Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Overworld Inserting (Remake)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old March 13th, 2013 (03:52 AM).
AimayBee's Avatar
AimayBee
Mighty Spriter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cloud 9
Age: 22
Gender: Female
Nature: Gentle
Quote originally posted by Pinkish Purple:
I found a way :D Open NSE goto>Edit>preferences>Width/Height to the desired number(16/32/64)>near save press the arrow at Index and make it All, after this press save and your done.
That's what I said. You can also use the options part then plugins to edit everything other than OWs.
__________________

I've had a few requests to make this hack an actual thing now. So I'm re-inserting the tileset into an earlier, non-corrupted file.



Let me know if you want the beta 0.5.
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old March 24th, 2013 (09:12 AM). Edited March 24th, 2013 by hackstar.
hackstar's Avatar
hackstar
Check it out!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dhaka
Gender: Male
Nature: Bashful
then this way really works...then no need to follow that big tutorial of karatekid..

okay anything bug or glitch founded,by using this method.
__________________
Do not waste your time by seeing my signature.
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old April 11th, 2013 (04:32 PM).
PiplupGHacker's Avatar
PiplupGHacker
Keeping the dream alive.
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Lenox, IL
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Lonely
I'm sure this has been answered a billion times before, but..



Y U DO DIS GAEM? Shows up fine in Overworld Editor, but not in the game ._.
Thanks for the tutorial though, Irfanview is plenty useful for sprite editing/cropping/etc.
__________________
Click above for my collab YouTube Let's Play channel!
Featuring games like Pokemon SoulSilver, Mystery Dungeon, and Persona 3: FES!
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old April 11th, 2013 (04:50 PM).
Pinkish Purple's Avatar
Pinkish Purple
五代目水影
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kirigakure
Age: 16
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Quote originally posted by PiplupGHacker:
I'm sure this has been answered a billion times before, but..



Y U DO DIS GAEM? Shows up fine in Overworld Editor, but not in the game ._.
Thanks for the tutorial though, Irfanview is plenty useful for sprite editing/cropping/etc.
I gotta say, that's a pretty nice OW u got there Well, It's probably a problem with the Palettes. Palettes ALWAYS have problems. If it isn't, there are a bunch more possibilities. Let me walk you through a few. First, try and see if you've done this:



If you have, It may be a problem with IrfanView. Save that OW as 0_0 or something, and open it with irfanview. (You should also include all the other OWs inside too, so it won't be so troublesome) Press Image>Palette>Edit Palette. Change the FIRST colour with the BACKGROUND colour. Now, save it as something else, and open that new img with Paint, and 0_0 on the other side. At 0_0, press "Select All" and copy the OWs and paste them on your new Paint. Save the new paint, and you can also delete 0_0 now. Open NSE (Wouldn't recommend you to use OWE) and import everything.

The third problem may come from, as I have previously stated, OWE. OWE is really buggy and it's abilities are VERY limited. Try to use NSE instead.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old April 12th, 2013 (06:25 PM).
PiplupGHacker's Avatar
PiplupGHacker
Keeping the dream alive.
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Lenox, IL
Age: 17
Gender: Female
Nature: Lonely
Eh, I think the design of the character (black outline) is causing a problem. Honestly, I had taken those from the public section of Whack a Hack. I think I'm gonna try it with other sprites (I did try all you suggested, though) but if I can't get that to work I'll be fine with the original OWs for now.
__________________
Click above for my collab YouTube Let's Play channel!
Featuring games like Pokemon SoulSilver, Mystery Dungeon, and Persona 3: FES!
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old April 13th, 2013 (08:44 PM).
Pinkish Purple's Avatar
Pinkish Purple
五代目水影
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kirigakure
Age: 16
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Quote originally posted by PiplupGHacker:
Eh, I think the design of the character (black outline) is causing a problem. Honestly, I had taken those from the public section of Whack a Hack. I think I'm gonna try it with other sprites (I did try all you suggested, though) but if I can't get that to work I'll be fine with the original OWs for now.
Okay Just drop me a VM or post here anytime you need help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old April 16th, 2013 (09:46 AM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by PiplupGHacker:
Eh, I think the design of the character (black outline) is causing a problem. Honestly, I had taken those from the public section of Whack a Hack. I think I'm gonna try it with other sprites (I did try all you suggested, though) but if I can't get that to work I'll be fine with the original OWs for now.
I dont know if this is relevant to you or not anymore, but it was the fact that you had black as the first palette. The first one on an overworld is the background color, which will always be transparent. In the program NSE you should be able to easily switch those around.
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old April 16th, 2013 (08:41 PM).
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote originally posted by PiplupGHacker:
I'm sure this has been answered a billion times before, but..



Y U DO DIS GAEM? Shows up fine in Overworld Editor, but not in the game ._.
Thanks for the tutorial though, Irfanview is plenty useful for sprite editing/cropping/etc.
That is because you haven't indexed it properly. The old copy paste thingy in paint still works in Windows 7 & 8 if you download Paint XP.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old April 18th, 2013 (03:26 AM).
Pinkish Purple's Avatar
Pinkish Purple
五代目水影
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kirigakure
Age: 16
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Quote originally posted by Shadowraze:
That is because you haven't indexed it properly. The old copy paste thingy in paint still works in Windows 7 & 8 if you download Paint XP.
Quote originally posted by Quickster:
I dont know if this is relevant to you or not anymore, but it was the fact that you had black as the first palette. The first one on an overworld is the background color, which will always be transparent. In the program NSE you should be able to easily switch those around.
Yup, like both of them said, the problem must have came from IrfanView's palette changing.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old April 20th, 2013 (08:00 PM).
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
I tried to insert new OWs in my hack by this method and they seems to work fine. But problem is that after insert new OWs it screws up the palette of other OWs. Please help me.
__________________
Check out my gaming company:

Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old April 20th, 2013 (10:38 PM).
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote originally posted by Aryan143:
I tried to insert new OWs in my hack by this method and they seems to work fine. But problem is that after insert new OWs it screws up the palette of other OWs. Please help me.
Of course they will be since different OW's use the same Pallete.

In order for you to have a seperate pallete from the others use this tutorial by Quickster. http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=275160
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old April 21st, 2013 (12:37 AM).
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Thanks for giving me the link to that tutorial. Now I can add OWs without any problem.
__________________
Check out my gaming company:

Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old April 23rd, 2013 (04:34 AM).
Eren Jaeger's Avatar
Eren Jaeger
Pianoist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: EARTH
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
It makes the sprite poop at paint -__- anyways, thanks this helped a lot to my hack
__________________
Music is art
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old March 28th, 2014 (06:06 PM).
Astraea's Avatar
Astraea
I'll be back soon....
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Otago, New Zealand
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Send a message via Skype™ to Astraea
I have a trouble when i try to import the OW, it says, index is out of the bound of array and The Sprites box becomes black! help me some one!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old March 30th, 2014 (08:35 AM).
Sniper's Avatar
Sniper
ヘッド·ショット
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Sniper
Quote originally posted by MegaIndianCharizardX:
I have a trouble when i try to import the OW, it says, index is out of the bound of array and The Sprites box becomes black! help me some one!
Can you like show pictures? Obviously, you did something wrong. Follow the steps correctly and make sure you have a backup.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:55 PM.