< >
Hello, guest! Please log in or register.

The PokéCommunity

Go Back     The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources Tutorial Pokémon 4th Gen Mapping (Still in the works, Importing is not done yet)

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old March 3rd, 2013 (11:19 AM).
RockeTODAMoon's Avatar
RockeTODAMoon RockeTODAMoon is offline
Swaggernaut
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hoenn
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VERGUNDAI View Post
Hey! I know that, I wonder if you edited the tileset wrong, or movement permissions changed...
How did you edit the tree? By which way did you edit the trees...before you imported them onto the nsbtx..
I can send you the Map and the textures, so you can take a look at it.
I will include the NSMBD, NSBTX, the .3DS file and the textures, Okay?
It's RockeTODAMoon homie, you know the F*ckin' name!
Mike Stud

Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #102    
Old March 4th, 2013 (1:25 PM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockeTODAMoon View Post
I can send you the Map and the textures, so you can take a look at it.
I will include the NSMBD, NSBTX, the .3DS file and the textures, Okay?
Sure why not, I'm always free to check the errors & problems anyways.

email: [email protected]
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #104    
Old March 14th, 2013 (11:52 PM). Edited March 15th, 2013 by Chaos Rush.
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,290
I'm getting pretty frustrated with this problem I've been having for quite awhile now; basically every time I import an edited map into Spiky's DS Map Editor, the textures are completely messed up, and sometimes the map is horizontally inverted. I solved the inverted problem by exporting from Google Sketchup as a .dae file, then importing the .dae file into Blender, then exporting as .obj from there.

Anyways, here is what I am doing:
1. Export obj from SDSME
2. Edit map in Google Sketchup
3. Export as .dae (This is because the obj plugin I found for it has pretty bad results, and I can't find a better one)
4. Open the .dae in Blender
5. Export as .obj

From here on, I do either set of these:
6. Open .obj with Maya 7.0
7. Convert to .imd
8. Give .imd a UV fix with MKDS
9. Convert .imd to .nsbmd
10. import into SDSME

OR

6. Using MKDS (the most recent one that has an obj-->nsbmd converter), give the .obj a UV fix
7. Convert fixed .obj to .nsbmd (the latest MKDS lets you do that)
8. Import into SDSME


No matter what I do, I end up with terrible results. Here is what my test map is supposed to look like (in Google Sketchup):
http://i48.tinypic.com/2q31ao4.png

But this is what Spiky's DS Map Editor thinks it's supposed to look like:
http://i48.tinypic.com/10xv91f.png


Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Most tutorials I see say to use 3DS Max 6, but the problem with that is that 3DS Max 6 doesn't work on Windows 7, and even though 3DS Max 8 does, the plugins are designed for 3DS Max 6. So basically 3DS Max isn't an option for me, but if anyone knows how to get the final result looking how its supposed to in SDSME, I would appreciate it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
but someday soon, someone may write a program that converts OBJ directly to NSBMD without need for the NITRO plugins.
That day has finally come, though its definitely not perfect, using my picture above as an example.

By the way, here's the version of MKDS that has an OBJ ---> NSBMD converter:
http://www.cw-games.org/forum/index....urse-modifier/

You have to register to download it however (lol just register, download it, and then never log on again)

My projects:
Untitled Pokémon fangame (pictured above) | Final Fantasy II NES retranslation | Mother 1/EarthBound Beginnings Color Restoration for GBA
Non-Pokémon hacks I support:
Sonic Classic Heroes
Sonic 3 Complete
Reply With Quote
  #105    
Old March 15th, 2013 (5:22 AM).
Iceangelwolf Iceangelwolf is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 5
It seems I'm having a bit of a problem with Blender. I just downloaded and installed it to try out the .dae format (Sketchup exports .obj files very badly), however when I export as .dae in Sketchup and try to open the file in Blender I can't see any textures. Otherwise the model looks like as it should, only with all surfaces grey. Not caring about this at first, I tried to convert it to .obj a couple of times and open it in MKDS course modifier but it gave me an index error of some sort. Is there a simple solution to this or have I messed up something?
Reply With Quote
  #106    
Old March 15th, 2013 (10:06 AM).
Cooldudepoke Cooldudepoke is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos Rush View Post
I'm getting pretty frustrated with this problem I've been having for quite awhile now; basically every time I import an edited map into Spiky's DS Map Editor, the textures are completely messed up, and sometimes the map is horizontally inverted. I solved the inverted problem by exporting from Google Sketchup as a .dae file, then importing the .dae file into Blender, then exporting as .obj from there.

