Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Pokémon Discussions > Pokémon Trading Card Game
Reload this Page Quick Questions Thread!

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Trading Card Game The forum for the Pokémon TCG and Pokemon TCG Online. Post your deck to get rated, rate other decks, ask questions, talk about strategy, etc.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 27th, 2013 (09:20 PM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
KYON-KUN, DENWA
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KYON-KUN, DENWA
Age: 24
Posts: 16,581
This thread is for those seeking to ask quick questions about the TCG that they don't feel merit their own thread.

Rules:
1. All section rules apply.

2. NO SELLING.

3. NO SELLING.

4. NO BUYING.

5. NO TRADING.

Ok, go!
__________________

KYON-KUN, DENWA
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old March 1st, 2013 (02:34 PM).
TrainerTori's Avatar
TrainerTori TrainerTori is offline
Growlithe Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Mitten State!
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 74
omg ;A; thank you for this thread!!!
I feel like it was made just for me and my billion questsion!


and my newest question.
When it comes to value of full arts, specifically full art trainers (colress in this case)
Any idea what happens to value over time?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old March 1st, 2013 (10:38 PM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
KYON-KUN, DENWA
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KYON-KUN, DENWA
Age: 24
Posts: 16,581
Quote originally posted by TrainerTori:
omg ;A; thank you for this thread!!!
>_> I feel like it was made just for me and my billion questsion!


and my newest question.
When it comes to value of full arts, specifically full art trainers (colress in this case)
Any idea what happens to value over time?
Value for those is generally highest when they are new, and it may be a while before those are very sought after, increasing their value again.

Colress itself is likely to drop in value after its rotated from competitive play in 2-ish years due to it being very playable as a draw option right now.
__________________

KYON-KUN, DENWA
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old March 2nd, 2013 (01:01 AM).
Renpuu's Avatar
Renpuu Renpuu is offline
Gengar !
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 345
Indeed. Cards are worth generally more value when they are allowed to be played in tournaments. Once they are out-rotated they generally lose their standard price.
When cards are first released and people are trying to acquire them during Pre-releases they can be worth more or less than the standard price until the meta game sorts itself out. For example some people may want to be the first to acquire a play set of full art Colress so they'll be valued higher than normal during a Pre-release. Some cards may be valued less due to 'lack of foresight.' This can happen due to a card that people wouldn't feel would see play and then it turns out to be really good, so the price increases and then standards out. Prices of cards are usually about supply and demand. If a card is very rare and everyone wants it, then it's price will naturally reflect that on the secondary market (eBay) and traders alike.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old March 6th, 2013 (06:27 PM).
google123's Avatar
google123 google123 is offline
google123
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: california
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 54
ok i have this palkia lv. x and on the bottom it says that it can use any attack from its previous level.
do i need the necessary energies for the previous palkia?
here's the link:

http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4137/4880366973_350be29def_z.jpg
__________________
C:\Users\MARGARITA\Pictures\New folder\assassin_s_creed_2.jpg
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7568542#post7568542
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old March 6th, 2013 (06:56 PM).
Renpuu's Avatar
Renpuu Renpuu is offline
Gengar !
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 345
Quote originally posted by google123:
ok i have this palkia lv. x and on the bottom it says that it can use any attack from its previous level.
do i need the necessary energies for the previous palkia?
here's the link:

http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4137/4880366973_350be29def_z.jpg
Yes you do. In order to use a required attack you need the energy cost in order to do so. Lv Xs allow you to have a stronger version of the "said Pokemon" but usually will a good ability and an extra attack. So you can use the attacks of both forms but MUST have the energy required.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old March 6th, 2013 (07:17 PM).
google123's Avatar
google123 google123 is offline
google123
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: california
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 54
Quote originally posted by Renpuu:
Yes you do. In order to use a required attack you need the energy cost in order to do so. Lv Xs allow you to have a stronger version of the "said Pokemon" but usually will a good ability and an extra attack. So you can use the attacks of both forms but MUST have the energy required.
oh thanks, now another question, this palkia's 'wormhole' attack makes me switch with one of my benched pokemon
then, my opponent switches with one of his own benched pokemon.

Even if i knock out the defending pokemon,do i still retreat?
http://ptcg.kachitta.net/scans/CL/19-palkia.jpg
__________________
C:\Users\MARGARITA\Pictures\New folder\assassin_s_creed_2.jpg
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7568542#post7568542
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old March 6th, 2013 (08:45 PM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
KYON-KUN, DENWA
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KYON-KUN, DENWA
Age: 24
Posts: 16,581
Without looking up rulings and based on wording alone, yes, you do still have to switch Palkia out, because that's how similar card effects work. It doesn't say "you may", which would make it optional.
__________________

KYON-KUN, DENWA
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old March 6th, 2013 (11:49 PM).
google123's Avatar
google123 google123 is offline
google123
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: california
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 54
true, true, now can i search for palkia lv.x by using professor elm's training method?

http://pokebeach.com/scans/ex-dragon-frontiers/79-professor-elm's-training-method.jpg
__________________
C:\Users\MARGARITA\Pictures\New folder\assassin_s_creed_2.jpg
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7568542#post7568542
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old March 7th, 2013 (02:28 AM).
Renpuu's Avatar
Renpuu Renpuu is offline
Gengar !
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 345
No. Palkia Lv X is not an evolution form. You can use various other methods of getting the card such as Ultra ball, Pokemon Communication, Luxury Ball etc.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old March 7th, 2013 (10:46 PM).
google123's Avatar
google123 google123 is offline
google123
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: california
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 54
what happens when I use great ball and i don't find any pokemon in those 7 cards?
__________________
C:\Users\MARGARITA\Pictures\New folder\assassin_s_creed_2.jpg
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7568542#post7568542
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old March 8th, 2013 (03:20 AM). Edited March 8th, 2013 by VydorScope.
VydorScope VydorScope is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Quote originally posted by google123:
what happens when I use great ball and i don't find any pokemon in those 7 cards?

