me.

I want to start mapping for fun, but I don't want to use the tileset (is that what it's called?) that comes with the ROM. I want to use one that I find online.

I open AdvancedMap and load the ROM.
I got to Map and then New Map and come to this:

Spoiler:


And over at the right hand side is this:

Spoiler:


But what I want to do is change all those tiles in there to look something like this:

Spoiler:


...so that I can create a new map using tiles that I chose myself.

How do I do that? I looked at tutorials and all I see is recolors or edits to existing tiles, but I don't want to do that.

Whaaaah someone help me! :(
You'd have to apply patches to the game that provide new tilesets. There's programs for patching, Lunar IPS being the most used patch format. Just make sure the patch is designed for Fire Red (Or whatever game you plan to use) and you'll be set to go :D

Here's a base for Fire Red:
http://wesleyfg.weebly.com/rom-bases.html
__________________

Pairs:
Kevin, Echidna
Follow me on Twitter! @TeamFail
Alt 1, リザードン
Miiverse
Pokémon Hackers Online
Alt 2: Jack Cayman



[04:20.39] <@GoGo> I WILL INSERT WITH PLEASURE
[04:20.45] <@GoGo> shut it Bela

[05:41.55] <Team_Fail> Blue Spider is interesting, but #MEHMasterRace
[05:42.20] <diegoisawesome> Team_Fail: Sounds like a bunch of unmotivated people that still want to try to take over the world
  #24000    
Old February 24th, 2013, 09:53 AM
Mr. Downstairs's Avatar
Mr. Downstairs
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Age: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
You'd have to apply patches to the game that provide new tilesets. There's programs for patching, Lunar IPS being the most used patch format. Just make sure the patch is designed for Fire Red (Or whatever game you plan to use) and you'll be set to go :D

Here's a base for Fire Red:
http://wesleyfg.weebly.com/rom-bases.html
Okay so I downloaded Lunar IPS and the Hoenn base and then I patched Fire Red and opened the rom and the tiles were changed -- perfect! But what if I want to use a tileset that I find in just an image file? I can't do it any other way than rely on a patch someone made?

Is what I'm looking for called bases? All they do is change all the tiles?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.