The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old April 19th, 2013, 12:10 PM
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet

Advertise here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowraze View Post
Just a question but can this be used to have individual palletes for each OW?
By individual palettes for each OW, do you mean for every 200 something OWs? Im sure that is a possibility, but you couldnt have more than, at least how I understand it, 15 in the same area as they are limited with the palette slot and the game can only load that many palettes at once.
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old April 19th, 2013, 02:57 PM
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickster View Post
By individual palettes for each OW, do you mean for every 200 something OWs? Im sure that is a possibility, but you couldnt have more than, at least how I understand it, 15 in the same area as they are limited with the palette slot and the game can only load that many palettes at once.
ughhh...

Ok, I'll just have to try to have every OW to have their own pallete and see how it goes.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old April 23rd, 2013, 02:43 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
I have a problem with this tutorial. The OW looks good in OW Editor Rebirth but the palette is screwed up in A-Map and game.
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old April 23rd, 2013, 08:48 AM
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aryan143 View Post
I have a problem with this tutorial. The OW looks good in OW Editor Rebirth but the palette is screwed up in A-Map and game.
How so? And are you still editing the players OW?
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old April 23rd, 2013, 06:39 PM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickster View Post
How so? And are you still editing the players OW?
No I edited the Rival's OW. And also, I noticed one thing- the palette was screwed up in VBA but in No$Gba, it worked fine.
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old April 24th, 2013, 06:41 PM
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aryan143 View Post
No I edited the Rival's OW. And also, I noticed one thing- the palette was screwed up in VBA but in No$Gba, it worked fine.
Hm, thats actually really weird. Im not sure what can cause that. Is it never normal in VBA?
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old April 25th, 2013, 02:00 AM
Aryan143's Avatar
Aryan143
The Fennekin Fan!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi, India
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickster View Post
Hm, thats actually really weird. Im not sure what can cause that. Is it never normal in VBA?
Yes, it never shows up correctly in VBA.
__________________

Please click both of these links once in a day and help us grow:

Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old April 27th, 2013, 01:42 PM
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aryan143 View Post
Yes, it never shows up correctly in VBA.
What version of VBA are you using? Maybe try using version 1.72? I dont know if it makes a differenece, but thats what I use.
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old May 18th, 2013, 04:47 AM
~Anbuja's Avatar
~Anbuja
Let's Keep It Simple
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In Snorlax Stomach
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to ~Anbuja
Could you please elaborate this part:

starting at 0x0805E5E0, place 70 88 09 07 09 0f 00 29 01 d0 05 e0,
then at 0x0805e5f8 place 03 e0

Some screenshots how it looks before and how after would be very nice, Im just going to these offsets and adding those numbers but nothing really changes ingame.
Am I supposed to touch the oam loading numbers in the sprite offset or something?

EDIT: Ive kind of fixed this while sacrificing the mist >.>
Which I dont want todo D:
Youd maybe want to include which oam code should be in instead of the default ones to make them work, Im really confused here D:

anbuja
__________________

Last edited by ~Anbuja; May 19th, 2013 at 04:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old July 31st, 2013, 07:05 PM
MrDollSteak's Avatar
MrDollSteak
Formerly known as 11bayerf1
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Age: 19
Gender: Male
I've noticed that changing the bytes fixes the sprites the first time you enter the map.
However if you open up a menu say the Pokemon screen and close it. When you return
to the map the sprites will glitch. I believe this is connected to the level script command 0x5
load on entering map and on menu close. I was wondering if anyone has experienced or fixed
this.

EDIT: This seems to be related to the actual palette slot that the sprite has! Depending
on the palette slot it looks discoloured in a different way.

It seems that setting the Palette slot to 1A, 1B and 1C allow the sprite to retain its colours
as long as there aren't conflicting ones on the map. So if you have three unique palette sprites
use those three. I imagine others work too, but those three are the ones I can definitely
attest to.
__________________

Last edited by MrDollSteak; July 31st, 2013 at 08:20 PM. Reason: More info
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old August 20th, 2013, 09:07 AM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
So i have a quick question. When it says put the offset before 00000000 ff110000, does that mean each time you add a new pallet it goes before that space in the hex ditor? Or does it mean that each time you add a new pallet, you can place the next offset after those numbers, and then end it with 00000000 ff110000?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old August 20th, 2013, 09:42 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
アルファ近く
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
You END the chain with those bytes. When the game reads those bytes, it stops looking for palettes.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old August 20th, 2013, 10:13 AM
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
You END the chain with those bytes. When the game reads those bytes, it stops looking for palettes.
Meaning if I'm inserting multiple pallets, I put that one time only at the end of all of the pallet offsets?
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old August 21st, 2013, 06:14 AM
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
Meaning if I'm inserting multiple pallets, I put that one time only at the end of all of the pallet offsets?
Yes, after the last palette you insert, you add that code. And only the last palette.
__________________
I laugh looking at this.

But sometimes I want to come back to it...

Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old August 14th, 2014, 11:55 AM
Magic's Avatar
Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male


Can anyone ascertain why all of my added palettes work, up to 1E. 1F, 20 and 21 all show up as palette 3 (youngster with the yellow hat) and it is the same palette with a different number - if I change anything with them, it also changes palette three.

Any ideas? I've wracked my brains trying to find a solution. I wonder if there's a limiter byte somwhere I need to change (as it seems to be defaulting to the first palette in the list??).

Edit:// I've tried changing '1F' to '0D' but the palette still doesn't work. It seems to be their actual position in the table that's affecting this.

Spoiler:
__________________

Last edited by Magic; August 14th, 2014 at 12:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.