The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Emulation & ROM Hacking
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Emulation & ROM Hacking The center for the community emulation scene. Come and discuss all things emulation and develop your own hacks!


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #24551    
Old April 9th, 2013, 06:56 AM
Pokedude3012's Avatar
Pokedude3012
Slayer of Milotics
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Hey guys, sorry to come back to help so often. Somethings been bugging me: how can I get someone to check how many pokemon you've seen/caught? I've looked at Oaks script but I cant make sense of it ;p
__________________
<Insert ridiculous and unnecessary signature here>
  #24552    
Old April 9th, 2013, 07:45 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokedude3012 View Post
Hey guys, sorry to come back to help so often. Somethings been bugging me: how can I get someone to check how many pokemon you've seen/caught? I've looked at Oaks script but I cant make sense of it ;p
There are a couple of specials dealing with this. Consult JPAN's Study on the Special and Special2 commands.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24553    
Old April 9th, 2013, 07:53 AM
hinkage's Avatar
hinkage
ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ REDPILL
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CT
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by trafalgar View Post
So in fire red is not possible? Someone would not be able to do it with asm?

You can without asm, using \c\h10\h02 which has basically the same effect: transparent textbox except for the border, only this makes the textbox transparent from the start, rather than the text itself having a transparent background. I have no idea why anyone would want to do this, it's ugly, but alright.

It's something like that, anyway. I'm not home so I can't check for sure, but I wanted to answer now so I wouldn't forget lawlz
__________________
ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้



ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ ʀᴀɪsᴇ ᴜʀ ᴅᴏɴɢᴇʀs ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
  #24554    
Old April 9th, 2013, 08:46 AM
trafalgar's Avatar
trafalgar
Hasgana
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by hinkage View Post
You can without asm, using \c\h10\h02 which has basically the same effect: transparent textbox except for the border, only this makes the textbox transparent from the start, rather than the text itself having a transparent background. I have no idea why anyone would want to do this, it's ugly, but alright.

It's something like that, anyway. I'm not home so I can't check for sure, but I wanted to answer now so I wouldn't forget lawlz
Thanks for the reply, but I just tried using the code that you said and it does not work the same.
  #24555    
Old April 9th, 2013, 02:35 PM
verysuperfamous
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I was editing Fire Red and when I tried to load it up after making a few changes it wouldn't load, it would give me a white screen. So
#1 Does this mean the file is corrupted?
#2 Anyone know a way of fixing it or preventing it in the future?
  #24556    
Old April 9th, 2013, 03:45 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by verysuperfamous View Post
I was editing Fire Red and when I tried to load it up after making a few changes it wouldn't load, it would give me a white screen. So
#1 Does this mean the file is corrupted?
#2 Anyone know a way of fixing it or preventing it in the future?
1. Yes.
2. Make a back-up.

I have done this with hundreds of roms, it is all a part of learning, so always back up and make a list of changes so you can figure out where you went wrong.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24557    
Old April 9th, 2013, 04:57 PM
verysuperfamous
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
1. Yes.
2. Make a back-up.

I have done this with hundreds of roms, it is all a part of learning, so always back up and make a list of changes so you can figure out where you went wrong.
NVM got it myself.

Anyway, how does one change the groups of towns? I did it once by accident so I know it's possible.

Last edited by verysuperfamous; April 9th, 2013 at 05:09 PM.
  #24558    
Old April 9th, 2013, 05:05 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by verysuperfamous View Post
I have 2 backups and hopefully one of them is good. How do I go from BAK to ROM? Figured out I could load the backup but it's not found by the emulator so hopefully it's good.
Change the file extension:

PokemonFireRed.gba -> PokemonFireRed.bak -> PokemonFireRed.gba

Also, don't trust programs to back up for you. Do it yourself also.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24559    
Old April 9th, 2013, 09:31 PM
AXELXu7's Avatar
AXELXu7
Kusari Ninja
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sorry, no.
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
First off, why do so many people use Firered as a base? Is it easier? I'm using Emerald as my hack due to the real time clock (For day/night cycle) and large soundtrack, but is Firered better?

