Community

The PokéCommunity

We are still working on a better slogan!

Visit Index



Advertise here

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Computers & Technology
Notices

Computers & Technology The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old April 3rd, 2013, 05:52 PM
Petie's Avatar
Petie
Donator Tier 2
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Jersey
Age: 26
Gender: Male

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
Hm. Guess it can't be fixed without some crazy PHP work then :c

Alright then. Thanks anyway.
If you want to modify the files, you could likely replace the query that's retrieving the username for posts and threads with the normal "retrieve username from user ID" query manually but it's going to add a bunch of queries to every page so I'm not sure it would be worth it.
  #27    
Old April 5th, 2013, 11:00 AM
aRedMoon's Avatar
aRedMoon
Wait for me outside the lines
Community Supporter Tier 3
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to aRedMoon Send a message via Skype™ to aRedMoon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petie View Post
If I remember correctly (it's been a while since I've used vBulletin), posts and threads have not only the user ID stored, but the username as well (which is one of the main reason username changes on huge forums can be a very CPU-intensive process). It's likely just referencing the stored username when showing the last post which, unfortunately, ignores your modifications to the code that retrieves a username.
This is correct, at least for the vB 3.x series. Not sure if they changed it for 4.x because it was something that people were requesting.

And yeah, that's why changing the username borks servers. :X Because it has to go through and change every instance, instead of just the one.
facebook \\ twitter \\ blog a.k.a life // tumblr // google+

june 10, 2003 = registered at old pc
march 24, 2004 = registered at new pc
june, 2004 = modded ;;; august, 2004 = quit/fired (point of debate)
december, 2004 = banned ;;; december 2, 2005 = unbanned
june 10, 2008 = omg... five years!
june 10, 2012 = countdown to nine years on pc...
  #28    
Old April 5th, 2013, 12:29 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
allllright. I'm kinda stuck on this one.

I was just screwing around with the css until I noticed that the main.css wouldn't change the actual .php pages unless I directly put them in there.

what am I doing wrongggggggggggggggg
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #29    
Old April 5th, 2013, 01:26 PM
Archenoth's Avatar
Archenoth
The arch foe
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
allllright. I'm kinda stuck on this one.

I was just screwing around with the css until I noticed that the main.css wouldn't change the actual .php pages unless I directly put them in there.

what am I doing wrongggggggggggggggg
Directly? You mean like putting element styles with a style tag?
It may be an issue with something overriding your CSS later. Try adding an "!important" directive to your CSS.

Now for some dumb "covering all bases" questions:
Is main.css included in your page? And is another CSS file included afterwards that overrides it?
  #30    
Old April 5th, 2013, 03:47 PM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
The fine line between in|sanity
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by aRedMoon View Post
This is correct, at least for the vB 3.x series. Not sure if they changed it for 4.x because it was something that people were requesting.

And yeah, that's why changing the username borks servers. :X Because it has to go through and change every instance, instead of just the one.
Ah. Too bad vBulletin never thought of this when they were designing it haha.

Pairs:
Kevin, Echidna
Follow me on Twitter! @TeamFail
Alt 1, リザードン
Miiverse
Pokémon Hackers Online
Alt 2: Jack Cayman



[04:20.39] <@GoGo> I WILL INSERT WITH PLEASURE
[04:20.45] <@GoGo> shut it Bela

[05:41.55] <Team_Fail> Blue Spider is interesting, but #MEHMasterRace
[05:42.20] <diegoisawesome> Team_Fail: Sounds like a bunch of unmotivated people that still want to try to take over the world
  #31    
Old April 5th, 2013, 04:03 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
Ah. Too bad vBulletin never thought of this when they were designing it haha.
I remember Audy said it was because it would put extra stress on the server to request the name from the database as opposed to the post itself.

…idk
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #32    
Old April 5th, 2013, 06:11 PM
Ausaudriel's Avatar
Ausaudriel
Chief Mechanic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Francisco
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
It isn't any extra stress on the server since the other information is already pulled anyway (post count, location, extra fields, etc.) It's all joined in the same query anyway.

The reason vBulletin stores usernames into posts is because it supports the option to let guests post without registering an account. When permissions are set properly guests can reply/start threads and type in a username to be shown.

