Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] How to add a new Pokemon. (Complete Tutorial)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old March 16th, 2013 (06:59 AM). Edited March 16th, 2013 by Reygok.
Reygok's Avatar
Reygok Reygok is offline
Beginning Hacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 60
Could somebody please upload the Advanced Series Toolbox? I can't find it anywhere, and since Wichu is gone I cannot get it from him either. Unless there is a better way of inserting new sprites, usign other programs, but this one seems the easiest to me.
Thanks in advance.

Edit: After hours of searching, I found it! For all of those searching: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQUOIxddMk0
Reply With Quote
  #52    
Old March 16th, 2013 (05:18 PM).
boomerlok boomerlok is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Hi, I like your tutorial but I have a problem, whenever I try to add in the sprites with APSE, I can get it in, but when I hit write to rom I get this:
Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application will close immediately.

Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow.

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.OverflowException: Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow.
at Sprite_Editor.RomFunctions.ConvertStringToByteArray(String& str)
at Sprite_Editor.SpriteData.GetCompressedData(Int32 species)
at Sprite_Editor.Form1.WriteToROMButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4234 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Advanced Pokémon Sprite Editor
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Patrick/Desktop/Advanced%20Series/Advanced%20Pok%E9mon%20Sprite%20Editor.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.4016 (NetFxQFE.050727-4000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4235 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4236 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4235 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4016 (NetFxQFE.050727-4000)
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
Assembly Version: 3.5.0.0
Win32 Version: 3.5.30729.1 built by: SP
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/3.5.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.

I have the latest microsoft.net framework and I am running windows vista, anyone know what is going on?
I have tried this with both Emerald and Firered and it doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #53    
Old March 22nd, 2013 (10:44 AM).
PKMN Trainer S PKMN Trainer S is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
Hey, what the start offset? I had it first but now it doesnt.
__________________
Why , you ask? Cause.
Reply With Quote
  #54    
Old March 30th, 2013 (12:42 PM). Edited March 31st, 2013 by LordSinistro.
LordSinistro's Avatar
LordSinistro LordSinistro is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 24
im trying to change tangela for electivire but electivire sprite are to big what do i have to do?
Reply With Quote
  #55    
Old April 1st, 2013 (04:53 AM).
ReoNeky's Avatar
ReoNeky ReoNeky is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 19
Just what I needed! Haha! It's funny you inserted the sprite.
Thank you!
__________________




Twitter of the Community de "Whack a Hack"

https://twitter.com/Whack_a_Hack
Reply With Quote
  #56    
Old April 3rd, 2013 (09:29 AM).
t3chvoid t3chvoid is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 18
Thank you so much for taking the time to make this tut! Really well explained!
Reply With Quote
  #57    
Old April 12th, 2013 (04:22 AM).
jacktheking's Avatar
jacktheking jacktheking is offline
Hatched Egg
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: ASEAN
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 154
I use this guide and it work! Thanks!
But.. is there anyway to add in other Gen pokemon without replacing the Firered Pokemon?
__________________


Looking for a few moderators and artists for Milkacrea
Reply With Quote
  #58    
Old May 23rd, 2013 (04:25 PM).
gudenau's Avatar
gudenau gudenau is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: C:\
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Ok, I am replacing the ? directly after Celebi, but this happens when I catch it...
Pokemon Ruby.png
Pokemon Ruby1.png
Reply With Quote
  #59    
Old June 18th, 2013 (04:53 PM).
Rebounder86's Avatar
Rebounder86 Rebounder86 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
I exported Latios's sprite and import it to Latias's sprite, only to get this when trying to Write to ROM.

Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow.

How do I solve this? Is the program not compatible with VISTA?
Reply With Quote
  #60    
Old June 18th, 2013 (11:47 PM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,299
Quote originally posted by Rebounder86:
I exported Latios's sprite and import it to Latias's sprite, only to get this when trying to Write to ROM.

Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow.

How do I solve this? Is the program not compatible with VISTA?
Um... are you exporting indexed 64x64px picture?
Which program do you use by the way?
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #61    
Old June 22nd, 2013 (11:48 AM).
Kronological's Avatar
Kronological Kronological is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
I have been learning so much from this site, thanks so much guys!

I have a quick question though about the Advance Pokémon Sprite Editor. When I attempt to open my FireRed ROM, I get an error message saying "data is not LZ77 compressed!" Can anyone tell me what I need to do to fix this? What is the problem and what do I need to do?

Thanks!
__________________
~Kronological
Reply With Quote
  #62    
Old June 24th, 2013 (09:58 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp. AtecainCorp. is offline
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 715
But I know how make extra 25 placeholder Pokemon fully avaible to catch. You need

1. ROM with added Pokemon <On places between 252-276>
2. Pokedex Order Editor.

When you are in Pokedex Order Editor check from 252-276> And check in HOENN DEX and NATIONAL DEX as numer 0. What that give? They show MissingNo. Pokedex Entry and do not crush game after catching pokemon.
__________________
POKEMON RUBY RENEV - http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=341964
Reply With Quote
  #63    
Old July 1st, 2013 (06:34 PM).
chaosakita chaosakita is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Gender: Female
Posts: 15
Quote originally posted by boomerlok:
Hi, I like your tutorial but I have a problem, whenever I try to add in the sprites with APSE, I can get it in, but when I hit write to rom I get this:
Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application will close immediately.

Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow.

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

I have the latest microsoft.net framework and I am running windows vista, anyone know what is going on?
I have tried this with both Emerald and Firered and it doesn't work.
I got this issue too, but it was because my computer was running in Japanese mode. After switching back to English, everything worked fine again. So maybe some people need to set their system locale to English. Maybe this might help someone who also has this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #64    
Old October 21st, 2013 (07:23 PM).
patar4097's Avatar
patar4097 patar4097 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 18
No matter what I do, I can't seem to sync up the palettes without manually editing it every time. But I am not changing any colors from the original sprites. Why is this happening?
__________________
All hail Goomy!!
Reply With Quote
  #65    
Old October 25th, 2013 (07:43 PM). Edited October 28th, 2013 by patar4097.
patar4097's Avatar
patar4097 patar4097 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 18
Sorry for the double post, but I did end up getting it, but I found a new problem. Bye the way, I'm using Emerald. I edited the sprites, and then saved them. But the animations come out as just grey blocks for some of them. Any ideas how this happened, and how I can fix it?

EDIT: To avoid triple posting, I'll just edit this one. I'm trying to replace Swalot with Goomy, but the Goomy sprite doubles for some reason. It's just for the normal sprite though, not the shiny.
__________________
All hail Goomy!!
Reply With Quote
  #66    
Old October 31st, 2013 (03:05 AM).
vongerbys10's Avatar
vongerbys10 vongerbys10 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 27
Send a message via Skype™ to vongerbys10
How can I add newly Pokemon without replacing any data?
__________________
Hoenn is the BEST!
Remake is SPECIAL!


#Hoenn Remake
Reply With Quote
  #67    
Old November 8th, 2013 (06:16 AM).
Lolman112's Avatar
Lolman112 Lolman112 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Hey, I wanted to redo the pikachu sprite, but if I insert the page with pikachu with half of 1 ear off, it appears still after clicking okay, it only has one line in it (where I 'cut' off the ear. What should I do?
__________________

I want a Gameboy color!!!
Reply With Quote
  #68    
Old December 8th, 2013 (02:13 AM).
lancekoijer24 lancekoijer24 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Hello Everyone, I'm having trouble of inserting my OWN pokemon sprite,
I've got a sprite of two different image and also palette , when i inserted it on
a rom, it messed up! How can I insert it properly or can anyone knows how to make the PALLETE of the two sprites to be the same. THANKS, wait for the release of my rom hack,
you can join in a group in facebook, Find pokemon Jade offficial version9GBA hack)
for the mean time you can see my works there , only screenshots! Please support me
Reply With Quote
  #69    
Old December 10th, 2013 (03:09 AM).
GlaciaTaso's Avatar
GlaciaTaso GlaciaTaso is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
Thank you very much.
awesome
Reply With Quote
  #70    
Old January 19th, 2014 (01:49 AM).
qianghua qianghua is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
anyone can help me ? i use advanced sprite editor to replace pokemon image. After done and write to rom, i reopen to check it ,it only appear colour but no image on it. please help me .thx
Reply With Quote
  #71    
Old January 25th, 2014 (07:05 AM). Edited January 27th, 2014 by karatekid552.
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp. AtecainCorp. is offline
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Posts: 715
I found way to add new Pokedex Entries without ASM working. If you want i can share it with you here.

WHAT YOU NEED
FSF - For free bytes.
GBAPGE set <Important for this>


1. Unpack from rar GBAPGE and go to INI and open in texteditor rom.ini.
2. Change section PokedexEntryNumber from 387 to 412 (In rom which you want edit. Check by header. I test that method with Pokemon Ruby US <AXVE>)
3. Open Pokedex Entry Editor from GBAPGE set of editors and find your rom. You've seen some extra spaces under entry of JIRACHI.
~~ADDING ENTRY (Repeat steps for all new entry spots)
4. Open FSF and found two separated by 6000 bytes (Minimal interval is 3000 for it. But i take 6000 bytes to be sure that new entries do not crush game)
5. Repoint failure adresses from new entry <First entry was blank specie name and two invaild blank text phrases. Later entries have glitch text> To make sure that your new entry do not crush game.
6. After repoint edit WT and HT of new pokemon with Scaling and writing text under that.
7. Save rom first after edit WT, HT and Scaling and later after edit Dex info.
~~~TESTING NEW ENTRY~~~
1. Use Advanced map or another map editor.
2. Set all grass by ?????? on one from 25 places or for new Pokemon which you give into one of those places.
3. Open the game on Emulator and go to edited grass.
4. Catch placeholder/new pokemon.

And look for results. It show you picture of new Pokemon with strange footprint <Paw with ? mark> and your text under that <With edited WT, HT and species name>

But i do not found way to add new cry for placeholders Pokemon.

I hope that I help you.

THIS METHOD IS BUGGED. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK. -karatekid552
__________________
POKEMON RUBY RENEV - http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=341964
Reply With Quote
  #72    
Old January 13th, 2015 (02:47 PM).
gamercomix615's Avatar
gamercomix615 gamercomix615 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 22
When I encounter the Pokemon, the game black screens and freezes. This has happened a few times now and I'm guessing I did something wrong. If it matters, I'm using Pokemon Emerald as my rom base.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:45 PM.