The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old November 13th, 2012, 06:25 PM
bluedeedrocks's Avatar
bluedeedrocks
Professional Coolguy
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
How would I go about making a script that hides a sprite indefinitely? Also, how can I do the opposite? Have a sprite normally be invisible, but then make it visible with the script?
__________________
A little linearity never hurt anyone. I feel like I need a little something keeping me in line!



Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old November 14th, 2012, 12:53 AM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluedeedrocks View Post
How would I go about making a script that hides a sprite indefinitely? Also, how can I do the opposite? Have a sprite normally be invisible, but then make it visible with the script?
If you want the sprite to make it permanently invisible you can use a hidesprite with a flag in it. Then if you want it to appear again make another script that uses the clearflag and the showsprite command. :D Simple as that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old November 14th, 2012, 04:00 PM
Dddzort
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Your trainerbattle 0x5 didn't work for me, it just said the defeat text and wouldn't do the battle. The VS seeker wouldn't even work. Its also not a trainer already battled in the game so idk why it doesnt work
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old November 14th, 2012, 04:18 PM
wwmb's Avatar
wwmb
Watcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluedeedrocks View Post
How would I go about making a script that hides a sprite indefinitely? Also, how can I do the opposite? Have a sprite normally be invisible, but then make it visible with the script?
You can also have the sprite set to hidden movement in A-Map, and then use showsprite in a map/level script whenever it is supposed to be shown.
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old November 15th, 2012, 02:21 AM
阴魂君's Avatar
阴魂君
_(:зゝ∠)_ so busy i am…
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: China
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Wow it's great!I have copied all them into my notebook. :DWell,I have some questions.At the sprite of trainerbattle,0x3 is used for long event battles,and 0x9 has a text when the hero lose.So I want to have a long event with battles,and the enemy will say something when the hero lose.Is it impossible?
And,need I write the setvar into all level Sprit,although I just want a NPC to move? ('ᴥ')
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old November 15th, 2012, 02:07 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by 阴魂君 View Post
Wow it's great!I have copied all them into my notebook. :DWell,I have some questions.At the sprite of trainerbattle,0x3 is used for long event battles,and 0x9 has a text when the hero lose.So I want to have a long event with battles,and the enemy will say something when the hero lose.Is it impossible?
And,need I write the setvar into all level Sprit,although I just want a NPC to move? ('ᴥ')
Thanks.

No it's not impossible use 0x9 it's the same. And about the Level script you still have to put a level script even if the script is just a simple script.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old November 15th, 2012, 08:34 PM
阴魂君's Avatar
阴魂君
_(:зゝ∠)_ so busy i am…
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: China
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by tajaros View Post
Thanks.

No it's not impossible use 0x9 it's the same. And about the Level script you still have to put a level script even if the script is just a simple script.
thanks a lot ,xD it's so helpful to me
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old November 16th, 2012, 08:08 PM
bluedeedrocks's Avatar
bluedeedrocks
Professional Coolguy
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Two questions: Can I permanently hide more than one person if I assign them the same flag ID, set the flag, and the hidesprite both? Also, is there a way to change the movement type of a sprite. Like after a trainer battle, I want the trainer to follow me, copy player movement type I believe? Thanks for the previous answer and this one!
__________________
A little linearity never hurt anyone. I feel like I need a little something keeping me in line!



Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old November 16th, 2012, 11:05 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluedeedrocks View Post
Two questions: Can I permanently hide more than one person if I assign them the same flag ID, set the flag, and the hidesprite both? Also, is there a way to change the movement type of a sprite. Like after a trainer battle, I want the trainer to follow me, copy player movement type I believe? Thanks for the previous answer and this one!
Yes, you can have two person's have the same flag so they will both disappear, and you can also copy the movements it's alright.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old November 26th, 2012, 03:41 PM
xWhyNotx's Avatar
xWhyNotx
Scripting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kuna Region
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to xWhyNotx
This is a great tutorial! I'm glad you used the different warp commands. I didn't even know they existed! Thanks!
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
If a scroll bar appears that means it\'s too tall!
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old February 23rd, 2013, 12:58 AM
TheUltimateG.J's Avatar
TheUltimateG.J
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bihar,Darbhanga
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
hi I am big fan of your's scripting.
__________________


A lover of Pokemon and their Hacks this is no other than?