Next question, can you kill the script that makes you spawn in a truck/ makes the truck sound/screen shaking? It makes no sense for my story.
__________________
-Got a Machinehead, Better than the rest.-

  #24560    
Old April 9th, 2013, 09:39 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXELXu7 View Post
First off, why do so many people use Firered as a base? Is it easier? I'm using Emerald as my hack due to the real time clock (For day/night cycle) and large soundtrack, but is Firered better?

Next question, can you kill the script that makes you spawn in a truck/ makes the truck sound/screen shaking? It makes no sense for my story.
FireRed is a bit better since it has this new moves, new animations hack, BW2 Repel System, Mugshot System, etc.

For your second question, the search bar, Google and Yahoo are your friends.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24561    
Old April 10th, 2013, 02:37 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXELXu7 View Post
First off, why do so many people use Firered as a base? Is it easier? I'm using Emerald as my hack due to the real time clock (For day/night cycle) and large soundtrack, but is Firered better?

Next question, can you kill the script that makes you spawn in a truck/ makes the truck sound/screen shaking? It makes no sense for my story.
There is a specific thread for this in the main Rom Hacking section. We also have a program called DNS which inserts an RTC into any rom, so RSE's clocks are useless.

There are several ways. The easiest is a program called "Truck Remover". It is slightly buggy on Emerald, but give it a try.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24562    
Old April 10th, 2013, 02:49 AM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
I have another question. How do I find the offset of a certain sprite using only VBA?

Is it safe to replace an Image with FF using a hex editor if I know the exact number of bytes?

When I use another border block in Palette town specifically the black empty tile, it turns like some glitchy blue wavy tiles. Why is that? How to fix?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24563    
Old April 10th, 2013, 04:03 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
I have another question. How do I find the offset of a certain sprite using only VBA?

Is it safe to replace an Image with FF using a hex editor if I know the exact number of bytes?

When I use another border block in Palette town specifically the black empty tile, it turns like some glitchy blue wavy tiles. Why is that? How to fix?
1) Open up the tile viewer and find the sprite. See the location it is in the memory, now go to that location in memory viewer and search for the bytes you find there in a hex editor.

2) Yes, as long as nothing trys to use that image after you erase it, but still be very careful.

3) That isn't a black tile, it is a transparent tile. You need to find an actualy black tile. (I'm not sure if Palette Town has one, but many maps do.) Also, you could try making your own black tile.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24564    
Old April 10th, 2013, 03:44 PM
AXELXu7's Avatar
AXELXu7
Kusari Ninja
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sorry, no.
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Thanks for the help Karate Kid. Robin, the condescension is not required. I prefer to ask people than machines for help because as a rule, people are more creative.
__________________
-Got a Machinehead, Better than the rest.-

  #24565    
Old April 10th, 2013, 05:39 PM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXELXu7 View Post
can you kill the script that makes you spawn in a truck/ makes the truck sound/screen shaking? It makes no sense for my story.
If you haven't yet, here's the program/tool I use to remove the truck animation.
Clicky~
__________________
3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
SV: 1364 | Rock Safari: Dwebble, Corsola and Barbaracle
  #24566    
Old April 10th, 2013, 11:23 PM
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
If I was to place a script on wild grass (or a similar behavior) what will happen in what order? Is there a chance I could enter a battle? Or do scripts always take precedence?

Edit: Also how do I know which maps display the picture (eg Mt. Moon displays a cave) on entering a map? Can you rid of them!?

Thanks!
__________________
...

Last edited by kearnseyboy6; April 10th, 2013 at 11:26 PM. Reason: New question
  #24567    
Old April 10th, 2013, 11:47 PM
Kurapika's Avatar
Kurapika
Grudgebearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
I want to decapitalize some words by hex editing, but some words are small and I am afraid I would modify some data I shouldn't touch. Can I get some tips/help please?

EDIT: Also, does anyone know how to tell if a specific byte is actually part of some text or part of something else...? (other than converting a whole part of hex into text and verify if it makes a senseful sentence/word. >.<)
__________________

Last edited by Kurapika; April 11th, 2013 at 02:50 AM.
  #24568    
Old April 11th, 2013, 01:56 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
If I was to place a script on wild grass (or a similar behavior) what will happen in what order? Is there a chance I could enter a battle? Or do scripts always take precedence?

