The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #24626    
Old April 14th, 2013, 05:29 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Why not take a look yourself? It would be in the weather section of the header in A-map. Make sure you test it in game though.
Okay I just found my copy of A-Map 1.92 and tested it and it works! Thanks!

BTW back with Wichu's Sprite Editor.

How do I know where an image starts and where it ends?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!

Last edited by robin22gongon; April 14th, 2013 at 05:40 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #24627    
Old April 14th, 2013, 06:02 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Okay I just found my copy of A-Map 1.92 and tested it and it works! Thanks!

BTW back with Wichu's Sprite Editor.

How do I know where an image starts and where it ends?
Back to the sketchy deleting images thing? You're best bet: open it up in tilemolester. There you might have a better time telling the ending offset. The begining should be the offset given in Wichu's.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24628    
Old April 14th, 2013, 06:10 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Back to the sketchy deleting images thing? You're best bet: open it up in tilemolester. There you might have a better time telling the ending offset. The begining should be the offset given in Wichu's.
Would looking at the table not work? Like finding the offset, when you see a pointer, it will end at the pointer next to it?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24629    
Old April 14th, 2013, 06:34 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Would looking at the table not work? Like finding the offset, when you see a pointer, it will end at the pointer next to it?
Not always, many things do work like that, but it isn't always a given and shouldn't be trusted.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24630    
Old April 14th, 2013, 07:19 PM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Okay new question! How about PC Box BG? Can I edit those? Or make larger images for those? From my studies, they are just about one to two tile per box.

Also how do I make a trainer battle that when you lose, you don't white out? (similar to rival's 1st battle in FR) I use FR
__________________
LET'S PARTY!

Last edited by robin22gongon; April 14th, 2013 at 11:34 PM.
  #24631    
Old April 15th, 2013, 12:31 PM
hanswurst1999's Avatar
hanswurst1999
aka Mo
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Is there a resource out there for resized hgss and dp sprites? (Not the gym leaders or E4 I know they're available)
__________________

FC: 4828 4981 2006
  #24632    
Old April 15th, 2013, 02:36 PM
tajaros's Avatar
tajaros
Hi I'm dawg
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to tajaros
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanswurst1999 View Post
Is there a resource out there for resized hgss and dp sprites? (Not the gym leaders or E4 I know they're available)
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpos...&postcount=213

I'm pretty much sure you're talking about trainer sprites so here. Just remember to credit me.
__________________
  #24633    
Old April 15th, 2013, 06:03 PM
Noossab Blue's Avatar
Noossab Blue
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
Hey all, so I'm following this tutorial to try and change the world map (FR BRPE). Everything appeared to work correctly, but when I try to open the map in game I get this:

Save failed.
Checking the backup memory...
Please wait.
"Time required:
about 1 minute"

and then

Save completed.
"Please press the A Button."

And then a black screen...help?
So I've gotten beyond this now, so that this is what I see when I open the map:



I know that at least part of the problem has something to do with the palette...but I can't find any info on it, and I really don't know how to proceed.
__________________
IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

  #24634    
Old April 15th, 2013, 10:49 PM
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
You need to edit and reinsert the tilemap so that there is a two tile-wide border around the entire world map for it to display correctly. Then you just need to edit the palette and everything should be fine.
__________________
  #24635    
Old April 16th, 2013, 03:57 AM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Hey guys! Just wondering, where were these sprites are used?

__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24636    
Old April 16th, 2013, 05:49 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 13
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Hey guys! Just wondering, where were these sprites are used?

I am not entirely sure but I think that these are used when you land after flying.
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

  #24637    
Old April 16th, 2013, 06:40 AM
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Oh okay. Thanks. I thought it was not used by the game and thought about deleting it. Lucky I haven't yet or my game would've messed up.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24638    
Old April 16th, 2013, 07:13 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
Oh okay. Thanks. I thought it was not used by the game and thought about deleting it. Lucky I haven't yet or my game would've messed up.
When in doubt, make a back-up, delete it, and see what happens!!!
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24639    
Old April 16th, 2013, 08:22 AM
hanswurst1999's Avatar
hanswurst1999
aka Mo
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
I'm pretty much sure you're talking about trainer sprites so here. Just remember to credit me.
Isn't there one which is more complete?
__________________

FC: 4828 4981 2006
  #24640    
Old April 16th, 2013, 09:38 AM
Noossab Blue's Avatar
Noossab Blue
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
You need to edit and reinsert the tilemap so that there is a two tile-wide border around the entire world map for it to display correctly. Then you just need to edit the palette and everything should be fine.
How do I edit the palette?
__________________
IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

  #24641    
Old April 16th, 2013, 10:25 AM
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
How do I edit the palette?
Stare at this dot for thirty seconds, then close your eyes for thirty more seconds.


Quickly, take a look at the title of this very thread! Your answer should be there. Only 40% of people can see this! Share if you saw it!
__________________
  #24642    
Old April 16th, 2013, 05:20 PM
HersheysPink's Avatar
HersheysPink
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Gender: Female
Nature: Relaxed
I'm new to playing Rom Hacks and I was wondering if for example I start someone's Beta 1 and they release a new patch or Beta 2 ect, is there a way to apply the updated Beta or bug patch and still keep my progress from the previous Beta? Like patching it to the same hacked rom. Or would it be a start all over thing?
  #24643    
Old April 16th, 2013, 05:24 PM
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote:
Originally Posted by HersheysPink View Post
I'm new to playing Rom Hacks and I was wondering if for example I start someone's Beta 1 and they release a new patch or Beta 2 ect, is there a way to apply the updated Beta or bug patch and still keep my progress from the previous Beta? Like patching it to the same hacked rom. Or would it be a start all over thing?
I would say you would start all over again as it is much safer. Since if you patch the new patch to an Old Rom it might be buggy and freeze or crash at random times. So I believe you just have to start all over again. :/