Only he can be----->G.J
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old February 27th, 2013, 06:06 PM
A Shadow's Soul's Avatar
A Shadow's Soul
Waaaaaaaaaat?
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Nottingham, England
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
When I attempt to load XSE it closes instantly, how would I be able to stop this?
__________________
I have a big gun I took it from my Lord. Sick with Justice I just wanna feel you.
I'm your angel only a ring away. You make me violate you no matter who you are!

~ Mell - Red Fraction ~
Hi I'm Adam ~ Showdown ~ VM ~


Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old February 27th, 2013, 09:33 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Leader Adam View Post
When I attempt to load XSE it closes instantly, how would I be able to stop this?
First go to the settings.ini and look for AutoUpdateCheck = 1, change 1 with 0 and it should work properly.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old February 28th, 2013, 09:49 AM
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
K tajaros I know you helped me before but I'm gonna ask again. After I type in whatever script I want to use, how do I add the script to the game? Do I hit compile?
(Please note that I am using PKSV because when I use XSE it says 'runtime error supscript 9 is out of range' If you know how to fix that then thnx.)
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old February 28th, 2013, 09:16 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweenyTodd View Post
K tajaros I know you helped me before but I'm gonna ask again. After I type in whatever script I want to use, how do I add the script to the game? Do I hit compile?
(Please note that I am using PKSV because when I use XSE it says 'runtime error supscript 9 is out of range' If you know how to fix that then thnx.)
Didn't you read my previous post? :3

Ok to insert it in your game first you have to load your ROM, and then compile your script after that copy the offset and paste it on A-map with your Rom loaded... :)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old March 2nd, 2013, 07:08 AM
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by tajaros View Post
First go to the settings.ini and look for AutoUpdateCheck = 1, change 1 with 0 and it should work properly.
There is no settings.ini. At first I thought it was because I got XSE with the Pokemon Game Editor, but when I downloaded it using your link it still didn't appear. Where is it at?

K when I copied your first script and gave it to a person event, I look at the script from A-map this appears

Spoiler:
#org 0x8768741
'-----------------------------------
#raw 0xFF
updatecoins 0xD9 0xE0
#raw 0xE0
#raw 0xE3
nop0 ' #raw 0x0
#raw 0xD9
#raw 0xEA
#raw 0xD9
#raw 0xE6
#raw 0xED
#raw 0xE3
#raw 0xE2
#raw 0xD9
tempspriteface 0x0 0xE2
updatecoins 0xD5 0xE4
#raw 0xE4
#raw 0xED
nop0 ' #raw 0x0
updatecoins 0xD5 0xD7
#raw 0xDF
#raw 0xDD
#raw 0xE2
#raw 0xDB
setdoorclosed 0xFFFF 0xFFFF
#raw 0xFF
#raw 0xFF


QQ help me.

Last edited by TweenyTodd; March 2nd, 2013 at 07:30 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old March 2nd, 2013, 03:16 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweenyTodd View Post
There is no settings.ini. At first I thought it was because I got XSE with the Pokemon Game Editor, but when I downloaded it using your link it still didn't appear. Where is it at?

K when I copied your first script and gave it to a person event, I look at the script from A-map this appears

Spoiler:
#org 0x8768741
'-----------------------------------
#raw 0xFF
updatecoins 0xD9 0xE0
#raw 0xE0
#raw 0xE3
nop0 ' #raw 0x0
#raw 0xD9
#raw 0xEA
#raw 0xD9
#raw 0xE6
#raw 0xED
#raw 0xE3
#raw 0xE2
#raw 0xD9
tempspriteface 0x0 0xE2
updatecoins 0xD5 0xE4
#raw 0xE4
#raw 0xED
nop0 ' #raw 0x0
updatecoins 0xD5 0xD7
#raw 0xDF
#raw 0xDD
#raw 0xE2
#raw 0xDB
setdoorclosed 0xFFFF 0xFFFF
#raw 0xFF
#raw 0xFF


QQ help me.
Oh my bad for not having an ini file for the XSE download. I'll reupload it.