Anyways, here is what I am doing:
1. Export obj from SDSME
2. Edit map in Google Sketchup
3. Export as .dae (This is because the obj plugin I found for it has pretty bad results, and I can't find a better one)
4. Open the .dae in Blender
5. Export as .obj

From here on, I do either set of these:
6. Open .obj with Maya 7.0
7. Convert to .imd
8. Give .imd a UV fix with MKDS
9. Convert .imd to .nsbmd
10. import into SDSME

OR

6. Using MKDS Beta 0.9 (the most recent one that has an obj-->nsbmd converter), give the .obj a UV fix
7. Convert fixed .obj to .nsbmd (the latest MKDS lets you do that)
8. Import into SDSME


No matter what I do, I end up with terrible results.
You need to hex-edit the NSBMD file
Basically it exports with incorrect pallets and textures
compare with NSBMDs that work but have the correct textures.
then fix yours and boom. done.
Reply With Quote
  #107    
Old March 15th, 2013 (4:19 PM). Edited March 15th, 2013 by Chaos Rush.
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooldudepoke View Post
You need to hex-edit the NSBMD file
Basically it exports with incorrect pallets and textures
compare with NSBMDs that work but have the correct textures.
then fix yours and boom. done.
Well here's my results:

If I import the NSBMD by using MKDS's new obj-->nsbmd converter, and then edit the texture and palette names to be correct, then I can successfully view my edited map in SDSME:

But there's multiple problems:
1) The map is too small in comparison to other maps (this is as large as MKDS will let me enlarge it)

2) The game freezes when I'm still in Twinleaf Town, and if I reach halfway through the town, then the game freezes, and a stretched out grass texture appears all over the screen.

3) MKDS's obj to NSBMD converter doesn't let me enlarge the map to the correct size, the maximum it will allow me to do is x1000.0000, which makes it slightly smaller than all the other maps when viewed through SDSME.

4) If I enlarge the map to x64 like the 5th Gen Map tutorial thread says to do so, then the map is waaaay too small, and has weird stretched out polygons (and the game still freezes)

If I try "the classic way", which is converting the obj to imd, and then to nsbmd (rather than directly to nsbmd, which is possible now), then I can get the correct size! But then the textures appear really dark, and not only that, but when I view the nsbmd with Tinke, it says nsbmd doesn't even have textures within it (wtf!?!?)

Either way, I still end up with a game freeze.

EDIT: To clarify, I use Maya 7.0 to convert OBJ files to IMD. Every 4th/5th Gen Mapping tutorial I've found says you can use either 3DS Max 6 or Maya 7. (though it appears that everyone that has had success used 3DS Max 6 )

My projects:
Untitled Pokémon fangame (pictured above) | Final Fantasy II NES retranslation | Mother 1/EarthBound Beginnings Color Restoration for GBA
Non-Pokémon hacks I support:
Sonic Classic Heroes
Sonic 3 Complete
Reply With Quote
  #108    
Old March 16th, 2013 (5:13 AM). Edited March 16th, 2013 by Cooldudepoke.
Cooldudepoke Cooldudepoke is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos Rush View Post
Well here's my results:

If I import the NSBMD by using MKDS's new obj-->nsbmd converter, and then edit the texture and palette names to be correct, then I can successfully view my edited map in SDSME:
--I can't post links yet--
But there's multiple problems:
1) The map is too small in comparison to other maps (this is as large as MKDS will let me enlarge it)

2) The game freezes when I'm still in Twinleaf Town, and if I reach halfway through the town, then the game freezes, and a stretched out grass texture appears all over the screen.

3) MKDS's obj to NSBMD converter doesn't let me enlarge the map to the correct size, the maximum it will allow me to do is x1000.0000, which makes it slightly smaller than all the other maps when viewed through SDSME.

4) If I enlarge the map to x64 like the 5th Gen Map tutorial thread says to do so, then the map is waaaay too small, and has weird stretched out polygons (and the game still freezes)

If I try "the classic way", which is converting the obj to imd, and then to nsbmd (rather than directly to nsbmd, which is possible now), then I can get the correct size! But then the textures appear really dark, and not only that, but when I view the nsbmd with Tinke, it says nsbmd doesn't even have textures within it (wtf!?!?)

Either way, I still end up with a game freeze.

EDIT: To clarify, I use Maya 7.0 to convert OBJ files to IMD. Every 4th/5th Gen Mapping tutorial I've found says you can use either 3DS Max 6 or Maya 7. (though it appears that everyone that has had success used 3DS Max 6 )
Hm. I haven't tried the new converter. Although I use 3DS Max 8 and it works fine. I did run into the problem where maps appear darker, however sadly I can't remember how to fix it

I know one thing I do is use the mtl file of the exported nsbmd from sdsme with changes to the material names to match the sketchup obj. You can try that but i'm not sure...

I'll post if I can find out how to fix it.

Edit: I just tried using the new obj to nsbmd converter and it appears very buggy. You should continue to use 3DS max 8. (I had the same problem as you with the new converter)
Reply With Quote
  #109    
Old March 25th, 2013 (12:28 AM).
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
The Legendary Master of Light!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos Rush View Post
Well here's my results:

If I import the NSBMD by using MKDS's new obj-->nsbmd converter, and then edit the texture and palette names to be correct, then I can successfully view my edited map in SDSME:

But there's multiple problems:
1) The map is too small in comparison to other maps (this is as large as MKDS will let me enlarge it)

2) The game freezes when I'm still in Twinleaf Town, and if I reach halfway through the town, then the game freezes, and a stretched out grass texture appears all over the screen.