But it is worth it if you're playing an awesome hack.
__________________
  #24644    
Old April 16th, 2013, 05:33 PM
HersheysPink's Avatar
HersheysPink
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Gender: Female
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowraze View Post
I would say you would start all over again as it is much safer. Since if you patch the new patch to an Old Rom it might be buggy and freeze or crash at random times. So I believe you just have to start all over again. :/

But it is worth it if you're playing an awesome hack.
Ahh, that's a bummer, but agreeable. It would be worth it for an awesome one. Thanks!
  #24645    
Old April 16th, 2013, 06:17 PM
MayanMan2012's Avatar
MayanMan2012
Pokemon Dawn/Dusk: Coming Soon
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Gender: Male
Hey guys, just wondering: Is there a way to temporarily change the hero's overworld in fire red? I feel like someone's probably already asked this question, but I couldn't find it when I searched.

Thanks!
~MayanMan
__________________
Why don't people ever actually have signatures in their signatures?
  #24646    
Old April 16th, 2013, 08:06 PM
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote:
Originally Posted by MayanMan2012 View Post
Hey guys, just wondering: Is there a way to temporarily change the hero's overworld in fire red? I feel like someone's probably already asked this question, but I couldn't find it when I searched.

Thanks!
~MayanMan
There is :3

Use Jpans FireRed Hack Engine and I'm pretty sure you can do it. You can download it here along with the manual on how to use it. http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=194241
__________________
  #24647    
Old April 17th, 2013, 06:50 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by HersheysPink View Post
Ahh, that's a bummer, but agreeable. It would be worth it for an awesome one. Thanks!
In many games, you could patch a clean rom and then transfer the save file to the new game by changing it's filename.

Please note that this can't be done on certain games because sometimes people change how the game saves in order to make more room in the RAM (like JPAN and Jambo did) or it just won't work because some events were switched around and/or edited.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24648    
Old April 17th, 2013, 12:38 PM
dondon151
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
In FireRed, is there a byte that corresponds to the ability that an enemy trainer's Pokemon possesses?
  #24649    
Old April 17th, 2013, 02:34 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by dondon151 View Post
In FireRed, is there a byte that corresponds to the ability that an enemy trainer's Pokemon possesses?
If I am correct, ability is calculated based upon the PID of the opponents Pokemon. Since there are only 2 possible choices, why waste a byte when a simple calculation would tell the game which of the two to chose from? I could be wrong, but I am fairly certain that is how it works. Messing with PIDs is not fun if you don't know what you are doing and can often result in bad eggs.

Edit: actually, I may be wrong. It is initially calculated by the PID, but then it does appear to get stored.

In this article of Bulbapedia, it says that the ability is calculated and stored: http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wi...sonality_value

But neither of these artices show anything about where the ability is stored:
http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wi...Generation_III
http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wi...res_in_the_GBA

Which, of course, leaves me very confused.
__________________

Paired with Simba

Last edited by karatekid552; April 17th, 2013 at 02:45 PM.
  #24650    
Old April 17th, 2013, 04:34 PM
Squibbid's Avatar
Squibbid
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
I have a question that has been answered already, BUT...

This one is more specific since it involves a different script from a similar one I saw earlier in this thread. This question is also in 2 parts.

1. How would I go about making a Pokemon (in this case, a Celebi) disappear once I've caught it? If I run away or beat it, it goes away, but not if I catch it. This is the script I'm working with:

Spoiler:
'---------------
#org 0x34EC00
special 0x187
compare 0x800D 0x2
if 0x1 goto 0x81A7AE0
special 0x188
lock
faceplayer
setwildbattle 0xFB 0xA 0x0
checksound
cry 0xFB 0x2
preparemsg 0x834ED00 '"Bii!"
waitmsg
waitcry
pause 0x14
playsong 0x156 0x0
waitkeypress
setflag 0x807
special 0x138
waitstate
clearflag 0x807
special2 0x800D 0xB4
compare 0x800D 0x1
if 0x1 goto 0x834EE00
compare 0x800D 0x4
if 0x1 goto 0x834EF00
compare 0x800D 0x5
if 0x1 goto 0x834EF00
setflag 0x2BA
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x1A7AE0
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x34EE00
setflag 0x2BA
goto 0x81A922D

'---------------
#org 0x34EF00
setvar 0x8004 0xFB
goto 0x81A9236

'---------------
#org 0x1A922D
fadescreen 0x1
hidesprite 0x800F
fadescreen 0x0
release
end

'---------------
#org 0x1A9236
fadescreen 0x1
hidesprite 0x800F
fadescreen 0x0
bufferpokemon 0x0 0x8004
msgbox 0x81A63C4 0x4 '"The [buffer1] flew away!"
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x34ED00
= Bii!

#org 0x1A63C4
= The [buffer1] flew away!


Everything else works fine except for what I mentioned above, AND...

2. For some reason, after I put that script above, the game freezes when I enter the route Celebi's location is in (in this case, Route 2). It also freezes after catching Celebi and going back down to Viridian City. I've managed to fix it by entering and exiting a door, but I'd like to know if there's a permanent fix regardless of any door-opening or not, in case my future players don't enter and exit a house before passing the Teachy TV Man.

I would greatly appreciate any help. This is driving me insane.
__________________

Soaking up the thirst of the land

Last edited by Squibbid; April 17th, 2013 at 04:41 PM.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.