You discard the Greatball, and curse your bad luck.

Deos this:

http://www.coolstuffinc.com/p/184240

Contain an Keldeo EX? Its much less then the going price for the card as a single.
__________________
Vincent
SciFi / Fantasy author
http://losttalesofpower.com
Reply With Quote
  #13    
Old March 8th, 2013 (08:01 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
KYON-KUN, DENWA
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KYON-KUN, DENWA
Age: 24
Posts: 16,581
Yes it does. It just released, though, so Keldeo EX prices have yet to adjust.
__________________

KYON-KUN, DENWA
Reply With Quote
  #14    
Old March 8th, 2013 (08:48 AM).
VydorScope VydorScope is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Quote originally posted by donavannj:
Yes it does. It just released, though, so Keldeo EX prices have yet to adjust.
Awesome - you just made my 9yr old's day.
__________________
Vincent
SciFi / Fantasy author
http://losttalesofpower.com
Reply With Quote
  #15    
Old March 8th, 2013 (09:58 AM).
Renpuu's Avatar
Renpuu Renpuu is offline
Gengar !
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 345
I would get the tin anyway. It's a great EX which can be used in any deck just for the "Rush in" ability !
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16    
Old March 8th, 2013 (10:49 AM).
VydorScope VydorScope is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Yep. But it will go well with his Blastoise deck
__________________
Vincent
SciFi / Fantasy author
http://losttalesofpower.com
Reply With Quote
  #17    
Old March 8th, 2013 (07:39 PM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
KYON-KUN, DENWA
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KYON-KUN, DENWA
Age: 24
Posts: 16,581
Get 3 or 4 of each for Blastoise and Keldeo and that's the start of a very tournament worthy deck!

Assuming it's the Blastoise with Deluge for its Ability, that is.
__________________

KYON-KUN, DENWA
Reply With Quote
  #18    
Old March 9th, 2013 (12:06 AM).
google123's Avatar
google123 google123 is offline
google123
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: california
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 54
if a pokemon is paralyzed, does that mean i can't use SWITCH to switch it with one of my benched pokemon?
__________________
C:\Users\MARGARITA\Pictures\New folder\assassin_s_creed_2.jpg
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7568542#post7568542
Reply With Quote
  #19    
Old March 9th, 2013 (04:57 AM).
VydorScope VydorScope is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Quote originally posted by google123:
if a pokemon is paralyzed, does that mean i can't use SWITCH to switch it with one of my benched pokemon?

You can switch, and that will cure it of paralyze. Works great if you switch with a Pokemon that has no retreat cost...
__________________
Vincent
SciFi / Fantasy author
http://losttalesofpower.com
Reply With Quote
  #20    
Old March 10th, 2013 (11:37 AM).
google123's Avatar
google123 google123 is offline
google123
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: california
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 54
can you retreat twice during your turn?
__________________
C:\Users\MARGARITA\Pictures\New folder\assassin_s_creed_2.jpg
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7568542#post7568542
Reply With Quote
  #21    
Old March 10th, 2013 (12:03 PM).
Renpuu's Avatar
Renpuu Renpuu is offline
Gengar !
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 345
You can pay the retreat cost to retreat once. For example if you have an active Pokemon with 0 retreat cost and retreat it, then you can't retreat another Pokemon. You can only retreat once per turn, but you can play trainers or abilities which can switch out your Active Pokemon as many times as you can. So you can play 4 switch in one turn if you really want to.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22    
Old March 11th, 2013 (05:40 PM).
google123's Avatar
google123 google123 is offline
google123
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: california
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 54
can you decide not to attack the opponen'ts pokemon even though your active pokemon is prepared?
__________________
C:\Users\MARGARITA\Pictures\New folder\assassin_s_creed_2.jpg
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7568542#post7568542
Reply With Quote
  #23    
Old March 12th, 2013 (04:24 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
KYON-KUN, DENWA
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KYON-KUN, DENWA
Age: 24
Posts: 16,581
You absolutely can decide not to attack.
__________________

KYON-KUN, DENWA
Reply With Quote
  #24    
Old March 12th, 2013 (04:39 AM).
Chrisaur's Avatar
Chrisaur Chrisaur is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cape Town - South Africa
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 67
I want to make a deck with fire and psychic , and the Litwick evolution line, just for the fun of it, so my question is = can a Fire Lampent/Chandelure evolve from a Psychic Litwick/Lampent ?
I see a few of the same Pokemon, but in different types, and just wondered if they can evolve if they are different types though. But of course you would have the acquired energy cards.

Thanks so much
Reply With Quote
  #25    
Old March 12th, 2013 (05:31 AM).
JayD's Avatar
JayD JayD is offline
Will you notice?
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 4,679
So I bought myself the Plasma Storm Giratina deck, I wanna base my deck around Mewtwo EX or something equally viable, should I do only a pure psychic type deck or I should mix it up?
__________________
♥Plusle bro of Autumn Reverie♥ | ♥Pink Mommy, Autumn Reverie, Kanzler, Macarous & Apollo♥
|3DS FC|
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:50 AM.