So like, when an account is deleted, all of the posts from that account are marked as guest and have no information associated with them, but it still shows their username.
x paired with sylphiel x
x I am a magnet for all kinds of deeper wonderment x
x changelog x
  #33    
Old April 5th, 2013, 06:29 PM
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
The fine line between in|sanity
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ausaudriel View Post
It isn't any extra stress on the server since the other information is already pulled anyway (post count, location, extra fields, etc.) It's all joined in the same query anyway.

The reason vBulletin stores usernames into posts is because it supports the option to let guests post without registering an account. When permissions are set properly guests can reply/start threads and type in a username to be shown.

So like, when an account is deleted, all of the posts from that account are marked as guest and have no information associated with them, but it still shows their username.
That totally makes sense now. So their guest feature was essentially a downfall of the entire system. I wonder why they never saw this as a potential issue down the road.

Pairs:
Kevin, Echidna
Follow me on Twitter! @TeamFail
Alt 1, リザードン
Miiverse
Pokémon Hackers Online
Alt 2: Jack Cayman



[04:20.39] <@GoGo> I WILL INSERT WITH PLEASURE
[04:20.45] <@GoGo> shut it Bela

[05:41.55] <Team_Fail> Blue Spider is interesting, but #MEHMasterRace
[05:42.20] <diegoisawesome> Team_Fail: Sounds like a bunch of unmotivated people that still want to try to take over the world
  #34    
Old April 7th, 2013, 12:49 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
right. sorry to bother you guys again <3

Disregarding client-side and server-side and technical stuff like that, is it possible to use php variables in javascript and vice versa once you create the variable on either?
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #35    
Old April 9th, 2013, 03:04 PM
Archenoth's Avatar
Archenoth
The arch foe
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
The two most common ways to get PHP data into JavaScript is to either:

a) Use AJAX with a PHP file that spits out JSON with json_encode(). For example:
Code:
<?php
// Some code that sets $var to the desired value or array.
echo json_encode($var);
?>
Then use JSON.parse to parse your JSON into a usable JavaScript variable.

OR...
b) Echo JavaScript-usable data into the page... For example:

Code:
<script type='text/javascript'>
  var somevar = <?php echo $var; ?>;
</script>
Be very careful with this approach though since it is very vulnerable to XSS. (Imagine if $var is set to "4; alert('Hi!');" for example...)

For JavaScript to PHP, since PHP is server-side, this requires server activity. You'll either need to use AJAX or reload your current page with the GET or POST variables you want. GET variables are easy since you can fire an AJAX request to someurl?var=<someval>&anothervar=<someothervar>.

Last edited by Archenoth; April 9th, 2013 at 07:40 PM. Reason: Made about 1000x more clear.
  #36    
Old April 21st, 2013, 08:38 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archenoth View Post
The two most common ways to get PHP data into JavaScript is to either:

a) Use AJAX with a PHP file that spits out JSON with json_encode(). For example:
Code:
<?php
// Some code that sets $var to the desired value or array.
echo json_encode($var);
?>
Then use JSON.parse to parse your JSON into a usable JavaScript variable.

OR...
b) Echo JavaScript-usable data into the page... For example:

Code:
<script type='text/javascript'>
  var somevar = <?php echo $var; ?>;
</script>
Be very careful with this approach though since it is very vulnerable to XSS. (Imagine if $var is set to "4; alert('Hi!');" for example...)

For JavaScript to PHP, since PHP is server-side, this requires server activity. You'll either need to use AJAX or reload your current page with the GET or POST variables you want. GET variables are easy since you can fire an AJAX request to someurl?var=<someval>&anothervar=<someothervar>.
hehe thanks :p that makes it a lot clearer

Soooooooo I'm trying to implement a whissiwig editor or whatever it's called onto my website, and I have with the tinyMCE program…

however one problem is that it takes a long time to load, much worse than the one on PC, but I suppose because it's not WYSIWYG, so…

1) how to make it load faster, or 2) what other better options do I have?

sorry for asking and not telling, but I'm a noob at this :p
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


  #37    
Old May 2nd, 2013, 03:53 PM
Archenoth's Avatar
Archenoth
The arch foe
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
hehe thanks :p that makes it a lot clearer

Soooooooo I'm trying to implement a whissiwig editor or whatever it's called onto my website, and I have with the tinyMCE program…

however one problem is that it takes a long time to load, much worse than the one on PC, but I suppose because it's not WYSIWYG, so…

1) how to make it load faster, or 2) what other better options do I have?

sorry for asking and not telling, but I'm a noob at this :p
Are you familiar with your browser's web-inspector network tab? Because it is a great asset when checking to see why pages load slowly.