3) MKDS's obj to NSBMD converter doesn't let me enlarge the map to the correct size, the maximum it will allow me to do is x1000.0000, which makes it slightly smaller than all the other maps when viewed through SDSME.

4) If I enlarge the map to x64 like the 5th Gen Map tutorial thread says to do so, then the map is waaaay too small, and has weird stretched out polygons (and the game still freezes)

If I try "the classic way", which is converting the obj to imd, and then to nsbmd (rather than directly to nsbmd, which is possible now), then I can get the correct size! But then the textures appear really dark, and not only that, but when I view the nsbmd with Tinke, it says nsbmd doesn't even have textures within it (wtf!?!?)

Either way, I still end up with a game freeze.

EDIT: To clarify, I use Maya 7.0 to convert OBJ files to IMD. Every 4th/5th Gen Mapping tutorial I've found says you can use either 3DS Max 6 or Maya 7. (though it appears that everyone that has had success used 3DS Max 6 -_-)
OK, it's really simple. Never ever compile an .imd file into an .nsbmd with the textures. You must always compile the .imd into .nsbmd using the command that only compiles it into an .nsbmd as a model without textures, which is this:
Code:
g3dcvtr.exe [name].imd -emdl [output name].nsbmd
Otherwise, the thing is that since the game already loads the textures from a single .nsbtx file located elsewhere in the ROM itself, making the game load both the ones in the .nsbmd and the .nsbtx at the same time in the same location results in a crash due to a forced memory overflow. Makes sense?

That's why you only need the model in the .nsbmd, it must not contain any textures assigned to it at all. ;)
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm gradually learning to use Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
Reply With Quote
  #110    
Old May 17th, 2014 (4:49 PM).
DastardlyDuck DastardlyDuck is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Is it required to torrent in order to get the NITRO SDK? Last time I used one of those things it messed up my computer
Reply With Quote
  #111    
Old October 10th, 2015 (11:20 AM).
Dialag Dialag is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Germany, Nothern Nordrhein-Westfalen
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Is this thread active?
Reply With Quote
  #112    
Old October 10th, 2015 (8:47 PM).
Hiro TDK Hiro TDK is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Gender: Male
Posts: 23
No, it is not. I am doing research so that I may make a new guide, this time with some information that's (hopefully) actually useful. I also plan to help out with things like the 3D "tilesets" and finding the necessary software. If you need the software, give me a shout, as I can show you to it.
Reply With Quote
  #113    
Old December 23rd, 2015 (9:04 AM). Edited December 23rd, 2015 by Sliter.
Sliter's Avatar
Sliter Sliter is offline
Gaijin Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Brazil
Nature: Timid
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to Sliter
Thanks for this tuto! really helped me a bunch, but instead of using sketchup and paid obj importers(that if had to come with the program .. come on google!!) I'm using belnder, it's doing the job bof now o3o

I'm still testing btw XD

aaand it don't worked :v lol

used course modifie to re convert to nsbmd btw
Can't even make it load any tileset, even from the own game õ3o


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hiro TDK View Post
No, it is not. I am doing research so that I may make a new guide, this time with some information that's (hopefully) actually useful. I also plan to help out with things like the 3D "tilesets" and finding the necessary software. If you need the software, give me a shout, as I can show you to it.
Hey man, every help to make/edit maps and if possible insert new tilesets would be a great help!
Reply With Quote
  #114    
Old December 23rd, 2015 (4:09 PM).
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
The Legendary Master of Light!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sliter View Post
Thanks for this tuto! really helped me a bunch, but instead of using sketchup and paid obj importers(that if had to come with the program .. come on google!!) I'm using belnder, it's doing the job bof now o3o

I'm still testing btw XD

aaand it don't worked :v lol

used course modifie to re convert to nsbmd btw
Can't even make it load any tileset, even from the own game õ3o



Hey man, every help to make/edit maps and if possible insert new tilesets would be a great help!
You will either need to rename the materials in the program you're using, or rename the .btx materials in Tinke or some program that has access to the NDS ROM file system.
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm gradually learning to use Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
Reply With Quote
  #115    
Old December 24th, 2015 (8:48 AM).
Sliter's Avatar
Sliter Sliter is offline
Gaijin Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Brazil
Nature: Timid
Posts: 74
Send a message via Skype™ to Sliter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Platinum Lucario View Post
You will either need to rename the materials in the program you're using, or rename the .btx materials in Tinke or some program that has access to the NDS ROM file system.
ok, gonna try it ...
one time but have some time ago .. I think was with SDSME , I just got the only the model from HGSS pokecenter and re placed the platinum one, it worked with the tileset of platinum ( very buggy but it was there lol)
(I think I still have the image ...
...found it lol
)
well I don't have much idea of what I'm doing haha
Reply With Quote
Reply Post Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:14 AM.


Contact Us Archive Privacy Statement Terms of Service Top