Are you sure you compiled and copied the offset properly? And did you use XSE to compile it? Be sure the offset you got is the same as the one in A-map.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old March 3rd, 2013, 06:30 AM
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Thanks for the updated file. XSE is working fine now. Except that the '/n' appears in the text instead of a new line.
For trainer battles, can I use something besides A-Trainer? I am using Jambo's patch so it won't work.
If you don't have an answer, I'll look into it myself.
TweenyTodd

Last edited by TweenyTodd; March 3rd, 2013 at 06:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old March 3rd, 2013, 02:15 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweenyTodd View Post
Thanks for the updated file. XSE is working fine now. Except that the '/n' appears in the text instead of a new line.
For trainer battles, can I use something besides A-Trainer? I am using Jambo's patch so it won't work.
If you don't have an answer, I'll look into it myself.
TweenyTodd
Because it should be\n not /n. Sorry to bring it up to you but the Jambo's Patch you're mentioning is the 649 patch right? IT IS NOT FOR HACKS.

Wait for the release of the 649 patch for hacks. So A-trainer is the best one out there...

Though if you want another trainer editor you can use PET.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old March 4th, 2013, 09:22 AM
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by tajaros View Post
Because it should be\n not /n.
Fixed it. Feel like a newb.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tajaros View Post
Sorry to bring it up to you but the Jambo's Patch you're mentioning is the 649 patch right? IT IS NOT FOR HACKS.
I'm aware of this. I'm not using it for a hack, I'm playing around with it for a later hack when Jambo gives the OK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tajaros View Post
So A-trainer is the best one out there...
I've figured out a way to use A-Trainer and hex editing to edit the trainers, so I guess you're right.

Thnx for all the help.
TweenyTodd
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old May 3rd, 2013, 04:02 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
This is a great tutorial. It helped me learn Scripting. A very thanks for making this tutorial.
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old May 6th, 2013, 01:44 AM
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aryan143 View Post
This is a great tutorial. It helped me learn Scripting. A very thanks for making this tutorial.
Thanks Aryan!

Guys if you want the thread to be updated so I can explain more commands just let me know. And I'll find sometime to edit the OP for those commands.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old May 11th, 2013, 03:55 PM
yozzyurubuza's Avatar
yozzyurubuza
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
In trainerbattle 0x5, the rematch automatically makes the enemies pokemon have higher levels when you battled them again, how can you edit the pokemons that they have? Because the trainer ID in the rematch is the same.
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old May 11th, 2013, 10:04 PM
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote:
Originally Posted by yozzyurubuza View Post
In trainerbattle 0x5, the rematch automatically makes the enemies pokemon have higher levels when you battled them again, how can you edit the pokemons that they have? Because the trainer ID in the rematch is the same.
Really? Well I haven't looked to that yet but I guess it has something to do with the trainer ID. Try looking at it in A-trainer or try looking into FR's original scripts which has trainerbattle 0x5. Or maybe the game raises a specific number of levels to the pokemon.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old May 12th, 2013, 05:48 AM
yozzyurubuza's Avatar
yozzyurubuza
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Here is the original script taken from a trainer that has a trainerbattle 0x5

Spoiler:
'---------------
#org 0x1ED4E9
trainerbattle 0x2 0x72 0x0 0x8295A7E 0x8295ABB 0x81ED52A
special2 LASTRESULT 0x3C
compare LASTRESULT 0x1
if 0x1 goto 0x81ED580
setvar 0x8004 0x72
special2 LASTRESULT 0x1F1
compare LASTRESULT 0x0
if 0x1 goto 0x81ED554
msgbox 0x8295AC3 MSG_KEEPOPEN '"["]Hello" is the beginning of ["]g..."
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x1ED52A
special 0x207
waitmovement 0x0
checkflag 0x12F
if 0x1 goto 0x81ED53B
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x1ED580
trainerbattle 0x5 0x72 0x0 0x8295BC8 0x8295BFA
msgbox 0x8295C1F MSG_NORMAL '"["]Hello" is the beginning of ["]g..."
end

'---------------
#org 0x1ED554
checkflag 0x12F
if 0x1 goto 0x81ED567
msgbox 0x8295AC3 MSG_KEEPOPEN '"["]Hello" is the beginning of ["]g..."
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x1ED53B
msgbox 0x8295B60 MSG_KEEPOPEN '"We should commemorate how we seem\..."
setvar 0x8004 0x72
special 0x1E9
registernav 0x72
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x1ED567
msgbox 0x8295B01 MSG_KEEPOPEN '"Hello, we meet again.\pWe seem to ..."
setvar 0x8004 0x72
special 0x1E9
registernav 0x72
release
end


As you can see, the first was trainerbattle 0x2 0x72 ->Trainer ID 72
As you go on deeper, you'll see trainerbattle 0x5 0x72, still the same trainer ID
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.