This is the network inspector tab in Opera Dragonfly...
Spoiler:


As you can see, it shows how long each request and response took, and if you mose over the bars, you can see a breakdown of what process took what amount of time:
Spoiler:


If something takes a long time, you can try to utilize caching, which will, instead of sending all of the data to a computer that has downloaded it again, send a simple 304 to the browser to indicate that it hasn't been modified:
Spoiler:


As you can see, this cuts down the amount of time a browser needs to download anything A LOT.
Spoiler:


If you have access to the configuration of your server, you can set it to use aggressive caching by sending an "Expiry" header with it's responses to allow data to be cached to make your site seem blazing fast, even if it uses exuberant AJAX and styles.

You can find out how to utilize the Expires header here.

Yahoo has some good guidelines too: http://developer.yahoo.com/performan...s.html#expires
  #38    
Old October 9th, 2013, 01:08 AM
MKGirlism's Avatar
MKGirlism
3DS and Wii U Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Skype™ to MKGirlism
I've made my own CMS, which I called "CWMSv4".
At the moment, it's not really intractable, but I'm planning on putting in more features people other than me and our Staff can use.
To rate it: http://www.cw-games.org

In addition, I'm using AcmlmBoardXD on my Blog/Forums.
While I love the Forum Software, I'm still not really used with Styling it.
Here's what I've made of:
http://www.mkgirlism.eu/?page=board
(It includes a Mobile Theme.)

Could you guys/gals give a Feedback for both?
~Yami
  #39    
Old October 9th, 2013, 07:47 AM
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj
The Melody Pokémon
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Minny, Minny, USA
Age: 24
cw-games.org thoughts and comments:
At this point, the website looks quite plain and very basic. You probably don't have a full-time staff to dedicate to it, but you need more visuals to make the site appear more enticing to the general public. The site does appear to meet the "get to where you want to go within 3 clicks" guideline for design quite well, though. That site's support forum is very basic and gives off quite the '90s forum vibe, and it is very hard to tell what's the actual post content and what's just information regarding the post or poster. The support forum has too much going on with each segment of a post being given its own visible border.


mkmgirlism.eu thoughts and comments:
Your forum's default style, while interesting, could use a few tweaks, including the pink drop-shadow behind all the text that has it. That drop-shadow makes it very difficult to read certain usernames. Actually, you may want to change the font-color of that group of usernames, as upon closer inspection it seems that it's the background color of the content areas of the forum that those usernames really clash with.
  #40    
Old October 9th, 2013, 08:50 AM
MKGirlism's Avatar
MKGirlism
3DS and Wii U Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Skype™ to MKGirlism
As for the first site, the plain and basic look is on purpose, because it's meant to be as lightweight as possible.
After all, I don't want to create a MySpace-clone out of it.
The Support Forum is something I agree on, that's why I'm planning to focus my Updates fully on the Forum part.

For the second site, it's actually "MKGirlism", not "MKMGirlism" (it stands for Mario Kart Girl, by the way).
Though it's true the background colours, I didn't want to make it to pink or to blue, just something that's calm to the eyes.
Group names are indeed a concern, so I guess I'll check out what I can do with the colours, as it conflicts with the names if somebody is female (female users are pink, male users are blue, and people who didn't specify their gender are purple, in case you want to know that).
~Yami
  #41    
Old November 15th, 2013, 10:14 AM
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy
Slender snake
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Finding out about Microsoft WebMatrix was a pleasant surprise. Turns out it's extremely easy to create, test, and publish entire sites when you have a proper web site editing/testing suite on your computer.

I particularly like IntelliSense and how extensible WebMatrix itself is. It didn't take too long for me to stop using Notepad++ and manual FTP uploads and move to something way more integrated - and less haphazard.

Bonus points for finally getting some PHP action in.

Now, I have to figure out what the heck is up with PHP includes on the other side... (I can't change the include paths.) I've went with somewhat harder paths for now. (things like /home/twigzone/public_html since I'm on shared virtual)

(By the way: what do you guys here think of ASP.NET? And on a related topic, how does one do something similar to ASP.NET layouts (automatically inserted boilerplate code in a page, like headers and footers) in PHP?)