Thanks!
So far, from experience, it's the script that always takes priority before the wild grass tile.
__________________
3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
SV: 1364 | Rock Safari: Dwebble, Corsola and Barbaracle
  #24569    
Old April 11th, 2013, 03:59 AM
dkp
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurapika View Post
I want to decapitalize some words by hex editing, but some words are small and I am afraid I would modify some data I shouldn't touch. Can I get some tips/help please?

EDIT: Also, does anyone know how to tell if a specific byte is actually part of some text or part of something else...? (other than converting a whole part of hex into text and verify if it makes a senseful sentence/word. >.<)
I can't post links yet, but bear with me.

Download a text editor with support for table files.

romhacking dot net slash utilities slash 204

(dot = . ; slash = / )

Then copy the table in diegoisawesome's scripting guide:


showthread.php?t=164276


Into a text file, and name it with the extension .tbl

Open your rom with goldfinger, then from the same menu there will be another option to open one of multiple tables. Open your table.

In goldfinger, then press F7 (the equivalent of ctrl-F) and then ctrl-TAB (this switches it from hex mode to character mode). Then carefully search one at a time.

Technically, there isn't a way to tell. However, generally text is around other text and ends in the byte FF (\x per HackMew's syntax). If it's something like RACECAR and immeadiately surrounding it is taR and /-ç and a bunch of garbage characters it's likely command chains. If it's something like YES and next to it is two \x s with the words NO\x, MAYBE\x, SEE YA\x etc around you *might* have found the multichoice menu.

You might have to make a back up (don't rely on the text editor to do it for you) and make a yolo edit and pray the game still works - in such a case you might not notice if it's causing the rom problems or not. If in doubt, just accept it's unknown and don't change it.
__________________
Hey! If you're a tool maker or you have a resource to contribute, but you're not up to trying to make a guide, I'll be happy to try and write one up for you if you want. All I need is a pm and the offsets.
  #24570    
Old April 11th, 2013, 07:11 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
I have a few questions.

1) Is it possible to port the POKeNAV to POKeMON FireRed? Not the one like in Liquid Crystal. I mean having it appear on the START MENU.
2) Is it not possible to import POKeMON or Trainer sprites larger than 64x64 pixels?
3) How to hack the Video RAM? I wanted to make Battle Box similar to BW but it needs a reposition of the HP and EXP Bar.
4) Sideview Battles?
5) Is it possible to insert 16 color sprites in the intro? I use FR
6) Is it not possible to make 2 savedata slots for FR?
7) How do I reposition where the Pokeball appears in the intro? My sprite had it's hand higher.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!

Last edited by robin22gongon; April 12th, 2013 at 05:46 AM.
  #24571    
Old April 12th, 2013, 05:47 AM
madlukas971
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
hay guys
i´m a german hacker
and i try to set new flight/healing places @pkm Emerald german version.
The problem is that ididnt find the mo...fuuu. offset to edit the bytes .
so i want to ask after the Englich offsets.
Than i could maybe research and get the offsets to set new Flight/healing places in german smaragd roms.

So i´m happy
if you had this offsets.

mfg madlukas971

edit sry for this bad english
  #24572    
Old April 12th, 2013, 05:47 AM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Please help. Even just for how I insert 16 color sprites for intro.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24573    
Old April 12th, 2013, 05:58 AM
madlukas971
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
When you use the you must replace the nidoran against the intro desired pkm
then you must also re-sort the pokedex with cpe and nidoran give to another agency, and insert both pkm the status values ​​and adjust the attacks.
should now appear in the desired intron pkm


sry its translate with google translator

mfg mad
  #24574    
Old April 12th, 2013, 06:05 AM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
No I meant change the position of where the Main Pokeball appears from Prof.'s hand.

Thanks for trying to help though.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24575    
Old April 12th, 2013, 12:43 PM
Liquid crystal fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I have some questions

1. How do I add Pokemon to the game? How do you give them their official cry?

2.Is it possible to quickly replace an entire tileset in a ROM. For example is there a way to quickly switch out one Pokemon Center design with another?

3. How do you change OW's?

4. Is it possible to make Pokemon walk with you? How would you do that?

5. How do hackers edit the save-file type? The thing that causes some hacks to only work on VBA and not the actual GBA.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.