By the way, perhaps this is a good time to check out my personal site.
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links

Last edited by Twiggy; November 15th, 2013 at 10:30 AM.
  #42    
Old November 15th, 2013, 10:33 AM
MKGirlism's Avatar
MKGirlism
3DS and Wii U Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Skype™ to MKGirlism
Paths being at /home/username/public_html has nothing to do with Shared Hosting or not, it's because your Hosting uses Linux.
The /home folder is equal to C:\Users on Windows Vista and newer.

To get the Include Paths, you'll use something like (yes, with a forward-slash, if you want to use a backslash, make sure you use it twice every time):
Code:
include("C:/Users/twigzone/blablabla/myfile.php");
Instead of:
Code:
include("/home/twigzone/public_html/myfile.php");
However, it can be much more efficient.
Let's assume the file you're editing right now is "index.php", and you want to include the file "myinclude.php" in the folder called "twiggy".
In that case, it's best to use:
Code:
include("twiggy/myinclude.php");
When using that, rather than using the full path, it'll save you from a lot of typing, and at the same time, it'll work on both, your Linux Hosting, and your Windows PC.
~Yami
  #43    
Old November 15th, 2013, 10:33 AM
Jay_Foxx's Avatar
Jay_Foxx
Author
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Skype™ to Jay_Foxx
I've had the same website now for the past few years and I think it's time to update it, specifically to make it more compatible with tablets.

Here is my site as it currently is: www.jasonfinigan.net

I am not interested in using Wordpress ... at all.

Paramaters:
  • Rotating banner upon page load
  • One column layout
  • Must be easily viewable on both a computer and a tablet

Any suggestions?

JAY
3411-1525-5963

Dark-Type Safari with: Sneasel, Vullaby & Liepard
Personal Website
Canadaquaria Forum nScale.net
"...many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view." ~ Obi Wan Kenobi
  #44    
Old November 15th, 2013, 10:41 AM
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy
Slender snake
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKGirlism View Post
Paths being at /home/username/public_html has nothing to do with Shared Hosting or not, it's because your Hosting uses Linux.
The /home folder is equal to C:\Users on Windows Vista and newer.

To get the Include Paths, you'll use something like (yes, with a forward-slash, if you want to use a backslash, make sure you use it twice every time):
Code:
include("C:/Users/twigzone/blablabla/myfile.php");
Instead of:
Code:
include("/home/twigzone/public_html/myfile.php");
However, it can be much more efficient.
Let's assume the file you're editing right now is "index.php", and you want to include the file "myinclude.php" in the folder called "twiggy".
In that case, it's best to use:
Code:
include("twiggy/myinclude.php");
When using that, rather than using the full path, it'll save you from a lot of typing, and at the same time, it'll work on both, your Linux Hosting, and your Windows PC.
OK, let's see...

I'm going to use something like include("twigzone/myinclude.php"), right? There's a bit of a problem, though - on the IIS Express 8 server on the local machine, the site root is... / as far as the local server and PHP is concerned, even though the actual files are actually in, say, "C:\Users\Twiggy\Documents\My Web Sites\TwigZone\".

Looks like I'll have to take advantage of remote editing controls in WebMatrix while we figure out the solution of this.
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
  #45    
Old November 15th, 2013, 10:56 AM
MKGirlism's Avatar
MKGirlism
3DS and Wii U Game Developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Netherlands
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Skype™ to MKGirlism
No, it really doesn't matter.
If you don't start the Path with a slash, it'll recognise the path as a your current folder.

Since, let's say, "index.php" is in "C:\Users\Twiggy\Documents\My Web Sites\TwigZone\", all you need to is "include("myinclude.php");", if "myinclude.php" is in the same folder.
If not, just add the folder name + slash + myinclude.php.

In my own CWMSv5 system, I'm using stuff like:
Code:
include("module/sitemap.php");
include("module/foot.php");
And I can use it on Windows and Linux with no problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_37040 View Post
I've had the same website now for the past few years and I think it's time to update it, specifically to make it more compatible with tablets.

Here is my site as it currently is: www.jasonfinigan.net

I am not interested in using Wordpress ... at all.

Paramaters:
  • Rotating banner upon page load
  • One column layout
  • Must be easily viewable on both a computer and a tablet

Any suggestions?
In my opinion, the third point already fits your wishes.
I agree WordPress can be to limited at times (that's why I've made my own CMS), but all you listed in the Parameters, can be done with WordPress too.
  #46    
Old November 15th, 2013, 11:17 AM
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy
Slender snake
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKGirlism View Post
No, it really doesn't matter.
If you don't start the Path with a slash, it'll recognise the path as a your current folder.

Since, let's say, "index.php" is in "C:\Users\Twiggy\Documents\My Web Sites\TwigZone\", all you need to is "include("myinclude.php");", if "myinclude.php" is in the same folder.
If not, just add the folder name + slash + myinclude.php.

In my own CWMSv5 system, I'm using stuff like:
Code:
include("module/sitemap.php");
include("module/foot.php");
And I can use it on Windows and Linux with no problems.
Looks like it worked like a charm. (Man, why did I not think about it earlier? xD)
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
  #47    
Old November 18th, 2013, 04:28 AM
perthskies's Avatar
perthskies
Nostalgic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Hello everyone, just wondering if I could get your opinion on my Digimon Frontier fansite:
http://tdfn.ancommunity.net/

I know this is a Pokémon community but a Pokémon fansite is coming soon! xD I've had this fansite since 2003 and it was looking dated with the old PHP includes so I gave it a WordPress makeover.

Would be keen to get feedback specifically on:
  • Loading times (it is fairly graphic intensive and the theme I purchased seems to have AJAX loading)
  • Legibility (background images in place)

Any feedback would greatly be appreciated!



Also known as: Optic
My Anime Fansites | Forums

Last edited by perthskies; November 18th, 2013 at 04:37 AM.
  #48    
Old November 18th, 2013, 04:35 AM
Jay_Foxx's Avatar
Jay_Foxx
Author
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Skype™ to Jay_Foxx
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKGirlism View Post
In my opinion, the third point already fits your wishes.
I agree WordPress can be to limited at times (that's why I've made my own CMS), but all you listed in the Parameters, can be done with WordPress too.
Does the lytebox work alright with tablets? I know some of them have had issues with javascript coding (especially with drop down menus).

Also, with regards to Wordpress, my main complaint with it is that the more applications you add to the thing, the slower and more cumbersome it becomes. I've seen some Wordpress sites where I could actually go grab a cup of hot chocolate before the site even loads!

But mainly, I'm asking for ideas to change the website because I think it's time to change the look. Having the same website for too long can become boring to people. The problem is, most of the templates I've seen so far don't really appeal to me.

JAY
3411-1525-5963

Dark-Type Safari with: Sneasel, Vullaby & Liepard
Personal Website
Canadaquaria Forum nScale.net
"...many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view." ~ Obi Wan Kenobi
  #49    
Old November 20th, 2013, 07:48 AM
perthskies's Avatar
perthskies
Nostalgic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_37040 View Post
But mainly, I'm asking for ideas to change the website because I think it's time to change the look. Having the same website for too long can become boring to people. The problem is, most of the templates I've seen so far don't really appeal to me.
Hello Jay,

I looked at your site and I thought it was a nice clean layout. If you're thinking of a fresh look perhaps you could consider incorporating your high resolution wallpapers (Destiny's Edge & The Enemy Within) as part of the layout as a background image?

Something along the lines of this as an example: (though text legibility would take a hit)
http://www.agdinteractive.com/games/...out/about.html

Or maybe some background textures like this:
http://www.agdinteractive.com/games/...s/selwood.html

Bear in mind I'm more biased towards graphic heavy layouts/looks which may not appeal to you.. maybe the others would have ideas if you prefer a more clean/crisp layout?



Also known as: Optic
My Anime Fansites | Forums
  #50    
Old November 20th, 2013, 08:07 AM
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy
Slender snake
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
I'm interested in using web fonts as a fall-back font for situations where Segoe UI is not available.

(Site in question: TwigZone)

1. What is a good web font service?
2. What should I go with without going too far away from Segoe UI?
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:02 PM.

About Us
© 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com. Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.

Copyright
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com. PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator. Header artwork by Jordanice of deviantART.

Social Media
If you would like to stay up-to-date with us on the go, when we're down, or other such things, follow us on social media sites--most notibly Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus--by clicking on the links provided.

Design presented by Peitharchia. Special thanks to Hiroshi Sotomura and Ausaudriel.